Year 2015 IVF mummies- to-be

@Lambi How have you been coping lately?
Phew! I survived long haul plane trip back home now..last week was terrible! Cos my mum plc upstairs reno and was doing very much noisy drilling and hackings..but thankfully we r all back now and fighting jet lag though..travelling with infants not easy plus we had with us 8 luggages including hand carry..but it was priority queue all the way and the bbs charmed their way thru:)

Hi Chubby, just saw Dr yesterday. He said depending on bb's head facing downwwards. He seemed to think its too early to discuss and gave me a flustered look. I did the test yesterday and realised I got GTD, got to control carbo.. feeling alittle sianz.

At least, discover early and we can do something about it to prevent future complications. Got a feeling that I would suffer GDTT....yucks....

I bought the AIA policy too. Transferred to baby once she was born, and settled her hospitalization plan quickly. No regrets. She kena hfmd at 3mo and was hospitalized so we could claim for those expenses.

I was bleeding in 3rd trimester, probably due to low placenta, and hospitalized for threatened premature labour. My first two trimesters were relatively ok so gotta be careful throughout the whole pregnancy.

Hi @mosburger, how are you?

yeah but provided the HR from private company react :) looking forward for the enhancement on the baby bonus, hope they release the news soon....

That's true. Really good for those working in the public sector. Wish those in the private sector best of luck as it all depends on each individual SME or MNC on how they respond to government call on this extra week of paternity leave. Left around 4 months plus for those daddies to clear off the extra week by year end.

How is your preparation coming along? Already planned on when to take your maternity leave and any conclusion on your cord blood decision? Must be feeling exciting on the coming event, isn't it. ;)

That's true. Really good for those working in the public sector. Wish those in the private sector best of luck as it all depends on each individual SME or MNC on how they respond to government call on this extra week of paternity leave. Left around 4 months plus for those daddies to clear off the extra week by year end.

How is your preparation coming along? Already planned on when to take your maternity leave and any conclusion on your cord blood decision? Must be feeling exciting on the coming event, isn't it. ;)
just managed to did my OGTT last wk ie wk 31, result unknown. Was asked to do another scan at wk33 but kkh only fix appt on scan only without Dr review, as i dun feel good to know the scan result and OGTT result only at wk35 (during the last review at wk31, the GP said that fluid is on the low side), i called and request for Dr appt on the wk33. I am only manage to see Dr Khoo on wk35, hope it is not too late for me....i am so wori that he could't take me for delivery....

Also, i did not manage to get the AIA policy cos the Dr refused to fill up the QnA, and the medical report centre said can only response on the QnA in 3 wks time (without giving me any medical records) and going to charged me $130.50). If 3 wks, i already exceed 32 wks le...hiaz

just managed to did my OGTT last wk ie wk 31, result unknown. Was asked to do another scan at wk33 but kkh only fix appt on scan only without Dr review, as i dun feel good to know the scan result and OGTT result only at wk35 (during the last review at wk31, the GP said that fluid is on the low side), i called and request for Dr appt on the wk33. I am only manage to see Dr Khoo on wk35, hope it is not too late for me....i am so wori that he could't take me for delivery....

Gal, understand your worries and hope everything goes well at your ends especially on the low fluid. I'm seeing Dr Khoo as well on my GDTT in my next review. Find him chop chop kind but a very nice doc. You will be in good hands.

As for delivery, worst to the worst if he can't make it on time, I will pass my fate to the experienced midwives over there... Lolx, as long as baby comes out fine, it doesn't really matter. But I do mind who do my stitching lot. Contradicting isn't it.

Also, i did not manage to get the AIA policy cos the Dr refused to fill up the QnA, and the medical report centre said can only response on the QnA in 3 wks time (without giving me any medical records) and going to charged me $130.50). If 3 wks, i already exceed 32 wks le...hiaz

Huh, how come like that? All the records are in the file, how come that GP refused to fill in? Try to ask DR Khoo to assist you on this perhaps. His nurse and him helped me a lot on this... Not sure whether there is any deadline on AIA submission...

That's strange. My gynae at Nuh (even though very busy) gladly did it for me.. It only took him 1min! Just tick tick tick only!

Huh, how come like that? All the records are in the file, how come that GP refused to fill in? Try to ask DR Khoo to assist you on this perhaps. His nurse and him helped me a lot on this... Not sure whether there is any deadline on AIA submission...
yes, there is deadline for submission ie before 32 wks...so for me too late le...sad. has to keep fingers crossed. That GP is the lousy one that i met so far...

ya lor...maybe she dare not commit. she said she aware about that form but she can't help to fill...
The form requires the gynae doing your delivery to fill in, maybe that's why she didn't dare commit.
Why not ask your Gynae's nurse to help bring your form to him? Explain that it's really urgent & is just a quick 1min thing? They should understand. I also did that whenever I need urgent help.
Since he can just refer to your records, don't even need consultation.

The form requires the gynae doing your delivery to fill in, maybe that's why she didn't dare commit.
Why not ask your Gynae's nurse to help bring your form to him? Explain that it's really urgent & is just a quick 1min thing? They should understand. I also did that whenever I need urgent help.
Since he can just refer to your records, don't even need consultation.
unforunately, i made appt too late hence will only get to see specialist dr on wk35. has been seeing normal subsided GP in kk so far. So now, i can't get my baby to cover for insurance until he give birth?

Got to submit prior reaching 32 weeks is it... Can be submitted on week 32? Perhaps, you can try making a trip down to private suite first and ask the nurses over there to see whether they can retrieve and make copies of your medical records as required by the insurance co? Tell them your story and hopefully, they can bring your form to the gynae for filling up? You now in week 32 I suppose.. Give it a try and see.

At least, discover early and we can do something about it to prevent future complications. Got a feeling that I would suffer GDTT....yucks....

That is a good way to look at it. Thank you for offering a positive way to look at things less desires. Just console myself that it is common for preggies.

Phew! I survived long haul plane trip back home now..last week was terrible! Cos my mum plc upstairs reno and was doing very much noisy drilling and hackings..but thankfully we r all back now and fighting jet lag though..travelling with infants not easy plus we had with us 8 luggages including hand carry..but it was priority queue all the way and the bbs charmed their way thru:)

Wow!! That's a huge victory!! Stronger parents and charming kids.

Those who bought the AIA Family First Baby policy, does the insurance agent ask you to declare if our baby is conceived via IVF?

Dear ladies, does anyone have any recommendations for breast pumps? Is it better to get a manual one or an electric one? I am thinking of home-use.
Saw a review on these brands: http://www.babycenter.com/best-breast-pump
Since they are not local-context, thus, am uncertain if it fits Asian woman. Wondering if it is better to buy it now or wait till delivery?

Brands/Models

Medela Pump In Style Advanced Breastpump

Cost: US$250

http://addalittlelove.com/

Philips Avent Comfort Double Electric Breast Pump

Cost: US$200

Ameda Purely Yours Ultra Double Electric Breast Pump

Cost:US$245 - $300

Dear ladies, any views on the choice of steriliser? Saw this review: http://sg.******************/the-best-sterilisers-in-the-market-shopping-guide-special/

Philips Advent
Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer (For all bottle sizes)
Tommee Tippee
TollyJoy
MotherCare

My Avent 4-1 sterilizer went crazy 2 weeks ago after 9 mths usage, can only steam 1 minute then turn green light for cooling. Luckily I kept my receipt n it was 2 years warranty. I went down to Philips tpy service centre n they did a test to cfm something was wrong n gave me a replacement for the base when it heats up..

Thank you for sharing. Hmm... Avent is a very popular brand in Singapore from the review. Always closer to listen to first hand users.

Dear ladies, does anyone have any recommendations for breast pumps? Is it better to get a manual one or an electric one? I am thinking of home-use.
Saw a review on these brands: http://www.babycenter.com/best-breast-pump
Since they are not local-context, thus, am uncertain if it fits Asian woman. Wondering if it is better to buy it now or wait till delivery?

Brands/Models

Medela Pump In Style Advanced Breastpump

Cost: US$250

http://addalittlelove.com/

Philips Avent Comfort Double Electric Breast Pump

Cost: US$200

Ameda Purely Yours Ultra Double Electric Breast Pump

Cost:US$245 - $300

It all depends if you need a portable pump when you return to work.
PISA is gd but bulky. And I heard they stop producing it already.

For portable ones you can consider
1) medela freestyle. Have used it for 14 mths for #1 and currently using it for #2. Died on me a couple of times but was under warranty. And given that I m an EP, it has served me well

2) Spectra. Can consider S1 or M9. Much cheaper than freestyle but works v well too. I bought a M9 to standby in case my FS dies on me and it can yield more milk than my FS

Re sterilizer. I have been using the avent one since my #1 was born 3 years ago n nvr stop sterilizing ( cuz too use to sterilizing) and it is still working till now. Can dump a lot of stuff inside too

It all depends if you need a portable pump when you return to work.
PISA is gd but bulky. And I heard they stop producing it already.

For portable ones you can consider
1) medela freestyle. Have used it for 14 mths for #1 and currently using it for #2. Died on me a couple of times but was under warranty. And given that I m an EP, it has served me well

2) Spectra. Can consider S1 or M9. Much cheaper than freestyle but works v well too. I bought a M9 to standby in case my FS dies on me and it can yield more milk than my FS

Re sterilizer. I have been using the avent one since my #1 was born 3 years ago n nvr stop sterilizing ( cuz too use to sterilizing) and it is still working till now. Can dump a lot of stuff inside too

Thank you for your detailed sharing. Now, I realised that stand-by equipments are needed too. There is really a lot to buy.

No lah.. Not necessary to have standbys. I got extra cuz I dunno when my freestyle will give way. N I m an exclusive pumper so I can't afford to not have a pump.

Would suggest you just get a set and see how it goes.

Hi ladies, I'm returning to work next week n I do not know whether to buy another pump to place it at office (no need to carry extra bag) or bring my existing pump to n fro (bring extra hand carry bag)? What's ur advise?

Depends whether you want the hassle. In my case I had a FS which is quite compact. So I bring it to n fro work everyday.

i was told that B-Complex is good to heal gum bleeding and also for good for baby brain. If i already on Blackmore Preg Gold, can i still take? any commendation on brand?

I am taking only Ganilia as prescribed by Dr, which includes DHA. My Dr seemed to think that "less is more", encourages me to take milk and consume from natural sources. B-Complex boosts energy, usually GP will give you if deemed lethargic. I took it in 1st tri and found it too heaty for my body. It was from Amway.

Drop by my gynae dr Roland last wed when I bring my gal see pd.he was so happy to see my 9 mth old gal but I dun Tik I m in time for 2015 ivf mummy ,most likely 2016 Liao..

Is ok.. Then jiayou to be a 2016 IVF mummy... :) so meanwhile, you are trying natural? Or already aga aga plan for your IVF treatment?

Depends whether you want the hassle. In my case I had a FS which is quite compact. So I bring it to n fro work everyday.
Thanks hopeful78. After considering the pros n cons, ive decided to buy another pump. (I'm too blur n forgetful, so worry that one day I will forgot to bring the pump n I got to waste my milk by expressing out at toilet. Heart pain...) :p

Hahaha.. U won't forget to bring pump but u may forget to bring the milk home.. Don't forget you need to get additional sets of flanges, bottles etc to bring to n fro work also

Is ok.. Then jiayou to be a 2016 IVF mummy... :) so meanwhile, you are trying natural? Or already aga aga plan for your IVF treatment?
Suppose to try natural but to b frank every night after bb slp we aso ko together so far only try twice n I Tik chances not there.
Really dun know when to start ivf again. I m scared of gg thru the mental stress again .. Haiz

Suppose to try natural but to b frank every night after bb slp we aso ko together so far only try twice n I Tik chances not there.
Really dun know when to start ivf again. I m scared of gg thru the mental stress again .. Haiz

Gal, don be stressed ya. I know time is at our disadvantage but I believe taking your own pace and comfort and soon you will know when you are ready. Moreover, you are a FTWM, definitely will feel more.

Still hope you can fulfill your dream in 2016, be it via natural or IVF.

Hi Ladies, just to check..
anyone got any recommendations on post natal massage lady? I know there are many threads in the forum but I simply too sleepy nowadays to read through one by one. Still yet to find anyone yet, will it be too late or still consider early?

Anyone signed up with Cordlife ? Must declare it IVF baby and whether it's your own egg/sperm ?

Still struggling between the 3 private cord blood banks and the public SCBB..... Hard decision to make though. Got to come to a conclusion in the next baby fair which is going to be held in Singapore Expo from 9th to 11th October 2015 or in my week 32 whichever is earlier.

Dear ladies, would you have any recommendation for a good pediatrician at KKH or TMC? Just went for my antenatal class on last Saturday and the to-do list includes finding one?

Still struggling between the 3 private cord blood banks and the public SCBB..... Hard decision to make though. Got to come to a conclusion in the next baby fair which is going to be held in Singapore Expo from 9th to 11th October 2015 or in my week 32 whichever is earlier.

Personal thots: if you have spoken to SCBB b4, you would realize that for the cord blood to be effective, there are many screening process that the private banks don't do. I donated my #1's cord blood. End up SCBB can't even store cuz the blood count is too little. Imagine if I had banked with private banks, I would be paying for nothing ( in case I really need it) so why not let your little one do his/ her first donation when they arrive to this world?

Dear ladies, would you have any recommendation for a good pediatrician at KKH or TMC? Just went for my antenatal class on last Saturday and the to-do list includes finding one?

Just delivered at TMC. Pd is Janice Wong. Nice and detailed. Perhaps u can consider her? But I won't b continuing with her cuz I really really don't like TMC Carpark!!!

Personal thots: if you have spoken to SCBB b4, you would realize that for the cord blood to be effective, there are many screening process that the private banks don't do. I donated my #1's cord blood. End up SCBB can't even store cuz the blood count is too little. Imagine if I had banked with private banks, I would be paying for nothing ( in case I really need it) so why not let your little one do his/ her first donation when they arrive to this world?

Yes you have that few important points there. Still, there are a few what-if scenarios in our minds that defer us from coming to an agreed conclusion.

I went suntec bb fair during the weekend. All 3 pte cordblood companies were there. I spent 30min visiting each booth.
I was rather honest, told them upfront to do a comparison for me & to convince me why I should sign with them.
I decided on cordlife in the end.
Yup it's always the "what-if" factor.. Thinking back on my TTC journey, I also didn't expect I'd be the 10% who needs ivf. Now I've learnt that even if probability is very low, I will still play safe. Some type of money really shouldn't save, if I can still afford.. that's my personal view.