MOMMIES TO BE 2015 (EXPECTING TWINS)

My new boss has been piling me with work despite my condition. I am very worried over my beanies' growth and development as only seeing gynae 6 weeks later. Would like to see a gynae mid point that is 3 weeks later. Anywhere I can just walk in for scan? Thank you!

U r with KK? I'm with KK and they arrange my appointment 6 weeks later from my last visit.

If u r unwell eg having bad cramps or discharge then go KK 24hr O&G to see dr.

Else it means you going to spend extra to see another gynae from scratch.

I think for KK quite standard.. Another mummy I know also 6 week appointment. I guess the gynae thinks no problem no need to see him so often..

But I dread going to appointment also cos got to wait quite long. If not for my twins, I'll stick to my private gynae..
my gynae told me twins need to be more careful so every 3 to 4 weeks need to go see... plus i also sign package with him, so more times i see also more worth it :p

hopefully during your labour, KK is not crowded. my colleague is quite unlucky. when she's in labour that day, KK was very very busy so the doc cannot attend to my colleague in time. end up the baby in the womb too long, so the water in the sac got spoiled (i think is the baby's pee or poo). lucky didn't impact the baby though...

my gynae told me twins need to be more careful so every 3 to 4 weeks need to go see... plus i also sign package with him, so more times i see also more worth it :p

hopefully during your labour, KK is not crowded. my colleague is quite unlucky. when she's in labour that day, KK was very very busy so the doc cannot attend to my colleague in time. end up the baby in the womb too long, so the water in the sac got spoiled (i think is the baby's pee or poo). lucky didn't impact the baby though...

KK don't have package. Ya, I thought should be more frequent for twins also.

I scare my babies premature that's y switched to KK. Yes, KK is really packed.

I hope my gynae gets to deliver my babies with them at least 2kg each or at 37 weeks.

KK don't have package. Ya, I thought should be more frequent for twins also.

I scare my babies premature that's y switched to KK. Yes, KK is really packed.

I hope my gynae gets to deliver my babies with them at least 2kg each or at 37 weeks.
i think maybe 3rd trimester ask gynae gives you hospital leave for bedrest?
the lesser you move the higher chance that babies can stay inside...

i also hope that my babies will weigh at least 2.5kg and after 37weeks *pray*

i think maybe 3rd trimester ask gynae gives you hospital leave for bedrest?
the lesser you move the higher chance that babies can stay inside...

i also hope that my babies will weigh at least 2.5kg and after 37weeks *pray*

I'm not working so no need hospitalisation leave..

I sleep quite a lot unless I got heartburn then I can't sleep well..

just to share my experience at KKH... My gynae for my first child was Mt E, so I could compare between pte and public hospital. I switched to KKH for the twins as like some of you, I was worried about twins coming out prematurely.

First if you choose subsidised rates, you cannot decide which gynae to attend to you. For my first few visits, I was seen only by medical officers and registrars, not even assistant consultants. After that I decided to switch to the pte suite with Dr june tan. Waiting time was horrendous and the rates I paid are same as what I would have paid at Mt E.
In order to enjoy subsidised rates for nicu, the mother has to choose Ward b2 and below. That means you cannot choose which gynae to deliver for you. So I decided if my twins come out before 37 weeks, I would choose class b2. If they come at 37 weeks and after, I would go for class A. Which means NICU rates are like pte hospitals. No subsidy.

I did my c section at 37 weeks and my twins birth weight was 2.5kg. But because of vomitting and blood streaks in stools, they kept my twin there for 2.5 weeks to run a series

Contd

A series of tests. I thought it was unnecessary as vomitting in babies is quite often. After all the tests, my twin was discharged after 2.5 weeks and the total bill came up to about $20k. I felt that it was unnecessary but I had no say. It was so heart pain to see my twin not having any milk and being poked so many holes and put on drip.

Also I never get to see my gynae dr june ran again after my c section the following few days. It was the very young doctors who came to check on me.

Contd

A series of tests. I thought it was unnecessary as vomitting in babies is quite often. After all the tests, my twin was discharged after 2.5 weeks and the total bill came up to about $20k. I felt that it was unnecessary but I had no say. It was so heart pain to see my twin not having any milk and being poked so many holes and put on drip.

Also I never get to see my gynae dr june ran again after my c section the following few days. It was the very young doctors who came to check on me.

Thanks for sharing!

I read some blog online and chose a senior consultant right from the start. He had explained to me that he only delivers my babies if they hit 2kg or 37th weeks. If premature babies, I'll be handled by a group of specialist and go straight to C class.

Yes, I agree the waiting time sucks. Every appt took us almost half a day. I was with Dr Fong Yang as some of the mummies here before. Just that I don't like the last arrangement that he will refer me to SGH if my babies are going to be premature.

I thought it is normal that your dr won't see u after you had delivered. The hospital will assign another dr to follow up. It happens to my SIL who was seeing a private gynae and delivered at TMC.

But did you go back to your gynae to remove the stitches?

At private hospital, ur doctor will still visit u after delivery till u are discharged. The reason private dr to transfer u to govt hospital if bbs happened to b premature, as govt hospital better equipped n also on the cost saving wise

I'm with NUH as a subsidised patient. While I cannot choose the dr, so far I've been seen by consultant Dr and it's usually the same 2-3 drs. Waiting time sometimes can be bad if they've lots of new cases for the day. I used to be with a popular pte gynae, waiting time is just as bad if not worse.

Unlike pte gynaes, I have no access to Dr June Tan. The only way to contact her is via the Kkh appt hotline. I'm not sure about other pte doctors but my gynae at Mt E visited me everyday while I was in the hospital ward. Dr june tan did remove my stitches a month later at the clinic.

I'm with NUH as a subsidised patient. While I cannot choose the dr, so far I've been seen by consultant Dr and it's usually the same 2-3 drs. Waiting time sometimes can be bad if they've lots of new cases for the day. I used to be with a popular pte gynae, waiting time is just as bad if not worse.
Mine is private gynae. Waiting time arnd 10 to 15 mins

Hi Pixie, you know the gender of your twins already? I'm waiting to find out during my detailed scan next week.

Hi Oohlahlah, ya. I agree KK sucks at this that you can't contact your gynae directly and need to get through the always-hard-to-get-through hotline. I experienced that they sent young Drs to check on me when I was hospitalized for drip during my 1st trimester. But I guess hospitals are like that.. To train newbies to gain their experience.

Hi TwinnyStars, how r u doing? You are closer and closer to 37th weeks already.

Unlike pte gynaes, I have no access to Dr June Tan. The only way to contact her is via the Kkh appt hotline. I'm not sure about other pte doctors but my gynae at Mt E visited me everyday while I was in the hospital ward. Dr june tan did remove my stitches a month later at the clinic.

I not expecting twins, but i was with Dr June Tan when i expected my #1. (I have low lying plaenta thruoughout my preg) I was with TMC OB till week 31, where my OB need to go holiday, he referred me to June Tan instead. She was very nice, anyway all complications she told me is exactly the same as what my TMC OB said. She insisted to see me weekly from week 32 onwards as she felt i might deliver at week 34 on. She gave me her nurse numbers to call, anything can call the nurse and she also promised to see me after i delivered even i am a B2 class. If i delivered week 34 my bb need to be in NICU...
FYI: She gave me HL from week 32 onwards all the way till my EDD, though i defintely delivery early.

Perhaps is case to case basis on your condition. I can said i get really PTE class treatment fr Dr June Tan & the nurses at KKH. They classify me as "High Risk" patient, not because of my health but due to the placenta.

P/S: I decided to go back to my OB at TMC - as my hubby felt more comfortable with him.

I am currently under tmc. Out plan is anytime before week 37, we will go govt hospital, b2 or c ward. And of babies are OK, probably I will request to upgrade? Provided got better rooms then. Anytime after week 37, we are comfortable to deliver at tmc.

Dear mummies... I need some advice...

My twin 2 always have problem falling asleep... Everytime when I place him in his cot... He will almost fall asleep and then jerk n got frighten n then cry very badly... This cycle will go on a few times until he is exhausted and go to sleep completely...

Anyone experience this and manage to have some solutions?

My twin 2 always have problem falling asleep... Everytime when I place him in his cot... He will almost fall asleep and then jerk n got frighten n then cry very badly... This cycle will go on a few times until he is exhausted and go to sleep completely...

My gal used to b like tat. Until i put her to sleep in tummy. But even tat, she still can sometimes jerk from her sleep n cry.
But when i sent her to ifc, e teacher did not allow her to sleep on tummy due to safety reason. Instead they give her pacifier. She rejected initially but at e end she's ok. Now as she grows, she is sort of outgrow tat phase. Now she no longer easily startled .
I dun hv any suggestions actually cos mine just happen she outgrow tat phase on her own.
U may want to swaddle ur bb during sleeping ? Hope ur bb will outgrow it soon.

My #2 are like that, do you have beanie? pillow with bean sprouts husk inside.. i bought that & put on his chest. Let bb sleep side way, hug that beanie & legs hug bolster... on bb back, tug another small pillow behind.... my mum taught me & is useful to my boy. He about to close his eyes, he got startled & start crying for like 2hrs... try to sleep again, got startled again.. this happened when he is about 2-3months old especially at night... i did on toilet light or table light..

Mummies, do you all feel that your V is swollen when you were pregnant and have upper abdominal pain sometimes?

I'm coming to week 20 and experiencing these.

Dear mommies

My twins were sleeping fine at night, like last feed 7pm then wake up at 3-4am for another feed and then morning. But recently they are waking up every 3 hours at night for milk. They are 4 months plus now. Is this normal? Help!!

Hi Lyin,

Congrats! You must be very happy! Even though I don't have twin but my colleague is expecting twins and will be due in 2weeks! Through the last month, you will be getting more exhausted because of the weight of your twins. Well, twins is heavier than one right! Haha. It is not easy to expect twins, take great care of yourself and welcome the moment of your twins coming to this world. It is an amazing moment, I went through the delivery of my 1st baby and I just can't control my tears from flowing because she is just too beautiful! I guess yours will be even my beautiful than mine :)

This thread has been quite quiet.. Hope all twin mummies are doing fine..

I was told that my lower twin has a low placenta and has to watch out for bleeding and contractions. Wondering if any mummies had the same issue as me?

This thread has been quite quiet.. Hope all twin mummies are doing fine..

I was told that my lower twin has a low placenta and has to watch out for bleeding and contractions. Wondering if any mummies had the same issue as me?

Both mine are low placenta and was told to avoid bedroom activities other than that Gynae just say be careful only and nothing much...

Hi queby77,
Have you delivered? If not, how many weeks are you now?
I'm seeing my gynae tomorrow.. Shall ask him in greater details. I have not engaged in bedroom activities since pregnant.. Ha.

I'm reaching 21 weeks this weekend..

I've got poor appetite and my weight has not increased since my 15th week..
It's ok as long as babies are on track. I also no appetite till 19-20 weeks. I can't finish a bowl of noodles or a plate of rice before then. But now, I yearn to buy the whole market of food and wasted a lot! For eg I want eat chicken rice and yet I also want the wanton mee, buy already both also can't finish.. That's how bad. My weight stealthily increases abt 500-1kg a week but cos I got gestational diabetes I need to watch my weight closely. Praying for a smooth pregnancy for u and me.

By the way did your placenta moved up ? Today your check up right?

I'm reaching 21 weeks this weekend..

I've got poor appetite and my weight has not increased since my 15th week..
but is your babies growing well? as long as their weight is ok, i think shouldn't be a problem...
now i'm in week 21+, baby boy is 400g++ baby girl is 300g ++
until now, i have gain 7kg.

my gynae did put me on medications to prevent pre-mature birth though because he say i'm quite risky due to my petite size. my womb also quite small. he say maybe 3rd trimester i need to be confine to bed rest

Wow Pixie, your babies are of good weight. At 20th week scan, my boy is ard 287g and girl is 234g. My gynae says ok..
I'm also petite size, 42.5kg.. I thought he will give me some medications for preterm labour today but he didn't.. Im super worried abt preterm labour and super sian about my gastric..

Queby77, thanks! I'll pray hard for U too! My gynae says ok abt the placenta.. Nothing to worry.. And best is my next appt is 8 weeks later..

Wow Pixie, your babies are of good weight. At 20th week scan, my boy is ard 287g and girl is 234g. My gynae says ok..
I'm also petite size, 42.5kg.. I thought he will give me some medications for preterm labour today but he didn't.. Im super worried abt preterm labour and super sian about my gastric..

Queby77, thanks! I'll pray hard for U too! My gynae says ok abt the placenta.. Nothing to worry.. And best is my next appt is 8 weeks later..
My first trimester MS also very jialat. Only start gain weight on 2nd trimester. My MIL brew bird nest for me daily. My grandma brew cordyceps every tue. Herbal black chicken soup every fri. So i guess it helps. Maybe you can try.

My gynae appt is once a mth though...

Hi Ellesie
May I know what's your twins routine in infantcare? I would like to follow a more structured routine for my twins. I remember our twins are about the same age.

I think jerking up from slee will gradually wear off by coming to 3 months. I was worried during month 1-2 and now I realized they can sleep longer through the night. I did give pacifier and unswaddle them around 1.5 months.

Hi Oohlahlah,

Can I ask what did kkh supply U during your stay and after U discharge?
Do we have to bring our own breastpump and storage bottle/milk bottles?

For your twins full month celebration, do you give out 1 or 2 boxes of cakes?

I'm wondering what is expected as this is the first set of twins in the family.

Please advise.

Hi, Congratulations to all double happiness mummies. Just to share that I have a Brand New in Box, sealed Maclaren Twin Triumph Stroller to sell. PM me for more info. :)

For your twins full month celebration, do you give out 1 or 2 boxes of cakes?

I'm wondering what is expected as this is the first set of twins in the family.

Please advise.
hi twinny! Congrats! You delivered already? For me i gave out only one but the card it's a picture of the twins. I chose a more expensive selection from the full mth cake menu though cos relatives give 2 red packets de ..

No not yet delivered. Just being kiasu doing some research on which type of full month cakes package to get. Not sure how many red packets relatives will give but I'm really not expecting them to go through the expenses as most of them are retirees. Just want to share with them the joy and good excuse for family gathering.

oic :) there are so many nice cakes and packages to choose from hor..a tad spoilt for choice hehehe

If I give, will give one box cos they might not be able to finish 2 boxes as most requires to consume by within the day or next day.. Maybe give one that has a lot of different varieties. :)

Dear sistas, may I ask how long does your MS last ? My MS started from week 5 and now going week 8, it is really terrible and feel like dying. Totally nor edgy at all :(
From vomiting, to gastritis, to heart burn, to acid reflux. Oh dear

Yup many choices :) Oh good reminder that the cakes and kuehs are best consumed on the same day. Will let the grandparents decide since most are for relatives.

Cowmoomoo, my ms went all the way till about week 30. It still affects me every few days now :(

Dear sistas, may I ask how long does your MS last ? My MS started from week 5 and now going week 8, it is really terrible and feel like dying. Totally nor edgy at all :(
From vomiting, to gastritis, to heart burn, to acid reflux. Oh dear

My dear, I feel u! I was feeling so depressed a couple of times when the ms is so bad and I was hospitalized in my 8th week. The smell of food makes me feel like vomiting all the time..told my husband that I wanted to stay in hospital until I deliver.. Watch out for dehydration!

I feel less nauseous and pick up my energy in week 21.. I'm in my 23rd week now and still battling with gastric and heartburn everyday. Now I do shopping on and off to distract myself or whatsup chat with forum mummies who have ard the same EDD.

My friend who vomitted throughout her pregnancy ask me to just tahan as there is no cure for it.. Which is true. So got to Jiayou mummy, all for the little ones. At least we just have to go through it once and for all. U will feel more motivated when u start to feel your little ones in your tummy!

Hi Jeannie, lucky you to be still able to go out do shopping. I was so out of sorts that all I could do was having plastic pail and bags besides me 24hrs :(

Mummies, do you all prepare baby car seats for your car when fetching babies home? Or can we just carry them in our arms? Will get summon from traffic police? I'm worried I may not know how to position the babies in car seat properly and cause hurt to the babies.

Haha.. Cos my hubby is bored and wants to go out all the time and so I forced myself to go out even though I don't feel well at times.. I ask him if I want to vomit how? He says just vomit lor.. . I bring plastic bags and sweets with me all the time..

But I start to experience more pelvic pressure when I go out lately..

Better to prepare car seats.. Else how u going to carry 2 babies in your arms unless someone else is with u besides your hubby. I feel it safer to place them in the car seats rather than in our arms.. By right, the car seat should be rearward facing and can be used from birth..babies are flexible like how they r in our tummy.. So don't worry too much on that ya!