(2004/05) MAY Babies

Leng Leng,
Yes, 22/05/04.
May gal borned in TMC.
Was in the delivery suite for around 8 hrs.

My Gal can differentiate "she she" and "ngg ngg" now. We only use diaper in the night when she sleeps, but last night, she complaint that the diaper make her "yang yang", but we insist she wears it (otherwise, we cannot sleep liao).

When we go to shopping mall, she likes to go "she she" because she wants to play with the hand dryer *angry*...ke ke ke...

leng leng, you gal also May 04 bb? So qiao... My gal's bday is 28/05/04. I'm one of those who ordered the herbal tea from u.

Alicia's Daddy, do you also stay near Jurong area? Will you intend to enrol your gal to Jurong Calvary Church then?

Giggler,
Yes, I am currently staying at JW St91.
This is one of my consideration, but logistically, it is quite troublesome for us.

At this moment, thinking of sending her to one of the weekend playgroup in Jurong East first. Nanny will continue to look after her till end of this year.

Alicia's Daddy,
mine can say "xiao bian" already,
but her big business is also "xiao bian" hahaha...

r u using drypers?
Cause the part on the back of our kids are a little rough,
thus it's a little itchy,
everynight we have to apply lotion b4 wearing her diaper,
she'll have to thank us for a smooth butt in future...

Giggler,
yup yup... I rem you, u r in the 1st BP.
Any reviews?
Lotsa mummies are sharing their experiences with the herbal teabags.

Alicia's daddy, I'm staying at JW Central 1. Sourcing for good playgrps for my gal but seems like there's not much choice. Which enrichment center do u intend to send your gal to? My gal is attending MMI at JW Blk519.

Leng Leng, wow....your gal knows how to say "xiao bian" liao. Impressed... my gal only knows how to say "ngh ngh" so far. My bro is taking the herbal teabags but he said that there's no effect so far. Maybe it's not suitable for man?

Giggler,
keke.. trained by my MIL.

Man can take it also ley,
but did her take twice everyday?
After lunch & dinner.

Leng Leng, so your mil is taking care of your gal now? I thot you're sahm? I'll tell my bro, think he only take once a day.

Hi Giggler,

So happy for you. Still remember the chubby Vane. Must be a big girl now. I've just started sending my boy to weekend playgroup. But he's not used to crowd, so quite scared. My boy also not fully toilet trained yet..not easy.

Alicia's daddy
U bring your gal to the gents?

Giggler
Chen Chen knows how to say da pian n xiao pian but juz dun wanna say

Masshiro
Wz your son borned in May?

Giggler,
my MIL had been taking care of her since she's 2mths old,
after I return to work.
When she's 22mths old, we send her to Full-day care,
at void deck of my MIL's place,
my MIL will bath & feed her in the evening,
we'll bring her home everynight.

I'm a SAHM, looking after my 6.5mths old son.

Leng Leng,
Yes, Alicia is using Dryper. She has been using this brand since 3mths, from S to current XL. That night was the only complaint she had. Tonight she is fine with the diaper again.

You can ask your MIL to start teaching her "ta bian" :p

What function does the herbal tea gives?

Giggler,
The playgrp in Jurong East I mentioned is the one at the swimming complex. I know the principal because Alicia attended her class previously before she setup the centre. She is pretty good with children.
Err.. what is MMI? Is this available on weekend only? I want to take a look leh.

Koala,
I brought her to Gents only once when my wife was not with us. I brought her to JP mall because she wanted to take "bus bus", otherwise it will be my wife bringing her to the ladies.
I carried her, moved quickly to one of the cubicle and locked the door loh.

Maybe Chen Chen is shy. Last Saturday, my parent came by to see her because she was sick. She was playing with her "gong gong" and "por por", but suddenly ran towards me and whisper softly to me that she wanted to "ngh ngh". She was shy to tell "gong gong" and "por por" loh.

Alicia's Daddy,
she knows "pang sai" hahaha...
My hubby brings her to male toilet also ley,
no problem at all lah.

The herbal teabags are for expelling excess oil from our body.

Alicia's daddy
U muz b a v loving daddy to bring Alicia out upon her request. Your wife doesn't take bus?
Chen Chen wz able to signal to us he wanna poo when he wz v much younger. Dunno y he changes when he is more vocal. He signals us on ad hoc basis. Sigh.....
How did u toilet train Alicia?
Aiyo nanny look after Alicia till n of the yr, than u gotta start sourcing for cc asap. Gotta get Alicia used to the cc b4 the nanny stops her cc svc. Y the nanny doesn't wanna cont to look after Alicia?

Leng Leng
U stay near your MIL?
expel excess oil to slim dwn??

Koala,
We stay Sengkang,
PIL stay Tampines.

"expel excess oil", slim down or not ... I donno...

It's a BP (Bulk Purchase) we are having now.

Masshiro, which sch is your son attending now? So you planning for no.2 yet? Think it's harder to toilet-train boy leh. Hehehe.... Vane is not as chubby as her bb's stage liao.

koala, think it depends on their mood leh. Stimes, Vane didnt inform us that she wants to "ngh ngh". Sigh.........

Leng Leng, is it really difficult to handle two kids at the same time?

Alicia's daddy, it's Mulberry rite? I thot it's a childcare centre? Didnt know that they provide weekends class too. MMI=Montessori.... Basically I like the structure as in they train kids to be more independent. But I feel that they dun really do much as compared to GUG lah. Hahaha... your gal so cute.

Hi giggler,
My son is at GUG. Think the program not bad, but I'm trying to find a place near my MIL's place where he can attend during weekdays. Think once a week not enough to get him accustomed to other children.

Still thinking about 2nd one..dunno leh. quite busy with work. see how lah.

Suddenly all the May parents decided to gather here huh? *laugh*

Giggler,
Not that difficult to toilet train boy lah. haha

Leng Leng,
Expel excess oil from the oil we eat? Quite Cheam leh. :p

Koala,
That day happened that my wife works OT, and I have to take care of her. Because I drive the family around, it is rare for Alicia to take bus. I was thinking since it is not far from my house to JP mall, might as well let her explore the bus. She likes to press the bell and listen for the "ting tong".

My nanny toilet trained her. She has been with her since 3mths old. Alicia is toilet training her Elmo now. She will ask me to hold Elmo and pretend to let her "ngh ngh". Then she will take a piece of small paper and wipe Elmo's "pi pi". After that, she ask me to smell the paper...Arggg...

Actually, Nanny treats Alicia like her daughter. We decide to put Alicia into cc because our second one due end sept, and Nanny do not want to take care of 2, so we have to make a choice.

Giggler,
It is TownforKids. It is a cc centre, but I called the principal last week, and was told that Alicia can join the playgrp on weekend. Enrichment is song and dance with their patented multimedia software. Alicia likes to sing and dance.

How much is MMI/mth? On Saturday only?

Masshiro,
What is GUG? (Sori, I am learning from all of you)

Pigletz,
I guess father has an important part to play to toilet train boi boi. Ke ke ke..

Alicia's Daddy,
hahaha, not true lah. It's the readiness of the boy lah. My hubby never show my boy how to pee.

Hi Alicia's Daddy,
GUG is Growing Up Gifted located at United Square. Haha, your daughter is so cute. Sigh, I wonder how long more my boy will take to be toilet trained.

Pigletz,
I guess when the time comes, he will know :p

Masshiro,
Thanks for enlightening me. I will do a search to learn more about them.
Be patience. :)

Here is a pic of Alicia:.....Maybe when you see a man carrying her next time, please call me hor. *Haiz, she is so lazy nowsadays that she always want Daddy to carry.
460581.jpg

Leng Leng
Tampines n Sengkang not dat near. Do u drive?

Giggler
toilet train is a pain. I hope the teacher in playgroup can toilet train Chen Chen

Masshrio
Once a wk wk n class helps for my boi. I wz v worried dat he will cry when he attend daily playgroup. He proved my worry wz unnecessary

Pigletz
Our tod wz borned in May mah. So happy dat someone started tis thread

Alicia's daddy
When I work OT my hubby goes to my office wif me n vice versa

Alicia is so cute!
My son likes to take MRT n LRT
Congrats! Going to b a daddy agn. O so nanny gonna take care of no 2 while Alicia goes to cc
My boi oso likes to b carried

Masshiro, actually I quite like GUG's curriculum but find them very restrictive as in there's no make-up class. I'm also looking for daily playgp for Vane but seems like there's no good ones ard my area. Sigh....

pigletz, ya... you dun have much prob toilet-training Gareth hor?

Alicia's daddy, is the enrichment class similar to the one that the principal used to have at JP? I paid $105 per mth, the lesson is only 1hr on every Sat. They also have classes on weekdays but it's not convenient for me. GUG=Growing Up Gifted at United Sq. So which cc will u be sending your gal to? You cut your gal's hair?

koala, think chen chen is still not ready yet, just wait and time will come.
So it's not just Vane who likes to be carried? But I cant tahan stimes leh, really no strength to carry her for long.

Koala,
How nice of you and hb to be together even during OT. Chen Chen goes with you too?
The last time I took Alicia to take the MRT was *oops* almost >1 year ago.

Leng Leng,
Yeah, all about balancing the Yin and Yang.

Giggler,
You are right about the enrichment class in JP.
Has MMI brings benefit to your gal already?

I am still trying to decide on the cc (I have until end of this year), but you are right that there is no good ones in our area (maybe standard too high :p)

He he he..Nanny cut Alicia's hair.

Leng Leng
Drive fm Senkang to Tampines than not v far.

Giggler
Yes'dy Chen Chen poo (my mum guess coz his diaper wz changed) in school. Dunno the assistant got toilet train the kids or not
I bot a toilet seat adaptor. My mum said Chen Chen likes to sit on it but no poo. Hoepfully can toilet train him wif the adaptor n flushing of water. He likes to flush water
Chen Chen likes to b carried all along
Now dat u r pregnant, crucial to look for cc for Vane hor. Hey come to think of it, u got pregnant b4 your SIL

Alicia's daddy
We bring Chen Chen along when working ahem ET (OT is extra hr wif pay, ET is extra hr donated to co
) we bring Chen Chen along. I will bring books, toys along to keep Chen Chen occupied. Oso bring him to the shopping mall for a walk.
Is there cc near your work plc or your wife's work plc?

Alicia's daddy, dun see much effect from MMI so far leh. Maybe it's just once a week class that's why. The most Vane knows the actions of the songs that were sung in the class. Hehehe....

Koala, you're wrong leh.... My sil is pregnant too, our EDD only 1 mth diff. So actually I got headache abt care-giving part too. Sigh........

Koala,
LOL:) I like the way you classified OT, and ET. I must inform my boss about the ET I spent at home..he he he...to get better increment! :p
My wife work around the West Industrial area while I work around the central industrial area. Because I travel occasionally for business, I am against looking for a cc near my office.

My nanny said that the nest way to toilet train a child is to deprive the child of daipers. Once they know it is dirty without the diaper, they will learn to speak up. Sounds cruel rite? Fortunately, Alicis did not have to go through this. *phew*

Giggler,
I think it takes time to see the effectiveness, but IMHO, 1 hr is too short leh. By the time the children settle down, 15mins gone. Kids at this age also has short attention span. At most 15mins in the play, they will start to wonder around liao. 10mins before lesson end, time to say and hug good bye.

Alicia's daddy, actually I think I go to MMI for their toys lor. I feel tat their toys are educational and very close to everyday's life. What's the class duration for the enrichment at Townforkids?

Giggler
U or your SIL due 1st?
Your mum going to look after both bb?
Is your niece going to cc as well?
Me too cont Chen Chen for another term wif MMI bcoz of the toys.

Alicia's daddy
If u work a lot of ET, pay increment bo hwa
Is there cc near your wife's working plc than?
My mum tried b4. Dun let Chen Chen wear diaper (a while not whole day) Messy gotta clean up the plc
How did your nanny train Alicia since she din hv to deprive Alicia of diaper?

Koala, my sil will deliver first... not sure how my mom can cope with our cf and nb too. My niece cant go to cc cos of her health.

Giggler,
OIC. Does Vane plays alone with the guide of the teacher? I suppose this is MMI method- to let the child explore independently.

The class duration is 2hrs, and $150/mth (that is what the principal told me over the phone). Actually, I visited the place before, and I like it. It is very spacious and lots of child activites stuff. It has also a multimedia room.

I understand that MMI is not in favour of exposing child to television and computer at such a young age. In contrast, townforkids uses computer multimedia to expose the child through music and movement, but usually for 20-30mins. The rest of time will be handy craft (creativity) and games (socialisation). Note: these are my personal comment.

Koala,
In fact, I do not really work a lot of ET lah.
Unfortunately, there is no cc near my wife's workplace, only factories and canteens :)

Nanny brings her to the toilet on a fixed schedule, and tell her that when she need to "she she", she must tell her. Gradually, she began to understand and naturally, she will tell when she needs to "she she", even when she "she she" into her diaper. Nanny slowly stop using diaper for a few hours, than extending it to full day without diapers. Well, the first few days without diaper also caused some mess because she forgot to tell.

RE: Advertisement
Yesterday, while watching TV program, the SlimFit advert came on (the one that promotes bust enhancement). Alicia cover her eyes with her little hands, and said "Cannot see X"...Me and my wife's eyes wide wide opened....aiyoh, must have learnt from nanny's son....*headache*

Alicia's daddy, stimes the teacher will guide us how to use those materials (toys). I saw the place from the website too. Very colourful and spacious. But I dun really like the way the teacher conducted the class the other time.

Giggler
Your mum does confinment for both u n your SIL?
Your mum going to look after 2 bb n your niece?

Alicia's daddy
My mum tried to bring Chen Chen to basin to she she on a regular basis. As Chen Chen grows bigger, she stops doing it. Chen Chen noti. Runs to a corner to hide whenever we change his clothes or diaper. My mum bo lak to carry him, catch him to wear diaper.
I ever said Chen Chen "u r a big boi, u can talk so well n know how to say da pian y u dun wanna say? Big boi muz pass motion in potty not diaper bla bla bla". I said dat while changing his diaper. He lied on the bed quietly playing wif his toy n I saw water on his face. Tried to trace where the water came fm. Seems like flowing fm his eyes. He teared over wat I said! His reaction like the way a noti kid being reprimanded over noti act. Sigh.... I really dunno how to potty train him.
Hahaha wat Alicia said wrt the SlimFit advert is

Giggler,
I did not see first hand on how the teacher conduct the lesson. I should ask for a trial visit first. My cousin did a project on MMI and asked me to go and take a look at the curriculum at her place. I will plan a visit to her hse soon.

Does MMI JW, provide a trial lesson?

Koala,
I understand your situation. Alicia is the same on running away from something she do not like.
Kid at this age can show emotion very well liao.
When Alicia gets angry because we reprimand her for doing something not right, she will place her hand behind her back, bow down her head, and look for daddy (if Mummy scolded her) or vice versa.

RE: Something to share
Nanny told us one day, when she tried to feed her some medicine, she took away from the spoon when Nanny not watching. Nanny came back and she gestured to Nanny "no more". Nanny took another spoon and fed her the medicine eventually, but later found the other spoon hiding away behind the computer.

I brought her to watch Hi-5 Live action heroes, and she wants the T-shirt (and the S$10 balloon).
For 1 whole week after that, she wanted to wear that T-shirt everyday. She just refused to wear anything else except that T-shirt. Nanny and wife has to wash T-shirt everyday and dried it before sun rise, and sun set. Fortunately, she grew out of it after 1 week.

Koala, my mom plans to help both of us with cf lah. But see first cos my EDD shd be ard CNY period. As for care-giving part, I still dun know what to do. Think Chen Chen is still not ready for toilet-train lah, give him some time.

Alicia's daddy, MMI JW provides trial class. Share with us abt your findings on MMI can? Is your cousin a teacher? Hahaha... Alicia can be very persistent hor?

Giggler,
No, my cousin is not a teacher but she is taking child care courses (maybe completed). One of her project is on MMI. Wife just called me to arrange visit next weekend. This weekend got to go TMC (wife's follow up check-up), and nephew's birthday party. Will share anything interesting after my visit.

I will swing by to MMI JW to take a look.

I think Alicia is stubborn instead (he he, like mother *ooops* :-X)

Giggler
Your mum v can leh. Do confinement consecutively for 2 mths.
Your SIL's mum can't help her to look after her kids?
I can't understand wrt Chen Chen's readiness on toilet train. He cld tell when he wz much younger n not speaking well yet

Alicia's daddy
@ times when I scold Chen Chen, he bow his head n eyes big big, look guilty. Dat melts my heart.
Hahaha Alicia really knows how to keng wrt taking med
Chee Alicia outgrows her T within a wk. Wow! Wat is her wt?
Wat is the gender of your no2?

Alicia's daddy, ok... shall wait for your feedback next weekend. I think Blk519 maybe inconvenient for you. Hmmm... I'm reading a book that says not to say bad things abt our kids. So dun say Alicia stubborn lah...

Koala, ya lor... dun think my mom can tahan and worse mine maybe during CNY period. My sil's mom is working full-time so cant help her. Maybe Chen Chen dun see the need to inform you?

Koala,
I actually meant that Alicia got tired of it after a week of wearing the Hi-5 T-shirt. Sori for the confusion. She still can wear. She is 12+Kg now.

Gender for No2 is a boy.
After No2 arrival, factory close ;-P

You want to try using a potty, and let Chen Chen put down the pants himself and sit if he wants to "poo"? Just my 2cents worth.

Giggler,
I drive so no problem.
Nanny and Wife says the same thing too.
Thanks for the reminder :)

Giggler
U deliver during CNY, most ppl won't go n visit u
May b your SIL shld get a maid to help to look after your niece

Alicia's daddy
OIC
Dat's v gd 1 boi 1 gal. U only wish to hv 2 kids?

Koala,
2 is enough. 1 gal and 1 boi, meaning "good" in chinese.

RE: Sharing
Surprise..Surprise. Alicia can recognise Singapore Idol from the newspaper *disasterous leh*. Next time she "jui O siang*, I sure faint one.

Alicia's daddy, oh ya... forgot that you drive. Then it shd be ok for u, less than 10min drive to MMI JW from your place.

Koala, my sil has take over the maid that we shared the other time. So hb was suggesting that we shd get a maid to help my mom out. But I dun really fancy the idea of having maid.

Koala,
I guess so, at Nanny's house.

She also like to watch Hi-5, Barney, Bob-the-builder, and some of those chinese children songs VCD. I know too much TV is no good, but my wife and myself are not giving too much restriction to Alicia on these, however, we do limit her exposure to TV programmes (with exception to Kid's central). We did not subsribe to cable.

Maybe not too good huh? Any good advise appreciated.

Giggler,
My wife also doesn't fancy the idea of having maid because we feel uncomfortable leaving the kid at home alone with maid.

Alicia's daddy, if I got a maid I'll send her and my kid to my parents' place in the day. But we just dun like the idea of a 'stranger' staying at our place.

Koala, Vane also watch lots of TV nowadays leh. Every 5pm, got Hi-5, then before she naps, watch Barney, reach home watch cartoons... Sigh.... I also dun know how to stop her.