My girl is only 5.53kg at 13weeks. Like much smaller compared to babies here.
Waiting for her jabs now. And I am actually nervous. Hahhaha....

My bb is 4.2kg at 5weeks, seems ok for now. But carrying her not a joke. Super heavy! Lol. Btw, when do u all have appt with gynae after delivery? Is 1mth post-delivery a must?

Let down is milk flowing out or leaking out. Not a problem like block, engorge, nor infection. Dun worry ya..
My fren sometimes said, she pump but no time for let down. Means try to pump but no milk yet?

I was told blocked ducts is the result of engorged? Engorged is due to nv fully clear bm during pump session and Mastitis is worst case of blocked ducts?

May i know what 'let down' means? And the differences between blocked ducts, engorged, and mastitis?

hello..let down feels like theres electric currents flowing through...blocked ducts can be massaged via hot shower and compress..engorgement happens when theres blocked ducts or when i miss a pumping session. unfortunately i had mastitis 2 weeks ago...it needs to be recovered through antibiotics and anti inflammatory medication. basically there will be redness near the nipple and areola, and swelling. this happens when engorgement isnt treated fast enough. fever and some chills are accompanied by mastitis. i thought i recovered from it last week since my fever subsided and i finished my course of antibiotics, but who knew that the redness didn't subside and then it turned out to have abscess and like into a mini boil. the skin around the redness was peeling off and it was painful to touch.called my gynae and she referred me to another breast surgeon to check out. i went this morning and she said its infected with pus,worse than mastitis and she had to extract the abscess via findle needle aspiration and managed to extract 20ml of greenish pus and dried up milk. the viscosity was as thick as kaya spread. she brought it to the lab for bacteria culture test and i would have to go back twice a week for her to monitor and extract the pus to ensure that the antibiotics are working for me.

depressing when i saw this and the pain i went through, so i wanted to share this because please dont delay treatment or hope that it will disappear or brush it aside like what had happened to me. the surgeon told me its very important to massage blocked ducts away. because of the green pus that she extracted and the pain through the infection, I've hold off breastfeeding (be it latching or pumping) for now till i fully recover which takes about 2 to 3 weeks. maybe my 2nd child i would have breastfeeding an easier choice..

My fren sometimes said, she pump but no time for let down. Means try to pump but no milk yet?

I was told blocked ducts is the result of engorged? Engorged is due to nv fully clear bm during pump session and Mastitis is worst case of blocked ducts?

Engorge untreated will lead to blocked duct. Block duct if infected will lead to mastitis. Mastitis if untreated will lead to abcess. (My own interpretation) Though my ss is low (80ml per session) i have had mastitis twice. The 1st time i had when my son was admitted to kkh, the nurse remind me to massage till i cry in pain and express all the pus out. The 2nd time i had, i recovered faster. Both incidents causes a drastic drop in ss for the infected breast.

Wah been at least 1 week tat bb tortured nv me. Now he start all over! 3.30am latch to sleep, 5am den 8am.. Sleep more important den clear ducts for today. Haha.

@littlepurple , if u dun nid portable pump, can invest in hospital grade like wat @minidonut suggest. Can clear boobs faster... For me i really bo bian need pump any where any time :)

Mummies, jus to share what my mum 'taught' me. Duno if it can work for all, but for me i think it worked.
Dont take aftermoon naps... @.@ haha at first i freaked out, during confinement like nap x infinity... Haha. But really i feel less cranky after 3rd day of no napping. Even thou night feeds are a torture since DL i dun bother waking my hub up, amazingly i can manage and still wake up 8am not feeling moody, or even lack of sleep. Maybe is jus training body to take the tiredness and put it elsewhere.... So far 6th day...more to go before can conclude further. Haha

I think it works as I don't really take nap too so far still manageable..

@whimsicalfix85 thats so scary jus seeing it makes it worse! So now u totally cant bf or pump on the affected breast? The other side still alright to continue right? I nv massage my boobs prior to pump, only compress on n off during pump session, other den 3x of blocked ducts, and fever i only took panadol and pump latch.
Thank u for sharing ur experience, i think i really have to be more mindful

@whimsicalfix85 thats so scary jus seeing it makes it worse! So now u totally cant bf or pump on the affected breast? The other side still alright to continue right? I nv massage my boobs prior to pump, only compress on n off during pump session, other den 3x of blocked ducts, and fever i only took panadol and pump latch.
Thank u for sharing ur experience, i think i really have to be more mindful

Hi @furbee , I can't bf or pump on the affected breast now. The other side I stopped pumping already. Switching soon to full formula because of the recurrence of infection and mastitis over a short period of time. Will try again when I have the 2nd child, both gynae and surgeon mentioned it'll be much easier, :)

Went for second dose of hep b vaccination at polyclinic today. Bb only cried for few seconds when needle was inserted. Waiting time at Polyclinic was less than 20mins as I called to book appointment beforehand. Initially was hesitant to go Polyclinic coz am afraid of long waiting time but since it is only minutes away from home by foot and it's free, it only makes sense to go there. Just changed to Dr brown bottles and seems to better as flow is not too fast and bb seems to have lesser gas. Chucked all my avent bottles back to drawer.

Oh just to share, last week CL tried to help me cut bb fingernails but accidentally cut into flesh with light bleed. Was using nuk baby nailclipper. Gosh I really heartache but didn't blame her coz really wasn't on purpose so we didn't dare to continue. Hence I went to search for safety nailclipper n bought one from taka with rotating panel but it failed as the grip not good and can't really cut well. Then I remembered I ever bought baby nail scissors as well so I tried it. Bravo! Worked very well and very easy to use. I bought falin brand. Just don't cut too deep and leave a slight length of nail. For mummies who are as scared as me cutting bb nails, try scissors instead of clippers as clippers are usually sharper at the sides.

@Skivewalker now still consider nb so shorter waiting time. I aso gg polyclinic for all jabs, since foc, but i expect wen older need longer wait time.

Ur bb so brave! Mine cried till gt tears.. Lol, mayb cls was his milktime too. Next jab shld b 5in1 which may cause fever if i rem correctly. *cross fingers*
R u all opting for rotavirus too? Is gd to take thou is optional. :)

hello..let down feels like theres electric currents flowing through...blocked ducts can be massaged via hot shower and compress..engorgement happens when theres blocked ducts or when i miss a pumping session. unfortunately i had mastitis 2 weeks ago...it needs to be recovered through antibiotics and anti inflammatory medication. basically there will be redness near the nipple and areola, and swelling. this happens when engorgement isnt treated fast enough. fever and some chills are accompanied by mastitis. i thought i recovered from it last week since my fever subsided and i finished my course of antibiotics, but who knew that the redness didn't subside and then it turned out to have abscess and like into a mini boil. the skin around the redness was peeling off and it was painful to touch.called my gynae and she referred me to another breast surgeon to check out. i went this morning and she said its infected with pus,worse than mastitis and she had to extract the abscess via findle needle aspiration and managed to extract 20ml of greenish pus and dried up milk. the viscosity was as thick as kaya spread. she brought it to the lab for bacteria culture test and i would have to go back twice a week for her to monitor and extract the pus to ensure that the antibiotics are working for me.

depressing when i saw this and the pain i went through, so i wanted to share this because please dont delay treatment or hope that it will disappear or brush it aside like what had happened to me. the surgeon told me its very important to massage blocked ducts away. because of the green pus that she extracted and the pain through the infection, I've hold off breastfeeding (be it latching or pumping) for now till i fully recover which takes about 2 to 3 weeks. maybe my 2nd child i would have breastfeeding an easier choice..
Oh no so sorry about your infection. Hope you get well soon and you can start your bf journey with ur little one soon. Take care

@Skivewalker now still consider nb so shorter waiting time. I aso gg polyclinic for all jabs, since foc, but i expect wen older need longer wait time.

Ur bb so brave! Mine cried till gt tears.. Lol, mayb cls was his milktime too. Next jab shld b 5in1 which may cause fever if i rem correctly. *cross fingers*

Yup. Good to take. My first 2 kids didn't take the rotavirus jab and they unluckily caught the virus in 2012. (#1 was 2yo & #2 was 1yo then) They were both hospitalised. #1 stayed in hospital for 2 nights while #2 stayed 3 nights. Ironically, #2 was the breastfed one. (I thought supposedly stronger) That episode was scary. So now I don't hesitate to let #3 take the rotavirus vaccination.

@whimsicalfix85 *pat pat* that's really a painful journey for u.
I was referred to see breast specialist too when I had breast infection and the lump juz Nvr go away. After the scan, doc n nurse say I'm a lucky one that no worsen to abscess cos I start my course of antibiotics early.
But I need to go back review to confirm the lump won't turn to tumor.

Dats y I keep telling mummies here to faster go see doc n take antibiotics once kena infection. Abscess n pus can be avoided if infection treated early.

Hihi.. would like to check my 10 weeks baby having a lot of phlegm especially she sleeping. This phlegm make he difficult to sleep well. Look at it felt very sad. Any idea, how should i cure it?

I think might consider rotavirus if it's good. I haven't read up much, really so inexperienced lol

Oh just to share, last week CL tried to help me cut bb fingernails but accidentally cut into flesh with light bleed. Was using nuk baby nailclipper. Gosh I really heartache but didn't blame her coz really wasn't on purpose so we didn't dare to continue. Hence I went to search for safety nailclipper n bought one from taka with rotating panel but it failed as the grip not good and can't really cut well. Then I remembered I ever bought baby nail scissors as well so I tried it. Bravo! Worked very well and very easy to use. I bought falin brand. Just don't cut too deep and leave a slight length of nail. For mummies who are as scared as me cutting bb nails, try scissors instead of clippers as clippers are usually sharper at the sides.

yeah.... same with me. Last time I bought nail clipper then cut his nail while bf. Then suddenly he crying, then i see i cut his skin. so heart pain. At that time MIL stay with me, I even afraid my MIL will find out coz is her only grandson de. Then my sis told me using nail scissor, really easier to use.

@ivyang7779 , u sure is phglem? If ur worried can jus drop by the Pd to check...at least u wont be worried!
Anyway Is ur bb slping face up or side? My boi sometimes have the phglem or even wheezing sound wen he has nose block. Like the shyt real deep in. After removing he will sigh a sound of relief! Haha.
Another reason might be large tonsils, tat my #1 has. When slp sideways no more sound, when face up again make the sounds. I think for my kids is cos my hubby snores wen he slp, doc say high chance my kids inherited the large tonsils from their dad..

yours is boy or girl? Think baby girl will be slightly lighter than baby boy. Mine baby boy 4.8 kg at 8 weeks ...... my MIL said he is so skinny. haishh......

Baby will normally shoot up the weight after 3rd mth... So its ok to be skinny now, next time is fatty meaty chubby!

I think my lo having milk strike. She was actually drinking 1.2litre a day. Then now drop to 700ml. 12 weeks old now and weighing about 6kg. When's the time to change the teats? I tried to widen the hole on the teat with a heated safety pin. Then like now the hole too big cos milk will leak from the sides of her mouth. I've also been eating durians every other day. Do you guys think she's on milk strike because she doesn't like the taste? My cousin says maybe the durian milk more filling so she drinks less. Got such thing meh?

Just to share as I read someone asking pumping positions. I sit on the bed in the yoga position with feet facing each other. Then I use a baby bolster to prop below my knee each side. And I rest my long nuk bottles on the bolster. This frees both my hands to massage the breasts. And so that I can sit straight. I hope I'm making sense. If I'm using the short nuk bottles, I sit cross legged with the bottles resting on my thighs.

I think my lo having milk strike. She was actually drinking 1.2litre a day. Then now drop to 700ml. 12 weeks old now and weighing about 6kg. When's the time to change the teats? I tried to widen the hole on the teat with a heated safety pin. Then like now the hole too big cos milk will leak from the sides of her mouth. I've also been eating durians every other day. Do you guys think she's on milk strike because she doesn't like the taste? My cousin says maybe the durian milk more filling so she drinks less. Got such thing meh?

My bb fuss wen i ate 4pc durian! I DL him n he dun drink as much. And also my supply wen i pump was lower.
Tdy tried durian pengat, seems ok leh, maybe not really pure. My conclusion is yes i feel my bb also milk strike wen i took durian! Lol.

Nuk test to me the hole has always been on the bigger side, somemore the shape is slightly different, so if u poke she wont know or feel the hole so cant control the flow.. Maybe u can change to the 3mth+ teat and try?

^5 ! I also cross my legs n place the bottle on thigh wen pump! So far only suffer back aches n legs numbing, but milk still intact nv spill.

My baby girl is about 5.3kg at 8 weeks old...

When I ate durian, my LO actually gotten diarrhea and suffer heatiness.... Went to see PD and asked me to refrain from eating durian....So sad that I cause my LO sick though... Now on bland food to make sure her stomach is ok! I am wondering if we ate curry and some strong flavouring food, whats the impact?

I had lots of durian 2 weeks ago and i thought my LO was phelmy.. but it did boost my supply quite abit. Its quite fattening so only had it once :p
I often had prata with curry though.. no noticeable reaction from LO. Maybe I had it quite often during pregnancy. So he is immune..

I had lots of durian 2 weeks ago and i thought my LO was phelmy.. but it did boost my supply quite abit. Its quite fattening so only had it once :p
I often had prata with curry though.. no noticeable reaction from LO. Maybe I had it quite often during pregnancy. So he is immune..

Thanks but funny is that I had durian just one day before I go for my C sect and also roti prata is also my favour tie breakfast during my pregnancy too!

But I am sure durian is also my booster but too bad my LO dislikes it but probably I ate too much! I shall take a bit and try to see if it's durian impact or fried stuffs!

After my girl got her jabs yesterday, she was in shock the whole afternoon. Took her feeds right after the jabs and then another one at 5pm.
Tried to feed her again at 7pm after her evening wash, she just refused to drink despite being very hungry. She kept on sucking her fist and my finger when offered. But when I gave my nipple, she cry and cry. Same with bottle. Just refused to drink. Heartbreaking tho.
She didnt want to be in lie down position. She finally drink at 10pm with standing position (her legs between my legs, head upwards. Making sense?!)
Whatever works for her lah so long she slept.
Temp rose up to 37.9 before sleeping. Sponged her thru. Was contemplating to give her paracetamol to make her sleep and have her rest, but after deciding, she just slept on her own. Didnt managed to give her medicine.
She slept thru, only woke up a lil at 2am for her feeds. Body still warm and I am still sponging her.

I was expecting a whole night of crankiness but thank god, she managed to sleep thru.
Now at almost 5, am still sponging her. She is a lil better. Hope fever wont come back later.

@nazriah , hope ur girl fever goes away. Sigh, aftermath of the jab. :(
Once her fever gone pls go n nap awhile. U still got to tahan the whole morning.... Rest while u can. Once day break, normally fever subsides... Moms are the best!

Oh dear. Hope baby is better. Hate it when they get fevers. I always can't sleep for fear that the fever will shoot.

I'm crushed. So it might be the durians after all?!?!? It's been 5 hours. I just tried to feed her and she got upset. Now I'm wondering whether it's because she prefers her pacifier to milk! I'm using avent pacifiers and nuk bottles to feed. Oh shucks. Did I confuse her?? Arghhhhhhh. ..how I wish she can tell me what's wrong.

After my girl got her jabs yesterday, she was in shock the whole afternoon. Took her feeds right after the jabs and then another one at 5pm.
Tried to feed her again at 7pm after her evening wash, she just refused to drink despite being very hungry. She kept on sucking her fist and my finger when offered. But when I gave my nipple, she cry and cry. Same with bottle. Just refused to drink. Heartbreaking tho.
She didnt want to be in lie down position. She finally drink at 10pm with standing position (her legs between my legs, head upwards. Making sense?!)
Temp rose up to 37.9 before sleeping. Sponged her thru. Was contemplating to give her paracetamol to make her sleep and have her rest, but after deciding, she just slept on her own. Didnt managed to give her medicine.
She slept thru, only woke up a lil at 2am for her feeds. Body still warm and I am still sponging her.

I was expecting a whole night of crankiness but thank god, she managed to sleep thru.
Now at almost 5, am still sponging her. She is a lil better. Hope fever wont come back later.

I'm going to experience this next week. Hope everything goes smoothly.

@nazriah, hope your girl regains her usual self soon.

@ivyang7779 , u sure is phglem? If ur worried can jus drop by the Pd to check...at least u wont be worried!
Anyway Is ur bb slping face up or side? My boi sometimes have the phglem or even wheezing sound wen he has nose block. Like the shyt real deep in. After removing he will sigh a sound of relief! Haha.
Another reason might be large tonsils, tat my #1 has. When slp sideways no more sound, when face up again make the sounds. I think for my kids is cos my hubby snores wen he slp, doc say high chance my kids inherited the large tonsils from their dad..
Hi Furbee
Yup. Confirm is phlegm. Especially sleeping in the air con room.
She also not sleeping every morning and afternoon. Sigh... really headache.

My pd actually said dat the first mth hep b jab may not be necessary if parents r not carriers. She also mentioned dat e 5-in-1 is free as well at polyclinics, so now abit confused whether wanna take up the entire package frm her at sbcc with different jabs like 6-in-1 instead, mmrv, rotavirus, etc etc till 2yo or go polyclinic.

Its 1.6k for e entire package. $$$$$! But i took dat up for #1.

My pd actually said dat the first mth hep b jab may not be necessary if parents r not carriers. She also mentioned dat e 5-in-1 is free as well at polyclinics, so now abit confused whether wanna take up the entire package frm her at sbcc with different jabs like 6-in-1 instead, mmrv, rotavirus, etc etc till 2yo or go polyclinic.

Its 1.6k for e entire package. $$$$$! But i took dat up for #1.
The govt is giving the injections for all babies free. If you do not mind some waiting time at the polyclinic. They have 5-in-1 (totally free, but need to take hep b injection separately, which means 1 more injection) or 6-in-1 where you pay sgd 120 more. You can consider this option. But need to book appt, which may take 1 mth. Think this is inplemented 2013 onwards. Cos not available for my #1 in 2011.

Hihi.. would like to check my 10 weeks baby having a lot of phlegm especially she sleeping. This phlegm make he difficult to sleep well. Look at it felt very sad. Any idea, how should i cure it?

I m not sure if this will work for u. My bb got lots of phlegm n flu when he was a mth old. I went to pd n did some test. As he is still young no medicine is given. So I bought 余人生保婴丹, is in powder form n gave him 3 times a day. Not immediate effect but after a while he is ok liao. You might want to check it out with the Chinese medical hall. I hope it helps.

My LO going for jab tmr, taking 6-in-1. Nurse say nowadays injection hardly lead to fever. We shall see...

My LO was crying for an hour last nite. Duno what she want. She had her milk at 8pm, 9pm wanna sleep so we carry n rock her to sleep. But she juz keep crying with tears flowing. Change her diaper even tho no poo. Make her more milk but she dun wanna drink, she Oni wan pacifier which we gave her. But still crying.

Both of us so clueless how to stop her crying, I was heartbroken seeing her cry lidat for an hour. Last resort, I on my hair dryer. And she fall asleep shortly. From then, she slept till 3:30am. That's 7.5hrs since her last milk..

The govt is giving the injections for all babies free. If you do not mind some waiting time at the polyclinic. They have 5-in-1 (totally free, but need to take hep b injection separately, which means 1 more injection) or 6-in-1 where you pay sgd 120 more. You can consider this option. But need to book appt, which may take 1 mth. Think this is inplemented 2013 onwards. Cos not available for my #1 in 2011.

Thks for clarifying! Any idea when does infant priority stops at polyclinics? E one at my place is horrifyingly crowded - matured estate mah.

My #1 also born in 2011!

Mother's guilt. (Like write essay)

Been pretty emo recently, mayb lack of sleep or wat. Considering to stop bfeeding totally, after my mastitis scare. Supply oso dwindling cos of infrequent pumping, and to be honest, general disinterest. But whenever I feel like stopping, i look at my boy and feel guilty. Then whenever Im latching or pumping and my #1 asks me to play w her and I cant, I feel guilty. When Im so tired and shout at her for being naughty, I feel lagi guilty!

Next time go back to work will oso experience more guilt trips. Sighs.

Anyone else feel this way?