This sleep regression thingy is really a rough time.

It just happened/began suddenly on one fine day. LO becomes really clingy and cranky. Refused to sleep and drink. Can go without sleep for abt 7 to 8 hours straight. Can see her big panda eyes...so heart pain. Drink only around 30ml each time. (Usually 90ml) Will cry and scream until no voice. Everything that could be done to pacify is also useless. Lasted around a week plus.

For now, finally got slightly better. Appetite is back. Got the cue that I got to make my gal sleep within 1 hour from her wake up time (for milk) otherwise she will cry and scream again. Very difficult to pacify after the 1 hour grace period.

Hopefully, this phase will pass faster so she will be a happy baby again.
Read somewhere that babies need to slp every 45 mins to 1 hr (something along these lines la) and it's indeed true for mine. Her battery needs to be charged every hr, else the horns start sprouting! Difference now is that I need to fight with her for 2 hrs before she can fall aslp when she's already showing signs of sleepiness (rub eyes, scratch and pull ears, yank at hair etc) around 45 mins after she last woke.

@KWL oh dear. Good to hear your dog is on the mend. Tough times indeed. :(

I also always try to squeeze as much into bubbles as possible (making sure she dun Merlion) so she sleeps longer...but lately she's just hungry all the time. Confirm above 75%ile liow....

Mine is now wanna play and play and kick and talk and grab and read storybook and kaypo all the time. Sleeping time has also increased with the swaddle tool. Which means more time for me to do my stuff.

And to the earlier discussion on Michelin baby, my baby is actually lighter than some of Yours. I think probably just 50-75th percentile. Husband and I belong to S Size group. And this baby is on full breast milk but Somehow just got quite a number of folds on the arms and legs.

On sleep :
- 8.05, 11.15, 12.45, 3.00...
(Oh my...)

Mine has always been easily distracted from birth - as long as someone is in the room talking she will pause her drinking to listen. Especially if it's her dad. Recently I can't even feed her in the usual right boob position, she will look at her fave poster and babble and laugh while drinking ...very amusing to me but waste time!!

Same for nursing in public, with eyes wandering and cooing even at limited vision due to position in wrap...at least she still gets some milk in.

Wah. I just read about sitting up babies before they are ready. Not recommended at all, impedes their spinal and cognitive development. Better to let them do at their own pace, meanwhile just tummy time. Sian.

@snowfern oh in which month baby will be ready to sit up ? Sigh .. Ever since my mil carry him in front outward position then he always want to be carry in this way, use to lean his back again my chest but now my baby refuse to lean again me when i carry him, he will lean forward like a sitting position and look around, very Kaypoh .. Then saliva will drop all over the place. I will use my right arm to support his butt but this photo I hold camera so can't support.
ImageUploadedByForum1476916215.127394.jpg

My baby unlikely to be Michelin baby,that time CL told me my baby won't have many folds as he is follow his skinny dad, eat a lot also skinny. CL also said my baby got runner leg, long long slim slim. Seem like she got it right la .. So far my baby only got one light fold on his thigh, no fold on his hand :p

Looking at the photos of the LO, they have all grown, can be carried upright etc... They really grow up fast

I think my gal us having an allergy reaction ...not sure to what...have rashes all over face n body

@snowfern oh in which month baby will be ready to sit up ? Sigh .. Ever since my mil carry him in front outward position then he always want to be carry in this way, use to lean his back again my chest but now my baby refuse to lean again me when i carry him, he will lean forward like a sitting position and look around, very Kaypoh .. Then saliva will drop all over the place. I will use my right arm to support his butt but this photo I hold camera so can't support. View attachment 661532
What a curious customer! And that hair! Looks like he's physically strong wo!

From the little I've gathered, 6-8 mths is when they will be able to prop themselves up without help.

http://activebabiessmartkids.com.au/articles/please-sit/

Encouraging tummy time helps (No wonder every single Dr I've seen for her keeps emphasizing it since birth):

http://blog.intellidance.ca/blog/2-15-2011/c-s-how-nurture-your-babys-spine-development

I only started reading into this because she had to be propped up for close to 4 hrs a day total, on top of that, she sleeps on am inclined bed, if not, bouncer, when I do chores. Which makes me worry about her spinal development. I suppose if your baby's muscular development is advanced this is less of a worry, but she still tends to bob her head after a while, so I know it is strenuous for her to hold her head up.

She does prefer to sit and read, although I've only done that twice, I guess lying down causes a little discomfort with the reflux and all :( got to get my MIL to stop seating her upright when she holds her too, aiks.

Looking at the photos of the LO, they have all grown, can be carried upright etc... They really grow up fast

I think my gal us having an allergy reaction ...not sure to what...have rashes all over face n body
Uh oh...hope it's nothing..keep us updated...

Gan, does baby feel uncomfy from the rash? Hope it'll go off soon. A visit needed to polyclinic?

I think my baby is really going through a sleep regression. All the REM, non-REM talk from articles. Used to be able to put her down to bed and she'll sleep. Now, put her down is like a turn-on switch. Sure wake up and the cycle repeats and repeats. Day and night. I'm so tired lor. On a brighter side, I'm starting work soon so let others handle it (who is my mil for a week before IFC starts). But I also scared she'll be left to cry on her own for too long :(

Ran into the neighbour who gave us a ring sling, this time she passed me a book on how to get babies to sleep lol. That makes it 2 books on sleep that I haven't read yet cos I'm spending all my spare time trying to catch up on sleep....

@snowfern wow your neighbour so sweet leh
@redvel I though u using your baby to ifc in Jan ? I'm still waiting for a place in ifc
Yeah! She's also given us a food mashing device....her son is 2.5 y/o so we're reaping the benefits! She even brought over Hong Zhao chicken one afternoon! Feel v v paiseh tho, feel like getting her and her son something, but she seems to have everything and then some...Will definitely invite her to bubbles' 4th month celeb (we skipped manyue cos hubby pantang dun wan to celebrate during 7th month)

:( I also have, did u see a doc? I dare not put any meds cos touch bb all the time ley...
I see tcm n do acupuncture twice but feel better for few days then the pain come back again. For now I only paste salonpass on the area, because doctor said as long as I still carry baby, the pain will come back. After I back to work then I go see again Coz that time I don't need to keep carry baby for so long hour.

I think she cld be allergy to the milk powder...coz whenever she drinks she has little red rashes around the mouth....but this morning was quite bad...all over face, tummy and legs.

I just bought a small tin of similac to try, she had that when she was in the hospital after delivery... Seems ok then. Will see if she is ok with similac

View attachment 661619got this pool from q10 coz the round shape sold out so I get this, it's sooo BIG that take ages to fill up the water :(

Hahahahaha @snowfern ! Still remember me washing curtains!

@emk the water can last me a few days. Possible uses for the water :
- warm water for bath
- warm water for bathing dog(s)
- hand wash baby clothes
- wash toilet
- cold bath when the water is no longer warm. Jin shiok on cold days

When the water becomes lesser and lesser, u can deflate layer by layer. And start transferring to pails instead. Like water ration sia!

I see tcm n do acupuncture twice but feel better for few days then the pain come back again. For now I only paste salonpass on the area, because doctor said as long as I still carry baby, the pain will come back. After I back to work then I go see again Coz that time I don't need to keep carry baby for so long hour.

Are u breastfeeding? I thought I remember cannot anyhow salonpas. I was so tempted to paste one when I was pregnant but was cautioned against it.

@snowfern are u excited over tomorrow's vaccination? I gonna do the 5-in-1 and rotavirus. I am very worried about little one developing fever. We keep each other posted, can?

Willdo! Ya of course nervous, she had another merlion episode earlier....so I doubly worried Haiz. Also worried about the 3rd month developmental check...you know la, drs always play cautious and then my anxiety kicks in and Google and BOOM hubby has to buy me ice cream to calm me down lol

What time is the vaccination scheduled for? Mine is at 8am....some mummies said if fever develops, usually hits about 6 hrs after vaccination. Diarrhoea for the rotavirus will be intermittent all day for about 24 hrs? But of course again, varies for each individual....

Waliew of cos, I rem thinking I wanted to get it too, but just thinking of setting it up and cleaning after, I tired liow. I already (that time) struggling to keep up with laundry and remembering to brush my teeth, this woman still got time to bathe dogs and hand wash curtains.....must be a young'un LOL

I think she cld be allergy to the milk powder...coz whenever she drinks she has little red rashes around the mouth....but this morning was quite bad...all over face, tummy and legs.

I just bought a small tin of similac to try, she had that when she was in the hospital after delivery... Seems ok then. Will see if she is ok with similac
Sounds like you've found the culprit. And a possible solution. Keep us posted... Jiayou jiayou!

Hmmm I dare not even use salonpas, I recall Dr telling me not to, and to use heatpack and Panadol if I have any aches and pains while breastfeeding to be on the safe side....

My carpal tunnel has been around for almost 2 decades, been to a specialist for it. Only thing that works is a wristbrace, the type with a metal brace. But v cumbersome :( the mamahands I have now are only unbearably bad at night, intensified by air conditioning. And crocheting lol.

Willdo! Ya of course nervous, she had another merlion episode earlier....so I doubly worried Haiz. Also worried about the 3rd month developmental check...you know la, drs always play cautious and then my anxiety kicks in and Google and BOOM hubby has to buy me ice cream to calm me down lol

What time is the vaccination scheduled for? Mine is at 8am....some mummies said if fever develops, usually hits about 6 hrs after vaccination. Diarrhoea for the rotavirus will be intermittent all day for about 24 hrs? But of course again, varies for each individual....

Also in the morning but not as early. I need to bathe baby and walk my old dog before setting off. And to pump milk beforehand cos polyclinic wait is hard to predict.

And really shit. My little one hasn't shit for 4 days. I think I will get it later

Waliew of cos, I rem thinking I wanted to get it too, but just thinking of setting it up and cleaning after, I tired liow. I already (that time) struggling to keep up with laundry and remembering to brush my teeth, this woman still got time to bathe dogs and hand wash curtains.....must be a young'un LOL

Yes set up and hanging back is a nightmare. Looking upwards and climbing around like a monkey and stretching across to reach out to corners. This happens when you do not have a proper ladder.

Dogs also no choice must bathe. If not how? Plus they are in close proximity to baby. So I need to take care of basic hygiene.

Young mum? No... I got watch 雾锁南洋 when I was young. Haha. I also got use pager before Nokia 8210, 8250 were popular in the market.

I think the lack of sleep is finally catching up on me. 3 weeks in to work now. I can barely keep my eyes open by the time I bring baby back home.

Still need to bathe him and feed his last feeding before coaxing him to sleep. After that it's to pump out the excess. By the time I'm done, it can be almost 10+pm, and I have yet to shower.

Should I just ask my MIL to bathe him at night too? Cause I want to just for the bonding since now I work and come back only around 7pm :(

Reactions: emk
@Sa_rahhhh Jiayou Jiayou! You have to do what's best for you first, try not to burn out! Maybe get your mom to bathe bub in the morn, and night time you do a quick pre-bedtime wipe down? This will still provide you some bonding time without exhausting yourself. Doesn't have to be all or nothing!

@KWL lol I still remember being the last of my friends to give in and get a pager, hate the feeling of being tethered, but needed it so my tuition students could contact me. By the time i got it, handphones came out. And again, I resisted until mobile providers started dropping pager plans haha

Reactions: KWL

@emk the water can last me a few days. Possible uses for the water :
- warm water for bath
- warm water for bathing dog(s)
- hand wash baby clothes
- wash toilet
- cold bath when the water is no longer warm. Jin shiok on cold days

When the water becomes lesser and lesser, u can deflate layer by layer. And start transferring to pails instead. Like water ration sia!
Did u use water proof diaper? I let my baby go in naked so dare not to reuse the water as I afraid he pee inside

Hmmm I dare not even use salonpas, I recall Dr telling me not to, and to use heatpack and Panadol if I have any aches and pains while breastfeeding to be on the safe side....

My carpal tunnel has been around for almost 2 decades, been to a specialist for it. Only thing that works is a wristbrace, the type with a metal brace. But v cumbersome :( the mamahands I have now are only unbearably bad at night, intensified by air conditioning. And crocheting lol.
Hmm the tcm know I'm bf n advice me to put salonpas so I didn't think much about it, oh then I should stop using it.
Oh your CTS haven't gone ? I got it during my third stage of pregnancy and its gone two months after I give birth. My CTS very painful during the night, the pain goes all the way to shoulder and I wear wrist support for both hand when I sleep. Maybe u want to watch YouTube to do the exercise for your wrists. CTS gone but mamahand come, also very painful in the night sigh. Wow your wrist like that u still can do so many things for your baby ?

I think the lack of sleep is finally catching up on me. 3 weeks in to work now. I can barely keep my eyes open by the time I bring baby back home.

Still need to bathe him and feed his last feeding before coaxing him to sleep. After that it's to pump out the excess. By the time I'm done, it can be almost 10+pm, and I have yet to shower.

Should I just ask my MIL to bathe him at night too? Cause I want to just for the bonding since now I work and come back only around 7pm :(
Hmmm if I didn't get a place in ifc, my mum will look after my baby. I will expect her to bath for him at night too and change into pajamas, I only need to read storybook n coax him to sleep when I reach home. So u can have more me time to prepare yourself for work next day.

My baby fever hits after 24hour, took Jab on Friday morning and fever come on Saturday night.

Reactions: KWL
Yeah setting up and cleaning after is very troublesome, I get my hub to setup on the night before and leave it for him to clean up after he back home. Last night he told my baby ' 你的快乐建立在老爸的身上. ' HahaHaha

My baby fever hits after 24hour, took Jab on Friday morning and fever come on Saturday night.
Ohhh this was last week? Must have been tiring :( we were thinking if she no fever tonight we would take her to our new flat tomorrow to see if everything is in order (collected keys yesterday), guess it's not a good idea?

Bubbles just did her 5+1+1 (rotavirus and pneumococcal). She of course screamed until her face turned red and round like a tomato. But pat pat a while ok liow.

3mth developmental assessment indicates she's growing well, but I suspect the nurse doesn't know how to chart well lol. Will show pics later of the chart. Dr said all good, she'll be a big baby just like her parents -_-" but I will still have to take her to kkh as the Dr is not happy that she still relies on ridwind *sigh*

@KWL how goes it?

@Sa_rahhhh Jiayou Jiayou! You have to do what's best for you first, try not to burn out! Maybe get your mom to bathe bub in the morn, and night time you do a quick pre-bedtime wipe down? This will still provide you some bonding time without exhausting yourself. Doesn't have to be all or nothing!

Yeah must learn to let go sometimes if not will be too tiring.

Hmmm if I didn't get a place in ifc, my mum will look after my baby. I will expect her to bath for him at night too and change into pajamas, I only need to read storybook n coax him to sleep when I reach home. So u can have more me time to prepare yourself for work next day.

Yeah, will talk to her and see if it's ok if she helps to bathe him in the evening, this way I got more time to play with him before coaxing him to sleep when we reach home.

Ohhh this was last week? Must have been tiring :( we were thinking if she no fever tonight we would take her to our new flat tomorrow to see if everything is in order (collected keys yesterday), guess it's not a good idea?
Two weeks ago, he is very fussy and want to sleep yet cannot sleep. I put cool pad n give him med, coax him very long then he finally fall sleep. Hmm not really a good idea as the new house will be dusty, I don't know u pantang or not la.. Some ppl say new house will have ' something ' there which dog n baby can see it.

Emk I needed the space earlier for my gal at the IFC as I also exhausted my leave of all kinds (except child care leave which I keep for first few days at IFC and jabs etc). This IFC is different from the first IFC which I almost confirmed. Decided to walk in into the second IFC and I feel better vibe compared to the first.

Nov/Dec is a quiet biz period so in a way I also feel not as stressed to start work and getting used to the new routine.

Does your boy like the pool? Ya looks huge. Maybe you can dip in with him!

I'm supposed to collect the pool thing too but haven't done so.

At night I do wipe down on baby so perhaps your mil can help that before the pick up?

So far my mil wipes her down (some weekends when me and hubby have our we-time out) so quite relaxed for me when pick her up. I believe my IFC also will do that in the early evening. Hope I can pick her up with all things done then the night will be easier at home.

IMG_20161021_111527.jpg

Pink lines are digitally inserted by me. Her weight of 6.2kgs at 3 mths/14 wks (dots indicated by nurse) should place her at the 75%, but the nurse anyhow indicate and write it at greater than 90% -_-" I didn't want to contradict her, also dunno if the chart had some update or new guideline...so now I dunno if I should continue trying to drag out her feeds? Is an impossible task, she is a milk monster T.T

@snowfern - haha, nurse didnt watch out for parallax error when drawing lines. You want to drag out Bubbles' feeds to 减肥? Think no need ba. Mine was 6.7 kg at 14 wks, PD just said good, continue to feed on demand. She didn't ask us to control her intake even after exclaiming at baby's "thunder thighs". Can imagine the raging war between you and Bubbles each time she wants milk and you hold your ground ...;)

Two weeks ago, he is very fussy and want to sleep yet cannot sleep. I put cool pad n give him med, coax him very long then he finally fall sleep. Hmm not really a good idea as the new house will be dusty, I don't know u pantang or not la.. Some ppl say new house will have ' something ' there which dog n baby can see it.
Poor bub. And we have to repeat this again within 3 mths time @_@ and they will be heavier then oh my tian

Ya, I'm also concerned abt the dust, hubby wants us to go together then like family ma, even tho I say nemind he go first ....I not pantang but he say want to roll pineapple lol

@snowfern - haha, nurse didnt watch out for parallax error when drawing lines. You want to drag out Bubbles' feeds to 减肥? Think no need ba. Mine was 6.7 kg at 14 wks, PD just said good, continue to feed on demand. She didn't ask us to control her intake even after exclaiming at baby's "thunder thighs". Can imagine the raging war between you and Bubbles each time she wants milk and you hold your ground ...;)
Ya the doc also never say to reduce or anything but I scared too fat when grow up got issues ley. Partly want to drag out to reduce reflux, and also hoping she will learn to tahan and sttn soon, though for the latter I am not optimistic lol

Kekeke my bub thunder thighs also! I keep saying she take after her dad's thick thighs hehehe. She also kicking v hard now, when I change her on the table and she kicks my engorged boob, hou mai dogs stunning sensation only.

I already lose the battle every meal. Can u imagine when our bubs go through teething?!?

Did u use water proof diaper? I let my baby go in naked so dare not to reuse the water as I afraid he pee inside
I did use waterproof diapers that I bought from Taobao. Think they are below $10 each.

Bubbles just did her 5+1+1 (rotavirus and pneumococcal). She of course screamed until her face turned red and round like a tomato. But pat pat a while ok liow.

3mth developmental assessment indicates she's growing well, but I suspect the nurse doesn't know how to chart well lol. Will show pics later of the chart. Dr said all good, she'll be a big baby just like her parents -_-" but I will still have to take her to kkh as the Dr is not happy that she still relies on ridwind *sigh*

@KWL how goes it?

Took the same combo as you this morning. Baby had a delayed reaction before screaming in pain. After hugging and assuring, baby relaxed after 3 seconds. Quite a quick episode that is manageable and contained. The daddy commented that the cries later on for milk was more jialat than the jab.

As for growth, my baby is the lightest compared to yours and tuna. Mine baru 6.02kg. If mine is 75th percentile, I think yours should also be 75th.

And what's the length of your babies? Mine is of 90th percentile. Chum Liao lor. Michelin tek ko (bamboo pole)

How about the neck assessment? Mine need to go back for review next month cos still not stable hahaha. Also for the second dose.

@snowfern if I never remember wrongly that u mention bub drool saliva right ? She should be teething .. It will takes a while to see the white thing to pop out.

I'm side latching as I type. Her temp started rising around 2.45pm, true enough, as the mummies reported, about 6 hrs after jab. At first, only 37.1. So I hesitated a little over giving her the paracetamol. Within 10 mins moved to 37.2 I was told to bring her immediately to kkh once it goes above 37.5. And to administer paracetamol once she has fever. Since her base temperature used to never exceed 36.7, I decided to give her the meds and stick a koolpak on her forehead.

15 mins after taking the meds, her temp jumped to 37.4. I quickly did a room temp wipe down. And brought out my "cabbage" to stick under her armpits.

She was chatty this whole time, especially enjoying and smiling when I stripped her :-/ but refused to sleep! Holding her just causes her temp to rise, so when I nursed her on the chair I stuck the "cabbage" under her pits too.

The breast pads have long since grown warm and are back in the freezer. Good thing I have a spare daiso gel pack, wrapped it in a thin muslin face towel and stuck it between her thighs. Managed to bring the 37.7 deg down to 37.0 now.

Does this mean the paracetamol is not working? My brothers and I had horribly high fevers that spiked in the middle of the night, I myself experienced 40 and above fevers, and recall torturous ice baths at around 5 y/o.

*heavy sigh* it's gonna be a long night.