(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

Catz: Read frm your earlier postings that Tim is well & looking good. can see that you're back to your usual uplighting spirit again in your recent postings

Sun-Moon: can confirm again that Avent bottles can fit into Pigeon sterliser. I will be asking my colleagues & boss to buy for me. haha...especially my boss, maybe ask him to sponsor 1 year pampers for making work so hard!

As for the stroller, my SIL bought a Combi one for me (can inclined in 4 positions). She bought a sturdy one from Mothercare but find it heavy. She heard good feedback from other mums & can use from infant to 3-4 years old.

For the cot or playpen, dunno know yet, waiting for SIL to provide. Already got a used playpen from her. I was told that mattress from Mothercare is very good as it is breathable.

I saw one highchair which can be used for infant @ the hypermart. can incline the chair for infant to sleep & slide baby to sleep. later on, can use as a highchair for meals. SIL & colleagues said that it is useful. has anyone see this thingy been sold anywhere?

Is Robinsons the best place to get baby stuff as compared to Kiddy Palace or Giant? Has anyone try Kids Mall @ IMM or Suntec? I have ruled out hypermart anyone.

today, took MC to rest @ home. dunno why, after getting past my 28 weeks last friday, i can feel I am getting more tired especially after every 2-3 hrs of activity. & definitely more impatient with hubby, noise, etc. also feeling breathless after 5-10mins of walking. today, can't wake up until 12noon. oh no, another 2.5 mths to go!

Hi Sun Moon,
Just bought a Pigeon sterilizer too. Value for money. I think I have too many milk bottles already. I have 5 4oz bottles, 4 9oz bottles, 3 Avent 4oz and 2 7oz bottles free with the Pigeon sterilizer. But no choice because if BF, then I need to have a few at my place and at my mom's. Headache ah! I never thought of trying it out yet. Actually, I think you have a point. What if it doesn't work? I think I will just go home, plug it in and test run it. I won't sterilize any bottles.

Piggy, I went to Robinson's Centrepoint and saw another 2 cots by Kids Paradise selling at $239 & $299 (can convert to baby to junior bed and baby to toddler bed respectively). They are throwing in the mattress and 6pc bedding. When I ask the salesgirl about the one you bought, she said it's another brand and only available at the S'pore Expo. Was wondering if your cot allows for 4 height adjustments? Those 2 above have 4 height adjustments and I'm seriously considering buying the $239 one. But the offer is not as good as what you got. Oh, are they providing free delivery and assembly? May be I'll pull my hubby to Expo this evening.

Dolphina, the bags are packed in smaller boxes compared to the starter kit box. I saw them at John Little also. I was told Avent is much cheaper than Medela milk bags which costs about $26 per pack. However, was told that Medela ones are really leak-proof.

Hi Tetra,
Have a good rest. Did your gynae do a blood test for you? You may be anaemic when you enter your third trimester, that's why the tiredness and breathlessness. Ask your gynae to test your hemoglobin level during your next appointment. You were asking about Kids Mall, well I do go to the one at Suntec. I feel that their selection of baby stuff is about the same as John Little, Robinson and Seiyu. However, the prices of the cots, prams and other accessories are not cheap unless there is a sale going. You may be better off going to the larger department stores having sale right now.

Wow, lote of postings to catch up!

<font color="119911">Catz</font>, glad that everything went well for your checkup and Tim is growing healthly!!

For Baby Items, i had not buy any yet... I had been given one Playpen and thus dun intend to buy another Babycot as that playpen can be set at higher level!

Think i probably need to buy dyers and pacifers. Oh, i will need the pram too if nobody give me. But as pram is not that urgent, i think i will hold back. Try not to buy those very heavy one. It might be good with so many functions, but if u r bringing BB out yourself with no car, the weight can be a burden!

<font color="ff6000">Tetra</font>, do rest well and dont move too much!

I been to Kids Mall in suntec too... and agree with Jaykay, it's just the same. Robinson and John Little are good enough for me with regards to all baby items. I also saw the cots by Kids Paradise... and i am going to get the $299 one if i buy. But i still prefer to take another look at Mothercare's cots first.

Tetra, confirm the pigeon one can fit avent bottles... you go ask salesgirl to open the thing for you to see you will know what i mean. Its free space inside, notlike Avent ones, got specific slots just for Avent bottle.. thus you can put all kinds of bottles inside. And without the slots, next time can also use it to sterilise baby bowls and spoons etc during weaning time.

Thanks! Jaykay, Ocean &amp; Sun_moon for the sharing &amp; concern.

Jaykay: seeing my gynae this Wed, will check with him on the blood test. actually, now should be in the 29th wk not 28th. just find out that baby starts to have dream &amp; will turn towards light shining on our stomach.

sun_moon: ok! confirm get the pigeon sterliser. 2morow ask colleagues to save $ to buy for me.

feeling tired already...after having 2 rasin breads, milk &amp; strawberries! must go for some power nap!

jaykay,

wow u can go far far away during lunch time to shop hor...so good..heee

oh medela bags so expensive huh..maybe i will stick to avent bags...but i still hesitating over the pumps....btw, expo sale still on meh? thot ended yesterday liow??

me too have been feeling dizzy frequently past 2 wks. i did not experience this in my 1st tri leh..why har? oh i ask my gynae if i need another blood test since i'm also a thalassemia but he say no need unless my reading is ard 8+. since mine ard 9+ he say no need....

sun_moon,
my hb was asking if we have brought the steriliser too soon or not since we will not be using it that soon...coz warranty starts the moment we purchase it... kekeke

It's slightly early but i still prefer to buy it earlier and have a peace of mind. If not i keep thinking of all the things not done i feel very frustrated. :p

a few months wont do much harm i suppose. Hopefully this thing wont be so easily spoilt lo.

I didnt go out eventually... feeling too lazy. Maybe tomorrow i will go ... haha

Dolphina,
Actually, I wasn't very hungry because I had a full breakfast. Hence, decided to check out the cots at Robinson's Centrepoint and John Little at Specialist Centre. Oh, the Robinson's sale at Expo is extended by one more day. So today is the last day.

Dolphina, Hb level changes and it does not mean that if it's 9+ in the 1st trimester, it will stay 9+ in the last trimester. I am going to remind my gynae to take my blood during my coming appointment. I'm HbH Disease(thalessemia intermedia), so all the more need to monitor now that I'm going into my last trimester. Hopefully, no blood transfusion required. You better take care too.

wow, everybody doing lots of shopping over the weekend for baby. I feel so ill prepared because we have nothing yet. Without car, it's really difficult to go shopping. A lot of ppl tell me the sarong sling is v useful for carrying bb around in first 6 months, less tiring, leaves handsfree, and bb likes being close to you. My friend can even BF while talking to me in church with her son happily sucking in the sarong sling. Any of you getting it?

Catz,
We were told by the gynae that they typically only order ONE u/s for the WHOLE pregnancy, that's the detailed scan, which I've already done in Singapore. It sounded like I wasn't going to get any since mine is a normal pregnancy. He measured me and said I was exactly average, i.e. correspond to the gestational weeks.

One month ago, I saw all the girls posting about how much they measure around their belly and it seemed like a lot of people were already 36-38 inches at 22-23 weeks. Just more worried and paranoid cos got no u/s to rely on and can't see baby, dunno his size and weight. Was hoping you girls could help me out so I could see the range of sizes for Jan moms and get some assurance. Hope some of you can please measure to give me some indication?

Hi ladies !

babyD, you can get a Baby Bjorn or Nojo sling.. don't get the Snuglis.. overall bad reviews as they tend to be very uncomfortable for mum/dad. I bought myself a Nojo already. You can check out how to wear 'em at nojo.com, follow the links. Hmm.. as for the u/s, I guess your HMO is very strict lor. Don't worry about the size of your tummy.. as long as your fundal height is average, that's OK

Yup, those breastmilk storage bags are rather pricey. I didn't buy the Avent ones as they are prone to leaking and the only way around it is to double-bag!! The recommended ones were Playtex and Gerber, marginally cheaper. Target also sells 'em in packs of 200 for US$5.. if anyone needs, I can help you buy first.

Tetra, yah lor, really no mood before the appt with the fetal cardiologist.. now I feel like I can conquer the world! (Haha, not really.. 'cos I need my afternoon nap and lots of sleeeeeeep).... You'd better take care.

I also feel more easily tired now that I'm approaching 3rd trimester. My backside gets really achey if I've stood for too long. Guess it's 'cos I've never been 65kg before! My mom is now depressed 'cos she's 67kg and like she points out, she's not pregnant.. heheh
Told her that when she starts taking care of Timothy Twinkle Toes, she will lose weight. I call my son Twinkle Toes 'cos his feety are always wiggling in all directions. Makes it quite hard to sleep sometimes.

Piggy, thanks so much for typing out Yvonne's charges!!! Are you planning to go for the FBI thingie that TMC is offering? BTW, you are so lucky to have a doggy.. my dearest doggy passed away during my studies in England and my parents have never gotten over the heartbreak so we're all dogless now. What kind of doggy do you have? If it's long-haired, then I can understand your MIL's concern. But in any case, dog hair isn't as bad as cat hair which has been proven to bring on asthma.

Piggy,
I went to the Expo last evening. I saw the cot your bought with mosquito net, mobile, changing table, mattress and beddings thrown in at $299. I didn't buy it because I felt that the cot is a bit small and only allow for 2 height adjustments. I bought the Daniel Cot (28"x52") by Kids Paradise (selling at Robinson's Centrepoint at $239) going for $199 but paid $194 because of the $5 off at the Expo with free mattress and 1 set of beddings. I've been eyeing this cot because it allows for 5 height adjustments and the lowest can be used as a playpen for baby. Of course, the freebies is not as good as what you received but I'll be asking my friends to 'provide'. Heehee.... Oh, I was told by my girlfriend that Aussino sells very nice baby cot beddings and bath accessories. I will definitely pop by to get an extra set of beddings.

Catz,
You would be flying back soon in 3 weeks time right? Your parents must be very excited to see you. I was just wondering if little Tim tickles you? I been getting these ticklish sensation sometimes and it feels kind of weird.

Hi all pretty mtbs,
Can all of you give me your email add? Sometimes have good stuff must share with your mah! Email to me at [email protected]
Wah! Now everyone so busy looking around for baby stuff huh?
190962.gif

I abit lucky leh! One of my company expat staff last minute posted back to Holland, his wife gave birth 3mths ago. Some of their baby stuff like baby cot, junior bed, baby basketstill looks new! And decided gives all to me! (Since Im the only one pregnant now.) All this good stuff delivered to my hse last 2 weeks. (just used for 3mths so still very new and good condition and all in white color, from Ikea.)
Now, I have 2 cots; will put one in babys room, another one remains in my room. The junior bed will put in babys room too.

Sun Moon,
Coming this Friday (15/10) and Monday (18/10), Im going on leave again! But this Friday need to stay at home bcoz furniture shop will be delivered a nice wardrobe to my hse leh!
Why not on this coming Monday? This time where we should go for shopping huh? Hope other girls can join us too.
190963.gif

Piggy &amp; Sun Moon,
My opinion;
During CF, your cot should put in babys room, so that the cfmt nanny can look after BB at nite time. (Mommy must have enough sleep for the first month.)
After CF, you can shift your cot to your room.

BabyD,
I measured 37.5 inches at 29wks. Your tummy not small leh! 36 inches at 26wks now, when you hit 29wks, maybe 38 or 39 inches, I think. (Bigger than me hor!)
Since your hb said you look not fat, u better not to worry too much! Stay happy!
190964.gif

Catz,
Same as you, I do feel breathless too. Most of the time after food, during watching TV or sleeping time.feel like choking! (Sometimes must walk for a while to relax myself.)
Youre not alone hor! Heheee

Tetra,
Do take care of yourself! Yah, another 2.5mths to go, but try to think this 2.5mths coming soon! Then u will feel happier bcoz can see yr lovely boy boy liow! Ja you!
190965.gif

JayKay,
Dun so kan cheong hor! Keep in mind that lunch time must eat,
190966.gif
if not where got energy goes to shopping ah?
190967.gif

'Allo ladeez!

JayKay, yup, my parents are just waiting to have their empty nest come to life again. My Dad is very 'teh', esp 'cos both daughters are overseas.. come Dec, everyone will be coming home so he's a very happy bunny. My mom's definitely looking fwd to going baby shopping together too.. On the other hand, my poor husband is feeling bluer and bluer by the day. Yup, my dearest Twinkle Toes seems to have all sorts of manouevres which tickle me.. seems like when they do be shifting movements or walk their feet up and down the uterus walls, it feels ticklish. Better than getting jabs in the ribs!

Wah, can't wait to go crib shopping. I don't really want a huge crib as I would hope to graduate TT to a bed by the time I have BB#2.

Hi Catz,
Thanks for the info. I decided to order the momsinminds sarong sling. MIL bringing over for me when she visits after boy boy is born.

jaykay,

hmmm so it is necessary to insist for another blood test in this instance huh? sorry to sound ignorant but why is blood transfusion needed? thot only if thalassemia major then the need arises?
your cot sounds good...other than at expo can we get at any robinson now?

catz,
wow u coming back soon....thats real fast leh...the storage bags really much cheaper over at US ...if u dun mind, can get me a pkt at your convienience(i think 200 pcs is more than enuff right). thanks!!

evelyn,

u've got mail!!

lucky you, having so many new stuff for your bb...

babyd,
heee my tummy already big pre-preggie so not a good gauge for all of u here... :p

Er.. sorry, think i am the blur one!
<font color="119911">Catz</font>, why do we need the storage bag?

Actually, when i read all ur postings, i started to get abit worry.... i din buy anything yet for my BB!
Think i am the worst prepared mum-to-be here!
191150.gif
Now start to think if i really can be a good mum as i dun noe how to cook!

Just learnt from my sis that for BF, we need to feed BB every 2hrs!
191151.gif
I was thinking, huh, then how to sleep and rest??!!
191152.gif

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, i have checked with KK on the delivery package. Actually there is no package unless u choose to the A1 bed. Initially i thot i can choose a doc for my delivery, but now it seemed not... By the way, as the bed is given on a first come first servce basis, so no need to book so early unless u have already decided on the room type!

<font color="aa00aa">Evelyn</font>, u so good hor! On leave again!
Oh, got lobang?
My email is [email][email protected][/email]

Hi Dolphina,
I think your Thalessemia is the milder kind and another blood test may not be necessary for your case and blood transfusion is not necessary. Mine is relatively seriously (intermedia), in between Thalessemia minor(least serious) and major (most serious). Pregnancy has a tremendous effect on my Hb level because my blood volume has expanded. There is a need to monitor my Hb level, especially during the 3rd trimester because that is when preggies usually get anaemic again as baby is growing even bigger. I would need a blood transfusion only if my Hb level falls below 6 g/dL. Otherwise, baby may not grow properly and my life will also be endangered. There were also documented cases of HbH Disease (another name for Thal intermedia) preggies with pre-eclampsia and excessive bleeding during labour. As for your second question, yes, Thal major will need constant blood transfusion.

As for the cot, you can get the same cot at Robinson's at $239 with free mattress and 6pc beddings. It's called the Daniel cot by Kids Paradise.

Evelyn,
You've got e-mail!! You are such a lucky girl to 'inherit' so many things!!

oceans,
solly huh now then ask u coz getting more forgetable liow, how's your checkup last week. suppose everything is ok right!

thanks for the info but then hor i still not very clear....why u cannot choose your dr for delivery? (is it coz u under subsi rate) how come only package available if choosing A1? now at a loss coz initially wanna A1 but now *touch wood* worry things happen at last min so thinking maybe choose B1 first then maybe upgrade at admission or watsoever... KS lah.

Jaykay,
thanks for the info! i also dunno how severe mine is but nevertheless u better take good care okie!!

oh do u know is there any co-relation that if mummy was a premature bb, will the bb gonna be one as well??

Dolphina,
Wah, very 'cheem' question leh. Seriously, I don't think premature labour is something that has any correlation with whether the mommy was a premature bb. Premature labour is due to external factors like early contractions, fetal distress, etc. These can't be inherited. Don't worry okay?

jaykay,

heee paiseh paiseh... thanks anyway. i guess this kind of things no one can guarantee one also...

evelyn,
did u let ur elder boy sleep in those traditional sarong (not those sling kind but those we used to sleep in olden days hanging from the ceiling)?

does anyone of u gonna let ur bb sleep in those? my frd recommended to get the movable kind but i find that its too bulky...but she say sometimes bb dun wanna sleep in the cot or on the bed and thats the only alternative...

wow wow... so many postings... i read until a bit blur liao... hahaa...
I went shopping just now lah.. bot more baby stuff.. went to have a second look at the cot in Robinson and mothercare... think i am more or less decided on the robinson one already. BTW does Aussino's beddings fit the size of the cot .. anyone has any idea?

Also went round to see combi pram and peg perego prams again. I tried opening and closing them myself to see can manage or not. Combi quite light, but kiddy palace only have one model. Have not decided.

Evelyn, next monday on lah!!! Where to go ... hmm... maybe Robinson or John Little, Tangs etc??? I still have some baby stuff to buy so maybe can get them all at the same time and ask them to deliver again... heee...

BTW, need recommendation on baby shampoo, baby bath, baby laundry detergent. Which brand is good? kodomo? Pigeon? Pureen? Mustela? or Johnson and Johnson???

Good question! Dolphina,
Yes, I did!
I still can remember 4 years ago during my new hse renovation (before marry), my hubby asked the contractor drilled a hole from the ceiling in our bedroom, I asked him for what purpose? But he just smile and never answers me. (Finally I know for what purpose but after 2years time, hee!)
Night time u no need worry that baby will wake up often if you let him sleep in traditional sarong. But some mother refuse let their baby sleep in the sarong because find that very dangerous and not convenience when go to oversea or other places if baby too stick to the sarong. (Thats mean you need to bring along the sarong to everywhere or make sure the places you go have sarong hor!.)
Now my boy not sleeps in sarong lor! (Since 1year old). He always wants to sleep between hubby and me.

Hi JayKay &amp; twinkle,
I've rec'd your mail. Dunno why both of your mail under JUNK mail leh! Sorry JayKay, my mistake! paiseh!
Tomolo send more email to your.

Sun Moon,
On lah! I will call or sms you, ok!
For me;
baby shampoo, baby bath- Johnson and Johnson,
baby laundry detergent- Kodomo (very nice smell!)

<font color="0000ff">Dolphina</font>, my checkup is ok, though the aminotic fluid is just slight above borderline.

Oh, i think if u r under the pte one, it shld be ur own gynae to deliver for u!
For me, i cannot choose in advance even if i decided to get a better ward, unless i choose the A1 package.

Er... B1 is which one huh?
I learnt that cannot take the 2-beded one, but cant remember why!

Aiyooo.... <font color="aa00aa">Evelyn</font> and <font color="ff6000">Sun Moon</font>, why u two like that, keep going shopping!
Buay tahan leh!
Kekkee....

Oh, i think my belly button almost going to level liao!!
Will it be sink in after we deliver??

Aiyah Ocean, you can join us also la! Hee!

Evelyn, the laundry detergent i also kind of like Kodomo... Shampoo and Bath have not decided yet. Mustela has a no-rinse cleanser that they say quite good for cleaning diaper area... you got try before??

I bought one small packet of Shealer diapers (new born) for standing by... dun know good to use or not. What brand of diapers are more popular among mums hah?

Jaykay,
Well, good that you got the cot that you wanted. hee hee. I also shop around alot b4 deciding. Yes, the cot a little small but I think ok for me cos baby room is very small too. Yes, I am a fanatic of Aussino. Baby set with the following: Comforter: 90x120cm, Bumper: 25x200cm, Pillow case:30x41cm, fitted sheet: 132x71cm, with pillow Price:S$70 I saw it during sale. Will buy one set later.

Evelyn,
I send you my email address liao. Did you get it?

Catz,
I am not joining this FBI thingy cos I think Yvonne Chan did not take part leh. Anyway, not really very attractive leh.
I have a pom. My first doggy. Ya, lots of hair but luckily, very very clean type. If she feels got shit at ther backside, won't even move abit till I get rid of it. I also scared she die cos her heart not good and problem is not reversible. Vet says could be around for only a couple more months to few years only. On constant medication. so I really not bear to throw her out of room. Ya, I know difficult to get over a loss of a pet. I also cried buckets of tears when my goldfish died. My goldfish actually lay eggs and were fertilised. Just none survived

Hi Piggy, wah, fellow dog lover. I would love to get another doggy but now with baby coming and me going back to work, it wouldn't be fair to the dog or to my Mom if I leave both baby and dog with her. Hope your doggy doesn't suffer too much.. poor thing. You trained her well! My friend trained her cat to poopoo into the toilet (squatting type)... stylo hor?
Oh, didn't know that Yvonne is not part of the FBI scheme.. nevermind lah, since it's not worth it.

Ocean, to answer your qn - breastmilk storage bags are a lot easier to store than having stacks and stacks of bottles. These storage bags will fit into a certain type of bottle to accomodate disposables.. For e.g. Avent has a disposable bottle system http://www.aventamerica.com/products/disposablefeeding/disposable_anurser.asp
So you just drop the breastmilk storage kit (after it is thawed) into the nurser.

Wah, everyone is starting to get the nesting instinct, I think!!! Just got the MyBabyCentre email for week 28 which is start of 3rd trimester! Last night I had problems sleeping 'cos TT was hiccuping and wiggling like crazy.. whaddaya know? The email says that this week, hiccups are very common. Super zun man..

dolphina, I'll try to pop into Target this week to have a look if it's in stock.. always seems to be out of stock!

Catz,
I didn't know the Avent bags leak? What about the Via containers? Too expensive in the long run? Are the Playtex / Gerber ones compatible with Avent bottles? Don't really know how the liners work, seems different from the Via containers I saw. I looked at the Nojo sling and it looks rather padded, might be warm for BB in Singapore? I got someone to buy the momsinmind sling for me, not so good for cold country, but we're eventually coming back in the long run so maybe more practical.

Evelyn,
I think you're v small sized cos you're only just over 50kg now right? I'm 1.65m, considered quite tall, started at 54kg, so not sure if tummy big or small compared to other girls more similar to my height?? I also love Aussino baby bedsheets and blankets. They're so cute!!! i was tempted to buy just before we left Singapore.

Hey babyD, I got about 20 VIA containers.. do you know you can get 5 free VIA containers if you register for the trial at Avent.com? The Playtex and Gerber ones are compatible with the Avent 'disposable' bottles (the ones you use with the blue nipples).. the VIA bottles work with the non-disposable nipples (white ones). Took me a while to figure it out. I think I will use the VIA to store the BM and I'll stand by with the disposable nurser for when we're out and about and supplementing with formula after I start to wean. I think we're about the same size - I'm just slightly taller than you - 1.69m. Hmmm.. as for the Nojo, it's OK lah. I find the sarong sling a little too unpadded, dunno whether it will be detrimental to baby's spine or not.

thanks catz,

no hurry and no obligation okie!

evelyn,

oh so yours is the ceiling kind ...maybe i shall not buy first and see how as it goes...hopefully bb can make do without it coz the movable one really take up lots of space...

yalor really envy u and sun_moon, can go shopping together...kekekek

oceans,
if i am not wrong, B1 is 4-bedded with aircon and individual tv (maybe evelyn can comment since she already book her room liow)

Hi Evelyn,

Receive ur mail. Tks...

Do u gals feel the bb movement/kicking which is below the abdomen? As if she is standing on your bladder? At times the kicking is concentrated on the tummy area but sometimes the kicking can be felt inside which by touching on your tummy, you on't be able to feel anything but know that there's movement inside.

You know what Im doing now? Eating fish cracker ah! Hehehe!

Catz &amp; BabyD,
Yap! Im v small sized; 1.52cm only! Wah! Both of you very tall leh! Im so envious! Hubby oso very tall right?

Piggy,
Recd your mail liao &amp; sent you some mails too! hee!

Sun Moon,
Mustela has a no-rinse cleanser??? Dunno leh, I never try this before! Last month I bought one small pkt of Pampers diapers. Shealer diapers.oso never try before! Dunno good or not?

Twinkle,
Aiyo, just now my BB moving like nobody business, dunno what he playing inside, so excited! I even asked my colleague touch my tummy. Before they touch, they all look so funny when see my tummy can move left and right! (Thats mean BB really kick me very kuat!)

Hi Evelyn,
Received your e-mail already. I found the recipes very useful. Must try one of these days. Wah, realized that you are quite small size. I'm 1.63m. You don't make me salivate leh...eating fish cracker. It's one of my fav snack.

Hi Sun Moon,
Just went to buy one set of Aussino Baby beddings. Cost $69.90 nett. Aussino is also running a promotion for baby towel with hood and face towel set at $12.90. It's buy 1 set get 1 set free. Must go and grab ok? Oh, the bedding set I bought is the one with car prints on it for my boy. Heehee....Actually, I wanted to buy the Noah's Ark one. They also have baby wrap/blanket going for $14.90.

Evelyn,
Aiyo, you are so naughty. Tempt me some more!!! I'm going to kena scolding from my gynae tomorrow already lah. Anyway, I have to sign off now. Going for pre-natal class at TMC on Breastfeeding tonight. Hope I can share some tips with all of you.

Jaykay, Alamak, the Aussino hooded towel set so cheap ah? Bought a few hooded towel sets here, the Classic Pooh ones which are pretty expensive :p Sian... Must ask my Mom to go down and looksee.

Twinkle, Evelyn, my baby also moves a lot these days. I told my husband that it's like anaconda and kena scolding... hehe.. but sometimes I can feel him kicking my organs.. very uncomfortable esp when he suddenly kicks the bladder. There is an uncontrollable urge to pee when that happens, even when the bladder is almost empty!!!

Hi Catz,
I was also surprised that Aussino was running a promo. You must save some money to spend in Singapore leh. Help to stimulate the economy here. It's a good idea to ask your mom to go and look see. Not many sets left, at least not many left at the Suntec City branch. How many Classic Pooh ones did you buy? Must be very nice.

Got some tips from the Breastfeeding lesson last night.

(1) Not necessary to buy anti-colic teats as they don't guarantee NO COLIC.
(2) Not recommended to get microwave sterilizer because some studies suspect radiation. Until further tests are being done, stick to the good old methods like steam sterilization, boiling or tablet sterilization.
(3) Not necessary to buy a detergent meant specially for cleaning baby bottles. Mama Lemon or any conventional dishwashing liquid will do.
(4) Do not buy any breast pump until you have given birth. This is so that you will not waste money. Assess your needs and your milk flow after you start to BF baby and decide from there. Buy manual pump only if your milk flow is fantastic. Otherwise, you will have a hard time expressing milk and you may suffer from Carpel-Tunnel Syndrome.
(5) If you want to buy a good electric pump, get the Medela Pump-In-Style. Not recommended - Pigeon, Tollyjoy, NUK, Medela Mini-Electric, Medela Electric Plus (the one with dual pump). They are noisy and suction is not ideal.
(6) Not necessary to get a milk warmer. Just use lukewarm water to thaw milk.
(7) If you want to save your frozen milk, you can thaw it slowly in cool water, pour out the quantity you need and refreeze the remaining. However, if you use warm water to thaw, you have to use up all the milk. No re-freezing allowed.

I hope the above tips are useful.

Hi Catz/Evelyn,

Ya, I can also feel her kicking or stepping on my bladder/other organs, quite uncomfortable.

Hai, lately my constipation getting worse.

Dolphina,
U still constipate? How you relieve urself :p? Prunes seem not to work on me anymore...

Jaykay,

i havent got a chance to go see the Aussino beddings... today another friend delivered and so i went visit her at East Shore. Saw her breastfeeding... looks easy on books, but in actual fact can be quite tricky. Hope Gleneales will have nice nurses to teach me how. Anyway, you tips above from the lesson is very useful... do keep them coming since i didnt sign up for such class... any info helps! I didnt sign up cos hubby busy with work and thus i dont feel like going alone... :p

evelyn, maybe this coming monday we could go take a look at the aussino bedding? I got gynae appointment this sat... looking forward to it, can see my boy boy again.

catz,

ya feel so uncomfortable when bladder kena kicked..hehehe sometimes when bb move too much we feel uncomfortable but if bb has lesser movement our imagination will run wild...arghh so irony!!

think bb has move upwards liow right, past few days seems to feel the movement at upper body instead of just the abdominal area and belly button area.

jaykay,
wow thats very detailed. thanks! but then hor the medala PIS is sooo expensive....unless intention is to bf for long term else not worth the investment leh....so u r going to buy the pump after delivery? thats what my frd say too... but me still hesitating now...

twinkle,
prunes / juices never work for me leh..

so i have been eating dragon fruits but lately like not in season coz hard to find everywhere. so just drink lots and lots of water....now i will try to "force" myself to relieve at least alternate days...heeee

JayKay,
Thanks for sharing! Really useful tips! I still have more to learn.
For me, I used the old method; boiling sterilization and mama lemon for cleaning baby bottles and oso bought the breast pump after baby born. (for my eldest son.)
Correct, not necessary to get milk warmer. I had one from hand me down but never use at all.
Did Mrs. Wong teach your how to BF?

Sun Moon,
ok. No problem!

Hi Sun Moon, Dolphina &amp; Evelyn,
Will keep all of you in the loop when I attend the next and final class on breastfeeding next Thu.

Sun Moon,
I also hope that the nurses in Gleneagles will be supportive of breastfeeding and guide me after I deliver. I was told that the nurses in TMC are really pro-breastfeeding. Hubby said that there is no pressure for me to breastfeed if I don't have milk. But I really want to try for at least 3 months. Will be seeing my gynae later but hubby can't come along because of work. Hubby told me to ask gynae to take more 'pictures' of boy boy. Heehee.... Happy shopping on Monday!

Dolphina,
I guess I will have to wait for after delivery to decide. But I more or less have made my choice if I have milk - Ameda Lactaline Dual Pump. It's cheaper than Medela PIS and I heard the performance is on par with Medela PIS. Anyway, it will be a good investment because I can keep it for my number two.

Dolphina, don't worry now. Wait and see first. May be you have a lot of milk, then you don't have to invest in electric pump but can use a manual pump.

Evelyn,
Yes, Mrs Wong taught us how to breastfeed. But like what Sun Moon has mentioned, theory is a lot easier than practical. I can't imagine how I can cope when baby comes out. Happy shopping on Monday!!

Twinkle &amp; Dolphina,
Why don't you try take two table spoon of honey every morning with a glass luke warm water before you eat anything. This really helps me to solve my constipation problem. I now poo poo more regularly than b4 preggie.

Eveyln,
I got your mail. Thanks.