Year 2015 IVF mummies- to-be

Post here! We all feel the same.. I am one of those blessed w little MS both rounds and yet so so so worried each week coz no idea if all is ok. Will feel heavenly the day of scan and day after, then worry starts again :)

Maybe coz our babies are really hard fought so always feel the stakes are higher. But yes, yeah! We BFP, pregnant, finally right?

Well said Ron!
I was advised not to take so many items after ET & BFP.. papaya, banana, all the "gua"s, etc. My mum told me no need to follow so strictly since she could even eat pineapples during all her 3 pregnancies.
But for me, it's just not worth taking the risk. Not after all the tears, stresses, worries which only other IVF sisters know.
Every morning once I wake up, I will automatically touch my bump, grateful for it being simply there.

dunno if im too overdrive with preggy hormones..my dad is making me annoyed over the slightest things..I must rant a bit..sigh..he never like my mum like that ask how am I? etc etc? Do your fathers care for you girls in the same way? Like example that day he cooked cos he felt like eating a particular dish HIMSELF..not asking if all other family members like that dish not..and he put lots of MSG like a few teaspoonfuls in the dish making me feel so angry about it..he still said 'then you dun eat lor!' grrrrrrrrr:mad::confused:

I think not just fathers but men do not show concern in the same way as women or ur mom. He might not show in this area but will do so in others... Like my father nv asks abt how I am but one day he specially call me on mobile so say it is going to rain. Lol!!

Yea I agree with @hi_mei tht men in general can't care as much as women. Even my hubby driving me up the wall with his lack of concern. Ever since im preggy, I've been having dreams/nightmares. Last night woke up after a nightmare & quickly called my hubby Curz I was scared, he tsk-ed me & went back to sleep :mad:

Really not the same as women....like when I told my mum tht the cat under my block started stalking me ever since im preggy, she is concerned each time I go home!! Haha

Yea I agree with @hi_mei tht men in general can't care as much as women. Even my hubby driving me up the wall with his lack of concern. Ever since im preggy, I've been having dreams/nightmares. Last night woke up after a nightmare & quickly called my hubby Curz I was scared, he tsk-ed me & went back to sleep :mad:

Really not the same as women....like when I told my mum tht the cat under my block started stalking me ever since im preggy, she is concerned each time I go home!! Haha

Is there a issue with a cat stalking u when u are preg? When I was preg our house downstair the stray cat follow us up to our floor level n almost got into our flat. I'm so scare sia, duno why everytime we came home the cat always want to follow us back. N we quickly got into the lift when the cat is away. Until now I'm still very puzzle haha

@hi_mei , @idazahs thanks..im feeling tad better today..just hv to maybe stay in my room minimize time with him so he dun get on my nerves again:confused: lol hi mei ur dad very cute ;)

I hv cats...I think cats can smell as when preggy we hv a certain pheromone that they simply know something is different with our bodies

Ic no wonder last time when I was preg each time I walk past, the stray cat always want to follow me back. N I'm so afraid of cats n dogs haha...

@hi_mei , @idazahs thanks..im feeling tad better today..just hv to maybe stay in my room minimize time with him so he dun get on my nerves again:confused: lol hi mei ur dad very cute ;)

My dad also dun show much concern the only thing he say is now I'm preg muz take more nutrient food. N ask me to stop my snacks n stop eating rubbish haha...

congrats Archie! did dr paul had to do episiotomy for u?

hope u r recovering well n enjoy motherhood!

Hi @joy_meme sorry for the slow reply. My baby was hospitalized for jaundice. Dr Paul's philosophy is not to do episiotomy, which suits my birth plan anyway. Have been doing perineal massage for a couple of weeks prior, but I suffered a straight line secondary tear all the way to the anus, however, the doctor said that it would not affect passing motion.

Hi Archie

Congrats on ur newborn! So cute! I have also safely delivered a week ago on 38 weeks with induced labour due to my blood sugar monitoring condition and baby not getting much bigger. But I survived w/o epidural and i'm also amazed at myself on hw i did it. Lol. Hope you are enjoying motherhood now. Now i understand the feelings of a dairy cow... haha...

@misaemama Congratulations!!!!! I remember now we were due around the same time. You're so brave to endure delivery without epidural!!! I opted out of epidural in my birth plan, but changed my mind when I was 5cm dilated as I did not want to waste any more energy trying to cope with the pain. That was the only thing in my birth plan that I did not follow through.

My dad also dun show much concern the only thing he say is now I'm preg muz take more nutrient food. N ask me to stop my snacks n stop eating rubbish haha...
Those words are good enough for me! Mine didn say that..he sometimes just cook food that preggy women cannot take ..how to eat? Other days out with friends during off days then left all hsework to the women in the hseo_O

Aiyoh Archie! your girl is smiling so sweetly leh! Congrats again!

im also thinking abt my gynae now cos today waited 2hrs for him and he kinda chop chop I feel like consultation should be longer..and no photos today :(

@chrisl It's a boy actually, haha! :) My gynae's consultations are also chop chop as he's so famous and has many patients, and I hear that he doesn't even do u/s scan on every visit, truly pro natural all the way. But he answers all questions thrown to him and I find that when I look deeper, he actually puts his patients' interests above his own, and I'm afraid I can't say that for all gynaes. He's also very competent and confident, by correcting the things my previous gynae said (about baby getting too big for me and should come out earlier, my pelvis is too tight so prob need a c-sect etc.) and I was finally able to be at peace during my last week before I delivered naturally. It was a big thing for me (a very short, small-sized person) to be able to deliver naturally - it went from the realm of fantasy to actual reality!

If you prefer a gynae who's more personable, you can consider Dr. Benjamin Tham at TMC. Heard many good reviews about him that he's gentle, approachable and has good bedside manners.

wahahaha @Archie7 ! ur bb is too mi ren lah :p

okok noted on the doc..tmc I did considered but cos I twins better make sure got back up plans of being premmie

wahahaha @Archie7 ! ur bb is too mi ren lah :p

okok noted on the doc..tmc I did considered but cos I twins better make sure got back up plans of being premmie

That's very true about the possibility of premmie. A mummy I know gave birth to twins (planned c-sect) at Mount A although hers are not premmies, so I assume all hospitals have a procedure to transfer bb's to KKH in case they need to. A good question to ask the gynae? Or you're thinking of seeing a gynae at KKH and be done with it?

my fren is due in march and I realised ny tummy is as big as yrs and im at 2mths only.

is june tan at kkh?

hi-mei. im still in tri 1 so not much appetite but will snack at tea break abt 1030am n abt 4pm..

my fren is due in march and I realised ny tummy is as big as yrs and im at 2mths only.

is june tan at kkh?

hi-mei. im still in tri 1 so not much appetite but will snack at tea break abt 4pm..
Gd lo, just keep healthy.
Yes, june tan is at kkh and she specialises in multiples.

@chrisl when u had BFP for twins...what were ur Hcg levels? U did a few BT to track rise of Hcg levels?...

And can share how u felt during ur first few weeks? I'm curious because since my Hcg was abt 2k...I'm not sure if it's double the joy. Actually I'm happy if it's 1 or 2. But I wanna mentally prepare myself. I haven't gone for my second BT yet

2k is prob twins bah.

my twins is 890 plus. and I didnt go for a second bT. I waited for my 5th week scan to see the heartbeat and was told there r two. I just take it when it comes. since i put 2, its either 1 or 2. cannot be 3.

all the best..

Was considering June Tan too.
But I was told that a few female gynaes left KKH recently to join private practice, so those patients who were under them got transferred to June Tan and the other remaining female gynaes. Heard that they're quite overwhelmed rite now, dunno how true... so not sure if they'll be able to handle additional patients adequately or not. Maybe they'll be very chop chop with consultations....

Is there a issue with a cat stalking u when u are preg? When I was preg our house downstair the stray cat follow us up to our floor level n almost got into our flat. I'm so scare sia, duno why everytime we came home the cat always want to follow us back. N we quickly got into the lift when the cat is away. Until now I'm still very puzzle haha

Yea the stray cats under my block keep circling me each time they see me. I'm staying here for past one year but no such incidences like this before! No wonder they can smell! Haha

2k is prob twins bah.

my twins is 890 plus. and I didnt go for a second bT. I waited for my 5th week scan to see the heartbeat and was told there r two. I just take it when it comes. since i put 2, its either 1 or 2. cannot be 3.

all the best..

Oh!! Yea I want to take it as it comes. Just worried as per usual. It's becoming my favourite characteristic nowadays: worry! Thx for tht sharing

Yea the stray cats under my block keep circling me each time they see me. I'm staying here for past one year but no such incidences like this before! No wonder they can smell! Haha

Same situation as me. Before preg there's no issue with it once preg the cat keep following me. So annoying haha

@chrisl when u had BFP for twins...what were ur Hcg levels? U did a few BT to track rise of Hcg levels?...

And can share how u felt during ur first few weeks? I'm curious because since my Hcg was abt 2k...I'm not sure if it's double the joy. Actually I'm happy if it's 1 or 2. But I wanna mentally prepare myself. I haven't gone for my second BT yet

Mine BT on the 14th day after 3dt was 841.3. I scanned 2 weeks later was 3 sacs -triplets actually! *which made me trembled with fear/nervousness when seeing doctor there!* lolololol then thankfully another scan 2 weeks later was just 2 sacs which I am already thankful for..even if one, my hb and I would be :)

I didn't do repeat BT leh..they just transferred me to the women's clinic after my bfp bt.
Hmm..first few weeks wise was just nauseous(yup began from week 4 for me), lots of cramps, night wakings and wanting to have lotsa of soupy food/felt very thirsty and I had to drink lotsa water

2k is prob twins bah.

all the best..
there is a chance whereby placing 2 embryos resulted in triplets or even quadruplets if both eggs split. Meaning 2 identical twins for the quadruplets.

In some cases put in 2 resulted in triplets cos one of the eggs spilt..so = 1 identical twin and another one.

that is why nowadays ivf procedure they are pushing for just 1 embryo transfer to minimize the probability of multiples. Cos it will just be like 1 bb or twins max...cos 1 embryo which resulted to identical triplets is very very very rare

@misaemama Congratulations!!!!! I remember now we were due around the same time. You're so brave to endure delivery without epidural!!! I opted out of epidural in my birth plan, but changed my mind when I was 5cm dilated as I did not want to waste any more energy trying to cope with the pain. That was the only thing in my birth plan that I did not follow through.
Hi Archie7
haha... i'm not brave but no choice to endure. When i wanted epidural already too late. I was actually waiting for d patient next door to finish hers. But took too long n by d time anaesthetist ready but my baby's head alri out.

So to all mummies out there who really cant endure d pain pls get epidural early. Otherwise u have to bite bullet all d way. I still rem my gynae came in n ask me to put my leg on his arm n said, " give 1 last angry push, baby's heartbeat getting faster. Cant wait.". That was d last sentence i rem before my baby was out while groggy with the laughing gas. Lol.

But we made it! So happy for u too. My baby also had bit jaundice n hav to go back polyclinic to keep monitoring. So ur boy hav to go under the light at hospital?

The only thing that bothers me now is nursing my boy. Not enough to breastfeed even though been taking fenugreek n those papaya soups... not abt urs but my boy is very demanding....

but @idazahs you might be lucky for triplets lol:p:D

Woah!!! Hahaha!!! then tht will justify to my grandma tht her fervent prayers all these years have borne fruit. :D
I guess I just have to prepare myself. Twins or triplets is a joy to think of ;)
But for now I'll just pray that no matter how many, all must be healthy.

My family no history of twins naturally but my mum had 2 sacs when she was preggy with my sister. But other sac came out empty. Hers was all natural pregnancy though...

Woah!!! Hahaha!!! then tht will justify to my grandma tht her fervent prayers all these years have borne fruit. :D
I guess I just have to prepare myself. Twins or triplets is a joy to think of ;)
But for now I'll just pray that no matter how many, all must be healthy.

My family no history of twins naturally but my mum had 2 sacs when she was preggy with my sister. But other sac came out empty. Hers was all natural pregnancy though...
lol yup healthy is most impt! take things as they come as it can be overwhelming ..

my family history actually my uncle and aunt is a girl/boy twin..but cos I ivf case so im not sure if this applies to me hehe

We cant eat bak kut teh and other food contain herbs right? Aiyo,so worried.
some bakuteh recipe just hv pepper(Usually clear soup) which is ok in moderation ..while there is another type of bakuteh recipe with 'dong guai' or angelica root which soup is usually dark colour like brown..actually dong guai hv a special taste to it..

yup other food hv to be careful like hainanese mutton soup, herbal duck rice/noodles they normally hv dong guai inside recipe so better avoid lah..oh and indian curry also hv spices like cumin/cinnamon..dun eat too much too to be sure

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/police-mother-accused-stabbing-3-kids-stressed-180349774.html

such a tragedy ..twins somemore..shows how impt to hv family support when even after giving birth..

When I delivered in kkh, there's this lady came in to ask me do the survey n is Abt depression. 1 mth later when I'm suppose to go back kkh to see doc tan to do my Pap smear the lady take my blood for testing. N they ask u to fill up question. Thing they scare u having depression haha

wow so nice..

some bakuteh recipe just hv pepper(Usually clear soup) which is ok in moderation ..while there is another type of bakuteh recipe with 'dong guai' or angelica root which soup is usually dark colour like brown..actually dong guai hv a special taste to it..

yup other food hv to be careful like hainanese mutton soup, herbal duck rice/noodles they normally hv dong guai inside recipe so better avoid lah..oh and indian curry also hv spices like cumin/cinnamon..dun eat too much too to be sure

Mine is Indian cooking & I use turmeric, cinnamon & cumin extensively in my cooking. So far I guess is ok for me because it's my normal diet. If ur not eating it before den take in moderation.

Who's with june tan here.. n is she pro natural? not cs?

I was under June Tan. She recommended C-sect for my twins even though both twins are facing head downward. I asked opinion from 4 female gynaes and all said c-sect for me. They are afraid that even if the leading twin can come out vaginally, the other twin may turn during the process and then they might have to do emergency c-sect. So to avoid that, they would rather I go for elective c-sect. My doula told me that most gynaes here do not have the skill of turning a baby around in the womb. That's why they would c-sect if baby not in correct position.

dunno if anyone still on crinone support for 1st trimester ..but im selling my leftover crinone at $10 per stick now($12-15 outside) 7 sticks left ..pm me if interested thanks

Hi Archie7
haha... i'm not brave but no choice to endure. When i wanted epidural already too late. I was actually waiting for d patient next door to finish hers. But took too long n by d time anaesthetist ready but my baby's head alri out.

So to all mummies out there who really cant endure d pain pls get epidural early. Otherwise u have to bite bullet all d way. I still rem my gynae came in n ask me to put my leg on his arm n said, " give 1 last angry push, baby's heartbeat getting faster. Cant wait.". That was d last sentence i rem before my baby was out while groggy with the laughing gas. Lol.

But we made it! So happy for u too. My baby also had bit jaundice n hav to go back polyclinic to keep monitoring. So ur boy hav to go under the light at hospital?

The only thing that bothers me now is nursing my boy. Not enough to breastfeed even though been taking fenugreek n those papaya soups... not abt urs but my boy is very demanding....

I endured the pain until I was 5cm dilated, and then caved in as I knew 6cm is the maximum dilation for epidural and anything more than that would be too late. Anyway, it's over for us now and we're moving on to the next phase - sleepless nights, haha!

Yes, baby Eliel was under phototherapy at TMC for 2 nights. Came home today. He also suffered a hairline fracture in the skull from an accidental fall (my fault and I cried and cried!) and is being monitored by a neurologist at Gleneagles.

I don't have enough BM to satisfy him too, even though my supply is gradually increasing. So have to supplement with FM, which I'm fine with… anything to keep him quiet, happy and sleeping! An experienced mummy told me baby boys eat a lot!