Prof PC Wong - IVF with Norethisterone

Anybody did immunity tests after failed ivf? Wonder whether nuh does these test?

I din do it b4...but my fren with Raffles did it before n it was the rootcause of her implantation failures...
Her hubby explained in layman terms to me...her own body produced something that blocked off the embryo from implanting...likely to kill it as well coz it recognized it as foreign object....

http://www.fertility-academy.co.uk/recurrent-failure/immune-testing-for-infertility/

Possible to share which doctor order the test for u?...I'm jus curious if it's a new protocol,subjected to individual case or doc's "style"....

I din do it b4...but my fren with Raffles did it before n it was the rootcause of her implantation failures...
Her hubby explained in layman terms to me...her own body produced something that blocked off the embryo from implanting...likely to kill it as well coz it recognized it as foreign object....

http://www.fertility-academy.co.uk/recurrent-failure/immune-testing-for-infertility/

Possible to share which doctor order the test for u?...I'm jus curious if it's a new protocol,subjected to individual case or doc's "style"....
Oh I heard something like that then no wonder my girlfriend asked me to swallow the er you know.. So that the body will recognise.. Don't know how true..

wat is swallow the er?:)

When they told me..i haven even started my ivf journey...so jus listened n blur blur...:rolleyes:..
She was prescribed some med then n they r now happy parents of a very cute 2yr old boy...:D

No dr ordered for me. Heard that a friend's friend dr at at pte hosp checked for her after her failed first ivf.. Treated it and second time was successful.. So I wonder whether nuh does it

My fren has similar case and her gynae is NUH... but hers is not ivf leh. Hers is recurrent miscarriages. So she get preg easily but lose easily also. I'm not sure if is the same type of problem.

So what did the dr checked for ur friend? Any treatment done to solve her problem?

Yes NUH does offer this type of test but not at woman's clinic. U will need prof to refer u to another doctor at recurrent loss dept where test is ordered.

When I failed my first fresh, I did ask prof whether I can test for this autoimmunity. He says most prob it's not my problem, cos autoimmunity this condition won't really affect implantation. It mainly affects whether embryo continue growing (meaning miscarriage)

Indeed u are right. So my fren has multiple miscarraiges but no issues getting preg. After undergoing treatment.... she was able to have 2 healthy kids.... very close in age gap as well. if i am not wrong, the treatments are pretty expensive and elaborate... but i did not ask her in detail what they did. It is more than just eating some meds.

The treatment is every month need to be put on some drip, from before ivf starts until 1st tri over I think.. The drip is v ex, abt $1k plus per drip.

Hmmm..not for my fren's case though...she din get any bfp for her 1st 3 cycles...so not a miscarriage for her...she only succeeded in her 4th cycle...

Ah...I rem!..
They did mention abt detecting protein or some protein receptor thingy...is there a broad category for immunity testing?...I try asking Prof next week...no harm asking...;)

I dun think hers is not autoimmunity testing coz this test is ordered only for increased or recurrent risk of pregnancy..to dissect recurrent losses issues...:D

Oh I found it online!
Its a monthly treatment from before ivf starts unti 28weeks of pregnancy!!!! $2500 per treatment each month... Omg isn't that almost $2500x 8 times??

Wow! ($ _ $)...it's really ex...
Seems that is so natural n easy for some to conceive...but for some that's difficult..it can b so complicated...Sigh...

I really thanks n mus b grateful to medical advancement...

Ah...I rem!..
They did mention abt detecting protein or some protein receptor thingy...is there a broad category for immunity testing?...I try asking Prof next week...no harm asking...;)

I dun think hers is autoimmunity testing coz this test is ordered only for increased or recurrent risk of pregnancy..to dissect recurrent losses issues...:D
When is ur appt next week? Maybe I'll see u: )

Ah...I rem!..

I dun think hers is autoimmunity testing coz this test is ordered only for increased or recurrent risk of pregnancy..to dissect recurrent losses issues...:D
The thing that causes this condition is called Natural Killer (NK cells). The treatment is called Intralipid infusion therapy.

Women with high NK cells may also take steroid pills which are cheaper than intralipids.

I ever asked my doctor on intralipids in Jan. He said NUH doesn't offer intralipids.

It seems that people with high NK cells hardly get sickness in daily life after I read threads of women diagnosed with it.

Haha see how many fertilised tmr then say! We shall be cautiously optimistic

It's great that your stubborn ovary decided to move downwards on ER. After receiving the fertilization update yesterday from embryologist, are you going for day3 or day5 transfer? :p Now patients get to choose.

Women with high NK cells may also take steroid pills which are cheaper than intralipids.

I ever asked my doctor on intralipids in Jan. He said NUH doesn't offer intralipids.

It seems that people with high NK cells hardly fall sick with sickness in daily life after I read threads of women diagnosed with it.

I'm thinking on wat basis will the doctor order this immunity test on NK...is it a standard?hmmm...I dun think is common to order...

I was reading through jus now...my fren's case seems to fall under KIR...killer cell immunoglobulin-like receptor...the medical term ah...long until ah...:confused:

I'm thinking on wat basis will the doctor order this immunity test on NK...is it a standard?hmmm...I dun think is common to order...

I was reading through jus now...my fren's case seems to fall under KIR...killer cell immunoglobulin-like receptor...the medical term ah...long until ah...:confused:

Haha so cheem and long term. I'm glad your friend has a happy ending.

It's not a standard test for overseas clinics as well.

It seems that people with high NK cells hardly get sickness in daily life after I read threads of women diagnosed with it.
NUH does offer Intralipid treatment but under recurrent loss dept. I read up on NK cells thru a NUH brochure.

Prof told me cos this immunity blood test is quite ex, he usually will not order the test until all other possible miscarriage factors are ruled out..

Every woman has a certain amt of NK cells (antibodies) present in uterus, to protect baby during pregnancy. But if NK cells level too high, that's when baby gets seen as a threat & will be attacked.

Hope none of us have to go thru this!!!!

I found this Intralipid brochure at NUH website. Maybe wanna have a read before asking prof. I just realised Dr Anu is in this immunity treatment dept too!
ImageUploadedByForum1432320734.012652.jpg

I really wish Singapore govt legalise PGD (genetic testing of embryos). It probably saves women some heartpains from BPN and miscarriages :(

Totally agree! But maybe govt scared people abuse the system (choose gender, waste healthy embryos etc)
But I heard MOH will allow for special cases, need to get doctor's support & write in to MOH. Case by case basis.
Some ladies in the main IVF thread went Bangkok to do PGD.

I suddenly recall that when I asked prof abt NK cells, when he said it's unlikely to hinder implantation, then he said for me the biggest suspect was my fibroid. He told me if my FET failed, I should go op it away. If after op do another FET fail, then he will order immunity test for me.

Can u imagine how stressed I was during FET?!? If fail I had to go op & wait another 6mths for next FET. Thank God it turned out well :)

It's great that your stubborn ovary decided to move downwards on ER. After receiving the fertilization update yesterday from embryologist, are you going for day3 or day5 transfer? :p Now patients get to choose.
Thanks babe. Actually when I asked the embryologist she said I'll still need enough good grade embs to do blast... so who knows what's their policy now. She didn't elaborate 'enough ' is how many though

@chloe_ng Enjoy the break from the daily jabs and get ready to receive the embaby in your womb! :)

@remembeRainbow I definitely feel better doing something than doing nothing (waiting). Glad your embaby decide to hug you tightly and save you from another 6 months of procedures and attempt. :)

I don't see why govt can legalise 2 casinos but not legalise PGD here. Casinos definitely cause more social problems than PGD! :mad:Casinos lead to broken families while PGD lead to happy families.

I asked Dr Anu on this before...on PGD/PGS...coz i was reading up on pcos that says that pcos may b aneuploidy,so i do hav a concern....dr anu firmly said no to me..pgd can b done if n only if there's a known defect in family history or in couples..then pgd can b ordered to test on that particular defect...other than that general screening is not allowed in sin...pgs...:(

i also wish govt legalize it with the intention of jus screening jus for chromosome issues...n not allowing it to b used for gender selection...think it can help alot of couples, lessen their sufferings...:D

@chloe_ng Enjoy the break from the daily jabs and get ready to receive the embaby in your womb! :)

@remembeRainbow I definitely feel better doing something than doing nothing (waiting). Glad your embaby decide to hug you tightly and save you from another 6 months of procedures and attempt. :)

I don't see why govt can legalise 2 casinos but not legalise PGD here. Casinos definitely cause more social problems than PGD! Casinos lead to broken families while PGD lead to happy families.

This is soooo funny!lol...casino vs PGD/PGS...lolololol...u always make me laugh...those few days tt u din post anything...I felt that pm-ing to ask if u r too busy...missing ya syndrome...:rolleyes:

Thanks babe. Actually when I asked the embryologist she said I'll still need enough good grade embs to do blast... so who knows what's their policy now. She didn't elaborate 'enough ' is how many though

Based on their expertise I suppose..hehe...:rolleyes:...pretty confusing coz we cant see wat they seeing..we can only b passive then.. i try huh,try la only...to see can tok longer with them...they r so busy...dun think they hav the time to "entertain" my queriesss....

This is soooo funny!lol...casino vs PGD/PGS...lolololol...u always make me laugh...those few days tt u din post anything...I felt that pm-ing to ask if u r too busy...missing ya syndrome...:rolleyes:

Hehe your last statement made me feel happy leh :oops:

I was missing cos I was suffering from very bad migraines and dry eyes from mercilon in the past week. These migraines were surprisingly far worse than what Gonal-F gave me though mercilon is much lower dosage of hormones than Gonal-F. I was worried that I would get stroke from mercilon cos mercilon's instructions said it causes blood clots, people with blood disorder like me should take it with caution, blood clots causes stroke and migraines are indications of blood clots happening.

Totally agree! But maybe govt scared people abuse the system (choose gender, waste healthy embryos etc)
But I heard MOH will allow for special cases, need to get doctor's support & write in to MOH. Case by case basis.
Some ladies in the main IVF thread went Bangkok to do PGD.

I suddenly recall that when I asked prof abt NK cells, when he said it's unlikely to hinder implantation, then he said for me the biggest suspect was my fibroid. He told me if my FET failed, I should go op it away. If after op do another FET fail, then he will order immunity test for me.

Can u imagine how stressed I was during FET?!? If fail I had to go op & wait another 6mths for next FET. Thank God it turned out well :)

Fibroid indeed is worrying for ttc n pregnancy...good thing u tide through...:D

Side track abit...tok abt this immunity thingy...i recalled i got a guy colleague who lost patches of hair n it nvr grow back again...he said it's bcoz his own immunity assumed his cells to b foreign...n started producing antibody n attacking it....really scary leh...till now still nvr grow back alr...

I hav so many questions to consult prof...coz 1st time see him...now adding 1 more on immunity testing..,i wanna call out my fren's eg...to noe more...i hope im not a nuisance on the first appt..hehehe

Fibroid indeed is worrying for ttc n pregnancy...good thing u tide through...:D

Side track abit...tok abt this immunity thingy...i recalled i got a guy colleague who lost patches of hair n it nvr grow back again...he said it's bcoz his own immunity assumed his cells to b foreign...n started producing antibody n attacking it....really scary leh...till now still nvr grow back alr...

I hav so many questions to consult prof...coz 1st time see him...now adding 1 more on immunity testing..,i wanna call out my fren's eg...to noe more...i hope im not a nuisance on the first appt..hehehe

That must have crushed your guy colleague's self esteem. But some guys look yandao when bald, e.g. a bald model I saw in calvin klein poster.

Go go go ask! I see that prof enjoyed answering questions at the seminar. You will be his "A student"! :D

Hehe your last statement made me feel happy leh :oops:

I was missing cos I was suffering from very bad migraines and dry eyes from mercilon in the past week. These migraines were surprisingly far worse than what Gonal-F gives me though mercilon is much lower dosage of hormones than Gonal-F. I was worried that I would get stroke from mercilon cos mercilon's instructions said it causes blood clots, people with blood disorder like me should take it with caution, blood clots causes stroke and migraines are indications of blood clots happening.

Gosh...take care ya...u have blood disorder?Pls pls take care...if dun seems right...call up Chr...think for ur case,u need to over react to b safe...

Go go go ask! I see that prof enjoyed answering questions at the seminar. You will be his "A student"! :D
I realised that prof usually give the simplest answers. I guess he did that cos he assumed we don't know much & he don't wanna explain too "cheemly" to confuse us..
So if u happen to want to know more details, u must let him know that u have read up quite a bit abt the issue, & request him to discuss further with u. He will gladly do it.

I jus hope I wont b "A nightmare"...again...lol
Good thing to know leh...that Prof enjoyed answering qn...like tt I wont feel paishey to ask abit more, abit la...coz they r so busy alr...

Hahaha A nightmare! :D Remind me of taylor smith's blank space mtv.

CHR told me that I would have got migraines from day1 if it can cause migraines in me. I'm going CHR next week for blood test.

I find that I don't post much question to doctor, so I really appreciate you and other ladies here sharing about what prof explained to you all! ;)

That must have crushed your guy colleague's self esteem. But some guys look yandao when bald, e.g. a bald model I saw in calvin klein poster.

Ya...quite an ego burst...he shaved botak thereafter...but those patches of skin appear "dead" alr....hmmm...though i feel for him...but i cannt lie..he's not yandao...in my eyes...:rolleyes:

I realised that prof usually give the simplest answers. I guess he did that cos he assumed we don't know much & he don't wanna explain too "cheemly" to confuse us..
So if u happen to want to know more details, u must let him know that u have read up quite a bit abt the issue, & request him to discuss further with u. He will gladly do it.

Wow..he's nice...very thotful...
Medical terms or info indeed can b confusing...
I will try to(try only huh) ask more details while ensuring I dun go out of his room in a daze...lol...

Hahaha A nightmare! :D Remind me of taylor smith's blank space mtv.

CHR told me that I would have got migraines from day1 if it can cause migraines in me. I'm going CHR next week for blood test.

I find that I don't post much question to doctor, so I really appreciate you and other ladies here sharing about what prof explained to you all! ;)

Take care...n go go go...cycling...:D

Wow very good number and quality! What was the dosage of your jabs? Did u take any special food??
I started with 112.5 gonal... no response so swap to 75/150 pergo and gonal. Then last few days swap again to 75 menopur.

I am not super hardworking when it comes to diet but I did try to cut my sugar and up my protein. I eat egg whites, whey protein drink, protein bars, immunocal. But still do eat rice and some carbs. I just cut out the high sugar type of desserts and bread