Support group - Miscarriages

My baby wasn’t meant to be. There was no heartbeat and no growth when I went for a scan yesterday (week 10). This baby was via an FET; he/she was so hard to come by, that I wish the baby stayed. I wanted to ask you a few questions, just because I was in shock to think about them in my dr’s presence.

1. I’m having no bleeding. And I’m hesitant to go for D&C. Once I stop the duphaston pills, will I start bleeding? Or could it take a while? And, did anyone naturally miscarry around 9 weeks +?

2. I see my dr. again on 23 Feb. If I don’t bleed by then, she will suggest a D&C. Do you know roughly how much a D&C would cost me at a public hospital? I’m at SGH.

Thank you! And good night everyone.

The natural bleeding could take awhile to come. I was given a med to flush it out. Cramp for like one night and the bleed start next day early morning. Note that natural miscarry or med after bleed need to scan and check if any remains. If it didn't flush properly still need to do surgery to remove it. You also risk infection if not clean properly. So a scan to check is necessary.

A d&c cost around 2k but can use medisave. D&C have risk of asherman syndrome but the percentage is low.

Forward looking, so sorry to hear this..it has been a sad two weeks for me and I know how u feel. I feel more for u esp when we r under same dr, conceived around same time and both tro ivf FET ..
D&c at sgh is about 1800, I will give you the exact amt tmrw as my receipt is in the car.
When dr yu first told me that my pregnancy was not successful, she gave me a choice to do d&c or let it terminate naturally, also giving me a week to think, continue with duphaston and go back for final scan .in between I went to see dr Ann tan who advice me to go for op.cny is round the corner I didn't want the uncertainty of bleeding and cramps and it may b bit traumatic for some. Dr Ann tan mentioned that my sac may b small, but there r a lot of fluids that surrounds it and also blood clots whic a surgery may be better to ensure all these r out soon . After u stop duphaston. No one knows when u wil miscarry naturally. Some may even take more than few weeks and there is a risk of infection. Dr yu said it wil be lik a natural child birth and I was damn scared .
Initially I also wanted to avoid surgery . But after much thought I think it may be better for my case to do a d&c. Guess I was too timid and choose the easy way out. Final decision was made together with my hubby.
After my d&c I have some cramps and on certain days there was a painful strong pulling feel at the lower abdomen esp when I need to poo. It is by far tolerable but I started to imagine if I were to let it come out naturally, will the cramps be worst?i have very low threshold for pain.
On top of that, I also wanted to do chromosome test and they can do that with the tissue collected during the op.there are some people who do not bother much about this type of testings as the results r usually the same- chromosome abnormalities. Dr yu said 90 percent of the tests give the same results. She also told me she could not get any tissues good for testing in a patient who did the same procedure as me the day before
It is not an easy decision,be strong and we don't give up ok? I went over to Cares to book a slot for my next ivf the very day I told dr yu about my decision to go for d&c.I wil start my next cycle in May.
Take care forward looking .hugs

For all of us...

• 1423789074167.jpg
    1423789074167.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 260
Forward looking, so sorry to hear this..it has been a sad two weeks for me and I know how u feel. I feel more for u esp when we r under same dr, conceived around same time and both tro ivf FET ..
D&c at sgh is about 1800, I will give you the exact amt tmrw as my receipt is in the car.
When dr yu first told me that my pregnancy was not successful, she gave me a choice to do d&c or let it terminate naturally, also giving me a week to think, continue with duphaston and go back for final scan .in between I went to see dr Ann tan who advice me to go for op.cny is round the corner I didn't want the uncertainty of bleeding and cramps and it may b bit traumatic for some. Dr Ann tan mentioned that my sac may b small, but there r a lot of fluids that surrounds it and also blood clots whic a surgery may be better to ensure all these r out soon . After u stop duphaston. No one knows when u wil miscarry naturally. Some may even take more than few weeks and there is a risk of infection. Dr yu said it wil be lik a natural child birth and I was damn scared .
Initially I also wanted to avoid surgery . But after much thought I think it may be better for my case to do a d&c. Guess I was too timid and choose the easy way out. Final decision was made together with my hubby.
After my d&c I have some cramps and on certain days there was a painful strong pulling feel at the lower abdomen esp when I need to poo. It is by far tolerable but I started to imagine if I were to let it come out naturally, will the cramps be worst?i have very low threshold for pain.
On top of that, I also wanted to do chromosome test and they can do that with the tissue collected during the op.there are some people who do not bother much about this type of testings as the results r usually the same- chromosome abnormalities. Dr yu said 90 percent of the tests give the same results. She also told me she could not get any tissues good for testing in a patient who did the same procedure as me the day before
It is not an easy decision,be strong and we don't give up ok? I went over to Cares to book a slot for my next ivf the very day I told dr yu about my decision to go for d&c.I wil start my next cycle in May.

Thank you, old aunty. You are my buddy with a rather weird nickname “old aunty.” J

I still have plenty of duphaston until my next appointment with the dr., which is after CNY. So I will think about which option I’d prefer – natural or d&c.

You mentioned about chromosome testing. Actually, that’s another thing on my mind. Dr. Yu says that because my foetus size is bigger, she is certain of being able to do chromosome testing on it.

But, if as you say, 90% of all chromosome testing say the same thing – that there were indeed some chromosome abnormalities – what new information will I learn from doing the test? I’m hoping to also hear the thoughts of other ladies on this forum who had the choice of doing this test before.

On the other hand, I understand that there are also tests DH and I can do on ourselves – chromosome blood tests, presence of killer cells, etc. Wouldn’t a chromosome test on the couple tell you exactly the same thing as a chromosome test on a foetus? I’m also not sure of the price of chromosome testing on the foetus.

I won’t give up in my dream to have a baby. But, I think I need a little break before starting my next round. To mentally, emotionally and physically prepare myself for this roller coaster ride.

I had 2 miscarriages both in their early weeks of 5 and 10 weeks. Plus above 35 and having sub clinical hypothyroid... so Im hoping to get a gynae who's experienced and can help manage my preg better....
@buns_bunnie we seem to be in a similar situation. My mcs were 9 and 5 weeks and my doctor just told me today I have sub clinical hyperthyroidism. She is referring me to a specialist.

Hi, may I ask your opinion of Dr Ann Tan? I'm thinking of switching to her. Thanks!

Thank you, old aunty. You are my buddy with a rather weird nickname “old aunty.” J

I still have plenty of duphaston until my next appointment with the dr., which is after CNY. So I will think about which option I’d prefer – natural or d&c.

You mentioned about chromosome testing. Actually, that’s another thing on my mind. Dr. Yu says that because my foetus size is bigger, she is certain of being able to do chromosome testing on it.

But, if as you say, 90% of all chromosome testing say the same thing – that there were indeed some chromosome abnormalities – what new information will I learn from doing the test? I’m hoping to also hear the thoughts of other ladies on this forum who had the choice of doing this test before.

On the other hand, I understand that there are also tests DH and I can do on ourselves – chromosome blood tests, presence of killer cells, etc. Wouldn’t a chromosome test on the couple tell you exactly the same thing as a chromosome test on a foetus? I’m also not sure of the price of chromosome testing on the foetus.

I won’t give up in my dream to have a baby. But, I think I need a little break before starting my next round. To mentally, emotionally and physically prepare myself for this roller coaster ride.
Dr Yu said , most people send tissues for test and the results cme back as ' chromosomes all haywire'. that was what she said. hope i can share more with you when i go get my chromosome test next week.I feel there are still advantages of doing it in case if u are the rare ones that failed your pregnancy NOT due to chromosomes problem, then can proceed and do other checks . Dr yu seem to discourage us to go for all those miscarriage blood tests suggested by ann tan . claiming that 'most people ended up with nothing wrong' nevertheless i insisted on few other tests like anti nuclear abtibody, ferritin, protein c assay, protein s assay ,25-hydroxyvitamin d as suggested by ann tan
I am also qte confused by the neccessity to do certain tests.however, i feel if dr suggested it, jus do lor.
fwdlooking, after medisave deduction, i paid a total of $722 for my D&C.couldnt find the original breakdown of cost which i suspect they took it back and wil send the detailed one to me few weeks after surgery. i vaguely remember it as around $1800.with medisave deductions, i paid 722

Hi, may I ask your opinion of Dr Ann Tan? I'm thinking of switching to her. Thanks!
hi xiaolu, I feel qte comfortable with Ann Tan when i went to her for a second opinion for my D&C . if u were to ask me, i will not go to her to do ivf as i think there are few other places that r better after comparison.but if i am lucky enuf to get pregnant one day, i may go to her as she sees more of the older and high risk preggies . but alot of people said she is very expensive . I couldnt really tell as i only went to her for simple consultations and scan. and for preggies, she only delivers in mt E orchard and that is also very expensive i think.i must be positive and start saving money for that hee..

how old are u xiaolu?

Thanks for the info! I'm looking for a female Gynae who is experienced with high risk pregnancies. Not doing ivf so it's okay.

@old aunty I am 31 turning 32.

xiaolu u so young ah. no need see gynae la hee...but seriously, since u r so young, just be patient try naturally , next pregnancy then look for a gynae not too late ya.

some of the ladies here reccomend NUH where there is a miscarriage clinic or something like that? that sound a gd place to go if u r concern about your previous miscarriages

Thanks old Aunty. I would be interested to know what chromosome test results say. So do let me know. Can I ask you one more question - did you have to pay anything more for chromosome testing or was it included in the d&c cost? I just bought some large pads from fair price in case I star bleeding this weekend. Have a relaxing one!

@buns_bunnie we seem to be in a similar situation. My mcs were 9 and 5 weeks and my doctor just told me today I have sub clinical hyperthyroidism. She is referring me to a specialist.
Oh yes must see a specialist and get that treated before next pregNancy. Let me know if u need recommendation on thyroid specialist. Jiayou!!

xiaolu u so young ah. no need see gynae la hee...but seriously, since u r so young, just be patient try naturally , next pregnancy then look for a gynae not too late ya.
Thanks! Yes both my pregnancies were natural and I intend to continue to try naturally. Just want to try my best for a healthy and successful pregnancy. Seems like more and more problems are surfacing and I just want to have a doctor experienced in more complex cases. I do have an appointment at NUH, but the doctor is male, so I'm just looking around for female doctor recommendations.

Oh yes must see a specialist and get that treated before next pregNancy. Let me know if u need recommendation on thyroid specialist. Jiayou!!
If you don't mind me asking, how long did yours take to treat? I'm a little concerned about my condition, I don't know much yet so hoping the specialist can explain more to me.

Hi Ladies, I just had a natural miscarriage today. Its my 6th wk of pregnancy. One day after Valentine's day. :(Despite injection and pills. Seems like when its nt mine.. its nt mine.. I had one MC for my 1st pregnancy, also ard the 6th wk. 2nd one was smooth and had a 2yr old boy. Trying for a 2nd kid. Despite those past experiences, I am still very sad about it. KKH gynae told me that it's nt necessary to do a d&c since the tissues are out and any remaining ones will come out naturally. Any one experience this? Cos I did a d&c during my 1st MC.

Thanks old Aunty. I would be interested to know what chromosome test results say. So do let me know. Can I ask you one more question - did you have to pay anything more for chromosome testing or was it included in the d&c cost? I just bought some large pads from fair price in case I star bleeding this weekend. Have a relaxing one!
fwdlooking, from what i know , we have to pay for the chromosome testing. i didnt ask how much but i think one sister here mentioned that it is about 500 bucks. tomorrow im seeing dr Yu , by then i will know how much it cost. keep u updated soon .

I'm in the same situation. I had my d&c in mid dec and AF has yet to report (> 8 weeks alr). So I went back to my gyne who did a scan and told me that my ovaries did not show any signs of ovulation after my miscarriage, so my menses are delayed. But she said that even w/o ovulation, breakthrough period will come once my lining is thick enough. I can choose to wait or she can give me some progesterone tabs to induce my period.

Extremely sad now, I had hoped to ttc after my loss, my now my factory also shut down. Very very sad. Gyne also advise me to start clomid tabs if still no ovulation. :(((((

fwd looking, i PM u liao

hello you ladies? hope all are doing well. been busy with bb, and thanks to those who congratulated me.

Congrats to give a hope and sunflower! enjoy ur baby.

Xiaolu, im with Dr Anita in NUH, under high risk too. She's the one who gave me confidence for my pregnancy. I chose her instead of Prof Mahesh due to some reasons that I wasn't very happy with him. You can give her a try.

Congrats hopeful mum, happy for you!
I am back to work and its really much better when i have ample rest n a super long mc this round. I have went for the tedious glucose test and drew 16tubes of blood. Its a very tiring day. But i hope its worth. Was asked by prof mahesh not to ttc for at least 1 cycle. He need to do some more test and must be sure i am not preg. This cycle i feel so relax and stressful :) part of me hope to bfp and another part worried i miscarry again. So i better wait for the results.

Congrats hopeful mum, happy for you!
I am back to work and its really much better when i have ample rest n a super long mc this round. I have went for the tedious glucose test and drew 16tubes of blood. Its a very tiring day. But i hope its worth. Was asked by prof mahesh not to ttc for at least 1 cycle. He need to do some more test and must be sure i am not preg. This cycle i feel so relax and stressful :) part of me hope to bfp and another part worried i miscarry again. So i better wait for the results.
@mangoyoyo, oh! I'm seeing him next Thursday. Didn't know have to wait before ttc. I was even thinking of starting next cycle... Sigh

hello you ladies? hope all are doing well. been busy with bb, and thanks to those who congratulated me.

Congrats to give a hope and sunflower! enjoy ur baby.

Xiaolu, im with Dr Anita in NUH, under high risk too. She's the one who gave me confidence for my pregnancy. I chose her instead of Prof Mahesh due to some reasons that I wasn't very happy with him. You can give her a try.
Thanks @hopeful_mum! Do you mind sharing why you didn't want to go with prof Mahesh? For me, I prefer a female doctor

I'm in the same situation. I had my d&c in mid dec and AF has yet to report (> 8 weeks alr). So I went back to my gyne who did a scan and told me that my ovaries did not show any signs of ovulation after my miscarriage, so my menses are delayed. But she said that even w/o ovulation, breakthrough period will come once my lining is thick enough. I can choose to wait or she can give me some progesterone tabs to induce my period.

Extremely sad now, I had hoped to ttc after my loss, my now my factory also shut down. Very very sad. Gyne also advise me to start clomid tabs if still no ovulation. :(((((

Sorry to hear that. I also suddenly stopped ovulating every cycle since my first mc. You need to take time to recuperate from the mc before you can ttc.

@mangoyoyo, oh! I'm seeing him next Thursday. Didn't know have to wait before ttc. I was even thinking of starting next cycle... Sigh
Ya have to wait 1 cycle. After meeting him, get ready for ur tests. 1 on 3 to 5day of menses, 1 after menses. Done all my tests, only waiting for my next appt mid mar and the blood test results now.

Hi @hopeful_mum, it's been awhile since we last catch up! I bet you must be enjoying motherhood very well now! :D

I just went for my appointment on Monday to see Prof. Mahesh and Dr. Sheila. Prior to that, my husband and I did a few tests and that included a sperm fragmentation of my husband. From the result of that test, it seems the cause of my miscarriages were all because of the poor quality of the sperm fragmentation. Prof. Mahesh suggested my husband to do a urologist test and thereafter to re-do the sperm fragmentation test. I was also prescribed med to improve my thyriod level and another one that gotta do with compability of blood kinda thingy, sorry can't remember the exact medical term! :p

My next appointment to see Prof. Mahesh again would be 4 months later in June, as my husband just quit smoking for 3 months and they advised it takes about 6 months for the toxins to be expelled from the body.

@hopeful_mum, would you mind to share why you didn't wanna see Prof. Mahesh? To be honest, during my first visit while deciding if I should do full or half test, he wasn't very helpful nor kind in helping me to decide. I went alone for that appointment and thus would love to hear some opinion. Anyway I decided to do the full test.

During this interim period of 4 months, we were advised that we can still try for a baby, as Dr. Sheila said there were patients similar to our case, succeeded. Hmmm... But in my opinion, I'm terrified to go through another MC.

By the way, those who are seeing Prof. Mahesh, are you all private or subsidy patients? Is it at NUH or at his private clinic?

Hi @hopeful_mum, it's been awhile since we last catch up! I bet you must be enjoying motherhood very well now! :D

I just went for my appointment on Monday to see Prof. Mahesh and Dr. Sheila. Prior to that, my husband and I did a few tests and that included a sperm fragmentation of my husband. From the result of that test, it seems the cause of my miscarriages were all because of the poor quality of the sperm fragmentation. Prof. Mahesh suggested my husband to do a urologist test and thereafter to re-do the sperm fragmentation test. I was also prescribed med to improve my thyriod level and another one that gotta do with compability of blood kinda thingy, sorry can't remember the exact medical term! :p

My next appointment to see Prof. Mahesh again would be 4 months later in June, as my husband just quit smoking for 3 months and they advised it takes about 6 months for the toxins to be expelled from the body.

@hopeful_mum, would you mind to share why you didn't wanna see Prof. Mahesh? To be honest, during my first visit while deciding if I should do full or half test, he wasn't very helpful nor kind in helping me to decide. I went alone for that appointment and thus would love to hear some opinion. Anyway I decided to do the full test.

During this interim period of 4 months, we were advised that we can still try for a baby, as Dr. Sheila said there were patients similar to our case, succeeded. Hmmm... But in my opinion, I'm terrified to go through another MC.

By the way, those who are seeing Prof. Mahesh, are you all private or subsidy patients? Is it at NUH or at his private clinic?

hi, my hubby swimmers quality also not too good, so doc gave us direct to ivf-icsi. If u r open to it and if also ur age is a factor, can try to consider it. Meanwhile u can ask ur hb to take more vit c and e, zinc, drink more water/eat more healthier food like veggies/fish/nuts/eggs to help boost the repair work..my hb also take cordyeceps pound into powder and mix with water. He basically changed his eating habits about a year or 2 before..

Hi @chrisl, thanks for sharing! I did ask the docs is there any vitamin for my husband to take to detox/repair/nourish, he said actually there isn't. But I have heard about vitamins for men to boost their swimmers, so i was quite surprised to hear from the doc that there isn't. :confused:

I'll be 35 this year, time is running out! But I guess doc wanna make sure there is a good amount of time to ensure toxins are expelled from my husband's body first, that is, the repair works.

I'll keep a look out on my husband's diet! Thanks! :)

Hi @chrisl, thanks for sharing! I did ask the docs is there any vitamin for my husband to take to detox/repair/nourish, he said actually there isn't. But I have heard about vitamins for men to boost their swimmers, so i was quite surprised to hear from the doc that there isn't. :confused:

I'll be 35 this year, time is running out! But I guess doc wanna make sure there is a good amount of time to ensure toxins are expelled from my husband's body first, that is, the repair works.

im also 35:) huh..doc told u that? Actually my hb is a long time 2nd hand smoker as my in laws smokes..i believe water and also exercising helps flush out toxins...yes sperms take some time to regenerate. So in my opinion, no harm taking some extras to boost/speed up process.. hmm..my hubby also took these supplements- recommended by famous ivf doc..sometimes back some sister here on forum also hb sperm not gd so her ivf doc recommended these..then she while waiting for ivf starts, she got preggy naturally, so I followed to buy myself without prescription and asked my hb take..u can get them online from cgh online pharmacy ..buy over certain amt they also deliver to ur home. You can refer here..

1) Tribestan- think its a herbal https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?ProdSKU=993490216&CatID=210

2) Vigor ace- multivits kinda https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=216&ProdSKU=882800310E

3) Co-enzyme Q10--helps in repairing/renewing cells https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=216&ProdSKU=993050060
-pm u more later

im also 35:) huh..doc told u that? Actually my hb is a long time 2nd hand smoker as my in laws smokes..i believe water and also exercising helps flush out toxins...yes sperms take some time to regenerate. So in my opinion, no harm taking some extras to boost/speed up process.. hmm..my hubby also took these supplements- recommended by famous ivf doc..sometimes back some sister here on forum also hb sperm not gd so her ivf doc recommended these..then she while waiting for ivf starts, she got preggy naturally, so I followed to buy myself without prescription and asked my hb take..u can get them online from cgh online pharmacy ..buy over certain amt they also deliver to ur home. You can refer here..

1) Tribestan- think its a herbal https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?ProdSKU=993490216&CatID=210

2) Vigor ace- multivits kinda https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=216&ProdSKU=882800310E

3) Co-enzyme Q10--helps in repairing/renewing cells https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=216&ProdSKU=993050060
-pm u more later

Thanks @chrisl!

He's been taking fish oil and multi-vits from Blackmores, and he drinks lemon water often too. I would want my husband to change a better multi-vit too, but gotta wait till he finishes the current one.

Personally, I've also started taking co-enzyme Q10, so glad I finally found a tablet one as most in the market are capsules which is made of beef gelatin. I am impressed with the changes after taking co-enzyme Q10, I do not feel as much tired as I was! :) I will ask my husband to start taking it too!

Thanks @chrisl!

He's been taking fish oil and multi-vits from Blackmores, and he drinks lemon water often too. I would want my husband to change a better multi-vit too, but gotta wait till he finishes the current one.

Personally, I've also started taking co-enzyme Q10, so glad I finally found a tablet one as most in the market are capsules which is made of beef gelatin. I am impressed with the changes after taking co-enzyme Q10, I do not feel as much tired as I was! :) I will ask my husband to start taking it too!

I also read up about co-enzyme Q10, and how a lack of it could be a reason for a woman's mc. So i started to take it for the past month. Don't really notice a difference, but I rather be kiasu and take the supplement. My husband was still asking me better not overdo on supplements.

Hi, yes there are herbal supplements to boost the swimmers. There is also a kind of protein supplement prescribed by the doctor for motility. I don't know why your doctor says that there isn't though.

Okay hardcore supporters of Prof Mahesh, please don't whacked me. This is speaking from my personal experience. This is going to be a LONG post. Initially I was very happy and eager to see him as I believed that he is very experience and read a lot of good reviews about him. So every mth im always looking forward since the clinic is only open once monthly. During the earlier trimesters, things were well, as bb is stable and growing.

At week 28, I went to labour ward, as I have some weird discharge and pain near the vaginal area. Being high risked, I called NUH and dr anita sent me there. It turns out to be some bacterial infection which was really common (I ganna the same bact infection 3 times in my last trim. Some ppl gets it throughout their pregnancies). I was having some mild contractions when I went in thus recorded.

At week 30/31(shd be this week cant recall the exact week), the clinic was opened again) they were extremely busy. so dr shelia and prof Mahesh separated to see me. I saw dr shelia as she needs to review my protein s deficiency results, and I saw Dr anita instead of prof Mahesh. I saw Dr anita, and she told me everything is looking good, bb is small but still growing. so not much of a concern yet, wait til week 32 scan to evaluate. So after that I met dr shelia, she increased my protein s dosage since levels were going down. BUt she also read that report, that I had mild contractions and bb is small. abt 15centile. she was very concern and rushed to prof Mahesh. I asked Dr shelia, if my small bb was possibly affected by the steroids I took (coz anita explained the risks to me in my early trim), dr shelia was offended. I just wanted to know what may be the cause.

So then at abt 5.40pm I was asked to do CTG to check if I have contractions. So don't have and prof Mahesh came to see me. As a professional, he told me worst case scenario - ie I may have a Stillbirth. he didn't explain why , he didn't even explain my baby was IUGR. he only said, I wont go past 37 weeks, must be c-sect, and wont have a bb more than 2kg. I have to go to labourward immediately if I felt any discomfort. HE was very confident, and even said the possibility of reaching 37 weeks is close to ZERO. as a woman who had so many mcs, I was devastated, I even went to seek 2nd opinion. And I was so more than willing to pay him to see him weekly as a pte patient to monitor the situation. Then I found out (yes I also did a self conclusion) that he operates mon pte clinic. So he didn't have enough time to tell me and clarify whats happening to my situation. He didn't tell me when I shd deliver, what I should do. He didn't advise me anything, I was the one who told him I had another scan at 32 weeks. He just said okay. His bedside manners was quite bad, he could have told me dr anita will update me what to do after the scan.

so anyhow if I cant make it past 37 weeks means I wont see him during the next visit when the clinic opens again. But I managed to see him at 36 weeks. Bb was already 2kg, and at that visit, he seemed to have forgotten what he told me. He told me I can probably give birth at 40 weeks, but due to my protein s condition better induced by 39 weeks. bb is doing great. I wanted to deliver naturally, he said I cant, I have to go for csect due to my fibroid surgery I had a few years back. I told him dr anita saw my medical report and advised that the risk is low and I can deliver naturally. He just cut me off and say no, u shd go for csect. I asked if he wanna see my report. He says not needed. Its not advisable at all. How can a dr not see my past medical history and just give medical opinions.

Meanwhile, I have been doing scans weekly to monitor bb growth and see dr anita frequently. Her answers nvr changed and always tell and explain carefully of the risks I faced, what are the the options etc.

so I have proved Mahesh wrong,i had a natural delivery at 37 weeks (not induced, but bb just cant wait to say hi to me), bb was small but over 2. So yes, I converted to pte patient and dr anita delivered my baby. on my 37 week checked, dr anita said I wont go past 38weeks,bczo cervicx is dilated at 3cm and full effaced. True enough I delivered at 37+2. I was supposed to be induced at 38 weeks to reduce my risk, as my protein S is dropping very quickly.

okay thanks for bearing with me. My conclusion, if u see him as a pte patient he will be more attentive. As a sub patient, if he doesn't read the past records, he will not give you very accurate advise. dr anita told me not to convert until the day im admitted for delivery. so im very grateful to have seen anita, so that I get a more positive outlook and worry less after the scare prof Mahesh gave me.

Okay hardcore supporters of Prof Mahesh, please don't whacked me. This is speaking from my personal experience. This is going to be a LONG post. Initially I was very happy and eager to see him as I believed that he is very experience and read a lot of good reviews about him. So every mth im always looking forward since the clinic is only open once monthly. During the earlier trimesters, things were well, as bb is stable and growing.

At week 28, I went to labour ward, as I have some weird discharge and pain near the vaginal area. Being high risked, I called NUH and dr anita sent me there. It turns out to be some bacterial infection which was really common (I ganna the same bact infection 3 times in my last trim. Some ppl gets it throughout their pregnancies). I was having some mild contractions when I went in thus recorded.

At week 30/31(shd be this week cant recall the exact week), the clinic was opened again) they were extremely busy. so dr shelia and prof Mahesh separated to see me. I saw dr shelia as she needs to review my protein s deficiency results, and I saw Dr anita instead of prof Mahesh. I saw Dr anita, and she told me everything is looking good, bb is small but still growing. so not much of a concern yet, wait til week 32 scan to evaluate. So after that I met dr shelia, she increased my protein s dosage since levels were going down. BUt she also read that report, that I had mild contractions and bb is small. abt 15centile. she was very concern and rushed to prof Mahesh. I asked Dr shelia, if my small bb was possibly affected by the steroids I took (coz anita explained the risks to me in my early trim), dr shelia was offended. I just wanted to know what may be the cause.

So then at abt 5.40pm I was asked to do CTG to check if I have contractions. So don't have and prof Mahesh came to see me. As a professional, he told me worst case scenario - ie I may have a Stillbirth. he didn't explain why , he didn't even explain my baby was IUGR. he only said, I wont go past 37 weeks, must be c-sect, and wont have a bb more than 2kg. I have to go to labourward immediately if I felt any discomfort. HE was very confident, and even said the possibility of reaching 37 weeks is close to ZERO. as a woman who had so many mcs, I was devastated, I even went to seek 2nd opinion. And I was so more than willing to pay him to see him weekly as a pte patient to monitor the situation. Then I found out (yes I also did a self conclusion) that he operates mon pte clinic. So he didn't have enough time to tell me and clarify whats happening to my situation. He didn't tell me when I shd deliver, what I should do. He didn't advise me anything, I was the one who told him I had another scan at 32 weeks. He just said okay. His bedside manners was quite bad, he could have told me dr anita will update me what to do after the scan.

so anyhow if I cant make it past 37 weeks means I wont see him during the next visit when the clinic opens again. But I managed to see him at 36 weeks. Bb was already 2kg, and at that visit, he seemed to have forgotten what he told me. He told me I can probably give birth at 40 weeks, but due to my protein s condition better induced by 39 weeks. bb is doing great. I wanted to deliver naturally, he said I cant, I have to go for csect due to my fibroid surgery I had a few years back. I told him dr anita saw my medical report and advised that the risk is low and I can deliver naturally. He just cut me off and say no, u shd go for csect. I asked if he wanna see my report. He says not needed. Its not advisable at all. How can a dr not see my past medical history and just give medical opinions.

Meanwhile, I have been doing scans weekly to monitor bb growth and see dr anita frequently. Her answers nvr changed and always tell and explain carefully of the risks I faced, what are the the options etc.

so I have proved Mahesh wrong,i had a natural delivery at 37 weeks (not induced, but bb just cant wait to say hi to me), bb was small but over 2. So yes, I converted to pte patient and dr anita delivered my baby. on my 37 week checked, dr anita said I wont go past 38weeks,bczo cervicx is dilated at 3cm and full effaced. True enough I delivered at 37+2. I was supposed to be induced at 38 weeks to reduce my risk, as my protein S is dropping very quickly.

okay thanks for bearing with me. My conclusion, if u see him as a pte patient he will be more attentive. As a sub patient, if he doesn't read the past records, he will not give you very accurate advise. dr anita told me not to convert until the day im admitted for delivery. so im very grateful to have seen anita, so that I get a more positive outlook and worry less after the scare prof Mahesh gave me.
Wow thanks for the review @hopeful_mum

sigh, till date I heard so many good news around and I would have been 12 weeks pregnant if my little one had not decide to leave me... but nonetheless, am still trying and hoping for a good news soon!

Just joined this forum, had a miscarriage last week, baby has no heart beat and week 9. This is my first child and it was devastating to go through the experience.

I will never forget my unborn child, my hubby and myself are heart broken. But we will not give up trying again. We conceived through IVF FET, first cycle chemical pregnancy and BFP during FET. Now baby is gone :(

Will not give up and ladies let's Jia you together :)

Hi ladies. Feeling lost and anxious now. Went to my gynae yesterday and couldnt see any sac at all although preg test was positive. Counting from my induced menses I shld be about 5 weeks, although exact date of ovulation is unclear. Suspected ectopic. So now I'm scheduled for another scan next week. The waiting is pure torture. Tested this morning again myself and line was fainter than yesterday. But I've been drinking lots of water cos sick and was desperately hoping the fading line is cos pee is diluted. Devastated and my mind is in a mess now.
Could anyone share similar experience? Ive had no spotting no cramps or pains so far...

Hi ladies. Feeling lost and anxious now. Went to my gynae yesterday and couldnt see any sac at all although preg test was positive. Counting from my induced menses I shld be about 5 weeks, although exact date of ovulation is unclear. Suspected ectopic. So now I'm scheduled for another scan next week. The waiting is pure torture. Tested this morning again myself and line was fainter than yesterday. But I've been drinking lots of water cos sick and was desperately hoping the fading line is cos pee is diluted. Devastated and my mind is in a mess now.
Could anyone share similar experience? Ive had no spotting no cramps or pains so far...

5 weeks is too early to detect heartbeat but should have at least seen a sac and yolk sac. HPT will still show positive cos even if pregnancy is not viable our Hcg will keep rising. Wait for another scan to be conclusive it could be the growth is slow an that's why U can't see it yet.

For me I see a yolk sac n fetal pole but still no heartbeat at 8 weeks n I have no spotting or cramps just feel normal. I make the decision to remove it.

I know is hard just hope for the best but prepare for the worse.

Mqiu it's hard not to let your mind sway to the other side at this point but I'm sure everyone will share that you can only try to stay positive and only time can give you answer. Your scan was very early to be honest. Every pregnancy is different so continue to pray for miracle.

Good luck n rest well.

5 weeks is too early to detect heartbeat but should have at least seen a sac and yolk sac. HPT will still show positive cos even if pregnancy is not viable our Hcg will keep rising. Wait for another scan to be conclusive it could be the growth is slow an that's why U can't see it yet.

For me I see a yolk sac n fetal pole but still no heartbeat at 8 weeks n I have no spotting or cramps just feel normal. I make the decision to remove it.

I know is hard just hope for the best but prepare for the worse.
Mqiu it's hard not to let your mind sway to the other side at this point but I'm sure everyone will share that you can only try to stay positive and only time can give you answer. Your scan was very early to be honest. Every pregnancy is different so continue to pray for miracle.

Good luck n rest well.
Thanks everyone. I dont harbour much hope but hope is a real b*tch cos it keeps you from.accepting the inevitable. Im trying to prepare fpr the worst but still cant quite let go yet. Its going to be a long long week. Doesnt help that my hpt lines are getting stronger and stronger sobz

Well U never know anything can happen the next week. It may just be too early and can't detect. Whatever the outcome we cannot control. Just distract yourself with other things like watching movie n going dinner

Just joined this forum, had a miscarriage last week, baby has no heart beat and week 9. This is my first child and it was devastating to go through the experience.

I will never forget my unborn child, my hubby and myself are heart broken. But we will not give up trying again. We conceived through IVF FET, first cycle chemical pregnancy and BFP during FET. Now baby is gone :(

Will not give up and ladies let's Jia you together :)
hugs angel joy, hope your baby of 'joy' will come soon.take care

sigh, till date I heard so many good news around and I would have been 12 weeks pregnant if my little one had not decide to leave me... but nonetheless, am still trying and hoping for a good news soon!
may god comfort and console u . when hear other ple's gd new or see babies or pregnant ladies , dun b bitter. look away and try to think happy tots. hope good news will come soon for all of us!