(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Worrymum, which day you booked? Why never ask me? Hey maybe we can go together. Your hubby going? How much you paid for the tickets?

Pris, I was at the church for christmas mass. It was very solemn. I hope you don't feel offended when I say that. This is just a personal view. Also, I noticed not many young couples with kids there. So don't feel very belong. Not sure if you understand what I'm trying to say.

Anglican services are very solemn.

We are over at Living Waters Methodist Church, do not have alot of young children but we have been there for close to coming to 10 years already.

Hi Serena!

Our church has surprisingly lots of young parents and kids.

Hi Chloe!

You get the idea. It's quite certain now. Yep, we'll be back next year for good, though most reluctantly on my part... sniff!

Hi Sarah and moshi2!

Had my first session of acupuncture today. Quite pleasant. An instant relief of left shoulder ache and headache is gone too. But acupuncture will remain as pain management therapy because it cannot correct any morphological problems. The most important thing now is what the doc decides to do after the MRI.

Had MRI today too. Cost 800 Eur! Read the radiologist's report, but can't exactly understand it fully. Something like the beginning of a degeneration caused by an uncinate process. Apparently, my vertebrae are beginning to protrude and cause irritation to my nerves, esp towards the left side, thus my left shoulder pain... Now what that actually means in layman terms and what other impacts that have on me, I really need to wait out for the orthopedics to explain in details to me... that's all I understood from my limited medical knowledge for now.

I think I should start researching.

One doc in TTH did tell my mom before that it can happen to everyone, it's just the degree of degeneration and how it affects the person's life.

So hmmm... you wanna look up an orthopedics too? Best thing would be going through a recommendation from a polyclinic, lest medical charges will be astronomical.

Gee, I just ran a search on the internet and there are tonnes of info on C4-7 uncarthrosis blah blah... maybe you girls wanna do research too. Check this out:
http://www.spineuniverse.com/displayarticle.php/article201.html

Btw, did you gals ever have an accident or have you ever sustained any falls/injuries? They could even be so minor that you probably wouldn't realise coz there was no need for any medical attention. Well, for my case, I fell down a slope one winter in 1994. The fall was so hard that I chipped a tooth. But of course, I didn't feel any amiss other than my chipped tooth. Then after a ski trip in 1999, I began to experience immense shoulder ache and stiff neck which I thought it was mainly due to my long hours at the desk writing my thesis. I had a minor accident in 2004 when my dh bumped the car in front of us and the car behind us bumped us. But all these never called for an alarm to have my cervical vertebrae x-rayed. And I suspect all these knockings over the years might have caused this degenerative cervical spine disorder.
SO think long and hard if you gals survived any stunts and if yes, better go see a doctor and have your neck checked.

Hi K's mom, which church do you go to?

Actually, I had a slip disc operation 6 years ago. My MRI cost me S$700 and my vertebrae are protruding and cause irritation to my nerves too down my leg. I was always in constant pain. Driving over a hump would cause pain. Getting up from a squat position cause pain too. I walked like an old woman, hunched and everything. In the end, I went for the op. The doc remove part of the disc that was out. However, I don't think my case was degenerative because I carried heavy things using the wrong position.
I tried acupuncture too. Like what you say it's only one type of pain manangement. You need to find a permanent solution if it keeps bothering you.
I was given 1 month medical leave to rest. I was lucky because this happens before I had a child. Can't imagine who will help me look after my kid if I was down in bed.

Serena, most young kids that I know from church is pretty big now and our tot to K1 group for Sunday School is like about 12 children in all.

So not as many as some other churches.

K's mum, I have fell from a tree before but have undergo treatment and therapies for 2 years in my primary school days 3 times a week.

Serena,
U referring to Disney ON ice? Me book the 14 March Friday 3.30pm show. Cat 3. Nope, only me and B.

Hi Serenade, does your B still have phobia of learning to ride the bike ...

Just to share, I've re-started this with my B and he's beginning to ride now :>

Tx to Judy, & R (who's riding around like a maniac!), after my B saw she did that, he was not as afraid to learn as prev. In fact, he laughed when he fell into the bushes, n not cried like before. We've done 4 tries since, n he's able to go for quite a few meter before he falls. The trick as I've learnt from Judy is to hold the bike at the back of the seat (not the handles), n when starting off, get the kid to put 1 leg on the ground (usually the left) and pedal off with the right leg (pedal at the right position)....

Hi Serena, Hi K's mom, I once injured my left shoulder before (I was in a "violent" sports in my JC days) ... I'm keeping my fingers crossed that nothing damaging was done as I've only went for TCM treatment then. I've got weak leg muscles too and in my teens, I couldn't even climb the overhead bridge. My muscles tightened up very fast, even now .... and hence I tried to warm up properly if I need to use them. pls take care of yourselves!

.ky.

Hi ky,
How exciting for you and your B!

Phobia? haha, he got rid of his phobia before returning to Singapore. According to his dad, he managed to cover some distance before falling. But we have not been on it for a while. Time to restart...

Hi Serenade,
Abt mathstart you bot from Sep21, you mentioned you have mathstart level 2 and level 3. Did you have level 1 too ? Let's say I wan buy for A, is level 1 too simple for our kids ? Sep21 is very near me so I am planning visit its showroom soon.

I m bak last tuesday, but has been busy with not sure what and catching of HK dramas (my sil passed me some series). Happy New Year to all of you again.

Looks like you guys are hot on P1 ... I am quite set in sending my boy to Clementi Primary since it is the nearest (walking distance) and heard PeiTong is not as good. Didnt want to PV in Nan Hua, and since my boy is not the academic kind, think he would be very stressful in NH.

Serena, been to little red hen last year. The show is great, but I think my kids are too young to appreciate then.

Erm, mummies, I looked at Popular for exercise books that my kids can practice writing in, like triple lines for english and big squares (cut into 4 quarter) for chinese, but I dont find them. The triple lines for english words are there, but the middle line is not exactly in the middle. Is that how the triple lines suppose to be?

*sigh* very backwards in academic .. my kids only expose to nursery workbooks.

ok, time to catch up on the blogs.

Welcome aboard, mysteriousm!

And welcome back, Sheryln!

Hi Apricot,
Yup, we do own a couple of the Level 1 books. They are just as engaging albeit the simpler concepts.

The concepts taught in Level 1 books might be simple for our kids. Nevertheless, the books are still interesting reads. B still reads them occasionally
For yourself, you can view them as an investment for your twins too.

When do you intend to make the trip? I do have the membership card which entitles the purchaser to a 5% (or is it 10%) discount. But if you are buying the MathStart books, you'll probably be receiving the membership free. Happy browsing at the store!

Hi! we're back!
Hee... Grandparents finally got to see Berlin. Kids were towed all over the place this time, though post WW2 history didn't quite interest them at all.

Perhaps we should look into visiting a car factory next time. Maybe Audi in Ingolstadt. Hmmm...

Hi Serena!

I suppose you are alright now after the operation.

Well, for my case, I can only wait till my appt with the orthopedics next Monday. And I will definitely be going for a non-invasive therapy at the moment. Else, there's really no one to take care of the kids. Perhaps, it isn't as bad as I imagine it to be.

Our home church is Queenstown Baptist Church in Margaret Drive.

Hi ky!
Yes, do take care. And anytime you experience complaints beyond normal muscle aches and it's numbness or constant pain, then it's time to seek out the specialists.
So have you read "Where Willy went" with B yet?

Hi mysterious m!
Great to have another Y2003 kid among us! Hope to chat more with you!

Hi Serenade!
Mathstart cost about USD 10.95 for three books with SCholastic. Sep 21 offers a much better rate?
So are you busy chauffeuring the kids around now?
Is yr dh bringing the whole family to the Singapore Airshow?

Hi mommies!

Anyone's been to Jacob Ballas Children's Garden before? Any fun?

Thanks Serenade. You must hv visited the airshow right? So any chance you have complimentary tickets for the airshow to let go?

Thanks ky for the link. A pity that my printer do not allow compatable ink cartridges and the original ones is pretty costly, so wondering if printing the blank sheet out is more economical or that of buying an exercise book. Maybe I shd draw the lines instead. haha

So, I am right to say the lines shd be of equal gaps ?

no mood to stay here, no mood to bead, no mood to watch drama and not baking recently cos so many CNY goodies. Maybe shd catch up on sleep then.

Sep21 is located at Blk 13 Toa Payoh Lorong 8, #04-06 Braddell Tech
(between the Nissan car showroom and First Toa Payoh Primary School)

K's mom ... yap. been to Jacob Ballas Children's Garden. Fun but hot for us.... check out my blog. think in dec.

I tried to show B how to do a handstand, and fell over, and broke a key on the keyboard. Ha... old liao.

Sherlyn, get a new printer. It might be cheaper. If u don't use the printer, it'll still spoil, u know right? anyway, we have tried compatible ink before and the printer got clogged after one round, so now we are using originals. Just spoke to a technician the other day on how the printer companies are fighting compatibles...

yap, same spacing. I usually print at draft mode, to save ink.

.ky.

Hello all
Happy CNY! today is 15th the last day so fast hor! I just came back from Japan. It was snowing in Tokyo too. We ate sushi,sashimi...fresh and yummy. Unfortuallly, we did not plan well we woke up at 4am took the 1st train start at 5am to the Wholesale "Tsjuki Fish Market" but when we arrived it was closed for public holidays.Sigh!

Hi Serena
Hope u r feeling better now. Me having neck and shoulder pain also visit the physio regularly. Been MRI but can't find the caused.

hi ky!

wow... you can do handstand! Never have the sense of balance.

I showed B and K once in the park with my cartwheels. They had so much fun watching that I felt like I was the circus entertaining them. Difficult to get them to start on it though, that's why when I saw the clip on yr B at his gym, I wanted to send my B there too. Maybe after we are back for gd. In the clip, I saw how the coach started with a little stool to train the kids to do cartwheel. I guess it would be a leap of faith or foolhardiness to really flip over. But that was how I learnt it then. Yep, some things, if we don't learn it young, we might never learn it ever later in life, e.g. handstand, split, sommersault, cartwheel, tumbling etc.

Hi Sheryln,
Don't forget me if you manage to get complimentary tickets. Yup, we are entitled to none. Heard from my hubby that it'll cost us $100 if we drive there. Guess we'll be giving it a miss.

Hi K's mom,
You are definitely getting a better deal! Go for it!

Btw, does Scholastic carry Let's Read and Find Out Science?

Yet to start on the job of chauffeuring the kids. We'll be getting the car only next month. Forsee that more practices are required before hitting long distances without my hubby's presence :p I'm still feeling stressed just driving down to Chinatown.

ky, hi again!

Just checked into yr blog. Wow, you guys had lots of fun just in the month of Dec alone! So many fun-filled, adventurous, cultural activities! Can we join next time? I just tag along with my kids, you plan, ok?

Yep, I totally agree on the school/teachers part. Some things we can change, some things we can't. Anyway, you are doing a great job homeschooling the kids. So no worries there lah! I'd like to think that when we go back, we need to supplement the kids' curricula in school too. What we've been doing here at home is minimal. I depend on the preschool too much. And since B has such a wonderful teacher this year, I think homeschooling can take a backseat. Actually, it's the 2nd one I'm worried about. I really haven't done much for her. Unlike you, always inspiring yr K with new activities, e.g. I like the handling of thongs to pick up marbles idea. Simple yet important to develop fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination.

ky, you can really give yourself a pat! I really admire you energy and ideas you've been channelling into yr boys!

Hi Serenade!

Yes, Scholastic does carry "Let's read and find out Science" books. But it's not until recently that we got the catalogues on math and science books. I only ordered a copy of "Let's read and find out science" book, titled "Why I sneeze, shiver, hiccup and yawn". Very fun read for B, even for me too! It talked about the CNS and how these are reflexes that we have no control over.
SOmetimes, Scholastic likes to bundle up these books with other titles too. It's difficult to get the offers coz sometimes I already have those other books and I don't want multiple copies. Haha... maybe I should start a business with the multiple copies when I get back to Sg?

I suppose you are changing yr family car now?
Actually, driving long haul on highway is less stressful than maneuvering in traffic congestions in city driving. Anyway, drive slowly... I'm all for keeping to speed limit! ;)
I've been chauffeuring the kids around for about the whole month now since dh's been travelling... eeeks.... no fun!!! But it is quite convenient, I must say.

Hi K's mom,

You should seriously consider setting up a business on those books. I'll be your first customer!

We like the "Let's Read and Find Out Science" books too. Unfortunately, they are a tad too pricey for me to acquire the entire range. Imagine $10 a book!

I'm all for driving slowly and keeping to speed limits too. Right now, parking is still an area I'm trying to master. Without the poles, things are bit tricky for me. Oh yes, if not for the convenience it brings, I doubt I'll ever learn to drive a car.

Hey Serenade! Pm'd you.

Hee... parking. My instructor believes that it comes with practice. He didn't even tell me what to look at when the poles are gone. My dh taught me... :p

But really parking comes with practice with your own car. e.g. the turning radius of a Touran is much higher than that of a toyota corolla which I learnt driving in. So take heart, and let people behind you wait! ;)

Seriously, w.r.t. Scholastic Books, don't you think we have enough mommies here to start a book club? I'm not sure of the how to's. But hmmm, you think if we PV in a school and be willing to set up a book club for others, it'll help?

Anyhow, mommies, some thing to think about esp when the titles Scholastic offer are so good. Or, does any child's kindergarten does Scholastic book orders?

Thanks, Apricot!

Serena, saw your sms. I completed my short course of 1 semester, find that I could not cope with ds while doing the course. Study late into the nite when ds slept and also get up early to do my work. Very tiring.

Look like Scholastics has lots of nice and interesting books but they are not found on Kai's booklist.

Ya ky, the printer will still spoil if its not used. This printer is a combo, with scanner, printer and photocopier, so I think i cant change unless it is spoilt. I use the scanner alot cos scan baking recipes. haha

btw, I notice the page only has a few lines for them to write. Is there a standard like what size of words they should start writing first?

wow, ky, show hand stand? I probably can only manage head stand. I hv phobia doing the hand stand and cartwheel now.

Hi serenade

wow $100 .. that won't do for me too. Maybe this Airshow is not SAF related? so no complimentary tickets for the family.

So you have passed your driving? then next time I can hitch a ride from you lor ;-)

Hi mommies!

Speaking about book sale,

I have a double copy of
"When Sophie gets angry, really, really angry" By Molly Bang
to sell off.

You can check this out at amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Sophie-Angry-really-Really-Angry-Caldecott/dp/B000BBS9B0/ref=pd_bbs_4?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1203629957&sr=8-4

It's a Caldecott Honor Book. I use it to help me talk to my kids about controlling the temper. The colours are really vibrant.

It's paperback, brandnew condition from Scholastic, selling at SGD 5.

Anyone interested? If yes, let me know promptly or pm me by the end of Friday. My parents are going back to Sg on Sunday. I can get them to bring it back for you. But got to arrange to meet to pick up the book.

Hi K'mom,
I also have "When Sophie gets angry, really, really angry" book. Agree a good book to teach our kids abt controlling temper. I use Q&A on A and it's quite relieved to hear he says cannot do this and that as I point the pics.
Pris, quick grab the book !

Beware of the flu virus. Benny was once again attacked and having on and off high temperature (40+)since Monday. Since antibiotics from GP not working well, I brought him to the PD today. Urine test, normal but a little wheezing from the running nose and phlegm. Have been trying real hard to protect Bryan from contacting especially when they love to hug and play together..

Remember I've mentioned about getting a job after CNY? Ya, I've got a job and confirmed starting on Monday 25Feb but I'm feeling a little 七上八下. Probably becuase I've not been working for a few years and afraid that I might not meet my employer's expectation... Anyway, wish me luck!!

Hi Pris!

Consider it sold to you!

Since you live in the West, it should be quite easy to meet. How about station control in Boon Lay MRT station next Tuesday? PArents flying on Sun, arriving on MOn.

Time, you pick. Ok?

Hey Joanne,
I presume its a full-time position? Office near home? Give yourself some time to get used to working life, and have fun! Share more with us next time.

K's mum, deal. Any day next week is fine if your parents need to rest first.

Thanks for choosing Boon Lay MRT, it is near to where I am staying now. Probably after Kai's school.

My friend frm HK is planning a trip here. May I ask how different is the night safari as compared to the Zoo? I hv never been to the night safari. She is asking if its worth a visit.

I just heard my girl crying. Probably bad dream but its also not the first time. Feeling a little sad cos if I am sleeping now, i would not hv know she cried.

Kids sleeping away from me, it seems that I will not detect them coughing away in the nite if they are sick ..etc etc. Feel quite bad that I am not with them at these times.

Parents with kids sleeping on their own .. is it silly of me to think this way?

Hi Sher!

You are either waking up very early (not very likely?) or sleeping real late! Woman, think beauty sleep ok?

Hee... if it bothers you so much, then get a baby monitor. I didn't buy one when B was born, basically the flat in Sg was so filled with people that we didn't have the luxury of letting B sleep on his own. But we invested in one when we got here. And till this day we are still using it with K. It's an assurance to my dh and me that K is sleeping soundly or otherwise, though we don't usually answer all her cries. Now we know when to go in or not. And most of the time she settles herself back to sleep. That's why she has been sleeping through when she was 9 months old. That's a feat for a bf baby.

But recently, she's been so jealous that the grandparents have been sleeping in B's room for the past three months. So for the past 3 weeks she's been resisting sleep. I can't tell you how much pain it has been for me esp since she's always been such a good sleeper until recently.

So since this is weekend, we decided to put B to sleep together with her in the same room. Something I've withheld for a year till now. Hopefully this would mean easier bedtime routine from now onwards. Actually my dh and I did plan for them to sleep in the same room when we move back to Sg for gd. Looks like this is being realised sooner than we thought.

SOrry that I digress...

Back to guilty conscience, I have none. Coz I still have my "ears" in the children's room, in fact now I can hear both kids. Never thought a baby monitor is so useful. Gotta be using it too when in Sg coz the bedrooms in our flat is separated by the living room. And we'll still very much be on our own by then since the grandparents will not be staying with us and we won't have a live-in maid anymore...

Serena,
haha.. I only manage to get 9 correct so me too is only somewhat intelligent.

Any test to determine how lazy one is?? Might be able to score full for that..

Sherlyn

I think it's normal for you to feel that way. Now that I'm going back to work. I felt guilty too.. I will not be able to pick them from school and caring job will be handled over to my in laws from my off work time (which is their after school time) to the time I reach home.

We will not be able to play around the whole evening like before as mummy will be rushing to prepare their stuff to bring to school and had to make sure that kids sleep early so that they won't be cranky on the next day.

And in the morning, I'll not be able to roll in bed and play with them as i wake them up.. Will be busy preparing myself for work... sigh... One minute, I'm jumping with joy over my new job but next minute, I'm sulking over my shortened time with kids..

Joanne, I may complain alot about having to work but deep down inside I still prefer to work and I encourage woman to work too. But of course if you can work from home or part time then it will be most ideal.

The ans to the test - 3 blind mice!!!?? now who would have thought of it!!