Year 2015 IVF mummies- to-be

@hopeful78 did he ask u if u ivf or u tell him urself?

ladies...just to rant too since we are talking abt it now..
actually ivf I feel is very personal and a very touchy subject ..I really hate it when ppl ask if ''u go for ivf?'' esp with twins..ppl will even the more ask u.. There was once someone I know on fb asked me straight if I do ivf in fb conversation when I requested to join the fb for twins and then she herself have 2 sets of twins which she said is all 'natural' ...but in my tots I think natural iui also 'not natural' mah! take clomid also 'not natural' mah as though fertilization is in womb but still some kind of medical intervention is used..but she nvr disclose lah..and I retracted my request to join them:(

so the next time if ppl ask me I will just say ''they are made with love'' or ''why u want to know?'' to shut them up:cool:
I also v angry when people try to view/treat my ivf bb differently.
Govt got a parenthood brochure, one section is abt ivf co-funding. I saw a cartoon in that section, it's a little bb in a test tube. I felt insulted (mayb I petty la) I emailed the head of that division, told him that cartoon v insensitive!! He apologized, thanked me for the feedback & within a week, he changed to another cartoon.
Then recently I tried buying pregnancy insurance & was rejected by all companies cos mine is "ivf bb". Only AIA covers ivf bb.
So what's the BIG deal abt "natural" bbs?!? *roll eyes*

I also v angry when people try to view/treat my ivf bb differently.
Govt got a parenthood brochure, one section is abt ivf co-funding. I saw a cartoon in that section, it's a little bb in a test tube. I felt insulted (mayb I petty la) I emailed the head of that division, told him that cartoon v insensitive!! He apologized, thanked me for the feedback & within a week, he changed to another cartoon.
Then recently I tried buying pregnancy insurance & was rejected by all companies cos mine is "ivf bb". Only AIA covers ivf bb.
So what's the BIG deal abt "natural" bbs?!? *roll eyes*
wah u power hehe ..yea! the insurance I in the end didn't get any at all apart from the compulsory one gov hv..best is cash on hand ..I figured out even if one gets the insurance not all the time can claim and we pay 100over200 a mth go figure...no wonder insurance companies earning lots even our own gov hv their own 'ntuc income'

thank you..have to discuss with hubby le..didnt know can go NUH..heehee..hopefully NUH is not a guinea pig hospital like Changi hospital :p
hmm...so far my experience with nuh is rather good..i dunno abt giving birth there though..i'll save the rest of comments till later..but else it is kinda like hotel feel..oh but im pte patient hv to add so consultation at women clinic but if u go by subsidies, think consultation in another clinic ..not sure where and cannot choose doc for ivf, that is the minus pt

I had pcos and mc for 3 times. I tried clomid for 6 cycles until my private gynae refer me to Polyclinic for KK specialist. Spoke to gynae on this and we were given the option to go IUI or IVF. We decided to opt for IVF due to my age and as advised by few of my friends to opt for IVF straightaway since they have took IUI few times and unsuccessful.

However on the actual appointment date to go for the briefing, we received a call from the centre and told us we are not eligible for IVF and accordingly to MOH regulations, we have to go for IUI first.

My question is if IUI is a mandatory procedure before going for IVF, then why are they giving us an option to choose if we want IVF or IUI? It is very frustrating when we have made up our decision to go for IVF and looking forward to the appointment day and last min they called us and told us that. Furthermore, IVF procedure need to queue for months.

The co-fund for IVF is only till age 40. Also, the co-fund used for 3 times is based on per use..Meaning to say, if I opt for IUI for 1st time, the total subsidies is i.e 5K, and IUI bill is 3K, that is consider 1st time use for IUI. We decided to go for IVF due to so many times of failure on clomid and the money we have spent so far.

I just dont understand why KK give us the option to opt yet end of the day we are told we cant. Ridiculous right? :(
There's always nuh sgh

I hope someone can advise me on this. Has anyone here went to KK hospital for IVF and Is it a compulsory to go for IUI first before we can opt for IVF procedure?

The doctor will advise you go for IUI first or IVF. For my case Doctor asked me go directly for IVF because of pcos and also my hubby is azoospermia.

@forumbb
FET stands for frozen embryo transfer.. :D

@chuckles
same la! his assistant called n say my results were good.. yesterday saw him, he say not so good.. dunno to laugh or to cry.
sharing my woes here made me feel much much beta.. wif all you good people giving me encourangements..
and like u said, we have already went thru so much.. alittle more patience and faith wouldn't hurt..
thank you!

btw, so what is your next step now?
I don't know. He wants to see me before my scheduled appointment which is on the 12 may. I don't want to see him lah. What could he possibly say that would make me feel better. It's not like the result is bad anyway. No mood to eat. Having salad with a bit of tuna and no dressing. I am scared for sure. Borderline means it can go both ways. Might as well start on a healthier diet now. Cutting back on rice and bread. And ooh... Giving up on milo which is my favourite.

wow.. the dr really said that?
that's quite uncalled for leh honestly.. we didn't "choose" to do IVF .. sheesh..

and yeap.. should be doing a detail scan later on as well.. this one done on the 20 weeks rite?

Exactly! Plus he said a lot of other unnecessary things including my #1 also from IVF.

Yup done at 20 wks.

Hi ladies, self intro myself a bit. I'm turning 30 this yr, hub is turning 31. We have been trying for baby for almost a year but no news so went to private gynae to do check up. Hub is diagnosed with low morphology of 1%. Doc gave him proxeed plus, he cut down smoking a lot to 1 stick/day or even no ciggy at all and 3 mths later he went re-test, no improvement at all :( Then 2mth ago we started visiting Tcm at clementi, dunno got improvement or not. I went for ultrasound scan at gynae, so far so gd and i've regular menses of 26-29days. Every month when my bbt drop, my menses sure come then i'll feel super depress and had caused my r/s with my hub to be on rock but now we are fine. We decided to go to polyclinic to get referral to KKH because felt very depress each time menses come :(

I got confused with ivf. Understand that doc will collect eggs and fertilise the sperm with egg on dish then place back to my body. But hor.. If i ovulate on day15, do they collect on day15 or when the egg is big enough? Few days after they collected then they place back to my body? Usually after 12 days i ovulated, on the 13th day my menses will come.

@ Lambi

When the question pop up when is ur last menses date, I guess that's when we will say it's an IVF pregnancy?

Anyway I know pple are kaypoh abt IVF Cux many of them just need to bonk to b preggy. But it's diff for us n I m proud of it. If pple ask I will admit. I won't deny it Cux I m proud of it. I know some office pple are talking behind my back, but I don't care. At the end of the day, I m the one who has a precious little one in my arms. I don't care what they think or say. It's my life..

Hi ladies, self intro myself a bit. I'm turning 30 this yr, hub is turning 31. We have been trying for baby for almost a year but no news so went to private gynae to do check up. Hub is diagnosed with low morphology of 1%. Doc gave him proxeed plus, he cut down smoking a lot to 1 stick/day or even no ciggy at all and 3 mths later he went re-test, no improvement at all :( Then 2mth ago we started visiting Tcm at clementi, dunno got improvement or not. I went for ultrasound scan at gynae, so far so gd and i've regular menses of 26-29days. Every month when my bbt drop, my menses sure come then i'll feel super depress and had caused my r/s with my hub to be on rock but now we are fine. We decided to go to polyclinic to get referral to KKH because felt very depress each time menses come :(

I got confused with ivf. Understand that doc will collect eggs and fertilise the sperm with egg on dish then place back to my body. But hor.. If i ovulate on day15, do they collect on day15 or when the egg is big enough? Few days after they collected then they place back to my body? Usually after 12 days i ovulated, on the 13th day my menses will come.
Hi it's me again :)
For ivf, everything is control by meds. The jabs will make the follicles in your ovaries grow. When your follicles (which contains eggs) grown to 18mm, dr will give u another jab (called trigger jab) to mature your eggs. Dr will then put u under GA to insert a thin needle to your ovaries, poke your follicles to extract the eggs inside them.
Then they inject sperms into your eggs to fertilize & form embryos. They let your embryos grow for 3 days then put back into your uterus using a thin needle (for this no need GA).
You should not ovulate during ivf. Cos the eggs have to remain inside the follicles for the dr to extract. If u ovulate (meaning the follicle releases the egg on its own) then dr can't retrieve liao.
But IUI is different, u need to ovulate then hubby's sperm will be inserted into your uterus.

Hi it's me again :)
For ivf, everything is control by meds. The jabs will make the follicles in your ovaries grow. When your follicles (which contains eggs) grown to 18mm, dr will give u another jab (called trigger jab) to mature your eggs. Dr will then put u under GA to insert a thin needle to your ovaries, poke your follicles to extract the eggs inside them.
Then they inject sperms into your eggs to fertilize & form embryos. They let your embryos grow for 3 days then put back into your uterus using a thin needle (for this no need GA).
You should not ovulate during ivf. Cos the eggs have to remain inside the follicles for the dr to extract. If u ovulate (meaning the follicle releases the egg on its own) then dr can't retrieve liao.
But IUI is different, u need to ovulate then hubby's sperm will be inserted into your uterus.

Thank you so much! I'll be going to polyclinic on 11may for referral.

Usually NUH/KKH/SGH will hold ivf talks. U can sign up for their talks & learn more.
Most prob they will suggest u start on IUI first.

Hub & me will go for iui first if it cost less than $1k. But i'm scare to fail cos hub has low morphology. Maybe listen to doc's advice n decide.

@ Lambi

When the question pop up when is ur last menses date, I guess that's when we will say it's an IVF pregnancy?

Anyway I know pple are kaypoh abt IVF Cux many of them just need to bonk to b preggy. But it's diff for us n I m proud of it. If pple ask I will admit. I won't deny it Cux I m proud of it. I know some office pple are talking behind my back, but I don't care. At the end of the day, I m the one who has a precious little one in my arms. I don't care what they think or say. It's my life..
oic..my bro and sis in law also got bombarded from with questions ''why not stay at home take care chn else chn grow up bad etc..'' I guess that doc is just very not tactful and insensitive ..

wah I peifu u! I wish I can be as upfront but im a rather pte person and living near my in laws in a small town dun help..small news will become talk of the town! Like just yesterday I got a fb message from my Norwegian neighbour asking why have not seen me for ages..and when I replied im in sg she goes ''oh...'' nosy hor hehehe..even ang moh like that

oic..my bro and sis in law also got bombarded from with questions ''why not stay at home take care chn else chn grow up bad etc..'' I guess that doc is just very not tactful and insensitive ..

wah I peifu u! I wish I can be as upfront but im a rather pte person and living near my in laws in a small town dun help..small news will become talk of the town! Like just yesterday I got a fb message from my Norwegian neighbour asking why have not seen me for ages..and when I replied im in sg she goes ''oh...'' nosy hor hehehe..even ang moh like that

Yes, he asked who is taking care of my #1, n said he bet it's not me and that I will deserve it if my kid hurl abuses at me when she grows up, get drunk on the road etc Cux I am not a sahm..

Pple are just kaypoh in nature. It's really up to individual how much one want to reveal. But I feel that as long as it's amongst the IVF-ers, we don't need to hide the fact that our babies are IVF babies. But I have an experience with an IVF-er who used to be very close amongst the group of us who bfp together. Aft a while we realized that she doesn't really wan to be associated with us Cux it became quite apparent that we are IVF-ers. It's like looking down on us when she herself has went thru what we all go thru.

Yes, he asked who is taking care of my #1, n said he bet it's not me and that I will deserve it if my kid hurl abuses at me when she grows up, get drunk on the road etc Cux I am not a sahm..

Pple are just kaypoh in nature. It's really up to individual how much one want to reveal. But I feel that as long as it's amongst the IVF-ers, we don't need to hide the fact that our babies are IVF babies. But I have an experience with an IVF-er who used to be very close amongst the group of us who bfp together. Aft a while we realized that she doesn't really wan to be associated with us Cux it became quite apparent that we are IVF-ers. It's like looking down on us when she herself has went thru what we all go thru.

Don't care about what other say! As long as you have a healthy & filial child, that's most impt! Whether it is natural or with the help of medical, mum still carry baby through 10 months pregnancy term! Those who went through iui/ivf will learn to dote and appreciate their child more than them.

wow! his mouth really damn filthy! not sahm = not a good mom? his values are warped man.. sheesh!
as if his filthy mouth proves much about his own personality.. *roll eyes*

I don't know. He wants to see me before my scheduled appointment which is on the 12 may. I don't want to see him lah. What could he possibly say that would make me feel better. It's not like the result is bad anyway. No mood to eat. Having salad with a bit of tuna and no dressing. I am scared for sure. Borderline means it can go both ways. Might as well start on a healthier diet now. Cutting back on rice and bread. And ooh... Giving up on milo which is my favourite.

*hugs*
but u r right.. not like the results are bad.. perhaps just not to his expectations i guess.. instead of worrying n affecting the little pea, we should still eat healthy n maintain the high spirits!

wow.. u manage to give up on milo? im not as strong will as u.. LOL ..i need cocoa one way or another! onli manage to cut down to prolly twice a week.. :p

I know how you feel. I went through it myself..

1st n foremost: DO NOT go to Dr Ananda. He is super against IVF-ers. I went see him for 2nd opinion n got blasted, saying I asked for it since I went for IVF.

2nd: stay positive! Go wif ur doc recommendation. My friend got 1:30 n results came back with no problem!

3rd: u prob may wan to follow up with a good detailed scan later on ( recommended by my gynae)

Let me know if u wan more info. I did an amnio test also
what a terrible reply from the doctor! should poke him with all gonal F jabs at one time!

@hopeful78 did he ask u if u ivf or u tell him urself?

ladies...just to rant too since we are talking abt it now..
actually ivf I feel is very personal and a very touchy subject ..I really hate it when ppl ask if ''u go for ivf?'' esp with twins..ppl will even the more ask u.. There was once someone I know on fb asked me straight if I do ivf in fb conversation when I requested to join the fb for twins and then she herself have 2 sets of twins which she said is all 'natural' ...but in my tots I think natural iui also 'not natural' mah! take clomid also 'not natural' mah as though fertilization is in womb but still some kind of medical intervention is used..but she nvr disclose lah..and I retracted my request to join them:(

so the next time if ppl ask me I will just say ''they are made with love'' or ''why u want to know?'' to shut them up:cool:

sometimes, ppl just feel that if one go to IVF means that one 'cheated' in the process.
Little do they know that IVF-ers go through a longer and more difficult route to what they did.
some insensitive comments just make me wanna shout at them but then again, not worth my time.. haha

lotsa different strange ppl all ard:rolleyes: hmm anyways hv u started shopping for more things already? how's ur elder one reacting to having another sibling?

sometimes, ppl just feel that if one go to IVF means that one 'cheated' in the process.
Little do they know that IVF-ers go through a longer and more difficult route to what they did.
some insensitive comments just make me wanna shout at them but then again, not worth my time.. haha

haiya..IVF-ers should stand up and tell them off..why keep quiet? Its not as if IVF-ers have done something sinful. All these insensitive people should know what one has to go through. IVF-ers not 100% successful also. Maybe scientist should do some comparison between normal bb and IVF baby, if findings find IVF smarter, probably nxt time all go IVF..hahaha..

anyway dont bother abt these people :p

For me, ppls wanna to know, i will let them know...They don ask, i wont say.
Everyone deserves respect from others in regardless what kinds of backgrounds they are coming from.
As long as my decision to go IVF doesn't harm or affect anyone and I have a clear conscience, there is nothing to hide or deny.
I'm a true believer in karma ~ what comes around goes around.

Anw, tomorrow is ZSNN's birthday, will go pray pray and to find a peace of mind from there.

lol my surrounding frien all know I go for ivf even my whole family clan nothing to hide n nothing to be ashamed of. I even got the intention to tell my children how they came upon coz we have difficulty conceive them. N hopefully they can understand my suffer just to have them

i wish i can do the same to my PIL... :cool:

when i had my first miscarriage, the first thing the MIL said is "muz b u drink cold drinks"... -_-

For me, ppls wanna to know, i will let them know...They don ask, i wont say.
Everyone deserves respect from others in regardless what kinds of backgrounds they are coming from.
As long as my decision to go IVF doesn't harm or affect anyone and I have a clear conscience, there is nothing to hide or deny.
I'm a true believer in karma ~ what comes around goes around.

Anw, tomorrow is ZSNN's birthday, will go pray pray and to find a peace of mind from there.

sorry dont mind asking what u mean pray pray?

when i had my first miscarriage, the first thing the MIL said is "muz b u drink cold drinks"... -_-
sheesh.... sometimes MIL's words are just insensitive to max.

after my ectopic, my MIL asks me , everytime i take cold drinks, 'still dare to take cold drinks ah'

irritating to max

U just listen to a pinch of salt lor. The cause of miscarriage can lead to many factor de. U just listen in n out dun take to heart treat it as a nag

i have heard people saying if miscarriage, need to chao du the baby one..especially for my case 3 times.. :( duno how true but heard from some friends, they did the ceremony after so many times mc..and the last mc they did, the nxt yr preggy..nt sure how true it is..I think I may hv to do it too.. all sorts of myths oso try..

@babybabydust
sometimes really gets on the nerves... like we purposely want it to happen..

@snow19
typically old folks.. u can explain to them until year 2020 and they will still believe what they believe.. LOL..
my FIL came to hospital to visit me during my admission for ectopic.. empty handed!
first thing he asked, Gleneagles must be very expensive, why dont change hospital....

i was fuming already... if not for the tubing on my hand, i think i might do something drastic.. that is like the last thing i need to hear from him .. really

my FIL came to hospital to visit me during my admission for ectopic.. empty handed!
first thing he asked, Gleneagles must be very expensive, why dont change hospital....

i was fuming already... if not for the tubing on my hand, i think i might do something drastic.. that is like the last thing i need to hear from him .. really

Eh I thought empty handed is normal? My in law when visit mi during my stay in hospital also empty handed. Only my ah ma brought a few bottles of chicken essence for mi to drink haha

haha! tat's y man are from mars, woman from venus..
they are not very well trained at being sensitive..

Eh I thought empty handed is normal? My in law when visit mi during my stay in hospital also empty handed. Only my ah ma brought a few bottles of chicken essence for mi to drink haha

for me, if i go hospital visiting, will bring some tonic along, if i cant go and visit, i will send down a hamper...

lotsa different strange ppl all ard:rolleyes: hmm anyways hv u started shopping for more things already? how's ur elder one reacting to having another sibling?

Hahah.. Yes! Shopping a lot! Just ended a batch of spree from carters and Amazon. So happy I can buy things again!!

She is ok, sticking to the dad like super glue now which makes me very jealous sometimes but she has been reading and singing to my tummy and asking didi to come out soon so he can play with her. So now all the boring toys she would say, give didi play and she will play with the new ones..

i have heard people saying if miscarriage, need to chao du the baby one..especially for my case 3 times.. :( duno how true but heard from some friends, they did the ceremony after so many times mc..and the last mc they did, the nxt yr preggy..nt sure how true it is..I think I may hv to do it too.. all sorts of myths oso try..

I dunno if it's true, but I dreamt of my 2 lost babies a couple of months back.. It was a very sad dream and they are crying asking me why is it so unfair to them that they have nothing. So aft that my hubby went BKK to pray for them..

I ever saw a video I think is frm taiwan de. There's this lady who keep having nightmares n eventually went to seek help. N was told that her nightmare was due to her abortion 7 times of bb came after her. So she told the lady to keep chanting Buddhist pray so I think after awhile it stop having nightmare for the lady

Hahah.. Yes! Shopping a lot! Just ended a batch of spree from carters and Amazon. So happy I can buy things again!!

She is ok, sticking to the dad like super glue now which makes me very jealous sometimes but she has been reading and singing to my tummy and asking didi to come out soon so he can play with her. So now all the boring toys she would say, give didi play and she will play with the new ones..
so cute! Daddy's girl huh hehe;) wow..carters ..I heard their quality pretty good..true? im still looking for short sleeves non legging bodysuit ..u hv any to recommend?

I ever saw a video I think is frm taiwan de. There's this lady who keep having nightmares n eventually went to seek help. N was told that her nightmare was due to her abortion 7 times of bb came after her. So she told the lady to keep chanting Buddhist pray so I think after awhile it stop having nightmare for the lady
very scary leh..:eek:

7 abortions???? Sigh.. The world is really cruel sometimes. Some pple yearn to have kids and some go for abortions..

so cute! Daddy's girl huh hehe;) wow..carters ..I heard their quality pretty good..true? im still looking for short sleeves non legging bodysuit ..u hv any to recommend?

Super love carters stuff. Cheap n gd. But I think the ones at the baby fairs are not original. Cux it's carters ( made with love).
U can shop on carters and take a look. They have short sleeves and even sleeveless rompers

Preggy brain. U r having 1 boy n 1 girl?