Piano Teacher from forum - Terrible experience

i am a piano teacher and to hear such horrible experiences is shocking.

i have a group of piano teaching friends who are qualified and, dedicated and patient with students. above glynis tan is one of them

If you are in need of a teacher please feel free to contact me. 

i teach at the comfort and convenience of students. from ang mo kio, sengkang to pasir ris. (basically from north, north east and east).

please contact Amy at 94855250 or email [email protected]

hi mommies...

If you are in need of a teacher in the East Coast/Marine Parade area, please feel free to contact me.

I have a Bachelor's in Music from Griffith University, ATmusTCL (Trinity College of Music, London) and was formerly on a scholarship while doing a Diploma in Performing Arts at LaSalle-SIA. I have a 15 years of teaching experience.

I offer lessons in classical and pop piano as well as theory lessons from beginner to diploma. I'm patient and dedicated to helping you achieve good results and progress in your music education. I am great with kids due to my relaxed but chirpy style of teaching.

I also have fantastic track records for theory grades 6 - 8 that most students struggle with.

Please contact Ms Tan at 98426924 or email [email protected]

I am looking for a female piano teacher to teacher my child who will be 6 this year. The teacher must have at least a ABRSM Diploma or ABRSM Certificate of Teaching qualification with years of experience. Location is within walking distance from Sengkang MRT. Interested, please PM me at [email protected].

Hi , I Am Eileen teaching in West. I have a friend who fits your requirement teaching in Seng Kang. Please SMS / call her at 9180 0929 Ms Chong .

I am still looking for a piano teacher per my earlier post requirements. Location is Sengkang. Earlier recommendation, Ms Chong, does not do house visit teaching.
Appreciate mommies' recomendation.

Hi Isjemommy,

I'd be happy to help out in teaching your Grade 5 child. I'm a Bachelor of Music Studies (Performance) majoring in Piano from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Uni of Sydney. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 91782971 or @ [email protected]

I'm most willing to travel to student's home at their convenience.

Warm Regards,
Eleanor Soo

Hello dear mommies!

Are you all looking for a professional and experienced piano teacher? I'd be happy to help out

I am a graduate from the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, University of Sydney with a Bachelor Degree of Music Studies (Performance) majoring in Piano. I specialize in preparing students for the ABRSM examinations or even piano at leisure basis for (Beginners, Intermediates, Advanced, Refreshers.)

I also tailor my lessons for the individual in preparing them for the right repertoire to grow their techniques. I specialise in teaching Sight-Reading, Aural as well as Theory.

I am willing to travel to the student's premises at their convenience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any enquiries!

Eleanor

http://elesoopiano.wix.com/home
(M): 91782971

hi all piano teachers

how much are u charging for beginner, age 5, no background on music..?

at Sengkang or Bishan..

Hi, looking for teacher to teach in Bishan or travel to teacher's house nearby. Please send me any referrals, thanks.

What is the market rate these days for beginner students interested in taking grade 1/2 within a year? and is there a difference in price for having teacher come to home or us travelling to their residence? .. seems like many scammers around. anyone whom has real good piano teacher contact? looking to not just have any top dick harry teacher whom just passed grade 5 & starting to teach but a real teacher whom can teach with performance/ recital opportunities for child annually.

thanks ...

My friend is looking for a good, responsible piano teacher to teach her child. Is a beginner at grade 1.

Any good recommendation? Thank you.

Looking for a piano teacher in yishun. For a non-experience 6 year old girl. Any recommendations?

I have a good piano teacher to recommend. He is graduated from Australia, currently my gal's piano teacher who travel to our home. My gal enjoyed her piano lesson even though he is a demanding teacher. If you are interested, you may pm me. I think his schedule is quite tight but if you are able to accommodate, I shall check his available slots.

My current piano teacher stays in Yishun. He is a graduate in music in Australia (was there for couple of years). He is a very committed and reliable teacher and my gal is in Grade 5 now.

He travels to my home but I have no idea whether he has any slots still. If you are interested and do trust a male teacher, you may pm me and I will check with him.

I am also looking for a piano teacher in Admiralty Drive, to teach my 6 years old son with no experience.

Do let me know if you have any good contacts.

I'm looking for a Piano Teacher in Tiong Bahru Area.

Pls PM me if u have a good recommendation

I am Eileen , mother of 4 children , also a piano teacher but only teaching in Jurong West.

Just want to find out does your child who is learning music has any preferences of the choices of music? Do they like classical? Or do they like more modern music like pop, rock, jazz etc ?

I am also looking for a piano teacher around Thomson area, if you know of any good teachers, please let me know.

My current piano teacher stays in Yishun. He is a graduate in music in Australia (was there for couple of years). He is a very committed and reliable teacher and my gal is in Grade 5 now.

He travels to my home but I have no idea whether he has any slots still. If you are interested and do trust a male teacher, you may pm me and I will check with him.
Hi, I stay I yishun too, could u pls give me the contact number of the teacher?

I stay in Yishun, looking for an experience female teacher to teach my 7 years gal at my place.
Any good recommendation?

I am also looking for a piano teacher in Admiralty Drive, to teach my 6 years old son with no experience.

Do let me know if you have any good contacts.

Hi, there! My name is Ruth and I am a part-time piano teacher.

My highest qualification is a distinction in Grade 8 ABRSM Practical Exam and am now working on my DipLCM (which is equivalent to the first year at a music college in London).
The following are my rates:

Beginner: $100/month, each lesson will last for half an hour
Grade 1: $120/month, 45 minute lesson
Grade 2: $130/month, 45 minutes
Grade 3: $140/month, 45 minutes
Grade 4: $150/month 45 minutes.

Hope to hear from you soon!
002_ssmile.gif

My contact: [email protected] or, drop me text at 92464858.

Never go to music schools!! You can PM me more and i can share with you why!

I send my kid to private piano teacher (Really cheap rates, way below market rate. Plus she is really good with my 6 YO daughter because teacher is patient).

Can share with you her number: 90280550. But if you want to know more details (such as how she teaches both me and my daughter, you can always PM me if paiseh to ask her).

Recently cancelled my piano lesson and she just arranged for a make up easily :)

P/s: Anyone has good swimming instructors to recommend?

I want to let my daughter, who is currently 5yrs old this year to learn piano but I'm don't know whether will it be better if it is a one to one session or in a group? I've another little one to take care of during weekends, hence, I will not be able to accompany my elder girl for lesson together.

Does anyone have a good teacher to recommend? Of course, not so ex and by the way, I'm staying at Taman Jurong.

Will appreciate all your advices & guidances please. You may email me at [email protected].

I've been teaching piano since 2011 and it's only today that I realise there are such issues going around (never had the time to sit at home and search up about private teachers)

I teach at a local music school as well as in private and I must say that it is really the teacher him/herself. Dedicated teachers will always be dedicated no matter what kind of set up it is.

Fun fact : Teachers who teach in school generally only earn a commission rate of between 40-50% of student's monthly fees and are not paid for studio school holidays.

Not saying that school teachers are less dedicated as a result.

I've met really good teachers (my colleagues) in music schools as well as extremely horrible ones.

E.g. Back when 1 of my students was preparing for her grade1 exams, she did a make-up with another teacher from the school (I didn't have any slots for makeup) which she previously missed with me. As it is a music school, we have our own student handbook where every week teachers will write in there to keep track of the student's progress as well as a reminder to our students. It is also sometimes a mean of communication with parents to keep them informed about what is going on. I usually jot down every detail of my lessons, including the attitude of the student etc. However, to my horror, what I saw in my student's book was "well prepared" and nothing else. To some, it might be acceptable, but not to me. Hence, it's really the teacher at the end of the day. What Im trying to convey with this example is that not all teachers in music schools are dedicate, patient and they definitely are not angels. Similarly, not all private teachers are bad.

Also, would like to point out that there are down sides to enrolling in a music school. A few of the examples are:
- Less flexibility
- Most music schools in Singapore hire part-time teachers and they are generally on a 1.5year contract. Imagine your kid or yourself having to adjust to a new teaching style every 1.5years. (I did my grade6 theory years ago with a music school in Toa Payoh - near kiddy palace, and my teacher was a nice lady. However, her contract was ending and when I found out and had to submit my termination notice, it was too late. Meaning I would have to attend lessons with another teacher, which was a great nightmare. They replaced her with a male foreigner and he couldnt communicate with me in English, He was trying to use sign language to explain the use of chromatic notes to me. Thank God I only had 1 lesson with him. This is on top of the fact that my dad didn't want a male teacher for safety reasons)
- Private lessons = you can watch how the teacher actually teach! In music studios, behind close door, you never know if the teacher is really teaching properly instead of texting away

The list would go on and on and on....

Yes, I am totally disgusted about what these 'private teachers' are doing but I would like to speak for the rest of the private teachers around. Not all private teachers are out to scam you. Some of us really do have a passion for music and want more people to experience the art of the piano.

Well, I shall end my reply with some tips for parents out there on how can you judge if the teacher is dedicated:

-Request to sit in for at least the first lesson, and even every now and then. (and notice their first reaction when you ask)
Dedicated teachers will not mind. In fact, I usually would invite parents to sit in for the trial lesson especially for beginners. This is because it gives the child a sense of security. On top of that, the parents might be able to help bring the interaction to a higher level as they know the kids better. And I do this also so that the parents can guide the child back at home.

-Ask for weekly updates about your kid, not only about what was covered but also his/her attitude for the lesson. (Dedicated teachers WILL be more than willing to keep parents up to date)

-Good teachers will usually take the initiative to keep communication going. with the parents too!

-On the first lesson, teachers with good musical sense and technical skills will be able to pick up your child's strengths and weaknesses. If he/she does not tell you at the end of the first lesson, ask them and take note of how they answer your question.

Above is just a general guide. They might not be accurate 100% the time but is what I've noticed in my 13 years of learning and 4 years of teaching.

You guys can feel free to PM me if you have any questions and I'll answer them in my free time when I can. (I can't guarantee a quick reply)

Hi there, I have a friend who is currently grade 8 and learning her diploma. She is qualified to teach and has been teaching (from below grade 1 to grade 6) for more than a year now. She will probably be able to meet your requirement of teaching at your place if you are interested and able to find a good timeslot. Do contact her at 90100595 to discuss more :)

Would like to recommend a friend who is currently grade 8 and learning her diploma. She is qualified to teach and has been teaching (from below grade 1 to grade 6) for more than a year now. Her teaching location is flexible and rates are reasonable. She is also very patient and great with kids. If you are interested, do contact her at 90100595 to discuss more :)

Bethy, I understand your feeling.... being disturbed by this type of irresponsible "so called" professional music teacher.
It had been a great lesson for me so I do not wish other mothers to go through the terrible experience.
I had signed up my girl with Lee Wei Siong Music school. So far so good, they allow cancellation on exceptional reasons.
thanks, maybe i should send my daughter to LWS Music School also

----------------------------------
room rental singapore: room rental singapore
math tuition: math tuition
singapore mrt map: singapore mrt map

I am looking for a home piano teacher for my 6yo girl. She has learnt piano over a year. We stay in Jurong West.

Appreciate if you can drop me an email if you are a piano teacher or someone to recommend.

Thanks in advance
Eric

My kid is undergoing Little Mozart, jus complete lesson 1, going lesson 2. Any opinion if i should put her in individual class or group? Or should i engage a homebased piano teacher?what are the criteria to look at when choosing the teacher..?
Thanks for the advices.