Year 2015 IVF mummies- to-be

frustrating.
2 weeks + ago, i did my oscar test. and the evening itself, the nurse called n inform that all my test went well.
i was totally relieved. until yesterday. had a routine appt with the gynae.

doc said my t21 (which is the one for DS) ratio isnt ideal. ...........................................................:(
he mentioned for me (age 33) , he is expecting at least 1:5000 for the adjusted risk. mine is merely 1:1300.
........................................i kw i might sound very dramatic but......................... walau eh......................................... sudd felt like dark clouds loomed over me.

i lost the first ivf baby due to delayed miscarriage. now this second one went thru lots of bleeding in the earlier weeks, lotsa progesterone jabs in my ass. And finally, when it all seems fine and stable, sudd i'm hit with this ratio..........................................................

of coz i paid another $1500 to get the panaroma (spelling?) test done yesterday. BUT TO WAIT 3-4 WEEKS FOR THE RESULTS to be out is kinda insane. i'm not the most patient person around already.
people say being a parent really test your patience. i'm already going thru the test!
Why like dat!

just needed to rant. and hoping mothers here could shed me some light also...
thank you for hearing me out... :oops:

Actually the Oscar test is 90-99% accurate only wor. So don't think so much n trust ur instinct. Even if the Oscar test don't do well but it may turn out to be ok

thank you.. i know i shd trust my instinct oso.. but so far, my instinct went abit haywire .. haha.. now can only guai guai wait for results lor..
everyday pull one hair. .. LOL

frustrating.
2 weeks + ago, i did my oscar test. and the evening itself, the nurse called n inform that all my test went well.

doc said my t21 (which is the one for DS) ratio isnt ideal. ...........................................................:(
he mentioned for me (age 33) , he is expecting at least 1:5000 for the adjusted risk. mine is merely 1:1300.
........................................i kw i might sound very dramatic but......................... walau eh......................................... sudd felt like dark clouds loomed over me.

i lost the first ivf baby due to delayed miscarriage. now this second one went thru lots of bleeding in the earlier weeks, lotsa progesterone jabs in my ass. And finally, when it all seems fine and stable, sudd i'm hit with this ratio..........................................................

of coz i paid another $1500 to get the panaroma (spelling?) test done yesterday. BUT TO WAIT 3-4 WEEKS FOR THE RESULTS to be out is kinda insane. i'm not the most patient person around already.
people say being a parent really test your patience. i'm already going thru the test!
Why like dat!

Sorry to hear abt your results.. I feel u cos I went through a short moment of that same fear too.
A Trainee Doctor who showed me my OSCAR report told me that I had moderate risk ratio 1:350. I nearly broke down. We started discussing abt what T21 was & how I shld go for more detailed tests...
THEN after abt 15min, the sotong Trainee Doctor said sorry, he was reading the WRONG data (he was reading the backgrd risk limits, not my actual adjusted risk!!!!!)
Though I eventually turned out having low risk, that 15min was horrible, I can understand 3-4wks for u is not going to be easy! Hugz!
Share my cousin's case with u. She was tested v high risk (I duno is her oscar or harmony test). She was v v depressed her whole pregnancy. But she gave birth to a healthy cute boy who's already 5 now.

frustrating.

Why like dat!

if u worried why not go Dr ananda at Camden as he specializes in scans like these.. my bro and sis in law went and the results put them at ease..in the end all born normal ...my nieces/nephew has flat noses inherited from my sis in law side so nt/Oscars did not really pass..

Sorry to hear abt your results.. I feel u cos I went through a short moment of that same fear too.
A Trainee Doctor who showed me my OSCAR report told me that I had moderate risk ratio 1:350. I nearly broke down. We started discussing abt what T21 was & how I shld go for more detailed tests...
THEN after abt 15min, the sotong Trainee Doctor said sorry, he was reading the WRONG data (he was reading the backgrd risk limits, not my actual adjusted risk!!!!!)
Though I eventually turned out having low risk, that 15min was horrible, I can understand 3-4wks for u is not going to be easy! Hugz!
Share my cousin's case with u. She was tested v high risk (I duno is her oscar or harmony test). She was v v depressed her whole pregnancy. But she gave birth to a healthy cute boy who's already 5 now.

hi there.. my background risk was 1:369 .. adjusted liao become kns.. :(
anyways, thank you for the encouragement.. i'm glad for this forum honestly.. sometimes u tell the hubby, they wouldn't understand.. :D:D

will keep my fingers crossed. ;)

if u worried why not go Dr ananda at Camden as he specializes in scans like these.. my bro and sis in law went and the results put them at ease..in the end all born normal ...my nieces/nephew has flat noses inherited from my sis in law side so nt/Oscars did not really pass..

hello lambi!
i did the second test yesterday already..the panorama (spelling?) thing.. just that now i've to play the waiting game lor..

hi there.. my background risk was 1:369 .. adjusted liao become kns.. :(
anyways, thank you for the encouragement.. i'm glad for this forum honestly.. sometimes u tell the hubby, they wouldn't understand.. :D:D

will keep my fingers crossed. ;)
If backgrd risk is 1:369 & your adjusted is 1:1300, I'd say that it's still a good pass!
Sounds like this dr was expecting an A-grade distinction & end up stressing u unnecessarily.

@Lambi
yalor! patience is definitely not my virture!

@remembeRainbow
he said is a pass.. but not a good pass.. he is expecting 1:5000! since he strongly suggest tat i go ahead with the panorama, i guess he has his reasons too..
make me gan jiong spider.. LOL

@Lambi
yalor! patience is definitely not my virture!

@remembeRainbow
he said is a pass.. but not a good pass.. he is expecting 1:5000! since he strongly suggest tat i go ahead with the panorama, i guess he has his reasons too..
make me gan jiong spider.. LOL
Yup it's good to go for detailed test just to be very safe & give u ease of mind for the next few months.
3-4wks of anxiety but worth the wait :) all the best!

thank you ladies for your comforting words and encouragements! <3
feeling much better already.. :D

I know how you feel. I went through it myself..

1st n foremost: DO NOT go to Dr Ananda. He is super against IVF-ers. I went see him for 2nd opinion n got blasted, saying I asked for it since I went for IVF.

2nd: stay positive! Go wif ur doc recommendation. My friend got 1:30 n results came back with no problem!

3rd: u prob may wan to follow up with a good detailed scan later on ( recommended by my gynae)

Let me know if u wan more info. I did an amnio test also

I know how you feel. I went through it myself..

1st n foremost: DO NOT go to Dr Ananda. He is super against IVF-ers. I went see him for 2nd opinion n got blasted, saying I asked for it since I went for IVF.

2nd: stay positive! Go wif ur doc recommendation. My friend got 1:30 n results came back with no problem!

3rd: u prob may wan to follow up with a good detailed scan later on ( recommended by my gynae)

Let me know if u wan more info. I did an amnio test also

wow.. the dr really said that?
that's quite uncalled for leh honestly.. we didn't "choose" to do IVF .. sheesh..

and yeap.. should be doing a detail scan later on as well.. this one done on the 20 weeks rite?

I hope someone can advise me on this. Has anyone here went to KK hospital for IVF and Is it a compulsory to go for IUI first before we can opt for IVF procedure?

It depends on ur condition n see what the doc suggest. Not compulsory to go for ivf some are IUI first if fail then proceed to ivf. But both also need to take jabs

i had pcos, endometrosis and a block tube.
but i did surgery to remove cyst, clear the clots and the block tube.

after that i was told to try for a baby normally with the aid of clomid. after one year, still no baby.
my gynae then suggest that i head for IVF straight.

what about yourself? have you seen a gynae and spoke to them about your concerns?

Hi Forumbb, it is not compulsory to go for IUI before IVF, although some Drs may it sound like it is the protocol. I went straight to IVF and told my Dr at 1st appointment that I do not want so many procedures and since the success for IUI is lower than IVF, I do not want to go through it. Patient has the right to decide on the treatment mode and Dr should advise. Having said that, some couples may be treated differently beyond the 2 ART methods, depending on their condition. You may also wish to visit this thread on the forum: http://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/threads/ivf-icsi-support-group.2902/page-3707

Dear ladies, I am still trying hard to increase fluid intake because the aftermath of drinking water is such a dread. Does anyone know if it would be alright to drink fruit juice off the shelves, like Peel Fresh Orange/Apple Juice?

I had pcos and mc for 3 times. I tried clomid for 6 cycles until my private gynae refer me to Polyclinic for KK specialist. Spoke to gynae on this and we were given the option to go IUI or IVF. We decided to opt for IVF due to my age and as advised by few of my friends to opt for IVF straightaway since they have took IUI few times and unsuccessful.

However on the actual appointment date to go for the briefing, we received a call from the centre and told us we are not eligible for IVF and accordingly to MOH regulations, we have to go for IUI first.

My question is if IUI is a mandatory procedure before going for IVF, then why are they giving us an option to choose if we want IVF or IUI? It is very frustrating when we have made up our decision to go for IVF and looking forward to the appointment day and last min they called us and told us that. Furthermore, IVF procedure need to queue for months.

The co-fund for IVF is only till age 40. Also, the co-fund used for 3 times is based on per use..Meaning to say, if I opt for IUI for 1st time, the total subsidies is i.e 5K, and IUI bill is 3K, that is consider 1st time use for IUI. We decided to go for IVF due to so many times of failure on clomid and the money we have spent so far.

I just dont understand why KK give us the option to opt yet end of the day we are told we cant. Ridiculous right? :(

I had pcos and mc for 3 times. I tried clomid for 6 cycles until my private gynae refer me to Polyclinic for KK specialist. Spoke to gynae on this and we were given the option to go IUI or IVF. We decided to opt for IVF due to my age and as advised by few of my friends to opt for IVF straightaway since they have took IUI few times and unsuccessful.

However on the actual appointment date to go for the briefing, we received a call from the centre and told us we are not eligible for IVF and accordingly to MOH regulations, we have to go for IUI first.

My question is if IUI is a mandatory procedure before going for IVF, then why are they giving us an option to choose if we want IVF or IUI? It is very frustrating when we have made up our decision to go for IVF and looking forward to the appointment day and last min they called us and told us that. Furthermore, IVF procedure need to queue for months.

The co-fund for IVF is only till age 40. Also, the co-fund used for 3 times is based on per use..Meaning to say, if I opt for IUI for 1st time, the total subsidies is i.e 5K, and IUI bill is 3K, that is consider 1st time use for IUI. We decided to go for IVF due to so many times of failure on clomid and the money we have spent so far.

I just dont understand why KK give us the option to opt yet end of the day we are told we cant. Ridiculous right? :(

would you want to try private ivf gynae instead? or try another hospital for second opinion?

Dear ladies, I have been staying off soya bean products, including beancurd, soya sauce, soya bean milk, since I read in some forum that beans are hard to be digested by body and may harden the emby, and may add "wind" to the body. Does anyone have experience with this? I am so missing soya sauce in food and soup.

would you want to try private ivf gynae instead? or try another hospital for second opinion?
Our savings have been used up for the past years with private gynae and that is why we are now opting to go for KK which is at subsidy rates. We are referred by polyclinic to KK hospital. I guess we dont have an option to go for another hospital since its under referral scheme :(

Hi Forumbb, it is not compulsory to go for IUI before IVF, although some Drs may it sound like it is the protocol. I went straight to IVF and told my Dr at 1st appointment that I do not want so many procedures and since the success for IUI is lower than IVF, I do not want to go through it. Patient has the right to decide on the treatment mode and Dr should advise. Having said that, some couples may be treated differently beyond the 2 ART methods, depending on their condition. You may also wish to visit this thread on the forum: http://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/threads/ivf-icsi-support-group.2902/page-3707

Is yours a private gynae?

i had pcos, endometrosis and a block tube.
but i did surgery to remove cyst, clear the clots and the block tube.

after that i was told to try for a baby normally with the aid of clomid. after one year, still no baby.
my gynae then suggest that i head for IVF straight.

what about yourself? have you seen a gynae and spoke to them about your concerns?

How is your IVF so far? ^_^

@hopeful78 did he ask u if u ivf or u tell him urself?

ladies...just to rant too since we are talking abt it now..
actually ivf I feel is very personal and a very touchy subject ..I really hate it when ppl ask if ''u go for ivf?'' esp with twins..ppl will even the more ask u.. There was once someone I know on fb asked me straight if I do ivf in fb conversation when I requested to join the fb for twins and then she herself have 2 sets of twins which she said is all 'natural' ...but in my tots I think natural iui also 'not natural' mah! take clomid also 'not natural' mah as though fertilization is in womb but still some kind of medical intervention is used..but she nvr disclose lah..and I retracted my request to join them:(

so the next time if ppl ask me I will just say ''they are made with love'' or ''why u want to know?'' to shut them up:cool:

How is your IVF so far? ^_^

this is my second FET..now at 13+weeks.. failed my first FET.. ha..
now jam at the downsyndrome test results lor.. waiting is a killer!

can you appeal with kkh? that you would rather head straight to ivf? or could your private gynae/polyclinic write a letter to kkh that states your condition is beta off wif ivf?

doc will assess ur hb and u b4 deciding or recommending necessary procedures ..my case doc straight say dun waste time due to our age and my hubby condition ..

actually ivf I feel is very personal and a very touchy subject ..I really hate it when ppl ask if ''u go for ivf?'' esp with twins..ppl will even the more ask u.. There was once someone I know on fb asked me straight if I do ivf in fb conversation when I requested to join the fb for twins and then she herself have 2 sets of twins which she said is all 'natural' ...but in my tots I think natural iui also 'not natural' mah! take clomid also 'not natural' mah as though fertilization is in womb but still some kind of medical intervention is used..but she nvr disclose lah..and I retracted my request to join them:(

so the next time if ppl ask me I will just say ''they are made with love'' or ''why u want to know?'' to shut them up:cool:

totally get how you feel.. :)
abit insensitive la they way they phrase it..
onli my hubby and my bff kws i'm doing ivf.. some pple will never understand the heartbreak we go thru sometimes..

but ur rebutes are very good la.. especially the made with love. hahaha

Probably we can think positively that they may want to find out some information on IVF :) but for the person who mentioned about 'naturally' conceived with twins, I don't really have to hide my feelings towards their insensitive ways and would throw back a question to them, does it matter if it is naturally or through IVF? End of the day, it is the baby we would like to have.

this is my second FET..now at 13+weeks.. failed my first FET.. ha..
now jam at the downsyndrome test results lor.. waiting is a killer!

can you appeal with kkh? that you would rather head straight to ivf? or could your private gynae/polyclinic write a letter to kkh that states your condition is beta off wif ivf?

sorry what is FET stands for? :)

I argue with the KK officer but lose the case.

Do u hv any prior children may I ask? Maybe that's why they suggest iui for u if u hv..not only kkh, my clinic overseas did asked too before and also nuh later when I switched ..and only proceeded when we declared we are childless.. I think this is a wholewide clinical guideline to assess to find out..

hello! nope.. i'm with dr roland.. he does my IVF and now the panoroma as well lor..
I did Oscar at another clinic under Roland's instruction. All data was provided by that clinic, not dr roland.
I think roland is super super play-it-safe doc. I did my gd test on Thursday. Got a call by his clinic assistant on Saturday saying all is well. Today, another one called me to say my result is borderline so need to see him. :( took a few days for them to tell me that. Lots of hurdles... One after another. All i can say is stay positive and be patient. We have gone through so much. The worry will never end and the fears are endless. Take one day at a time.

Dear ladies, I have been staying off soya bean products, including beancurd, soya sauce, soya bean milk, since I read in some forum that beans are hard to be digested by body and may harden the emby, and may add "wind" to the body. Does anyone have experience with this? I am so missing soya sauce in food and soup.
aiyoh some soya sauce or soya products can lah..just in moderation ;) I drink yakult, juices too

I did Oscar at another clinic under Roland's instruction. All data was provided by that clinic, not dr roland.
I think roland is super super play-it-safe doc. I did my gd test on Thursday. Got a call by his clinic assistant on Saturday saying all is well. Today, another one called me to say my result is borderline so need to see him. :( took a few days for them to tell me that. Lots of hurdles... One after another. All i can say is stay positive and be patient. We have gone through so much. The worry will never end and the fears are endless. Take one day at a time.
Thanks for sharing. Big hugs and stay bright :)

@forumbb
FET stands for frozen embryo transfer.. :D

@chuckles
same la! his assistant called n say my results were good.. yesterday saw him, he say not so good.. dunno to laugh or to cry.
sharing my woes here made me feel much much beta.. wif all you good people giving me encourangements..
and like u said, we have already went thru so much.. alittle more patience and faith wouldn't hurt..
thank you!

btw, so what is your next step now?

sorry what is FET stands for? :)

I argue with the KK officer but lose the case.
Frozen Embryos Transfer --which is a subsequent frozen cycle from a fresh cycle..that is if after u go thru fresh cycle ivf and hv extras embryos to freeze, then suay suay fresh cycle not successful , can proceed to fet using whatever embryos u hv and not going thru a fresh cycle again

Do u hv any prior children may I ask? Maybe that's why they suggest iui for u if u hv..not only kkh, my clinic overseas did asked too before and also nuh later when I switched ..and only proceeded when we declared we are childless.. I think this is a wholewide clinical guideline to assess to find out..

I have a

Yes, I have one child but after 8 years of trying through natural ways and due to my condition, i really don't wish to go through IUI especially for my age and to be eligible for the IVF co-fund. Hais...some times it is good to get more information first and then play around with the words for my case

I hv a friend tried 7-8 yrs too for 2nd child, but she has also endometriosis which made conceiving difficult so she turned to ivf and lucky for her got another..so she actually put that as a supporting claim..i believe if you hv other medical grounds there might be a way for you to go straight to ivf..how old are you? my friend is 40..but think 39 when she started ivf..

haiz..I think sometimes very strange..someone on the other thread said she hv 5 children already but still want to try ivf for 'experience' while I think ppl like you should be given the chance..not her cos from what she wrote she got no medical grounds and yet apply for gov co-funding

opps I just read thru..think u can support ur claim with pcos and clomid without success for years as reasons but ur doctor must write to proof..did she/he write that down in the referral letter? oh and also, if u can ask her to refer u direct to nuh better as nuh ivf queue not that long..with equally good doctors

but NUH is not under subsidy right? If yes, I will go back polyclinic and ask for referral at NUH since im working somewhere near it..easier for me too..my private gynae just wrote I have 2nd infertility ^_^

yup all these are

kkh/nuh/sgh :)