(2004/05) MAY Babies

Koala
I thot your mum stays wif u. U transferred your maid to your SIL but maid still follow u home?

Alicia's daddy, Giggler
I dun feel comfortable to hv a stranger at home. Dun like the idea of maid. Oso heard too many maid stories
TV in my parents' hse on fm morning till night time. My mum used to carry Chen Chen on her lap to watch TV programme early in the morning. Luckily Chen Chen attends playgroup now. So she makes Chen Chen sleep till 9:30. Gives him breakfast bathe than send him to playgroup. When he gets back fm playgroup, my mum feeds him lunch than let him hv 2 hrs nap. Tis reduces a lot of TV time for Chen Chen

RE: Sharing
Went to TMC for wife's follow up check-up with gynae. Alicia knows the colours and shapes in gynae's room, so Gynae thinks that it must be the fish oil that she prescibed to my wife during her prenancy.

Does fish oil really makes a kid brighter? I thought nowsadays all kids are bright.

Alicia also sang twinkle twinkle little star and earned herself a chocolate from gynae. I eat 3/4 and she took 1/4...he he he:p

Koala, Giggler,
My wife spent 1/2 a day at Nanny's hse once, and she told me that Alicia also likes to sit with her to watch TV programmes, even Taiwan drama.

Alicia's daddy
How long did your wife take fish oil during her pregnancy? My gyne gave me once,think it lasted for a mth. Dat's it. I ate fish everyday during my pregnancy n after delivery. Chen Chen knows colors n shapes, can sing song (Chinese, English, 1 Mongolian song) n recite rhyme. I wonder if it is the fish dat helps.

Koala, all along the maid has been following my bro home. Good for Chen Chen that he watches less TV now.

Alicia's daddy/Koala, maybe the fish or fish oil really helps leh. I couldnt stomach much fish during my preg and gynae didnt believe in too much supplements too. Vane still doesnt know any of what you guys mentioned leh.

Koala,
I think it started from 5mths onwards till delivery. One capsule/day. I believe it helps on the child's brain development, but it will not make a child any brighter. IMHO, children has individual potential in one thing or another, just different pace of development. Every child is unqiue in his/her own way.

Did you teach Chen Chen Mongolian song? Interesting.

Giggler,
Too much supplements mean that the excess are expel out as "waste", so your gynae is right. Each child has their own ways of picking up things, and learning it. It is a joy to see them learn new things, so be patience, Vane will soon pick up songs, ryhmes, shapes, colors, etc etc.

Alicia's daddy, I also share the same sentiment lah. Every child is unique.... also I didnt do much to teach her.

Giggler,
Does your hb drives?
When Alicia is in my car, I will switch on children songs all the way. She picks up the songs lyrics from listening to these songs repeatedly. Now, she even knows what song comes next in the CD.

Giggler
Have you tried, just dun on the TV, and read, play and spend time with her?? I am guilty of using the tv as a babysitter at times oso. Prob your mom on it so often, so now Vane sticks to TV. But if you take the initative, find some fun activities to play with her, she wont bother abt TV. Maybe you can try tat. Tiring, but much better than a couch potato right??
Nat picked up some songs from GUG. FInally I can hear her sing. Hee...

Giggler
Diff kid develop differently. Vane is advanced in motor development compared to Chen Chen.
Juz to share. For color, I had a hard time teaching Chen Chen following up after BJG class remember? For shapes, he learned through shape sorter. For songs n rhyme, he learned fm my mum n I n the classes he attended.

Alicia's daddy
I din teach Chen Chen Mongolian song in particular. Juz happen dat my hubby dwnloaded a video of a Mongolian song. Chen Chen likes it or rather he likes to watch anything on computer. My hubby dwnloaded the song itself to his cell phone. I picked up the song fm there as my hubby always use his cell phone to keep Chen Chen occupied. Coupled wif my singing n playing on the cell phone, Chen Chen picked up dat Mongolian song. My hubby kow tow to Chen Chen n I

Alicia's daddy, hahaha... Vane also can tell me what's coming next from her fav VCDs.

Mom2Nat, I tried to distract her from TV with books but no use. After a while, she still want her Barney or Cars. Finally see result from GUG?

Koala, guess I didnt really teach Vane abt colours and shapes thats why she doesnt know lah.

Mom2nat,
It is just so convenience to let the TV, or rather the VCD (Hi-5, barney etc) do the job. I am guilty of that too. Sometimes, I pressed "repeat" on the DVD player *oops*. Fortunately, Alicia does not glue herself to the TV. After sometime, usually less than 30mins, she will come out to look for mummy of daddy to play with her, or read to her.

Koala,
I have not heard Mongolian song before leh.
When I ask Alicia to sing, her first choice is always twinkle twinkle little star. She sang to me Humty Dumty last night, but when she comes to the portion of "could not put Humty together again", she went "Bu ke yi put humty together again"..he he he he...bilingual liao.

Alicia's daddy, hahaha... Vane is speaking rojak too... eng, mandarin, hokkien, etc. Stimes cant figure out what she's trying to say at all.

Giggler,
Wow, Vane can speak Hokkien.
Speaking about dialect, Alicia's Nanny is Hakka. She knows a lullaby in Hakka tought by the Nanny, but I do not understand a single word she sang, nor do I know if there words are correct.

Whent to Mother's place last night for dinner. During the dinner, her little cousin (14mths) came, and she exclaimed "Mei Mei Sexy Sexy"... we laughed, but wife reminded me that this is what you said to Alica before. Oh-O, better watch my words in future.

Alicia's daddy
My hubby same as u, on vcd @ times to keep Chen Chen occupied
Chen Chen sings a variety of English n Chinese songs. I believe Alicia can sing more songs if u sing to her.
Eg of some of the songs dat we teach Chen Chen
English : Twinkle twinkle, ba ba black sheep, fishes swimming in the water, old McDonald, Happy B'dy, Incy Wincy spider, head shoudler knees n toes......
Chinese : ker ren lai, twinkle twinkle n Happy b'dy in Chinese ver., pai pai zuo, san zi lao hu, siao mao lu.....
Do u want the website to the Mongolian song?
Do u send Alicia to enrichment class?

Giggler
Teach Vane color n shape anywhere, color of cars in the car park, color of flowers/plant, color of clothes, anything u c. Same applies to shapes
My mum speaks to Chen Chen Mandarin, now he is v fluent in Mandarin. His Mandarin used to hv ang moh accent. My mum asked me to speak to Chen Chen in English only. I speak to Chen Chen in Hokkien, Cantonese n Teow Chew @ times. He is not v gd in dialect

Koala,
If you can give me the link to the Mongolian song, that will be great.
I taught her most of the songs you mentioned, but only a few that she can sing in full (twinkle2 little star - chinese and english, Happy B'dy, siao lao su, pai pai zuo, ABC alphabet song, CO-CO-NUT). The rest are a few sentences here and there.

I did send her for weekend playgroup before (lasting for 3months), but mainly to socialise and learn songs and movement. Since the teacher changed, most of the parents pull out the children, so we did the same loh. Now, considering putting her into weekend enrichment program again.

I am considering MMI JW (Vane is attending- Glggler, rite?), and Townforkids in JE.

You seem to know lots of dialect. I am Cantonese by default (father is Cantonese), but you will sure laugh if I speak Cantonese. My mum is Teow Chew, but my Toew Chew already contaminated with Hokkien during National Service :p. My wife is hokkien but her hokkien sounds different from mainsteam one.

Alicia's daddy
I give u the link after my hubby retrieve it ya
Alicia sings many many songs in full.

Does your wife eat the same fish oil for tis pregnancy?

The new teacher for wk n playgroup is no gd?

I m a Hock chia but I can't speak Hock chia coz my parents din teach me. They said not common in Singapore. They taught me Hockkien. Teow Chew I learned fm my schoolmate. My Cantonese is half bucket

Koala, wow... you can speak so many dialects. Read somewhere that you got to be consistent and only speak one language to your kid. So I apply this by speaking Eng to Vane, my dad speak Hokkien and the rest of family speak Mandarin. But Vane still speak rojak at times, mix all 3 languages in one sentence. I teach her how to count by going up & down stairs. But not much on colours and shapes. Thanks for your advice.

Alicia's daddy, have u attend the trial lesson at MMI JW? Vane is still attending MMI JW. Wow... think I better take fish oil for this preg.

Koala,
Yes, TMC sells the same type of fish oil. Can also found in pharmacy stores. Cannot remember the brand, but the it has a drawing of a preggie woman outside.

I cannot comment on whether the new teacher is good or no good, since we did not stay long enough but definitely not as lively as the previous one.

Hock Chia. *scratch head* Never hear before leh.

Giggler,
I speak to Alicia in Eng (sometimes Rojak..:p), while my wife in Mandarin (she is better than me). Nanny use Mandarin, but Nanny's daughters use Eng. So far, no dialect exposure for Alicia yet.

He he, planning to go look look see see tmr morning :). Also visiting my cousin to learn more abt MMI methods tmr too.

2 days ago, Alicia do not want to "ngh ngh". She likes to hold on until "buay ta han", so I told her the "ngh ngh" inside tummy made her mouth "coh coh". "Ngh ngh" will make it "xiang xiang". I just received a call from wife that she asked Nanny if her mouth "xiang xiang" after she "ngh ngh"...hahahaha...

RE: toothache
Nanny feedbacked no more pain already. Will continue to monitor.

Hi 2004 mummies,

I'm hoping to buy a 2nd-hand set of Glenn Doman Maths Flash Cards. If any of you plans to let go, pls PM me.

Many many thanks!

Giggler,
I went to MMI JW today, but the Sat 10-11am timeslot already full, only can wait for more children to start the 9-10am slot. Tentative starting on Aug 5. I will probably start with a trial class first.

Giggler
I dunno abt the rule of speaking to a tod in 1 lang consistently. I used to talk to Chen Chen in eng, mandarin, hockkien, teo chew n cantonese for the same thing, ie said a sentenance 5x. Remember the video of Chen Chen answering to me delicious in eng, mandarin n hockkien? My hubby said I lor soh. Oso tiring to talk so much esp now dat he is more vocal. So stop doing it.
chen chen mixes eng n mandarin in a sentance @ times
If u can eat fish, eat fish lar

Alicia's daddy
Thx 4 sharing wif me where to get the fish oil. Errr....I m anti chemical. I go 4 the food itself if available. Dat's y I took only a bottle during my pregnancy. I cldn't stand the smell of fish during early pregnancy
Hv u heard of hock chew b4? it's v similar to hock chia. They r not common in Singapore. Dat's y my parents din teach me Hock chia
Alicia v clever. Confirm wat u told her wif nanny

Alicia's daddy
I couldnt' stomach fish during pregnancy. Anyway I am not a fish lover. So now I feed my girl more fish and give her Omega 3 oil oso. Dunno will make her smarter or not, but no harm... Hee...

Koala,
Yes, heard of Hock Chew, very uncommon here.
In fact, I also believe in getting nutrition naturally from food source. Because both wife and myself work, we have little time to cook.

Mom2Nat,
I am also not sure if Omega 3 (which fish oil contain) will make a child smarter, but it will definitely help in child's brain development.

Giggler,
I went to my cousin home on Sat, and was shown almost the whole MMI study materials that she went through (diploma course).

It is very structured (systematic)and some of the methods in the earlier stage can be applied in daily life too. The curriculum are broken into pink, blue and green which caters to different age, and every activities has some agenda to it, like instilling the idea of division, left-over etc.

For MMI starter, they usually have a stage where they go through the "normalisation". These are activities to condition the kids to a systematic way of doing things, and completing a task. It helps to improve concentration. Activities such as dry pouring, wet pouring, pegging are some of the activities. Emmphasis is also on the the 5 sensory, namely smell, sight, touch, hear, and taste.

Into more advance stages (older kids), they will pick up phonics, mathematics with their structured method. MMI also cultivate children understanding in zoology, different era of the human evolution, geography etc.

While MMI methology is sound, my cousin agrees with me that the teacher delivering the methods must be competent, and understand the concept of doing it.

I must say that instilling the full MMI is a long and tedious process if you choose to do it personally.

Finally, my cousin gave me some of her tools (i.e sandpaper alphabet) for me to use with Alicia.

Alicia's daddy, did you come into class to look see? That's why I like MMI toys cos they can be applied in daily life too. But no matter which sch or what type of curriculum, teacher is the most impt factor. Can help to ask your cousin abt the sand alphabet? I interested to get one. Thanks in advance.

Koala, you very patient leh, speak one sentence five times... I ok with fish this time round.

Mom2Nat, Vane doesnt really like fish, not sure if it's cos I couldnt stomach fish when I have her.

Giggler,
No, I was at the reception since the class was going on, so do not want to disturb. I spoke to one indian lady, and asked her lots of questions.

Sandpaper alphabet:
The Sandpaper alphabet looks like home-made one. She told me that she bought them when studying in MMI school at Orchard Plaza.

I called MMI and asked. You can buy the sandpaper alphabet at any MMI school, including MMI JW. The package comes with CD and a book too. Cost is $20.90 incl GST.

The alphabet is made of sand paper and pasted on a pink cardboard sheet (those that you can buy from bookshop).

Alicia's daddy
Hock chew n Hock chia is like Hokkien n Teo Chew. The pair sounds similar
Your cousin has the full set of MMI mat'l @ home? Gd for u. Can borrow fm her
MMI sounds gd fm wat u said

Giggler
R u going to cont Vane wif MMI for another term?
Eat more fish for tis pregnancy since u can stomach fish
U can make the sandpaper alphabet yourself. I made a set for Chen Chen but he doesn't wanna trace the alphabet

Giggler, Alicia's daddy
Actually I wanna stop sending Chen Chen to MMI after n of tis term. The chinese teacher than lousy teaches the same thing for previous 10 wks now teach the same thing. Boi I can oso teach like her. Chen Chen n the other tod who joined the last term dun even wanna say wat is on the cards dat she showed. Both the tod gave her the sian look. The English teacher slightly better but tis term got art n craft every lesson which parent has to do for the tod. Waste time. After renovation, they shifted out some of the mat'l. Now left pathetic few mat'l which I c already oso sian

Koala,
I speak Teochew and Hokkien mixed together, so can consider I speak Hock Chew lor, hahahah...
My cousin has the full set of reading material (syllables), not the teaching material. She only gave me the sandpaper alphabet and lots of educational games (but not MMI type).

I agree with the method but again, it is how the method is being deliver. It will not be good if the delivery is not good.

One of MMI emphasis is repetition. Maybe this is why the teacher teaches the same thing again and again.

I am still having second thought on sending Alicia to MMI JW.

Mom2Nat,
Some centres use methods which is derived from MMI, but not necessary employ the full MMI methology. As a matter of fact, some of the teaching can be home taught as well.

RE: Some ideas
It struck me when I saw the MMI material from my cousin about using a stencil to teach drawing of shapes. I have never thought of it although it is something we had been doing in school many years back.

Alicias daddy, thanks for the info on the sandpaper alphabets. Why having 2nd thots on sending Alicia to MMI JW?

Mom2Nat, I dun rem seeing any sandpaper alphabets during GUG class.

Koala, how did u make? Teach me leh then I can save the $20.90 hehehe Ill continue Vane till I find other sch for her. Then you better feedback to eureka cos she interested rite?

Giggler,
I am still considering Townforkids in JE (2hrs weekend playgrp) where they do art n craft,and songs n movement.

Actually the sandpaper alphabet is easy to make, just need time. Only cardboard and sandpaper are needed. The only difficult part is drawing and cutting the alphabet from the sandpaper.

Here is my own suggestion for DIY sandpaper alphabet:
1. Cut cardboard to square of 15x15cm (or any sq dimension you prefer)
2. Print large alphabet A to Z using WORD format.
(Use Arial font, with size 500pts, you need 1 aphabet/A4 size paper)
3. Cut out the individual alphabet.
4. Trace the alphabet to the sandpaper.
5. Cut the alphabet out from the sandpaper
6. Glue the sandpaper alphabet to the cardboard.

Alicia's Daddy
Tks for the suggestion. But hor, if I were interested, i'd pay tat $20 lah. Save all the trouble to make and buy the materials some more.

Giggler
Do you rem then doing magic fingers and matching?? They will take the zoo phonics cards to match with the ones on the wall. Then the other teacher will do magic fingers with the some kids. Sometimes they use the alphabets from those mats. But nowadays I see they use these sandpaper ones with pink backing... but not sure isit exactly the same as was Alicia's daddy mentioned.

Alicia's daddy, thanks for your suggestion.

Mom2Nat, I only rem that Vane got to do matching but not magic fingers. Maybe she still young tat time.

Mom2nat, Giggler
The sandpaper alphabet cards I have are with pink backing too :)

I tried with Alicia last night and think that the sandpaper is too rough for her fingers.
What is magic fingers?

Alicia's daddy
Oh yes, U speak unique Sing Hock chew

Repetition for 20 wks?! Bored to death man. The trainer fm BJG told me once tod shows no interest means he/she tells u he/she understood. Dun show anymore. Otherwise the tod will loose interest in learning. Tis is v true on Chen Chen
Hmm.... never thot of drawing shapes wif stencil. Dat's a gd one! Did u let Alicia draw wif stencil?
Any other MMI teaching dat can b done @ home to share?

Giggler
Alicia's daddy posted the mtd to make alphabets wif sandpapers. The things to add on
1. I pasted the alphabets on blank flash cards
2. Trace the alphabets on the smooth side of the sandpaper using the mirror image of the alphabets

I find dat overall Kovan MMI is gd. Otherwise I won't cont for 2nd term. As I always said. The teacher is a crucial factor. I suggested dat Eureka go look c n check out herself. There wz a relief Chinese teacher who taught for 3 wks. She is excellent! Her 1st lesson wz lousy. She apologized dat she din do any preparation coz she thot the permanent Chinese teacher has some materials dat she can use. Wat does dat mean? I dun hv to elaborate. She brot her own materials on the 2nd n 3rd lessons. The lessons r v interesting. Even for 2 lessons she conducted them differently. Repeated some things but not all

Giggler, Mon2Nat
I think the $20+ includes the cd dat sings out the phonic. I din wanna buy coz
Chen Chen may not wanna trace the alphabets which is true.
I saw the pic used for the phonic in his playgroup. I believe the teacher teaches him phonic the same way as MMI. His playgroup uses partial MMI.

Koala,
Thanks for adding additional details to the making of sandpaper alphabets.

20wks of repeatition seems too long.

I guided her hand with my little nephew circle stencil once early this week, and also demonstrated to her. She can follow the way I hold down the stencil but she started coloring inside the circle.. hahahaha..more time needed (repeatition...I guess :p)

Another thing I do (not MMI)is to label the household items, like "CHAIR", "DOOR", "TABLE".
This is to let Alicia associate the word with the thing she sees everyday.

Alicia's daddy
Shld b 20wks I guess Last term 10wks, tis term 1st wk wif her tho n still did the same thing. Plus the mat'l dat the relief teacher managed to dig out is the same mat'l as previous term

Alicia can hold pen/pencil n ctrl draw like adults?

Hey I like your way of labelling items in the hse. I use your mtd to teach Chen Chen can?

Koala,
I can understand why you think it is boring.

We have not teach Alicia the proper way of holding pen/pencil yet. She holds with her right hand (right-handed) naturally like gripping the whole pen/pencils in her palm. She will draw in circular motion, or left and right scribbling. Base on her imagination, she will tell you what she draws.

Can, no problem. I do not hold any patent to this..hehehe...just sharing some methods I learn from others too mah. :)

Alicia's daddy
Chen Chen's plagroup teacher said dat it's normal for tod @ tis age to scribble. Their fine motor is not so developed to ctrl the writting mat'l.

Alicia imagines wat she draws. She is creative!

Alicia's daddy, Alicia can tell you what she draws? Vane likes to trace hands and legs when she's given pen and paper.

Koala, so you gg to stop MMI soon?

Koala, Giggler,
Maybe I should be more specific. Alicia did not automatically tell us what she draws. It is when we asked, she will anyhow say base on what she thinks it is loh.

Alicia also like to trace her hands and feet, but she will ask me to trace for her, instead of herself.

Giggler, MMI JW has not call me yet leh. I have made arrangement with TownforKids for a trial class this coming Saturday from 10-12pm.

Alicia's daddy, let me know your feedback on TownforKids can? Actually I still prefer GUG to MMI but still stick to MMI due to convenience sake lah.

Can share what you do with your kids after work?

Giggler,
OK. Will let you know after I attend the trial lesson. GUG quite far right?

I usually pick up Alicia at 7pm from Nanny's place (just next block). We do not have a fix routine on what to do with Alicia.

In a typical weekday, Alicia will be with us from 7pm to 10.30pm, before she goes to sleep. We usually take dinner outside from 7pm - 8.30pm, depending on where we go.

It is hard to tell you exactly what we do, as it is kind of sponstaneous, but in a typical day, we will play with Alicia (i.e play-doh, puzzles, drawing etc) or she watch her Hi-5, Barney or chinese songs VCD. At the same time, we also catch up with our television programmes (imagine multi-tasking).

Between 10.30 to 11pm, we will wipe her clean, change into her sleeping attire, and give her last feed of FM. After that, lights off.

Do you have a weekly timetable?

Giggler,
Vane can hold a writing mat'l n draw like n adult?
I will stop sending Chen Chen to MMI after tis term.

Alicia's daddy
Chen Chen let us trace his hand.
alicia eats her dinner outside wif u n your wife?
Chen chen doesn't allow me (only me) to watch TV programme. He pulls me away

Alicia's daddy, thanks in advance. I dun have a fixed routine too... Usu I just laze ard at my parents' place till 9 plus. Go home, do some housework, then prepare for bed liao. Thats why didnt do much with Vane at all. Not sure why but suddenly I feel very guilty leh. Its the period that she absorbs things but me just didnt do anything.

Koala, Vane doesnt hold pen properly everytime. Since Chen Chen attending daily playgrp now, can stop gg for weekend enrichment class liao.

Koala,
Nanny gives her Dinner around 5-6pm, but when we pick her up and go for dinner, she will ask for the food we eat. She likes noodles, and vegetables. We need to watch her diet as she can have large a large apetite. I think it is in the gene because both me and wife are those that can grow fat easily..hahahaha...

Sometimes, Alicia will also insist that I am with her in the room to watch the VCD (applies to her mummy too). I always find excuses to free myself..bad daddy right?

At times, I play with her in the hall so that I can catch up with my TV programmes loh.

Giggler,
You do not have to feel guilty lah.
If you think carefully, there are many things you can teach in daily life, like when you take the lift, take the bus, take the MRT, go to the park etc.

You send her to MMI is already providing her with enrichment.

For example, I will let her know that Lift A or B is coming, the numbers show up in the lift display, and even the triangle which is facing up or down. You can see that I am teaching her alphabet, numbers and shapes.

I also tell Alicia that this is a taxi, a bus, a cement truck, a motorcycle etc when I drive. This is about transportation. To add on, I will ask about the colour of the taxi.

So you see, everyday you are teaching Vane this way :)

Giggler,
I went to the trial class on Sat.
Alicia joined in the child care group since the weekend 2 hrs playgroup has not been officially setup yet. The centre manager told me that they are looking to setup a proper one in a few months time.

There are 3 teachers around. All very friendly.
When I went there, only 4 kids are around, all from child care.

In the 2 hrs, they had
1. Free play (outside the centre, big open space) where the kids played ball, push cars, hula loop.
2. Music and movement- Alicia loves this segment.
3. Craft - they did a flower on a poster. Can hang up type.
4. Lunch - Alicia took porridge with the kids (chicken and sausage porridge. The porridge is thick and Alicia finished it- must be good).

As mentioned before, I like the environment, and is thinking to put Alicia in their CC late this year. I also met the parent whom their son also attended the same enrichment class with Alicia when in JP, and heard positive feedback from her.

I need to let the centre manager know by this week if we want to continue the weekend playgrp,and I am still thinking about it. I may continue but I will feedback to the centre to include "theme based" activities during the 2 hrs session. After all, it is still at infant stage at this moment.

RE: Jealousy
Alicia has been seeking a lot of attention from her mommies recently, from asking for help to sleeping with her. She has been refusing me (unless I have nice things to eat). People say that she may have the instint that her baby brother will be arriving soon, and may have develop some jealousy and wants more attention. Is this true???? *Haiz*......she refused to let me carry her this morning.

RE: Puzzles
Giggler, did you let her try the simple one like 3 pcs, 4pcs type with colorful pictures? Maybe this will cultivate her liking? There are many puzzles which is educational, and suitable for kids at this age.

Alicia's daddy, I know someone who sent her kid to hat CC and she find it good too. But it's over my budget for cc. Vane has been asking for me ONLY recently. She didnt want her dad or my mom. Not sure if this is cos she knows that she gg to have a sibling soon or it's just a phase that they're gg thru. I exposed Vane to 3/4 pcs puzzles but she not interested.