ADVICE ON BABY CONSTIPATION

renaong

I need advice on baby constipation.

My son is 3 yrs old now, since young he has constipation problem, don't poo poo for more than 7 days. No choice but to use microlax every week. Doctor did told us not to do so as he will relay on it.

Hi Rena,

I was juz posting in another thread about this product which my son's childcare staff recommend to me.

My son wasnt actually having constipation. Coz he is prone to flu and one staff at his childcare recommend a type of beverage (powder form to be mixed w water) that is made with many type of veg and fruits. Having taken about a wk, I also notice that my son's poo poo is relatively soft (not watery).

My son usu hv to squat down and push to "produce a big ball of poo". Sometimes, I can see him perspire after "his production". But when I see the poo, it is not so hard. Also wondered how come he got to use so much strength. But for the past wk, he sometimes poo 1-2 times a day, with soft poo. No sweat for him anymore.

If u r interested to find out more, you can email me [email protected]

Btw, we adult also can drink and it is v nice.

Hi Rena,
Maybe you could try apply Telon oil for babies and kids. Massage his tummy everyday morning and before he sleep. Hope it works.

Hi Mdm Rokiah,

Can I know where to purchase Telon oil ?

Thks

My kid oso got constipation problem...cry and cry when passing motion...usually gap of 3 or more days before passing motion...dunno watz the reason...sigh...
Leon's mummy, you got mail!

i give my baby drink honey water once, everyday. So far she pass motion everyday and no constipation.

Hi Piggy,

I havent got your mail, have I? I hv quite a no of mails regarding bb constipation, but I am not sure which one belong to you.

If I havent reply you, pls resend your email to you. Sori for inconv caused.

cook some apple water will do the trick
after peelin off the skin, cut the apple into many slices, then cook with hot water for a while and after tat let it cool b4 lettin baby to drink. sure do the trick

Hi Rena,
Have u ever tried to give prune juice? If too thick, can dilute with bit water.
Hospital nurse taught me that.
Hope that helps.

Hi lily05
You could get it frm sembawang shopping centre or just let me know where do you stay and if I have session around your hse will drop by and past the oil to you. Just sms me at 92716091.

Hi Rena, hows the constipation?
hope its better now.
If its not, may be u can try give Yakult or any probiotic products as it helps to maintain healthy environment in the intestine.

Rena,
My gal has problem with constipation too.
I tried many things like drinking prune juice, honey water, more vegetables, fruits etc, but the only solution that works for her is a change in the formula (milk power). Recommended by my PD, I went for NAN 2-HA which supposingly have shorter protein chain which helps. Her constipation is solved with this milk powder.

I tried to switch brand last month to Friso but constipation came back (hard stool), so I switched back to NAN 2-HA again.

Hi Mummies and Daddies,

I wonder, as i saw that perhaps Yakult may provide some help. How about Yogult (Spelling?)
That also is good for intestine..

Can give in the morning? Yakult or Yogult

which brand of milk powder u giving yr baby at the moment. mine also was on friso. constipation few days. doc ask us to mix wth friso comfort. after that was ok. once we stop the comfort her stool was hard again. so we thinking of changing milk powder too.

my gal oso got constipation when she take Enfalac A+. so PD suggested to add frisco comfort. but once we increase enfalac, she constipated again. then we decided to change to NAN but does not stop frisco comfort. PD said it is ok to mix the formula. dun stop frisco comfort immediately , the consipation will be back again.

Can bb less than 3 months old take barley boiled in water to help in constipation?

my gal's on Similac. Her stools re soft and so PD said no need for change.

koalarie,
i did give my gal when she is about a mth old. make it extremely diluted and about 20-30ml will do.dun give too much at once, scare will lao sai.

did u give her water? my gal is coming to 4mths old soon. PD said at this age can take about 90ml of plain water per day. so yours younger.. maybe 60ml?

my gal oso constipated, i mixed her NAN with Friso Comfort. now better.

PD said it is ok to continue mixing in long term until her condition stablised. if we stop immediately once constipation goes away, it will come back again. then we will have to start all over again.. which is like my gal's case.. we tot she ok already, so we stop friso comfort.. sigh.. she constipated again.. 4 days din poo.. then now we mix friso comfort again.. she able to poo almost everyday.

ya loh.. ya, after i stop friso comfort her poo hard again. currently which milk powder is yr ger ger taking? i thought of changing from friso to similac. but she very choosy.. dun seem to like the similac taste leh..

fern,

my gal taking NAN 1 and Friso Comfort. we mix a scoop of friso comfort and 3 scoops of NAN every meal.

yan, do they have NAN in small tin. wanna try out, in case my ger dun like the taste.

so if im using friso 2 at the moment, i should only mix 1 scoop of friso comfort??

fern,
yes it is available in small tin. per tin cost $13.xx for stage 1... can't remember the exact price.

mix how much of friso comfort is depending on individual. yours already taking stage 2 formula, i not sure about it. any mom can give any suggestion to fern...?

but if u wanna try NAN, maybe u gotta mix NAN and your current formula 1st.. cos dun think can mix 3 different formula rite...

Dancestrella,
NAN 1-HA is for new born till 6mths.
NAN 2-HA from 6mths onwards.
Go to your PD to ask for a sample (400g tin) first.

I am mixing 2 scoops of friso comfort1 with 5 or 6 scoops of friso2 for my 14mth old... so far, she's passing it well at least once a day... Try ribena cos your son's 3 years old already.. it helps with my sister's kids who are 2 years and 4 years old. I tried on my gal.. She did pass but not sure if it was the ribena or prune juice or friso comfort that helped!

hi rena

tried eating papaya? according to my PD, it helps to loosen the stools. of course, pls dun overeat papaya. my 15 mth gal takes enfalac and had little constipation problem. i also make sure her meals has vegetables.

do try not to use the medicine too often, as it will affect the body system.

Hi Rena,
How's the constipation problem? My nephew also try friso comfort for constipation. I heard it's natural fibre with friso milk base, so his mother insist to continue as they think it's ok to carry on. Maybe you can call the friso milk company to find out more.

My infant girl abt 13days old is passing motion from 3 times per day to only once per day today. Im not breast feeding, she is feeding on Enfalac A+. Kindly advise what should I do, thanks.

hi dongaxely

how is the stool like?If soft but Not watery then is alright.However,if is watery or mushy pl see your PD sa ur baby may allergy to cow milk.

My baby is 4.5mths old, having constipation problem too, but coz he still at this age, I dunno what kind of drink can make him poo easily. His poo not that hard, it's normal, but really dunno why it's so difficult for him to poo.

I tried boil barley water then use the water to mix with the milk powder for him to drink during feeding, still no poo.

He from 2 days poo once till now 4 days only poo once. I worry continue like this wait he poo 1 week once only !!

Anyone have any good solution to make my baby poo everyday?

my boy also got poo poo problem. He bled when he poo. His stool is v hard and dry and i have to pull out for him. Very serious problem. I'm so lost. We tried barley water, honey water (but later when we read about honey not suitable for baby, we stop.), gave him apple and papaya. How much papaya to give will help ? Cos so far we gave it dun really helps. PD said he is lack of fibre, so suggested Fiso Comfort. Cos its the only one with dietry fibre content. Otherwise we can buy fibre satches to add into milk. We tried the fibre satches. It did have immediate effect.. he want to poo.. but he too afraid to poo now.. cos v pain and bled and he cry until like a coil baby... see liao so heart pain...

I feed my 2 mth baby gripe water / honey mix with water, she can poo after that. Works most of the time.

Seems like many babies on Enfa brand are having constipation. My boy who is 14mths is on Enfa too and he suffer from constipation.

The PD advise me to mix Frisco with Enfa milk powder.

I have something to share. I gave my gal drink honey every morning (empty stomach) and I observed that she poo every day or at least alternate days for the last 2 weeks since I started her with that. Now her stool become softer. Hope this will maintain. The honey I feed her is Yummi house honey. It work for adult too who has constiption. If you interested to buy the honey and try get me know I can sell at silver member price $60 per bottle. Normally outside you have to buy 5bottles to enjoy the silver member price. Note: Honey can also be taken for baby more than a yr old. This drink is not so sweet and kids will like to drink. At least we are not forcing them to drink. The family can drink this to improve immunity as well.

I am sharing this because my gal constipation was very bad in the past I know how mummy feel. So update when you see your gal cry when poo and sometimes got blood. Hope this will not happen to me anymore.

I agree on Nan HA. My gal 2 yo had constipation for 3 weeks. Tried Nan HA as suggested by another mummy and now poo is soft and easy. No more suppositories and blood when pooing!

my daughter is 2 years plus now but recently she started having constipation problems she gets so cranky and easily agitated
im really worried about her condition i sent her to the doc said nth is wrong just normal and gave her some medications and consume less fibre but i want to know what causes it. if it is preventable why not cuz i want whats best for her
i also spoke to my parents recently they said try giving her formulated milk powder with prebiotics it helps also
feel free to give me recommendations for milk formulas that contain prebiotics pls.

Hi, my gal who is 5 year old has this problem too since baby. I have been bringing her to see KKH specialist for several visit and not much improve, therefore, I tried several method, like give her prebiotics gummy bear, more vegetables and fruits, and drink more water. I used therapeutic grade essential oils from Young Living to massage her tummy clockwise and supplement c.
Now it improve a lot... from poo every 1.5 week or less to now every week. I cut down her FM to 2 twice a day, you can give goat fm as it is more easier to digest.
There is no any method which can cure her this problem, I just able to smoothe her pain when she trying hard to poo out.

Hope this help you.

I've never heard that milk powder contains Prebiotics.. As I knw formula can only help kids to be smarter but not solving constipation problem. Its the heatiness of the milk poweder that cos child to have constipation. Maintaining a balanced diet could prevent child from having constipation. I used to train my kids to drink plenty of water and eat fruits but more important is to avoid fried foods.

Prebiotics is good for treatment for constipation babies. There's alot of varieties of milk formula in the supermarket these days which contains of Prebiotics and one of it which is quite good IMO is Mamil from Dumex. I personally used it for my LO last time when he was still a kid and stopped when he was 6 yrs old. Its very common for kids to have constipation these days, and my LO seldom will have constipation with Mamil. Try switching to Mamil and see the difference urself in a week, u'll be surprise ;)

i think its best to take precaution buying milk formulas make sure u're buying a good brand or already an established brand
DO NOT buy cheap milk formulas if you want to maintain your children's health by feeding ur child with a proper milk formula he/she will definitely wont have constipation problems
definitely not a good advice going for cheap milk formulas but go for the ones that are proven it helps kids

Hi mummies, my baby is suffering from constipation. Where can i get Friso Comfort ? I went to Cold Storage, Guardian, Watson, i can only find Friso Comfort for 0 - 6 month. I can't find Friso Comfort for 6 months above.
Any ideas ?