1st Time...

nellu
enjoin ur trip huh. very excited about Josh's repond to the VCD huh. i had been talking to ky and he can tell simple object liao 'mao'=cat, ball, bus and clap hands. i think i should go n get the too!

dun get mad about ur MIL lah, BF is not a simple job for working mother ok. esp our boys are not easy to look after like other bb girls.

Jasmine
this afternoon ky's fever came back after a nap.
38.5deg, no channce to give the hou ning as his fever med n antibotics timing are close. he keep coughing when napping.

Sgn,
KY is coughing must be the throat infection which cause the fever.
Think cure his fever 1st, if his fever not coming back after 4 hrs of medicine than can give Hou Ning for his cough. Aiyoh girl & boy same same lah, now Nichole walk around the house have to follow her when she is awake, luckily my maid handle her well Im at work. 2 days back when I brought a pkt of PET PET diaper they gave a free gift of a pump up elephant she carry around the house and play with it, this morning before I left home she just woke up and hugs the elephant once she came out of the bed room. Keke & I say bye bye to her she like blur blurrrrr....

Jasmine
aiyo this morning ky vomited all his breakfast n med. he felt so lousy n fell asleep after bath. now dun dare to let him eat much but wory he's not eat enough. mil still say it's good to let him vomited out the mucus which i told her it's gstric juice but she insisted it's good. buay tahan.

Sgn,
Your MIL is right throw out will be better KY. Can reduce his phlegm which he don't know how to spit out. If he took breakfast before hand, the stuff he throw shouldn't be gastric juice, don't worry. And if he is drinking FM milk try to dilute it, cause if you follow the normal way of mixing for the time being.

hb made some calculations and told me that Pampers is cheaper than nepia.
hahaha that guy always must try to get the best value one...
btw, you gals know that NTUC now got offer for various bb items hor... do go and stock up.

think the ntuc offers are on every week, but each week the brands on offer will change. pampers is cheaper when u get to L size.
we used to use it from birth, now it seems to leak after 3 hours?

nellu- this thing with bf-g, alot of pple like to give their 2cts comments. its quite an earful at times. i will just snap at them. haha

shauna-hahaha the best part is a lot of these pple who like to talk and talk and talk are those who had NEVER bf before...I wouldn't have minded if it was someone who had bf-d and told me stuff...it's a lot more receptive...

ky still running a temp this afternoon. it's been a wk and he still having temp like 38-38.5deg. think tomolo must bring him to the pd cos wk end clinic is close.

i personally prefer nepia ley cos it can last for 12-14hrs n NO LEAK! yesterday went NTUC n nepia L size sold out.

nepia-
think it varies from person to person. we;ve had really good comments for it before. but now it seems to disintegrate after a few hours. the cotton literally breaks up into clumps in the diaper n seeps pee out.

nellu-
aiyah, sour grapes. hee. just forget abt them. look at josh, he's a perfect example of a baby thriving well under bm. who has the right to tell u to choose otherwise, rite? they just cant keep their mouths to themselves.

very sad to inform u all that KY needs admission after x-ray shows infection. PD says need i/v antobiotic and suction. will inform nellu to update for me in the thread. MIL now looking after ky for me while i came back to bath n pack something.

sgn,
sorry didn't manage to help you update everyone as I was outside when you broke the news to me. Do take care. KY needs you the most now... you need our help pls shout ya?!

shauna,
hahaha! my hubby says it's plain IGNORANCE!

Abt Nepia
Just now i was at NTUC and there were pieces of samples of Nepia pull up pants lying around. And ya, it is exactly like how Shauna describes, like the cotton disintergates!! Too soft..I agree that different people would find different brand of diapers more suitable. I still moot for pampers and Mamy Poko for night use. For day use, i just use anything that is economical, but would not use drypers as I hate the tapes...For pampers i use the Pampers Baby Dry (red packaging). It works fine and is cheaper than Pampers active baby.

nellu- ive bought some baby dry but hasnt got courage to use it in the nites. haha. coz i really dun wan sidney to wake in the nites.. we've been using pampers active baby since birth for nites. how is the baby dry for nite use? sidney pees massive amounts overnite..keke.

yah dun mind those pple, they are just plain insensitive and 100% dumb. what do they know abt taking care of your son rite?

ky is better today can play n eat after suctioning n antibiotics. if no fever today kiv for discharge tomorrow.

diapers:
i agreed that nepia does disintergrates but as long as it doesn't leak i'm ok with it. mamypoko also my flavourite but it's 40cents each!

sgn,
good to hear KY is getting better. Hang in there!!

regarding mamy poko, we've been getting our supplies from Msia. The last time MiL came she brought some. When we went back in Dec, we bought a few packs. When MiL's friends come to SG by car, she gets them to bring in for us....keke

shauna,
so far we have no problems with Pampers BD at night. Maybe it's cos Josh's daily fluid intake isn't that high. The diaper is really heavy by morning. so far no leaks...but personally i really prefer Mamy Poko..hahaha cos i like the winnie the pooh pix at the top and it's in colour too. In fact, i think Josh loves to look at it as well.

sgn- its the weather i swear. i'm still coughing alongside with hb. sidney seems to be oni tough cookie ard. take care of urself n ky.

nellu- dare not go into malaysia leh.. and no one to bring me supplies.hee.ive tried mamy poko but din use it thru the nite also. aiyah, my whole storerm is filled with diapers. lately we're on a hunt for a day diaper to replace nepia. we've tried baby dry (thumbs up for day use so far), ntuc (dirt cheap but doesnt last long. no leaks but feels damp. ) ive got more in my storerm: huggies dry, huggies dry comfort n tons n tons of active baby. ha. but actually its all for the thrill. that few cents really dun work out to be much now that he doesnt change his diaper as often as the younger days.

tks for the concern for ky, we are dischraged n reached home.
fever subsided but the lungs still not clear yet, pd says can go home with the machine n neb him 4hrly to open the airway. as for the suction part it's painful lor heartache, got no choice but this is the only way to help him to clear the mucus from the throat n nose. each time when they suck him i got to wrap him down with a blanket n he just cry n cough (like want to vomit type) when the tube goes into the throat.

i like ntuc diaper too! cheap n thick but not user friendly for my boy cos i toilet train him after he pee, the tape not sticky anymore when try to put on the same diaper. huggies dry is the best for day use n nepia (nite) for my boy if he dun poo i only use 1 huggies dry n 1 nepia per day!

sgn- its not bad for the price. cant expect too much outta it. but for me, it can oni last 2-3 hours. its good enough coz i still change him pretty regularly.. keke

sounds traumatic. but if it can cure him, u have to do it. do not delay treatment. children are particularly vulnerable when unwell. sometimes we just duno what the bigger problem is behind one symptom. u shld consider lettin him take his pneumoccocal jab if that has not been completed?

Shauna,
Thanks for the address, will find time to send out the seal to them.
Did you try PET PET. So far its my choice for day use, now they have promo on 3 pkts for $35.95, just 2 days after 1 brought 1 pkt from there sigh, I thought $13.80 is already offer so brought 1 more pkt to spare coz their normal price is $14plus.
Sgn,
Wao you toilet train KY already ah. I haven't did it on my girl. Think it will be hard coz we tried asking her to sit on the potty we brought for her she seems like not interested at all. Oh no suction it sound terrible. That time when Nichole is having her cough with running nose, I just suck out her mucus using my mouth don't care liao, of coz after doing that I went to rinse my mouth with mouth wash. See her suffer so heartache so I did that to reduce her phlegm. I tried the NTUC diaper, not good compared to PETPET. So far my choice is PET PET Day use, Nepia night use. Going out I use MAMY POKO pull up pants. This weekend have to go grab PET PET again since its on offer cheaper by $2 plus for 1 pkt, have to store up again. Hehe...

Hi..thanks for all the advise...sigh..I tried the Avent cup with her quite long ago liao..but not everyday..I try abt 2 or 3 times a week..maybe tat's the problem..

1st few times she opened her mouth to try but then (same like Josh) she bite it instead..I've been trying to show her how to suck but she just dun want to try it..hmmm..'mag mag' is another brand is it? I'm now trying out the Nuby one..but same as Avent - no results..

Nellu..pigeon cup? Wat does it looks like..I've to go check it out..

Oh by the way..we brought her to Sentosa last Fri to stay for 2D1N..sort of celebration for her B'day..she had lots of fun @ the Underwater World & loves the Song of the Sea..

hi graybecky. i think with the cups (or anything for babies for the matter), consistency is the key. do it several times a day. i'm talking abt eveyr 30 min a day but of course not too close to milk feeds or solids. but often enough to get them used to it. they will eventually take to it.
glad the young lady had a ball of a time.

jasmine- never tried pet pet but heard some good reviews. i tried ntuc coz my gf told me it was not too bad. but i guess we'll switch back to baby dry for day use. i just may try pet pet! hee. ive 3 more nepia seals if u wan. not using nepia anymore so they are of no use to me. u wan??

training cup:
since ky dun like to suck when he was sick i gave him the pigeon straw cup (colourful type) he ok ley but dun want avent teats size3 will let him try teats 4 later to see how. cos pass few days had been feeding him milk with tea spoon.

Jasmine,
i've never tried Petpet too but i took the risk and bought it at NTUC. Just to ask, are the fastening tapes the velcro type or the sticker type? Last time i used to use Drypers before and the tapes are the sticky type.. really drive me nuts esp when Josh keeps squirming around. Very hard to fasten and if accidentally stick onto the diaper, aft that cannot stick back.

graybecky,
the mag mag cup is the pigeon one. It's quite readily available everywhere. And not expensive also. the tops are interchangeable. You can try to get the sprout top with cup then get just the straw top. Can't remember how much the cup cost but the tops are like $5 each.
Last friday was your girl's bday? hehe she's april baby just like me and hubby. My hubby's bday was last sat.

sgn,
jia you!! KY will get well soon...hopefully in time for his birthday!!

Shauna,
If you have the seal which you not in use just PM me your address I will send a SAE to you, actually I have been asking around for the seal and even pay 50 cents for 1pc from 1 of the mummy in the forum, should have ask you mummies in our thread for it. Thanks for the Nepia seal yah
As for pet pet, if you boy urine flow not as much like in the night can use, I find it can last my gal up to 5hrs per piece and it will not break into pieces even its full.
Nellu,
You brought how many packs? For your infro the fastening tapes is not velcro type leh, its the sticker type, but when I use it I dont have problem putting on for Nichole. I just brought 3 pkts from NTUC coz now they have promo 3pkts for $35.95. Guess what my birthday is on the same day like Josh hehe... so co-incident hor

nellu
tks, hopefully ky will gain some wt b4 his birthday cos this round really slim him down, not cute anymore.

petpet is the sticky type but their sticky part is better than drypers.

Jasmine,
Thanks...disappointed with the fastening tabs...my hubby tells me "so cheap what you expect??!" ...ok lor....
We bought 3 packs only. cos never use before plus Josh is suddenly growing up again! so didn't dare to buy too many packs. I just took out his pjs for 12-18mths, thought would be big for him. Got a surprise...it was just nice wor!!..die liao lor...need to go shopping again!!
hey! same day as Josh ah!! Happy Birthday in advance to you lor...cos not sure if got time to log in by then...will be very busy when i get back to SGP, must prepare Josh's party, maid will be coming, hubby will be preparing to go back to Europe (again!!)...siao liao...

Nellu,
Sgn is right the PETPET stick on part is better than the NTUC brand for sure I have tried that brand b4. Josh waering M or L sizes now? Yeah don't buy clothes which fit their actual age. I always buy slightly bigger like now Nichole fitted well in 2T clothes. They grow faster than you think. But also depends on the cutting of the clothes. Happy belated birthday to you too
Thanks... Yeah mine is the same day as Josh. So you new maid is coming soon. Humm... better enjoy your trip 1st. This time round you getting a Indo. or a philipno.? You went to a new agent for the maid? Oh your hubby will be traveling again ah?

Shauna..I agree have to be consistent..but I see the way she response to it..she doesn't seems to like tat so I tot..dun push it..

Nellu..her b'day is actually tis thur..husband was able to take leave last Fri so we went lor..hmmm..thanks for the link..I'll go check out if Kiddy Palace or NTUC have it..

graybecky- i'm sure u can read her cues. yah lah, if she's violently against it then dun force. dun take me personally, coz i almost had to force sidney to drink water when we just started... haha.

nellu- wah ur maid coming. i'm thinking of having no.2 now.. and forgettin abt the childcare option for sidney. might as well rough it out for the 2 kids for now.. but i may just drop from fatigue. that isnt even the case. i duno if i can extend my leave. and that poses a huge problem, coz returning to work 4-5 years later would put a big question mark to my worth.(at least in terms of my working abilities and commitment) sigh.

shauna,
yea the maid is coming...aft we return from our trip. Hopefully this time will be good...keeping all my appendages crossed...hahaha

abt no.2, we are planning as well aft Josh turns one. If you ask me, I would say just follow your heart. It's not easy to have kids and raise them when you get older. A lot of energy is required. I'm naturally a very high energy person, but even then i feel very tired handling Josh...He really can outlast me...

work..nah...i tell you work, job skills... all can be learned as long as you are committed and passionate abt it. Comparatively, you only have this much time and chance with building and nurturing a family....Hey you know i was a sch teacher and i switched careers aft 3 yrs...still i am ok wat. i take the fact that i am still getting very attractive job offers at this pt as a signal to my market value...hahahaha!...

If in the event you have to quit your current job, you can still think abt some freelance work or tuition that sort of thing...This is what I am intending to do anyway and can forsee myself doing it for sometime...

Jasmine,
forgot to reply you.
Maid -- Filipino...i dun think i can handle Indo...will kill me...hahaha..yes i went to another agent to get maid..hopefully this time will be good lor. I spent quite a bit of money calling and interviewing her...found that she is not bad.

yes! my hubby treats the home like a hotel!! travelling all the time....sianz!

sigh...like dat how to have no 2 ah??!?!

nellu- indeed. my child is my everything. and despite having to cope with no help, it has proved to be the best thing that has happened to me and i would give nothing to trade these valuable 15 months. i would probably stay at home forever if i never had to return to work. my dream? have 3 kids and be a housewife forever. haha. i'm not thinking of freelance coz the reason why i'm at home is to give my all to sidney, and i dun wanna compromise on my attention to him.
i really feel i made so much difference to him loh that i can already feel so much pain leaving him in the care of someone else even tho that is gonna be like months n months away..
alas, reality deems that if we plan to have more kids and to have some good retirement funds, i will have to drag my sorry ass back to work.
will really c how it goes. i just may not be able to tolerate seeing sidney in childcare, n hiring a maid/part timer is not in the contingencies as well..( i still hate them. we're still convicted that we can not live with another stranger in the house again)

u noe i really wished i could just put down everything n return to work. i really wished, i really wished..

Shauna
can try teaching in NYP ha ha cos they have their own childcare in the campus and u can drop by during lunch to see sidney hee hee.

Shauna,
Have send you my address. Thanks for the seals. Talking about planning for no. 2. Im too planning for 2nd this year. Thinking back is really tiring like what Nellu says. But I have no time to waste, too old to have kids if wait somemore. Body and mind cannot tahan the taking care of baby during the night siong... Think you're a very good mummy who can stay at home and take care of Sidney without any help. But if got no. 2, think you have to find some help. My sis with her no.2 cannot afford to do without help, she quit her job after CNY till now haven't find a job yet and she say is not easy to stay at home facing her elder son, her son is a hyper active kind and she is planning to send him to KKH for review on his hyper active level. Are you a teacher or lecturer? If you are, like what sgn says you can teach at NYP and at the same time can over look Sidney during break time, not a bad ideal though.

Shauna,
at some point you'll have to learn to let go...Sidney will grow up and will need his space to learn, explore and socialise. You'll have to respect his need and see to that. Otherwise it won't be healthy for him nor for you. So don't worry too much abt letting him go to childcare and all...

As for getting help, if you can't bear to have live-in maid, you can consider getting a parttimer who comes in once a week to help with the cleaning...it is not intrusive like a live-in maid. I can recommend you my PT aunty. She's pretty good and Josh likes her alot..hehehe...

I would say don't worry too much abt the money. If it is your family that is your priority, then let it be. Money anytime can earn back. Family relations not properly nurtured cannot be reversed. Just live within your means. And that will bring more happiness to you and your family than having more money....it's difficult but then how is it possible for anyone to trade off the joy of having kids and a happy family with loads of money?!

shauna,
had meant to ask you abt the time when sidney was going to drop his morning nap. How was it like?
I suspect Josh is going through that now. He's in that 1 nap not enough, 2 naps too many phase.

Having a real hard time on some days. He'll skip the morning nap, then get really tired at lunchtime, but then would not go down for a nap either. He would drag it till abt 230pm or so before he's willing to take a snooze.

On other days, he'll take his morning nap, but would fight very hard during the aftnn session. On days like that, he'll want to go to bed early, like 6pm!!

yet there are days too when he catnaps all the way through! 20 mins here, 15 mins there....

Feel like i am getting back to square one....

graybecky,
did you manage to check out the pigeon magmag cup??

sgn-
actually all educational institutes have childcare services. so i'm spoilt for choices.. haha. but its just abt sending him to which. its also abt whether we are even gonna send him to one in the 1st place.

nellu-
indeed. but 18m is certainly a very tender age for either mother or baby to let go, isnt it? i cannot handle part timer leh. i'm a stick in the mud with everything. cleanliness, n babycare. everything. so i tell u, i'm the loser who just cant have help. coz nothing is good enough. tats why i tell u, its so hard on me coz i just cannt delegate!!
i totally agree with u abt this money thing. we're not hard up but at some pt of time sidney needs to go to a sch, and a gd one indeed coz its my strong belief that a gd sch can make a real difference to a child as it did for me. i never studied but i was ok.. n i wish studying wouldnt be a toll on my child. n nellu, im sure u noe what i'm tokking abt n would agree. thats why money is a concern. its no longer abt buying mommy fancy clothes and makeup or big car or house. thats why its a headache... sigh.

jasmine-
even if i have no.2 i will take care of both of them without any help. i just wish i can be a housewife forever. haha. got ur email, try to send out this week ok? coz lift upgrading, i'm seeking refuge somewhere else.

NAPS
sidney dropped his morning nap ard 12 months i think..yep they will get very sleepy before hitting 12pm. he used to fall aslp rite after his meal while i washed up. and was always struggling to keep awake. but it improves in 1-2 weeks time.mine was ok, wouldnt really resist naptime.
is he sleeping better in the nites tho? if he is, dun worry too much abt daytime naps as long as he gets abt an hour, i suppose?
sidney is 15 months now. so this is his schedule:
12-2.30pm nap
8pm bedtime until 7am

i think what u can do is try to keep him entertained until 11.15am? then put him in the cot n let him go n put himself to sleep. then after 3-4 days, drag to 11.30am. thats what i did for a start. until he was able to last till 12pm. coz if he naps too early, he will be sleepy by 5/6pm??

hang in there. its not easy with sleeping n feeding. but u're doing a great job. i tell my hubby abt u. how u left ur job, n even tho its tough, u're coping well. i'm VERY proud of u. its not easy at all. ")

shauna
today got to bring ky for follow up.
still thinking of bring him to centerpoint to check out the party stuff. if keep staying at home very depressing ley.

shauna,
thanks for the affirmation.

you won't believe it! I had a mini row with hubby in the middle of the nite last nite cos Josh woke up at 1045pm and refused to go back to bed until 145am!! This was because for the past two nites when this "awake and play" episodes occurred, my hubby went into the room and slept there with Josh! Last nite was the worse and longest time so far and I suspect it was because Josh probably picked up and thought that if he kept up with his antics, daddy/mummy will be there to keep him company! And i refused to stay in there! The whole idea of putting him into his own room is for him to learn how to sleep on his own.

In fact, Josh's nite sleeping patterns regressed after my hubby returned from his last trip. During his absence Josh really slept very well and I managed to use that period of 10days to train him to get back to sleep on his own. Within 2 nites, he did it and I enjoyed sleeping through the nite for a good 7-8nites. When hubby came back, everything got screwed again. Hubby started to rush into the room everytime Josh stirred and made some noises (you know they make noise right and it's not always the "i'm waking up and I need you" kind of noise). So that spoiled the good work...

grrr......

...and I'm damn stressed with the travel preparations (leaving on monday and haven't even packed a single thing!), preparation for the maid's coming and also preparation for Josh's party (have not decided on the cake!! and no guest list!! and no party items bought yet!!)....

btw, I TOTALLY agree that a good school makes a whole load of difference! I also didn't study...heheh but still am ok... But i think it is important to be flexible and relax.

My hubby has a different view on education. he thinks that we must try (haha more like force!) to gravitate the child's interest to it and sort of like force him to study. Maybe it's because my MiL is like that. I noticed that from her interaction with Josh....I, on the other hand, believe in providing the necessary conditions but NOT push. Rather guide and facilitate and allow the child to make his/her own decisions abt the future....Maybe it's cos i was pressure-cooked too...so I didn't want that for Josh. If he says one day to me that he wants to be a dancer or artist or one of those professions that don't earn money type...i'll still say go and do it.

nellu
i just went to Party With Us @ centerpotint. got lots of decorations n part items can go down b4 ur trip n have a look. but if u dun mind we can share the deco ha ha save money!

sgn,
i went to centrept the other day but forgot to go and see...

i dun mind sharing with you but i got no time to go down leh...

Sgn & Nellu,
Yeah good idea can save money by sharing anyway both KY and Josh birthday is like 1 week a part only. Too bad I didn't do any kind of celebration party for Nichole. Just a simple 1 at my mum's place and at home. If not I will too take time to plan for her birthday, now regret liao

Nellu,
Think my hubby like your lor. He everytime ask me why Nichole don't know how to count yet hah & blur blur why don't know that etc...?? I told him " you thought she super gal ah know everything so fast, must let them enjoy their childhood 1st mah. I think nowadays children all very poor thing so young have to know so much thing at 1 go. Im that type who think like you cannot pressure them have to slowly guide them along. But at least now she can walk around the house without any help from us, I was actually relief when she start to walk without us helping her.

Jasmine,
my party also very simple one...just some close friends and family...i got no time and energy to do one nice one...cos will not be in SG and also no maid to help me out for now.

nevermind lah....Nichole's 2nd bday you can do something.

ya lah...men are like that one..but then, grandparents are also like that. Now I really hate to see my MiL, even my own mother sometimes. Because everytime they'll ask me "Can Josh call Pa pa and Mama yet?" Then when i say no, they give me the "why you never teach him?!?" look...very demoralising leh!! I told my mum once that cannot expect too much because I'm handling the household all by myself, cooking, cleaning, handling Josh, still must serve the hubby (aiyo, every evening come back late still ask me to sit with him at the dinner table to accompany him for dinner!..I'm like half dead liao and just want to quickly clean everything up and rest!!), i got no time and energy to focus so much on Josh. Sometimes have to just let him play by himself (a lot!)...

me too. not intending to pressurise my kids and also do not believe in sending them to expensive pre-schools..actually i don't have much faith with the SG education system...unless can get the kids into the good schools next time...if not, huh(!!!), I rather home school them!!!

<font color="aa00aa">nellu</font>
what i means that if u dun mind i can pass u the deco n table cloth etc after i had used for ky's party.

it's good to spend time with hb, i think ur hb wants to spend time with u.

mils are like that, my mil also stress me that why ky still can't walk property yet. she din spell out but i know she hint hint, so sometimes i bo chap.

<font color="119911">jasmine</font>
that's why i want to make it big for ky cos i din remember i had 1 so i want to something different for him.

FM: asked for sample of fm at clinic today n the nurse very kind gave me nan n enfalac2+ wahahahah.