Thanks for sharing babe! That's quite assuring to hear. I guess the binder & painkillers will be my bff post-ops! Haha... Btw I keep forgetting to ask u. How come Dr handsome ordered the compression socks for u? Are u still wearing it now?

Dun mention babe. ..I never asked him but I think cos I be lying down on the bed for a while in hospital ? But my both leg are stimulated by their (dun noe call what) machine 24hours after surgery so blood will circulate ...

Btw nurses also daily inject my tummy for blood circulation ..but tt is small matter cos we did tons of injection Ard tummy area aso during IVF...

Dun mention babe. ..I never asked him but I think cos I be lying down on the bed for a while in hospital ? But my both leg are stimulated by their (dun noe call what) machine 24hours after surgery so blood will circulate ...

Btw nurses also daily inject my tummy for blood circulation ..but tt is small matter cos we did tons of injection Ard tummy area aso during IVF...

Ohhh I think this machine rings a bell when my bro when for a major ops previously. If I remember correctly, looks like blood pressure machine strap to your leg with timed compression/pressure issit? A bit like leg massage? Wah still got injection somemore...Didn't hear abt it before leh.

Yes is tt machine...and dun worry tt Injection is nutting (no pain ) compare to what we last time every morning have to inject ourselves..

Think this has been brought up before, but want to have more info. I'm still looking around for confinement lady (freelance or via agency). Any one to recommend and the price range? Just reach 12 weeks singleton pregnancy, edd mid-nov.

Went to the baby fair this afternoon and surprisingly there wasn't any confinement agencies there. Originally wanted to just cater for confinement food, but my mum insists on me having a CL since it's my first child.
It is up to u... I didn't have CL and survived (partly cos #1 was v easy baby).
Yup wld suggest CL cos most of my friends said was helpful. If u want to bf, best u request for pro-bf one to minimise stress and arguments later.

me too, I didn't engage a CL cos I am simply not comfortable with strangers touching my baby and I know I wouldn't sleep & eat in peace. I got my MIL to cook and bathe my baby and the rest was hands-on & I thank myself for not engaging a CL cos the confinement period was like a one month crash course on how to take care of your baby and knowing his patterns.

Most of my friends got CL so that they can rest properly but apparently, with the conflicts and unhappiness over how to take care of baby, how to rest! But of course, there are some good ones which some friends will extend the CL's stay.

me too, I didn't engage a CL cos I am simply not comfortable with strangers touching my baby and I know I wouldn't sleep & eat in peace. I got my MIL to cook and bathe my baby and the rest was hands-on & I thank myself for not engaging a CL cos the confinement period was like a one month crash course on how to take care of your baby and knowing his patterns.

Most of my friends got CL so that they can rest properly but apparently, with the conflicts and unhappiness over how to take care of baby, how to rest! But of course, there are some good ones which some friends will extend the CL's stay.
Ya i agree... Impt to find a gd CL.

I am getting one this time though, cos don't think i can cope with baby and toddler! esp gonna try to bf more this time round!

Towkay. We decide to get helper, mil assist/supervise helper and cook etc. Thinking to get in July. At least got time replace and get used to first for 1 month trial/adapt. Another issue is after wife go back work. Day time put at my mil house. At night bring home. To and fro. Sounds chuan I know. U gt any idea share?

Seems like that is the best best arrangement for you liao. So when your wife goes back to work, your maid will be in your MIL's house together with your baby?

Think this has been brought up before, but want to have more info. I'm still looking around for confinement lady (freelance or via agency). Any one to recommend and the price range? Just reach 12 weeks singleton pregnancy, edd mid-nov.

Went to the baby fair this afternoon and surprisingly there wasn't any confinement agencies there. Originally wanted to just cater for confinement food, but my mum insists on me having a CL since it's my first child.

Need to find one that is experience, pro-bf, and not 斤斤计较。If you can get a good one, you can really rest and focus on bf-ing baby during the 1 month! Otherwise, the CL may create another headache for you.

For me, i got CL for my 1st and 2nd pregnancy coz no helper and parents and in-laws were not available.
For the 1st confinement, my CL was very good and i got to rest really well and could focus on bf-ing (though supply wasn't high). She also volunteered to help me massage when i had engorgement. However, she gotta go off earlier coz her cough was very bad. I got a 2nd CL to take over the remaining 1 month plus and it was a nightmare. I "fired" the 2nd CL after 2 weeks and asked my first CL to come back since she has recovered from her cough.

For my 2nd one, engaged the same CL and she stayed with me for 56 days. But during the CNY period, had to manage my baby and toddler on my own for 2 weeks. Seems easier but maybe coz #2 was easier to care for comparing to my #1.

28wks going 29wks baby @1.5kg. Kena a sugar monitoring for full day. Just becos my reading a bit high excess 0.2. Any suggestion how to control.

H piglet, you can try to reduce food with sugar such as desserts, soft drinks etc, sauces and switch to multigrain bread and brown rice. What was your reading? I have GD detected at week 27. So also monitoring by blood prick before & after meals which I will email to the diabetes specialist twice a week.

I think better laa...it's better than a false negative. Play safe get the drip. Everything should be ok. I intend to get the antibiotics regardless the swap outcome.

Yalor.. better play safe. Actually the consequences of not taking the antibiotics when positive is quite scary. :-/ Oh you mean you can insist on antibiotics even if not positive?

I think no harm in just getting anti-biotics? GBS will have fatal consequences on the newborn, so just be kiasu...

I read somewhere that a lady was tested GBS -ve, but her daughter caught some of the GBS virus and developed lung infection or it was a roller-coaster affair for the family.

I think no harm in just getting anti-biotics? GBS will have fatal consequences on the newborn, so just be kiasu...

I read somewhere that a lady was tested GBS -ve, but her daughter caught some of the GBS virus and developed lung infection or it was a roller-coaster affair for the family.

Omg that is so scary!

H piglet, you can try to reduce food with sugar such as desserts, soft drinks etc, sauces and switch to multigrain bread and brown rice. What was your reading? I have GD detected at week 27. So also monitoring by blood prick before & after meals which I will email to the diabetes specialist twice a week.
5.2. I think these few days holiday + Mother's Day celebration ate too much sweet stuffs. I have to go for a day diabetic montoring before they decide whether I need to poke myself

5.2 is not GD mah? The cutoff for TMC is 7. I exceeded 7. Yours is very strict.

To control sugar level no white rice, white bread, no pastries cakes biscuits. Take multigrain bread n wholemeal biscuits. Reduce hawker food and go for home cook meal. If must eat out can take soupy Yong tau foo but don't drink the soup. No yellow noodles like mee pok etc.

I still think your reading at 5.2 is not GD unless the unit of measurement is different.

5.2 is not GD mah? The cutoff for TMC is 7. I exceeded 7. Yours is very strict.

To control sugar level no white rice, white bread, no pastries cakes biscuits. Take multigrain bread n wholemeal biscuits. Reduce hawker food and go for home cook meal. If must eat out can take soupy Yong tau foo but don't drink the soup. No yellow noodles like mee pok etc.

I still think your reading at 5.2 is not GD unless the unit of measurement is different.
I didn't take notice of the unit. Dr Tan only say abit high. Normal is below 5. He also didn't say to control my diet. Referred me to do a day camp to montior my blood sugar. 3meals provided.

Then should be fine. Maybe just monitor to make sure everything is ok.

Conferment. Do at home. After that, day time with mil. Marketing also easy in mature area. Cannot leave with maid. Standard. U ley?? Housewife huh???

Seems like that is the best best arrangement for you liao. So when your wife goes back to work, your maid will be in your MIL's house together with your baby?

No issue with other private gynae. IVF is considered normal case once pregnant. I'm now seeing back my previous gynae for first 2 kids. He's A/Prof John Tee, also from KKH. (Dr Tan asked me to go back to him). So now I missed the handsome dr but he's really too busy.. Lol..

I donated both my kids' cord blood for various reasons.. Since I feel they might never use it, the usable blood may be little (5%), for genetic cases, they can't use back own cord blood cos it contains the same, sibling cord blood might not match, the lady who approached me for donation happened to be my good friend's mum etc.. and if they do need, I guess I would go back to SCBB and hopefully can find a match.. My hubby said it's also for a good cause.. And we went ahead. It's good to do your research, decide what you want to do, I'm not sure if gynae in KKH does (I'll check with my gynae next time), if you don't want to store or donate, can perhaps consider delayed clamping.

I'm also considering donation, but heard that up to 80% of the donations are discarded leh.. Is it possible to check if your child's cord blood is successfully stored after collection if we donate?

Any particular reason why discarded? Hmmm

If remember correctly, something about cell count not high enough or something like that? Cos they will sell off the unit if other people need it, so need quite high cell count I think?

Anyway, I'm still at researching stage. So still need to find out more..

I donated mine too but think was not banked in. They didn't call me back means they didn't save it in the end. Likely to be too little stem cells as THH did mention the vol collected was v low during delivery. I have experience handling cells, and can tell u if there are too little cells, the sample cannot be used.

So far all my friends who opted for donation also cld not bank in... But u can also opt for it to be used in medical research in the event cannot bank it, otherwise wasted.

But from what I understand, pte cord blood banks will take whatever u have and bank in. Mb in future there is better technology to harness the cells...

They will call u if successful. U can also opt to give the blood to research if the donation is not successful.

I donated mine too but think was not banked in. They didn't call me back means they didn't save it in the end. Likely to be too little stem cells as THH did mention the vol collected was v low during delivery. I have experience handling cells, and can tell u if there are too little cells, the sample cannot be used.

So far all my friends who opted for donation also cld not bank in... But u can also opt for it to be used in medical research in the event cannot bank it, otherwise wasted.

But from what I understand, pte cord blood banks will take whatever u have and bank in. Mb in future there is better technology to harness the cells...
Private is like that one, unless really terok like contamination for whatever reasons, they will just take and bank in, then can use or not in the near future, later then say.

Apparently not le. The last time mine was cross contaminated and they still asked if i want to store. I brought the report to my PD and he suggested not storing since already contaminated. Hmm... this company not that consistent le.

hmmmm, according to the consultants from the 2 private banks i spoke to, i remember they did say there's a small percentage for contamination cos the birthing environment is not sterile, and they will call to inform us if there's contamination and it's our choice if wanna continue storing or discard cos in life and death scenario, doctor can issue antibiotics to fight the contamination if need to use la..

Apparently not le. The last time mine was cross contaminated and they still asked if i want to store. I brought the report to my PD and he suggested not storing since already contaminated. Hmm... this company not that consistent le.

Ya, if the collected cord blood has too little cells, don't know if they will call to inform or just bank in?

Do U remember how much U pay last time. The sales told me no admin fee if can't use wor.
On the other hand, i had quite a good experience on cord blood banking, except that the nurses did not managed to draw enough of my blood and poked me twice... By the way, i don't think the banks charge anymore admin fee now. Am enquiring for my second child now.

Ya, if the collected cord blood has too little cells, don't know if they will call to inform or just bank in?
Had this question in mind when i banked my first child's blood too. Asked the donation bank and they have a high minimum to fulfill, same as blood donation where certain criteria has to be fulfilled...
However, family banks do have to inform if the cells aren't sufficient. After all, there are many therapies available now using cord blood and any amount of blood is important to be kept first.

U girls buy night pads after delivery? What size U buy, 35cm or 42cm? Is the blood flow a lot?

My blood flow wasn't a lot and the 28cm one suffice. It is the one 6 to 7 weeks after delivery (duno is AF or what) that is super heavy that i gotta use maternity pads. Even d 42cm is not enough.

Natural birth or csect? I thinking what size to buy.

hmmmm, according to the consultants from the 2 private banks i spoke to, i remember they did say there's a small percentage for contamination cos the birthing environment is not sterile, and they will call to inform us if there's contamination and it's our choice if wanna continue storing or discard cos in life and death scenario, doctor can issue antibiotics to fight the contamination if need to use la..
Errrm personally i don't believe that... Cos when my cell cultures are contaminated, i will try to dump in antibiotics to save it but it never works... Once contaminated it is too late to save liao. Can only hope not contaminated lor.

Actually i get qt angry when salespeople make irresponsible claims like that. No way a doctor will put contaminated stem cells into a patient unless they want them to die from blood poisoning.