(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

hi avocado, tks so much for the info
pregnancy is an amazing journey hoh... yup i like u sometx eat too much oso feel bloated. i used to b a small eater. maybe frequent smaller meals will be better, but sometx jus suddenly got gd appetite so eat more loh

Hi avocado, my frd not happy with the services from the nurses. They even found ink mark on bb's legs. They lodged a complaint abt it and GlenE sent a hamper as a way of apologies.

hi sanrio,

U're welcome

Ya,agree wf u,pregnancy is a wonderful experience.I try to eat more to get back the nutritious which I lost,during the first few mths of my pregnancy. I lost appetite during the 1st 3months..due to stress in my job & morning sickness...

I think it doesn't really matter if we eat a lot to gain weight.Most imptly,we eat nutritious food.Initially,I was worried tat i didn't gain weight instead I lost weight due to ms..

Ya,sometx I've good appetite sometx don't...Just like last week,due to stress in job & lack of sleep,I couldn't eat a lot..& can't sleep well either...

This week,I feel better,can eat,can sleep,hee..

hi Giggler,

why did the nurse mark the bb legs? oh my goodness,don't they know the ink might cause allergic to the bb delicate skin ?

Hi Sanrio,
Hee..hee... me oso in healthcare industry, working in a hospital.

Soyabean,
Come n join us lah!!! The 3 of us can go together, hubbies usually busy at work. Though i did stress to him the importance of his role. Actually made him feel quite guilty.

Avocado,
Don worry too much abt not being able to feel your BB's movement. I can't either and i'm already in my 20th week. Even my gynae asked but tell me not to worry if i can't feel it. I think it really depends on yourself. I'm usually pretty tired by the time i'm home after work. At home i'll try to clear some housework or some office work. I usually fell asleep on my paperwork, so i believe no matter how hard my BB kick, i'll be sleeping like a log.

Sorry ladies,
Lazy mummy haven't measure my tummy yet. But have put on close to 3-4kg. Feel so terribly fat.

Anyone thought of putting their babies in infant care centre after maternity? I'm thinking of putting my baby there. Feel much safer than leaving her with a maid or a stranger ie. babysitter.

Hi avocado, none of the nurse admit lor so my frd assume it's by accident lah. BTW, you better eat more when your appetite is good.

Hi B2B3M4, I won't be putting my bb at infant care centre cos my mom volunteers to take care of bb. I've col who does that though and she got no complains abt it.

Hi Sarsi, thanks for compiling. My wt is 44.6kg (gained 4kg from 40.6kg)- (19 weeks). I also always having dreams since i'm pregg.

Hi avocado, thanks for ur article too, v. useful. And Robinson not having sales now.

Hi b2b3m4, me not opting for infant care centre cos my mum will help look after my bb. But i feel that it is safer and better than a maid's care.

hi b2b3m4,
oh mayb we even met each other bf. i in sh cluster, u leh? if u dun mind me asking. i oso have no help to look af bb af maternity. did tot of infant care. hope can go 1 yr unpaid leave if possible.
hi avocado,
i oso lost some weight due to bad MS. now try to eat more nutritious food. yup like u some days i feel better some days no. probably due to work stress n lack of sleep.

Hi Sanrio,
Me previously in SH, now migrated to NHG. U working in admin or polyclinics, pharmacy? Where do u stay? I'm going to call up infant care centres around my home and office now, apparently the waiting list is very long and there is only 13 such centres around in S'pore

Measured myself yesterday....Wa liow! I never tot i will hit the big 3X... 31.5". Weight 49kg-->54kg, but i'm only in my 20th week. Think i'm putting on too much weight for my term.

Hi gals, I measured my tummy last nite. It's 32 at 23 weeks.

Tummy Measurement:-

32- Sanrio (17+weeks)
34- Soyabean (18 weeks)
30.5 -Sarsi (20 weeks)
33.5- Kis (23 weeks)
35- Taringal (23 weeks)
32-Giggler (23 weeks)

Weight Measurement:-

47.5kg (gained 1.5kg from 46kg)- Sanrio (17 weeks)
64kg (gained 4kg from 60kg)-Soyabean (18 weeks)
56.5kg (gained 4.5kg from 52kg)-Sarsi (20 weeks
53.7kg (gained 3.2kg from 50.5kg)-Giggler (23 weeks)

hi Kis,

Never mind..There is always sales going on at Robinson or JL..let's keep look out for the next one. Me & my hubby will b shopping fr. Playpen this wkend at Metro,heard it is having sales...

Heard my colleague said Durian is v. "pu"..So far,I've not taken any durian yet.My MIL told me that he suspects my hubby's complexion is rougher due to she ate too much durian during pregnancy.I think we shld eat within limit..

my hubby will hv watery eyes whenever he took bird nest. He only hv such pro when he was teenager. Before that,he was ok. So my MIL advised me not to take bird nest
nono.gif
...So sad
,i like to eat bird nest leh...

Hv anyone heard abt this before?

Hi avocado, I've never heard of both the durian and bird nest effects leh. If u want, you can take bird nest at your mom's place lah. Ask your mom to prepare for u lor. If you don't tell your mil, she won't know mah.

hi b2b3m4, i stay in west. yup, heard infant care wait list quite long.
hi avocado,
i oso like to eat bird nest n tot pregnant can have "excuse" to eat more. but hoh, my colleague (ex nurse n just given birth) and her husband (nurse) both claim pregnant woman shd not take bird nest. her husband's fellow hospital colleagues all believe that bird nest has tiny hairs (naked eyes cant see) n may b bad for bb developing lungs. ai ya...so to b safe, i didnt eat any loh. my hubby doesnt like bird nest so he all the more agree w them. but this is personal view/opinion, so it's up to individual to decide. i did ask gynae. she said evythg best to eat in moderation. as for bird nest n chinese herbs, if not necessary, no need to eat oso can. see.. doctor alwy dun give definite answer.
did hear abt durian vy "pu" but heaty so dun over eat, wait bb inside oreadi "hot" can get heat rash. tat's why pple say gd to take coconut near delivery. agn how true? dun noe leh..
anybody like to share w us on these?

Hi sanrio, I guess the rule is still to eat everything in moderate. My gynae always say that normal balanced diet will do, don't need to take so much unnecessary things. Till now, I still haven take bird nest yet and only take some durian in first trimester.

oh gosh... looks like i am the superweight champion here!

anyway... i'm suspecting dat part of my weight gain is the water retention leh... check wif u gals... can our gynae estimate how much weight is attributed to water retention and how much is true weight gain?

hi gals, I'm 23 wks and I think I am about 38 in around the bellybutton!!! You gals are small compared to me. Of course, I measured it at night, just happened to feel really bloated. Maybe I'll try measuring again tomorrow morning.

As for bird's nest, my MIL is going to send some bird's nest over to me for me to take. She thinks it will give baby good skin. I don't know. But anyway, I like bird's nest.

Hi soyabean, sorry I also not sure cos my gynae never tell me my bb's weight. He only tells me the measurements, that's all.

Hi Priviledged, it seems like you're the champion in the tummy competition. My frd told me that bird nest will give bb good skin also. So I decided to take some.

giggler, u're right. moderate n balanced is the key. i havnt eaten durian since pregg but will sure to eat as i like.

i oni started taking bird best last week... took those bottle kind... intend to take once fortnightly... not too often... cos the "bing tang" can be rather sweet and scared its too liang oso.

as for durian... i hv heard dat its good for the bb... very "pu".... but hv oso heard dat might not be too good for the bb's skin...

so i conclude... key word moderation!
can eat but jus dun go overboard....

giggler... its ok..
i will be asking my gynae abt my water retention on my next visit... need to highlight to her oso... cos rather early for me to get it.

oh... kkh gals... yest i checked with my hubby abt the premier package... and he said why not take it up.... but cos i dun reali know the details... i will check with my gynae on next visit.
but dunno if my gynae is avai for such premier package oso... cos she is oni a specialist.

Hi to all June/July mummies...this thread is so active, would love to join too...

I'm oso a July mummy, EDD is 29/07/04. So currently is in the 17th wks oredi. Jus went for my checkup last week, guess wat, i'm able to c my bebe gender liao... hehe so happi, it's a boi boi...

Wow u gals r having belly competition. M going to measure it tonite to c how big is mine liao. So far, i've gain 1.5kg for 43.5 to 45.

My EDD is 5th June. If baby pops earlier will b a May baby. M I qualified to join? I hope my baby pops on 1st June after I knock off fm work.

Soyabean
U can take premium package even your gyne is a specialist.
Premium package covers 8 prenantal checkups, 8 urine tests, 1 detailed scan & 1 postnantal checkup. I dunno the price for specialist. I go home take a look @ the package price then let u know

Hi winwin, welcome!!!
Wow, u so lucky, so early can see bb gender liao, congrats on ur boi.

Hi sanrio,
I took durian on my 1st tri, then bird nest on my 2nd tri. Ya, heard durian PU, so now 2nd tri can eat, and minimise during 3rd tri, cos wait afraid bb will be too PU and BIG, diff. to come out. As for birdnest, only know its gd for bb complexion.

Am so glad that there are so many of us at this thread. Oh yes, congrats to those of us who have passed the half-way mark. Can u believe it... this pregnancy seems to be moving soooo fast for me! Can we have a update on each other's particulars and also know the number of people talking in here?

Let me start:

1) Name: newtoitall
EDD: 9/7/04
Baby Number: None (except one in my tum tum)
Baby boy/girl: Still don't know
Felt baby kick: Yes

hi soyabean,

My MIL said those bottle kind is not as good as those we make ourselves..I was thinking to buy those bottle types(Brand) but quit the idea when my MIL told me so...

hi Giggler,
My MIL is stingy
& my mum is too busy to make for me
..And I don't know how to buy & make..jalak

Anyway,if my MIL makes fr. me,my hubby's SIL will b jealous..

Biw,I remember I once drank milk shake fr. Mc Donald. But I couldn't find it fr. the menu when I went to Mc Donald juz now..Is different Mc Donald branches serve diff. menu??

Kis
Thx
I m carring a boy boy. How abt u?

Emily
In support to your request
Name : Shook
Baby number : 1 soon
Baby gender : Boy
Felt baby movement : Yes

Hi Soyabean
Wif regards to KKH's packages. For Outpatient visits, like what Shook, u get the numbers of checks etc... For Premier, consultantion is done at the Private Suite. Sr Cons :$647, Cons : $557 and Assoc Cons :$467. For the classic, its done at clinics A, B, C, D or at AMK, Sr Cons: $620, Cons : $530, Assco Cons : $440. However, my dr do not recommend me to take up the package bcos' this is applicable ONLY for schedule visits, meaning if u drop in not on your scheduled appt, u have to pay. And it only starts from 20th week of preg, so if u were to give birht earlier, those visits not used will be forfeited.
She recommends me to take up the inpatient maternity package instead.
For Premier, will be seen by your own consultant the moment u are admiited, delivery will oso by your consultant, no medical students. Normal delivery, B1: $1,828, A1 $2,428. Caesarean, B1:$3,200, A1: $3,800.
For classic, your consultant will u see when u are due to deliver. During labour, u will be taken care by whichever dr that is on duty, there's no students too during delivery. Normal delivery, B1: $1,365, A1: $2,140. C-section, B1: $2,388, A1 : $3,127. These packages only include dr visits, delivery fees, nursey charges and vaccination.
Estimated Medisave claim for normal delivery is $750 and $2,00 for C-section.

Hi Shook and Winwin,
Welcomed! Which hospitals are u ladies going to deliver in?

Avocado
My cousin advised me to take bird nest when I m in 7th or 8th mth when baby's skin starts to grow. If take earlier, it doesn't benefit baby
To cook birdnest
Soak bird nest overnight. Keep changing water to remove preservative
Boil bird nest & pao sheng for 1hr 15min
Add rock sugar to bird nest & Pao sheng cont to boil for another 45 min

B2B3M4
I m delivering in KK, same as u

hi winwin n foreverfriends, welcome!

hi kis, i oso dun noe bb gender yet, hope can c in coming visit next wk. when is ur detail scan? af talking abt durian here, i feel like eating it right now!

hi emily n all,
here's my update:
2) name: sanrio
EDD: 21/7/04
bb number: 1st one in the tummy
baby kick: think havnt felt it

hi b2b3m4, tks for the detailed kkh package info. think will oso take up the inpatient maternity premier package.

hi shook and b2b3...
hehe... thanks for the info.... upon seeing ur post... i went to surf kk's website and found the info liao... will print it out.

but according to wat b2b3 has posted... it seems oni for for to Assoc Con oso leh... not for specialist.

and yah... i was looking at the Hospitalisation package... seems more "wu hua" leh...

Hi sanrio, I also like durian but I only like those cheap ones. Very stupid hor?

Hi soyabean, my mil passed me those bottled bird nest but till now I still haven eat. BTW, my cousin said that her tummy grew very big after she ate durians leh. But I not sure abt the skin part.

Hi winwin, Welcome!!! You don't gain much also hor?

Hi avocado, true lah, bottled one not as good but if there's no way that u can brew yourself than it's better than nothing. I don't think Mac serves milk shake anymore.

Hi shook, my mom will cook bird nest for me this Sat. She went to medical hall to ask them how to cook and they taught her to cook with pao sheng. Also, the guy said that to put rock sugar last if not the bird nest not so pu liao.

3) Name: Giggler
EDD: 14/6/04
Baby No: 1st one in my tummy
Baby boy/girl: Girl!

giggler...
gosh tummy grow big after eating durian? then i think i better dun eat.... cos my tummy already big enuf liao...

its so big my mummy says i look like i m giving birth in May... rather than in mid jul... sigh...

Hi soyabean, don't need to bother with what others said abt your tummy lah. For me, alot of people commented that it's small for 5mth but gynae said bb growing well so ok lah.

hehe giggler... i know... but i feel weird oso... dunno how come mine will balloon so much these few weeks... will hv to check wif gynae lor... looks like i will hv alot of questions for her when i next visit her. haha...

hi Giggler,

Me oso like cheap durian..Those D24 yellow meaty ones,I find it too filling leh...

My mum said can cook bird nest wf red dates as well. So good tat ur mum cooks bird nest for u..my mum only cares abt my SIL & her grandchildren..Sometx,i feel v sad becoz other than my hubby & some of my good friends,my mum & MIL don't really care abt me...

Hi soyabean,
Could it be u ate too much cold drink or food till ur tummy gets bloated??

what Giggler said is right..so long as ur bb is healthy,doesn't matter if ur tummy big or small..

So sad tat there's no more milk shake at Mac..

Hi shook, i'm carrying a ger ger...

Hi sanrio, my gynae dun do detail scan leh. My next appt is tmr, so happy can see bb again...its hav been a long long wait. I ate quite alot of durian in my 1st tri, so now not much craving.

Name: Kis
EDD: 16/6/04
Baby : Girl

Hi soyabean, remember to note down all your qns if not u may forgot when the visit due.

Hi avocado, we like very stupid hor, don't know how to appreciate those good durians. Don't be so sad lah, at least your hubby cares for u mah. But I must agree my mom really take good care of me lor.

Kis, thx. I'm surprised tt i can noe it so early too..

B2B3M4, Am currently seeing gyane at Geneagles.

Giggler, yeah lor i didnt put on much weight, my tummy oni balloon when i finished my meals...hehe

For bird nest, i don think i will be taking cos i have mild asthma. Heard from ppl tat bird nest might trigger it so dare not take the risk.
As for durian, my SIL had a lot of durian during her pregancy... her baby skin very nice leh and body very strong too.. But i do agree tat durian is heaty, some can take it some may not, so that really depends on individual.

hi giggler n soyabean,
me oso tummy small, many pple said. agree w u as long as bb is growing fine, dun b bother too much by those remarks. soyabean, dun wori,evythg will be fine.
there is tis silly man in my office who likes to go around criticising women, commenting pple fat, ugly etc etc. just now he saw me n said i walked like a penguin, wait stomach bigger he can't imagine. we pregnant mummies worked whole day oreadi so tired n still encounter such pple. terrible man right!!!!!!! i feel like telling him "keep ur big mouth shut".

Sanrio
Thx

b2b3m4
My gyne oso advised me to take inpatient package

Soyabean
The info posted in kk website is for classic package only
The tummy of my cousin's wife whose EDD is 29 May is v big. My SIL commented like going to give birth anytime. Dat wz during CNY. Tis is my cousin's wife's 2nd pregnancy. So u dun have to worry as long as your gyne said ok

Giggler, Avocado
I oso miss McD's milkshake

Giggler
Many ppl oso said my tummy v small compared to a 6 mth preggie

Avocado
Red dates is rich in iron. Ya it is gd to cook birdnest wif red dates too.
Dun feel sad. @ least u got a loving hubby who will spend the rest of your life wif u

Kis
I m oso seeing my gyne tml

Hi winwin, I also see gynae at GlenE leh. Who u seeing? I'm seeing Dr KH Chan. You better not take bird nest since u got asthma.

Hi sanrio, your col so insensitive one!!!

Hi avocado, my mom already bought pao sheng and she waiting for my bird nest to cook with it.

Giggler,
how often does ur mum cook bird nest for u? Sometimes, I make red dates & longan desert for both my hubby & me...We'll eat the longan & throw away the red dates..

how old is Dr KH Chan?

Sanrio,
Agree wf u ! I dislike such ppl !! I've few stupid male colleagues like to say stupid remarks such as "hey,walk slowly hor.." .When I'm tired & lazy to talk much when he tries to chit chat wf me, he said I look like sick chicken...

I know we shld try to ignore it,but sometx v. difficult...I feel like telling him "hey,u very "eng" har? nothing to do? I'll tell ur boss to give more jobs."

hi giggler, tis silly man even commented 1 of my female colleague looks like an elephant just becos she's of bigger build. yup, i shd ignore such "bo liao' pple. sori to grumble to u n the rest.
oh i oso not "smart" in eating durians, as long as not those big big thailand type, it'll be ok with me.
i oso feel tat at tx tummy felt bloated n discomfort af meal. i remb reading book n gyane said pregnant women digestive sys slow down so nutrients more readily absorb by bb. so must try eat frequent smaller meals, but sometx i so hungry n cant help it

hi kis,
so nice u can c ur girl girl t'mrow.i believe all of us are excited over each coming visit. i feel "touched" each tx i see my bb.
i think all mummies will have the special feeling..

Hi avocado, my mom will only cook bird nest for me this Sat for the first time. Most prob, I'll check her to do it fortnightly but still depends if she free or not. I not sure the age of Dr KH Chan but I think abt 40+

Hi sanrio, it's ok to grumble to us. I think I'll ignore him and walk away, pretend I didn't hear anything.

hi shook...
i found the one for premier here... is it the one?
http://www.kkh.com.sg/article.cfm?id=402

my mum used to hv big tummies too when she had me and my sis... she said its cos there was alot of amniotic fluid... mayb for me same case as her... but anyway, no matter wat, i will know the real ans when i next go scan i.e. whether bb is big or alot of fluid.

Soyabean

Hey u so clever. I could not find premium package fm KK website last time.

Wat your mum said is true. It may b generic for your case

Hi gals, this thread is getting interesting. Weight & waist competition. I've gained 2 kg from 49 to 51 kg. I measured my tummy this morning & it's 31". I've been taking bird nest weekly from 14 wks onwards. A lot of pple told me that it's gd for bb's skin.

Sanrio, you are the closest to me, now 17 wks. I also have not feel any bb movement yet. Wonder how it's like.

Hi Shook, nice seeing you here!