IVF at NUH--feedback pls

Chris, thks for tat.

hi summer, i need to go for d ivf conselling first then will book d date. Yest suppose to go but when i rch, they closed liao.

How bout u? Hve u book a date? Is this ur first cycle?

Hi Summer & Laki girl, me also change hospital leh... from KKH to NUH... gonna go c doctor on 6 May 2013

Hi laki, why need to go for counseling? Me just booked ley..no, this is not the 1st time me doing ivf..

Iibb: me going 10 days after you. So our situation is the same

i1BB/Summer: me gg sometime too in may once before the jab starts later of month.. Unconfirmed yet.. Hehe. Both of you gg for review?

I'm supposed to go do my blood tests on cd2 of next af n I estimate it to b on 25 April so 6 may appointment should b to review blood test results ba

i1bb, I change fm sgh to nuh. 2Day went bk sgh for my post fet review, sad to hear doc say my eggs r old, like 40 try old plus egg while im only 30+. Ur af n mine v near, mine shld b cmin soon est 21 apr bt prof only ask me go black c him in 3 wks time to review bt results n discuss on my protocol. Ur seem quite fast.

summer, hmm hve u seen doc already? Af I c prof for 1st consultation, he ask me to go for ivf counselling 1st then cn book d date. D CHR nurse oso told me muz counselling then cn book d date, if they allow u do tat then I think it's fine. So u starting soon? Hubby say d nurse told them likely I b starting in Jun.

Laki girl, I haven seen prof in person yet. I got referral letter from poly clinic n my first apt I saw dr stephen chew

i1BB: I see.. I will call after my AF report so to see him for review of hysteroscopy results and endo scatch. I need to speak to him abt the Ivf too.

Chris, how was the ends scratch? Under ga? Pain? Need to pay cash how much ah? Hehe just curious. I under polyclinic referral letter so I can't choose who to c as this point of time but when gonna start IVF will auto switch to pte patient so I guess I can only get to meet the zen Prof at that time

Laki gal, not at all..haven't even gone for the 1st meetup lo..wa, seems like to start with him requires a period of time..like counseling etc

i1BB: I haven't done it yet. I don't think there will be GA, it's just a simple inexpensive procedure that can be done in the doc's consult room itself. I believe there will be some bleeding so will bring a pad. Ya think once commerce Ivf, will be private; same in kkh

Hi i1BB,

Actually, as a subsidised patient, you will not get to see Prof for your scans and consults when ivf starts.. Your consulting doctor will be either Dr Chew or Dr Anupriya, whoever is on duty, and they will see you at Clinic G.. I think before starting IVF, they will just get you to meet Prof once at Women's Clinic..What they mean by auto convert to private is that the rates for IVF is the same as private patient.. After your bfp, you will be converted back to subsidised patient and can continue to go to Clinic G to see doc and pay subsidised rates unless you wanna switch to private and see doc at Women's Clinic.. It will be very tough and quite impossible to convert back to subsidised once you switch to private so you can take some time to think about it.. Hope i didn't confuse you and that this helps
Thought i'll just explain a bit cos i realised many are not aware of the system..

Is it compulsory to attend the counseling at nuh?

Btw when I ask prof on the mc for iui, he din mentioned abt the 2ww lei. Or mc is not given for iui at nuh?

Oh min, then in that case, means my case wnt b under Prof's watch ah? Means prof wnt b the one doing my er n et?

i1BB,

Ya definitely not by Prof.. Either Dr Chew or Dr Anupriya will do for you.. But i've had procedures done by them before last yr whenever Prof was on leave and they're very skilful and experienced docs too.. So don't worry ya

Hi ladies, I would like to make a first appointment to see Prof Wong for ivf. May I know if I should call CHR hotline or women's clinic? Which clinic does he see patients for their first consultation? Usually morning or afternoon?
Sorry for the many questions. TIA!

summer, once u c prof for d 1st meeting, he will work out d schedule for u for ur bt n d counselling. Prof say muz go for counselling n it think is compulsory. He told me even thou i did ivf b4 bt diff hospital diff protocol/methods so he wan me to still go for d counselling.

bbblues, u can call up the women's clinic. For 1st consultation will b in the noon, follow up will always b in d morning

Thanks min. I understand le. It's ok la.. I guess dr anu and dr chew are also v good doctors. I'm pretty sure I'm in good hands

Thanks laki girl, what is the time frame between your 1st appointment with prof Wong to the day you start jabbing? 1 or 2 months..? Seems like he's v efficient

@summer : my stimulation started 2-3weeks after I told prof I want to do ivf. Once he knew of my decision, sent me upstairs for financial counseling, blood test immediately and booked date for counsellor appt and settle documentation 2 weeks later and week after start stimulation

But of coz all dependent on time of period and availability of slots

Summer, I hvent start jab, I c prof on 17 apr for first appt n gg c him again on 14 may for bt review n fm ther will then knw wat my protocol n when to start jab.

Does anyone knows if NUH can access to the reports from SGH? As I was previously with SGH and wanted to transfer to NUH. SGH said if I want report, need to pay $80.

Laki gal: that v long - 1 month from 1st visit to BT review.
Thanks donkey ears for sharing (btw your nick v cute - it reminds me of shrek)
Agnes: I dun think they have direct access to medical records. For KK, of you want your medical records, u got to pay 80 bucks for your doc in charge to write your detailed medical report. The process takes 3 weeks..

Hi agnes,

Yes NUH can access SGH file upon their request. I did transfer from SGH to NUH, Prof. wrote in to request a copy of my file.

Different from KK, NUH can have direct access to KK file, we dont have to waste $$.

Nervous: it's about 1 month from start jab to ET. Short protocol jabbing starts from d2. Long protocol is about 6 weeks or so as u start jab abt 2 weeks prior the AF u start jabbing. The length of jabbing depends on how you respond to the stimulation hence it differs slightly from one individual to the next. Is this gg to be your first cycle? NUH is v organized, they will guide you, don't worry.

Agnes law, i didnt pay $80 when i request for my bt results from SGH. I request it on d spot when i c doc. I know NUH is able to access n view d results fm SGH coz i rem prof was asking d nurse whether did i take a bt for something n d nurse check d database fm SGH n say i didnt take.

Summer, yup coz prof is on leave for 2 wks so can only c him in another 3 wks time. I juz mk appt for my ivf, gg to start in jun

Hopefully by then my body is ready coz dis few days LS n hving flu, sian

Chris

Yes this is my first cycle. So quite confuse on the procedure. If is abt 1 mth from start jab to ET then add 2ww, total is about 6 weeks?

Prof is back today leh

Sgh and kkh are under sing health share same database. NUH is under nuhs

Requesting results from kkh is faster if you visit in person at Ivf centre and ask for your reports for second opinion. Don't bother calling report centre, it's free but it takes 2 weeks to be mailed to you.

Always make it a point to request reports from all hospitals you visit for the entire year for insurance purposes.

Private patients get reports free, subsidised patients must pay

i1bb, my blood tests cost me $1200+ I m fainting not from the amount of blood they took from me (11tubes) but from the amount of money they took from me! Argh!

Wah! i1bb, what were the blood test for? 11 tubes is no joke. Is it a must for all nuh patients? Can take some blood nourishing food to bu bu.

Hi bb blues, sorry if I scare u. No no not everyone is the same de. Mine is diff cos I've had miscarriages before so dr Stephen chew who saw me during my first consult wants me to do alot of tests... Hehe

I am currently conducting a short survey for a new technology for IVF treatment, aimed to increase success of IVF treatment. This is a new concept developed by a Life Sciences company in the United States.

We are bounded by market research guidelines so kindly be assured that no confidential particulars will be divulged.

The interview will be face-to-face and will last approximately 35 minutes. You will receive $60 cash at the end of the interview.

Here are 3 criteria to qualify for this market research:

1. Currently seeing a fertility specialist or have seen one in the last one year

2. Has gone through at least one or more unsuccessful IVF cycle in the past year

3. Was recommended DONOR EGG by the fertility specialist

Should you have additional questions or wish to discuss your participation in this study, please do not hesitate to contact me at[email protected]

Thank you and kind regards,

Joanne Lim

Hi ladies!! Hi Blue! *waves back at Blue*

It has been a while since I last posted anything here. I have had a tough last couple of months due to pertussis, also known as whooping cough. If some of you remember my past posts, I had mentioned about having a persistent cough. It turns out to be the wretched whooping cough. Nasty nasty infliction. If you ladies have the time, just google on Pertussis, and you will get what I mean.

Since pertussis can last for months, as you might have guessed, I am still coughing. Fortunately, I am at the third stage (finally!). The coughs are no longer paroxysmal, which is great. But my voice still sounds like I'm speaking through my nose. Kind of like Andre Chichak from The Noose. :p So ladies... please read on it. I have never known about the existence of such a disease until I experience it myself. I caught it from my husband who decided to be negligent with keeping up with necessary precautions when his symptoms showed. Like wearing a mask to avoid spreading it to others. But I can assure you, seeing what this thing has done to me, has filled him with utmost regret and guilt. Not to mention my periodical "reminder" to add up to it. :p

I am reaching 26 weeks soon. The baby has been growing well and healthy
. Other than the cough, the pregnancy seems to be going great. Of course there are minor (major sometimes depending on the fluctuation of your mood... pregnancy hormones... :p) discomforts like back aches, shoulder aches and butt aches... LOL. All I can say is, I am really looking forward to delivering this baby
. Both hubs and I can't wait to see how he looks like! Haha! Will he have curly hair like my husband's? Or straight like mine??? All the anxiety! Lol!

I want to say hello to all the ladies who just joined this forum recently and congratulate all of you for having the courage to go through this long arduous journey. Please stay positive and keep up with your perseverance. I have recently read a book titled "The Secret" by Rhonda Byrne... and I can not stress more on being positive, especially for this journey. Try reading it, and see if it helps

Hope you all have a wonderful evening ahead with your loved ones
. Baby dust to all!!

Hi Soulasylum!
I chanced upon your post and I have a few questions about whooping cough/pertussis. As this is a pretty old post, I'm not sure if you're still an active member. If so, will you please reply to this thread? Thanks:)

Catinthesky,

I have been set with an appt with him in Sept, I would like to get some reviews about him, it is my first time seeing a male gynae abit strange for me.

i was thinking to do an IUI, what are the tests and charges for IUI to go through?

Catinthesky,

I have been set with an appt with him in Sept, I would like to get some reviews about him, it is my first time seeing a male gynae abit strange for me.

i was thinking to do an IUI, what are the tests and charges for IUI to go through?

Hi happymom, are you going as private patient or referral? he is also my first male gynae. so far I feel comfortable with him. He is friendly, but rather quiet. Usually I need to ask him questions then he will answer. Sometimes he hums music while working so I feel relaxed haha.

For IUI at NUH, mine went like this. First consultation included a scan and blood tests for hubby and me. For private patient fees, It was total around $400 including meds. I think there are more fertility tests but I didn't take with NUH as I already had the tests done with another hospital before, so we just bring the reports over.

Around CD2 onwards I take fertility drug for 6 days. Then go back to scan to see size of egg. Another 2-3 days later go back scan again. If egg is big enough, they will prescribe you the trigger jab which you need to bring home and inject yourself (or go GP). About 2 days later, your hubby need to submit sperm sample to the lab, and the same day IUI will take place.

all in all I would say, fertility tests should be around 1.2K (just my estimation based on my tests with the other hospital). IUI procedure and the consultations and scans, meds, injection should be around another 1-1.2K.