Hi mommies, currently at hospital now and waiting for full dilation. Thk goodness epidural kicked in already, the contractions were coming hard and fast. I was 3cm dilated when I reached, and already quite painful. Finally my turn after being overdue for 4 days! Here's hoping for a fast and smooth delivery, wish me luck :)

Jia you to you! May you have an awesome smooth delivery!

Today is my 2nd visit to LC, to clear the infected block ducts. LC say mine was pretty swollen and won't be able to clear within 1treatment. So this won't be my last visit. Actually if can, I wanted to go there everyday for treatment. The pain was juz too much to bear. :(
Have a speedy n safe delivery!

Any of mummies weight urself post-delivery? I straight away lost 6-7kg post, need to shed 4kg more yay! :) but now during confinement feels hungry all the time.. whacked all my confinement food.. :)

Oh I suddenly rem, i received 2 calls from hosp where they asked if bb and i are doing fine.. if everything is allright. So sweet of them! But what if a lot of things are not allright? What can they offer? Hehe #just curious..

@isenggirl, me too. The hospital staff called me to ask how baby and I were doing too. May I know where you delivered your baby? Maybe same hospital?

I thought it was sweet of them to ask but my hubby said I'm silly. He said that if baby and I are not well, then the hospital staff will ask us to go back for a checkup and that's how they earn money back from us. Heh. Cheeky hubby to think that way.

@yew yew & @ isenggirl

I think this's one of their "after service" support haha . I delivered in KKH and they called me too! And when I go back to gynae to remove the stitch the staff come to me and ask about post natal desperation question. Luckily still between normal range! If not they will ask me to go back KKH for mentality treatment lol..

Is G6PD related to thalassemia?
G6PD is different from thalessemia. But hubby and i are both g6pd deficient and we both are thalessemic minor (but different strands of thalessemia hence does not make our baby a thalessemia major which requires blood transfusion etc). Actually we have led very normal lives for the past 26 years and it does not affect our functionality. Just becareful not to take broad beans and be near moth balls.. And to avoid certain medicine. My girl was tested g6pd positive too bt didnt require phototherapy for jaundice..

Mummies here, how do you decide your own PD?

I know my LO will have injections, vaccination in upcoming months as well, but I dunno where to start. Does anyone go to the PD that attended to them during childbirth?

And I wanna ask I supposed to be discharge today, but baby will stay one day for phototherapy. I am just curious, will baby's health booklet be provided to me?

Go polyclinic for injections, for 5-in 1 shld b free, whereas if go PD u have to pay for all jabs. As for misc jabs, n rota virus, still have to pay, some can use medisave...

@isenggirl , i gained 16kg fr whole preg. Waist line (belly button) from 27 to 38inch! Now left 5kg, but waistline 5inch more to lose too. Sad looking at the flabby fat tummy! Lol. 3rd delivery look worse. Hehe.
@4gals ur 5th, wonder hw u manage to lose ur weight n tummy??

Any of mummies weight urself post-delivery? I straight away lost 6-7kg post, need to shed 4kg more yay! :) but now during confinement feels hungry all the time.. whacked all my confinement food.. :)

Oh I suddenly rem, i received 2 calls from hosp where they asked if bb and i are doing fine.. if everything is allright. So sweet of them! But what if a lot of things are not allright? What can they offer? Hehe #just curious..
same here. the hospital called to ask how am i and the BB . i am so shock by their call. never thought they will follow up.

Go polyclinic for injections, for 5-in 1 shld b free, whereas if go PD u have to pay for all jabs. As for misc jabs, n rota virus, still have to pay, some can use medisave...
how do we go to polyclinic? Just walk in like that or need to call? i am comtemplating on if to go polyclinic or private.

U can save alot at polyclinic. U can call up the hotline to make the appt if bb birthcert done alr.
Alternatively for me i went down for jaundice test, den made the appt, and also doc checked bb. Was reffered to KKh specialist for 'clicky left hips' .. So now waiting for ultrascan..

I know some parents also worry of bring bb to polyclinic, fearing the germs n virus spreading, cos all ages also go there la.. But depends on individual :) cos for me, bb sure get sick sooner or later, or even after jabs.. So cant avoid.

@isenggirl, me too. The hospital staff called me to ask how baby and I were doing too. May I know where you delivered your baby? Maybe same hospital?

I thought it was sweet of them to ask but my hubby said I'm silly. He said that if baby and I are not well, then the hospital staff will ask us to go back for a checkup and that's how they earn money back from us. Heh. Cheeky hubby to think that way.
U know what ur hubby like my mum. I went to post natal check up twice. One is one week after discharge then another one week after the first post natal check up. Gynae ask me to come back in one month time after last visit. My mum told me why so many post natal check up? She said gynae want to earn more money.

Btw, how many post natal check up mummies did so far?

Yah mine at TMC the brochure said there will be an angel calling on day 2 when u discharged from hospital. I guess day 1-2 after discharge is quite stressfull. Heard they will call again when baby full month.

U know what ur hubby like my mum. I went to post natal check up twice. One is one week after discharge then another one week after the first post natal check up. Gynae ask me to come back in one month time after last visit. My mum told me why so many post natal check up? She said gynae want to earn more money.

i only went for 1 to clean my csect wound. another one to review which is 2 wks later. think after that no more liao

@isenggirl, i gained 10 kg during pregnancy stage. After hospital discharge I lost about 5kg. Now only left 2 kg to lose.

Hubby a bit concern I did not eat well coz I cook myself and sometime still feel hungry. My milk production also getting lower and lower. Sobs....

@isenggirl, i gained 10 kg during pregnancy stage. After hospital discharge I lost about 5kg. Now only left 2 kg to lose.

Hubby a bit concern I did not eat well coz I cook myself and sometime still feel hungry. My milk production also getting lower and lower. Sobs....

Dueing confinement i tot mummies cannot get hungry, if hungry must faster eat? U must be tired, doing everything urself, tat y can affect the supply. Slow down ur pace abit lor, try get help if can..... Haha now i know y u left 2kg to lose also...lol

@isenggirl , i gained 16kg fr whole preg. Waist line (belly button) from 27 to 38inch! Now left 5kg, but waistline 5inch more to lose too. Sad looking at the flabby fat tummy! Lol. 3rd delivery look worse. Hehe.
@4gals ur 5th, wonder hw u manage to lose ur weight n tummy??

@furbee I been underweight all my whole life. Before pregnancy 37.5kg. The only time that I will gain weight is during pregnancy. For #5, I have GDM so need to control my diet. Only gain 6.6kg. My weight is 41kg now. Can really see that my tummy getting bigger and bigger after 5 pregnancies. Current waist line is 30 leh :(. Same as you need to lose 5inch to get to 25inch wor. Tummy is always very problematic area to tone up.

As for me, tummy will get smaller as time goes by but will be very flabby lor. Hate to see that flabby piece of skin.

@mylilsheep So far I go one time for post natal check up and have to go back another time.
No need to pay cos included in the prenatal package that I signed with gynae and also have one pap smear test included.

Today is my 2nd visit to LC, to clear the infected block ducts. LC say mine was pretty swollen and won't be able to clear within 1treatment. So this won't be my last visit. Actually if can, I wanted to go there everyday for treatment. The pain was juz too much to bear. :(

@highness : I would suggest you to use the massage lady, cause I face the same problem with you and husband decided to use massage lady then LC cause he says that LC can't help much though. Done my day 2 massage and indeed its so much better now... The engorgement is gone and I feel that pumping is so much better. And for the first time, my baby managed to latch on me last night. Though I didn't do that everyday and pump to give her drink, at least I feel better now! :) The massage lady taught me how to ease the engorgement and the tactics to latch the baby which rather effective.

Dueing confinement i tot mummies cannot get hungry, if hungry must faster eat? U must be tired, doing everything urself, tat y can affect the supply. Slow down ur pace abit lor, try get help if can..... Haha now i know y u left 2kg to lose also...lol

Its good! I only lost 8 kg so far but I gain a total of 18kg throughout the pregnancy and still got 10kg to go... Sob! How I wish I can lose more weight! The hunger is pretty constant though. Keep eating alot of rice and not feel that full though..

Talking abt eating rice, me too leh!! Can eat 3 servings of rice meal a day. I thot only during pregnancy that I'll be hungry like a monster, now even worst than monster.
And nobody told me that can get hungry super easily if we are breastfeeding!

@highness : I would suggest you to use the massage lady, cause I face the same problem with you and husband decided to use massage lady then LC cause he says that LC can't help much though. Done my day 2 massage and indeed its so much better now... The engorgement is gone and I feel that pumping is so much better. And for the first time, my baby managed to latch on me last night. Though I didn't do that everyday and pump to give her drink, at least I feel better now! :) The massage lady taught me how to ease the engorgement and the tactics to latch the baby which rather effective.
May i know y will u choose to go LC to clear the blocked ducts, instead of massage lady? Cos LC visit quite ex leh...
Does it help or still painful?
Ar.. First I Duno any breast massage lady. Then, mine is not juz engorgement or block ducts but is infected le. LC said cannot use warm compression as the infection will spread. Juz did my 1st massage today, told the massager my condition. She massage my the other breast but not the infected one as she use hot stone.

Per visit to LC is $37. If longer consultation add $16. If mrs Wong is around and attend to u, add $20. All charges subjected to GST. Home visit is $158.80 for 1.5hr.

No choice, I'm desperate to clear the infection. :confused:

For yourself or friend? if friend, my current confinement lady is very good and available i think in Dec..rest of the month she is fully booked liao. her name is Auntie Annie. her number is 98914628
its for me. i need her from 28 onwards for 1 month. i am looking for a CL for 2nd month confinement as it is a struggle for me to bf via pumping and managing bb. so hubby said get another CL. My current one already got a job so she cant make it.

@highness den u nv take medication to clear infection? The LC Clara intro me to use Avent nipple cream for my nipple infection. But i din buy lah, cos got leftover of my old cream. But avent is gd for sore nipples. Hopefully ur infected breast able to heal soon, if not will affect ur one side supply. Bb can latch that side?

@newbiemom, if your baby is less than 2 weeks old, can just walk in to polyclinic. Otherwise,call the hotline to book appt. But need to warn you, the hotline is very "hot". I spent 15 mins waiting for somebody to pick up the call twice. So frustrating.

its for me. i need her from 28 onwards for 1 month. i am looking for a CL for 2nd month confinement as it is a struggle for me to bf via pumping and managing bb. so hubby said get another CL. My current one already got a job so she cant make it.
i book her for 40 days. she probably only finish in June le...like that cannot liao le.

@newbiemom, if your baby is less than 2 weeks old, can just walk in to polyclinic. Otherwise,call the hotline to book appt. But need to warn you, the hotline is very "hot". I spent 15 mins waiting for somebody to pick up the call twice. So frustrating.
ah. i hate "hot" hotlines one le..grrrhhh...i discuss with my hub to see if go poly or private before i call the hotline...he is thinking of going private cos faster

Talking abt eating rice, me too leh!! Can eat 3 servings of rice meal a day. I thot only during pregnancy that I'll be hungry like a monster, now even worst than monster.
And nobody told me that can get hungry super easily if we are breastfeeding!
u all so good. my appetite back to normal. i dont eat much but drink more water only.

@highness den u nv take medication to clear infection? The LC Clara intro me to use Avent nipple cream for my nipple infection. But i din buy lah, cos got leftover of my old cream. But avent is gd for sore nipples. Hopefully ur infected breast able to heal soon, if not will affect ur one side supply. Bb can latch that side?

Got, doc gv antibiotic, anti-inflammation, and painkiller. All safe for breastfeeding. So I'm still giving bb my breast milk. But doc say still need LC to clear the infected blockage. If not, will develop to pus, then need to see breast surgeon.
The LC Nvr recommend me any nipple cream leh. My nipples are swollen but my problem is the breast. Dun think any nipple cream can help. Anyway, I do diligently apply Palmer's nipple cream after every pump.

Just wondering do we have to call for appointment for baby injection on month 2 or just walk in and does all poly clinics provides such services? Thanks!

I woke it with bad news today. I was supposed to be discharged today when PD came in and informed me that my LO has G6PD. I have a family history of it, but still, the news hit me hard. As a result, my LO has Jaundice and has to stay in Hospital for another 2 more days. And so, I decided to extend one more night, after much consideration.

Also, I started expressing my milk today (3rd Day). I am still having colostrum, still waiting for the full supply of milk. Last night BF LO was a tough one. He keeps crying alot, so we decided to top up with Formula Milk today after each feeding and thankfully it worked.

Tomorrow, I will be separately from my LO for a night as he needs to continue to be in hospital. Just abit troubled on what to do with the feeding cos I'll be at home whereas LO will be in the hospital. =(
@BubsandBloms, hope ur bb will get well soon. I too was discharged earlier than my bb for few hrs due to his jaundice test but luckily he passed it n I went to pick him up on the same evening ytd. Don't worry, jaundice is v common. I failed territory latching in hospital n they actually wanted me to stay anther night while waiting for his test results but I refused to. I was still facing prob now coz only have colostrum but no milk. Pumped for half an hr each side but nothing. I just supplement bb with formula coz can't bear to see him go hungry n I think if I don't rest well I won't be good to look after him. I think if there's jaundice it's impt to let him poo n pee more. Jiayou!

Can make appointment online too, much faster and easier!

Mummies, my bb sleep all the way in day time but at nite keep crying and very alert. Any solution?
My hb n I turning to pandas Liao...

Today I went to polyclinic for jaundice test. I brought letter from NUH and also cos baby only 10 days old...was given priority queue.
But still have to go to different levels...different rooms...to have blood taken, nurse & doctor consultation... quite tiring. Whole process taking around 2 hours.

Mummies, my bb sleep all the way in day time but at nite keep crying and very alert. Any solution?

Facing same problem as u. Haha. My mum ask me try to off the aircon let bb try different temperature to zz at noght. Tdy i will try. My bb active from 12am - 4am... Really tiring leh. Urs is whole night??

U mean let bb sleep without aircon at night? Day time no matter how, bb dun wan to wake up leh. Mine from 2am to 6am. Keep feeding her FM but she still dun wan sleep n keep crying. Hb is the one on night duty. Till I wake up to pump @ 5+, I carry her then she slowly fall asleep and sleep till 11+am! Hb so angry, haha...

mine too. he wakes up at 12am then sleep at 4 -5am. heng i got confinement nanny. else i also dont know how liao.

Mine was from 3pm till late at night...
My LO is almost 3 weeks... I guess she is having this colic thingy...haiz...

PD gave us this ridwind...seems to work somehow...but need to give a few times per day...to get back my sanity!

@highness same as ur case lor, my hubby works night too. Haha i also keep bfeeding countless time but jus dun wan slp.. Den cranky. Day time can shake him noisy scream shout he also dun wanna wake up. Lol.
But mine dun like lying on bed, will cry, need carry.. So i put him in bb car seat and rock him to slp :(