(2015/08) Aug 2015 Mummies

maybe u guys can just do a harmony test, or genetic scanning..

my harmony test result shd be out by the this weekend. so I was thinking if a genetic scanning is still required if the results are favourable.

I ate bird nest too last round but my son is born very dark skin although I am quite fair. It was quite funny cos his cousin one month older is very fair though his dad is half indian. So I am not quite sure if bird nest help to make one fairer.

My oscar results are not too good. My hubby was quite matter of fact about it. He said at our age since we decided to have a kid we already knew the risks. When i said shall we do further tests his response was "give me the 1000 bucks and just be prepared for the worst". Sometimes I dunno whether to laugh or cry at his responses....

i received a lot of birds nest from friends. But i dont know about cordyceps, ive been always afraid of the taste cos was made to drink the soup when young due to very bad asthma.

I feel a lil terrible because I am a fussy eater so I dont think im getting sufficient nutrients. Like i hate all dark green veges because i puke them when I was young. So i try to compensate by eating other veges n fruits.. haha. terrible

I used to be taking the cordyceps capsule...

From hock hua..

After preggy i stopped...

So can i continue to take them??

• image.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 178
maybe u guys can just do a harmony test, or genetic scanning..

my harmony test result shd be out by the this weekend. so I was thinking if a genetic scanning is still required if the results are favourable.
Dun think we will go for harmony test. Haha my hubby said might as well give him the money meant for harmony test. Prob we will wait for the 20 week detailed scan and if things still remain high risk do a diagnostic test. Harmony is still considered a screening test so cannot confirm diagnosis.

Reactions: ddb
i received a lot of birds nest from friends. But i dont know about cordyceps, ive been always afraid of the taste cos was made to drink the soup when young due to very bad asthma.

I feel a lil terrible because I am a fussy eater so I dont think im getting sufficient nutrients. Like i hate all dark green veges because i puke them when I was young. So i try to compensate by eating other veges n fruits.. haha. terrible

My mum made me and my bro drank the terrible cordyceps in bottle form when we were young.
However the piping hot clear soup now is simply heavenly. My dad and I like it so much.

I think u will be doing fine if u are eating fruits and other veggies. :)

From hock hua..

Can pop in and check with the sales in Hock Hua. Maybe is not suitable for everyday consumption? Once or twice weekly perhaps?

Dun think we will go for harmony test. Haha my hubby said might as well give him the money meant for harmony test. Prob we will wait for the 20 week detailed scan and if things still remain high risk do a diagnostic test. Harmony is still considered a screening test so cannot confirm diagnosis.

@fairytale1982 since u doing harmony, is generic scan still required?

@slchua I tot harmony test is a clear cut yes or no result?

@fairytale1982 since u doing harmony, is generic scan still required?

@slchua I tot harmony test is a clear cut yes or no result?

Hi, my gynae also mentioned that harmony is a screening test, just that I think it has a higher accuracy than oscars.

Actually I thought I read somewhere that genetic scan is usually considered if certain test results is bad. Fairytale, if your results are okie, maybe you don't have to go for it?

For me, I brew cordyceps and ginseng together, starting week 17, it's really good for Bu Qi and immune system. I didn't fall sick throughout the whole time. Birdnests everyday, I'll take 1 spoon concentrated. Cordyceps really gotta choose carefully too, some will give more of the 草 than the 虫.

Purchases wise, I was quite pantang previously, only made purchases after 28 weeks. So far, the review for Medela seems to the best. I have the Medela freestyle and now my sister is using it, she has used diff brands prior (inc Avant) and felt that Medela is by far the best.

The only thing I feel we could really get earlier (disregarding pantang) is maternity bra. cos the breasts are swelling up now, so wired ones are not as comfy and not advisable. I bought these at recent Mothercare sale, great bargain :)

Understand the pantang part. My mil was also telling me don't so early get chest of drawers for baby's stuff. I think maybe big ticket item, will try to leave it later.

@sane, i just bought a bra from uniqlo. It is not bad, just that no wire so a bit not used to it. But does feel relived. Hehe, because don't feel so tight.

Hi I'm FTM and 11wk 5d now...EDD 12/8/2015. Did two US and harmony test on 16th Jan ($1187 all in) with Dr Chua Yang at M.A. Aged 39 yo.

Had two MC in Oct n Dec 2013 - suspected chromosome abnormalities thou no official tests.

So far so good....MS easing up but still feel extremely bloated and indigestion with no appetite. Hoping this will be better soon.

Ques: Anyone experience Hip bone ache after 2-3 hours of walking. It happen mainly on my right side.

Hi, I have some hip bone ache too at times. Sometimes it is tail bone, sometimes it is right hip n maybe goes to knee. And it comes and goes. Are you taking calcium? Maybe it helps. But I feel mine seems periodically so i just try to ignore and don't overwork.

Understand the pantang part. My mil was also telling me don't so early get chest of drawers for baby's stuff. I think maybe big ticket item, will try to leave it later.

@sane, i just bought a bra from uniqlo. It is not bad, just that no wire so a bit not used to it. But does feel relived. Hehe, because don't feel so tight.

Hee not advisable to get chest of drawer? I just want to buy this 5 tier plastic cabinet at ntuc just now and dump all bb stuff in :D

Good alternative. .. I have been getting sore boobs ever since before I know about the pregnancy till now. Feel so tempted to get the red triumph set but now seem like wireless is the most comfortable :D20150126_122912.jpg

I tot genetic scan can like look deep into the organs like heart, liver & lungs to see if everything is in order?

actually i also not very sure lah.. hehe

I did ask my gynae abt the 14th weeks genetic scan at dr ananda clinic, gynae tel me is 'too early'.. asked me do 2months later which is when I am abt 20weeks. i believe he is referring to the DETAILED scan..

i think all mtb here just reach 13th weeks, so must of them might not have done the genetic scan yet... maybe those exp one can share with us.

Hee not advisable to get chest of drawer? I just want to buy this 5 tier plastic cabinet at ntuc just now and dump all bb stuff in :D

Good alternative. .. I have been getting sore boobs ever since before I know about the pregnancy till now. Feel so tempted to get the red triumph set but now seem like wireless is the most comfortable :DView attachment 475616

I think some people pantang, scare if the thing put there too long no use, not auspicious. Hehe. But is okie, many people also prepare beforehand, at least last min wont panick. :)

Yah, i think wireless would be comfy. Or you can try on the triumph and see if it still feels comfy on you. :)

The 2 uniqlo bra now is a bit tight for me le.. just I hv to go try 1 size bigger liao..
But dun wish to spend so much on bra.. In case it still van grow bigger.. wahahhaha

I think some people pantang, scare if the thing put there too long no use, not auspicious. Hehe. But is okie, many people also prepare beforehand, at least last min wont panick. :)

Yah, i think wireless would be comfy. Or you can try on the triumph and see if it still feels comfy on you. :)

Seems like endless stuff to prepare :D
I will see see look look and compare the prices first.
Don't think i will be getting the triumph because the wire bra that I am wearing now is quite painful cause of the soreness :confused:

The 2 uniqlo bra now is a bit tight for me le.. just I hv to go try 1 size bigger liao..
But dun wish to spend so much on bra.. In case it still van grow bigger.. wahahhaha

I hope mine won't grow so big because I will feel v disappointed once it deflated :(

Big hugs to you. I'm just curious, is your oscar test result less than 1:500? I read that less than 1:300 may garner a retest ie go for Harmony. In fact Oscar is 90% accuracy, so 1 in 10 is erranous and for those above 35 years old, I feel that the chance of inaccuracy is higher due to the way Oscar result is calculated (once hit 35 and above, the calculation is less in favour).

For Harmony, it's 99% accurate. So 1 in 100 will be erranous. I think Harmony is more considered for those above 35. For my first child, I did Oscar , result was 1:6,000ish so I just let it be. A plus point for Harmony is that, gender will be disclosed too, though I feel it's just a small bonus.

slchua, perhaps your oscar result is erranous, so if you both decide to not test Harmony, not feel too bad ok. Big Hugs...

For cordyceps, I brew the same way as Sane too but without the meat. Just cordyceps and paosheng. When meat etc is added, the goodness goes into these items too, so can eat the meat to get the full goodness, taught by my tcm. My hubby will eat the cordyceps and paosheng so he gets so Bu too... lol...

Cordyceps, from what I heard. best grade is from Tibet, as they are grown naturally on the mountains, great climate and conditions. Next is from Qing Hai, many are grown inside the cordyceps farm. So the prices will vary depending on where and how they are grown and the size . For my first pregnancy, the Tibet one I bought, abt $900 for a box. Next I bought Qing Hai, I think abt $600, the size is definitely smaller. So for those buying cordyceps first time, you may like to ask around a bit and best if u can see the individual sticks. If they are bundles up, sometimes suppliers may cheat n put the 草 in the middle of the bundle (as we can detach) instead of the 虫.

Sane, just curious where did u get your cordyceps from?

Haha true and I think cordyceps are categorised into sizes. I let my gal drink to bu qi too. I think i m really very kiasu.
Just now went Ntuc to compare the diaper prices and some baby products, really lost touch.
How much u brought your bra fr mothercare? I think some mummies recommend the uniqlo ones too.

I bought them for abt $15 each, original price $39 I think. wireless but the cups shape will hold up, nice for wearing outdoors as the cups won't collapse :)

For Breastfeeding at home, I usually wear those wireless soft cotton ones, the cups will collapse easily, more comfy and sweat absorbent.

Thanks for the tip, I'll hv a look at Uniqlio too.

Indeed very true, the breasts will normally increase abt 1 size especially during breastfeeding. I went fr cup B to C and has stopped breastfeeding for 1.5 yrs now, still cup C. So not to worry, not all will shrink back or gets even smaller. I breastfed for 1 year back then. But I definitely DONT WISH to go fr cup C to D now, no way!! lol... I'm also starting to feel the breasts swelling up.

Mummies, who are pantang to certain extend, just need your advice on this.

Would you consider painting bedroom (not master bedroom), not advisable even if it's in tri 2? I'll be staying out of the house when painting is in progress.

I'm aware it's best to not touch the master bedroom for as long as possible especially the bed.

Cos we wanna move my girl outta our master bedroom and to her own bedroom, so thinking to do up her future bedroom a bit.

Thanks for your sharing your thoughts :)

Oops I don't mean 'Mummies' only in my above post. I keep conveniently call forum friends 'Mummies' :( My apologies.

I mean Mummies and Mummies-to-be :)

Take care, everything will be alright. :)
Your hubby's thinking is also very good, think positive and things will be okie. Jia you!

I bought them for abt $15 each, original price $39 I think. wireless but the cups shape will hold up, nice for wearing outdoors as the cups won't collapse :)

For Breastfeeding at home, I usually wear those wireless soft cotton ones, the cups will collapse easily, more comfy and sweat absorbent.

Thanks for the tip, I'll hv a look at Uniqlio too.

Indeed very true, the breasts will normally increase abt 1 size especially during breastfeeding. I went fr cup B to C and has stopped breastfeeding for 1.5 yrs now, still cup C. So not to worry, not all will shrink back or gets even smaller. I breastfed for 1 year back then. But I definitely DONT WISH to go fr cup C to D now, no way!! lol... I'm also starting to feel the breasts swelling up.

Like that, I think your bras from mothercare sale is more worth! The one I got from Uniqlo is 29.90. :( And not sure can wear for how long.. LOL.

Wow, seems like many are well prepared already. I'm still in a dazed, don't know what we're supposed to buy.. but 1 thing for sure, I'm gonna buy wireless bras.. my boobs are swelling and wired bras are suffocating me.. :(
Gee, I didn't know we're not supposed to renovate the master bedroom. Was still rushing hb to fix our curtain rods..

Mummies, who are pantang to certain extend, just need your advice on this.

Would you consider painting bedroom (not master bedroom), not advisable even if it's in tri 2? I'll be staying out of the house when painting is in progress.

I'm aware it's best to not touch the master bedroom for as long as possible especially the bed.

Cos we wanna move my girl outta our master bedroom and to her own bedroom, so thinking to do up her future bedroom a bit.

Thanks for your sharing your thoughts :)

No worries about addressing us mummies or mummies-to-be. :)

Hmm.. personally, I won't paint my bedrooms or do anything that will change the current state. Paiseh, will sound like super pantang, just want to play safe. By right, not supposed to do anything to the house. I have heard of stories where people paint their houses and there is a big coloured birthmark on the newborn. It could be a coincidence and I have also seen people painting, renovating and babies turned out fine too.
But I will listen to my MIL and not do anything even though my room is far from ready to welcome a newborn. Just sharing my 0.000001 cent only.

Me still no sore boobs until now, unbelievable... Am bra-less at home & my boobs are still the same like before. Haizzzz

Maybe your's will grow more in 2nd trimester. :)
I am also okie with bra less at home. It is just that sometimes during the day at work, with wired bra, feel abit suffocating. I suspect is noon time, body expand. LOL. joking.
Don' worry, not much symptoms may not be a bad thing. :)

I had a fall yesterday.. was thinking probably go see gynae just to on the a ave side right?

Hmmm.. my boss still not ard.. need to ask if I can go off earlier...

Take care, everything will be alright. :)
Your hubby's thinking is also very good, think positive and things will be okie. Jia you!

Like that, I think your bras from mothercare sale is more worth! The one I got from Uniqlo is 29.90. :( And not sure can wear for how long.. LOL.

Are the cups getting tight/full now? if it's just the strap getting tighter, can try bra strap extension. Or if u hv old unused bras, can cut the hooks part out and DIY :)

From hock hua..

I have the same bottle of cordyceps as you, but I haven't touched it since I found out I was pregnant too. Don't think I will be taking it. Quite tired of swallowing the vitamin pills given by doc already. Thinking of asking my mum to cook the cordycep pau sheng soup for me. Im drooling after reading it.:p Can advise when can I start taking it? I'm going into my 13th week, is it too early?

For cordyceps, I brew the same way as Sane too but without the meat. Just cordyceps and paosheng. When meat etc is added, the goodness goes into these items too, so can eat the meat to get the full goodness, taught by my tcm. My hubby will eat the cordyceps and paosheng so he gets so Bu too... lol...

Cordyceps, from what I heard. best grade is from Tibet, as they are grown naturally on the mountains, great climate and conditions. Next is from Qing Hai, many are grown inside the cordyceps farm. So the prices will vary depending on where and how they are grown and the size . For my first pregnancy, the Tibet one I bought, abt $900 for a box. Next I bought Qing Hai, I think abt $600, the size is definitely smaller. So for those buying cordyceps first time, you may like to ask around a bit and best if u can see the individual sticks. If they are bundles up, sometimes suppliers may cheat n put the 草 in the middle of the bundle (as we can detach) instead of the 虫.

Wow.. thanks for sharing the information. I'll keep this in mind when I need to buy cordyceps :) I think after the mother has drank the 1st round of soup, can add water and continue to boil again until the herbs release it's 2nd round of smell. Then the hubby can drink. Don't waste hehehe.. :D

I had a fall yesterday.. was thinking probably go see gynae just to on the a ave side right?

Yah, I read that it is better to go for a check if have a fall, just to be safe.
Hope your boss appears soon. Walk slowly and take care.

Are the cups getting tight/full now? if it's just the strap getting tighter, can try bra strap extension. Or if u hv old unused bras, can cut the hooks part out and DIY :)

I think maybe it is more of the straps and I also blur blur bought the one without hooks (abit like sports bra pattern) from Uniqlo.
Blur me...

Hmm.. personally, I won't paint my bedrooms or do anything that will change the current state. Paiseh, will sound like super pantang, just want to play safe. By right, not supposed to do anything to the house. I have heard of stories where people paint their houses and there is a big coloured birthmark on the newborn. It could be a coincidence and I have also seen people painting, renovating and babies turned out fine too.
But I will listen to my MIL and not do anything even though my room is far from ready to welcome a newborn. Just sharing my 0.000001 cent only.

Thanks, yes I was super pantang for first child too. I didn't touch knives, for the longest time, no sewing at all, plus all other pantang measures. Now with no.2, seriously getting very hard to abstain from doing things for no.1 lol... such a dilemma. That day hubby just asked me why I'm sewing, cos I had to sew my girl's name tags onto her school uniform.

Hubby says to paint my girl's room after no.2 is born but by then all her furniture will be in too.

Dilemma dilemma....

Wow, seems like many are well prepared already. I'm still in a dazed, don't know what we're supposed to buy.. but 1 thing for sure, I'm gonna buy wireless bras.. my boobs are swelling and wired bras are suffocating me.. :(
Gee, I didn't know we're not supposed to renovate the master bedroom. Was still rushing hb to fix our curtain rods..

Don't worry... I m still as clueless too. I go into Kiddy Palace etc and I don't know what I should look for..
I think I am still busy battling loss of appetite. Hopefully things eased up by CNY then got more mood to think about what to prepare for baby.
Lucky nowadays most of us are surrounded with more shopping centres, sometimes miss out one or two things, still can send hubby or family to go buy. Imagine last time must go so far to buy things, our mummies back then must be worse.

Thanks, yes I was super pantang for first child too. I didn't touch knives, for the longest time, no sewing at all, plus all other pantang measures. Now with no.2, seriously getting very hard to abstain from doing things for no.1 lol... such a dilemma. That day hubby just asked me why I'm sewing, cos I had to sew my girl's name tags onto her school uniform.

Hubby says to paint my girl's room after no.2 is born but by then all her furniture will be in too.

Dilemma dilemma....

Understand your dilemma.. Sometimes v hard not to touch certain things or do chores. As long as sewing not done on bed, should be okie, right? Just try to reduce if possible. We also don't know, sometimes it is just like the timing. I have heard a few stories happening and some even to people I know, so I cant help feeling abit scare. Maybe listen to your hubby, paint after no. 2 is out?

For what to buy, there should be a list circulating around, a loooooing list/s. It was my bible last time.

At Mothercare, you can sign up for their nursery (what's that called??) where a consultant will go through with you item by item what's needed and what to look out for.

Otherwise at Kiddy Palace, some of their staffs are very experienced, may be able to give pointers.

But Morhercare is good for a start. Previously, I signed up in their website.

Understand your dilemma.. Sometimes v hard not to touch certain things or do chores. As long as sewing not done on bed, should be okie, right? Just try to reduce if possible. We also don't know, sometimes it is just like the timing. I have heard a few stories happening and some even to people I know, so I cant help feeling abit scare. Maybe listen to your hubby, paint after no. 2 is out?

yes, the sewing on the bed, I've heard certain stories too. That's why can't help feeling the jitters. I sew seated on the floor lol...

For what to buy, there should be a list circulating around, a loooooing list/s. It was my bible last time.

At Mothercare, you can sign up for their nursery (what's that called??) where a consultant will go through with you item by item what's needed and what to look out for.

Otherwise at Kiddy Palace, some of their staffs are very experienced, may be able to give pointers.

But Morhercare is good for a start. Previously, I signed up in their website.

Okie, maybe I will go take a look at their website.
That day my in laws were asking us if we thought of any names, we were like hmmm.. not yet.. LOL... we like started on nothing yet.

yes, the sewing on the bed, I've heard certain stories too. That's why can't help feeling the jitters. I sew seated on the floor lol...

Sew far far away from the bedroom! :)
My husband don't even really like it when I take scissors. Makes me more paranoid too...
If feeling abit jitters, then maybe can consider postponing the paint job. just for a peace of mind only.

For bras right, can consider getting maternity bras (those with detachable cups, with clips) so can use for Breastfeeding when baby pops. There are sellers here in Singapore Motherhood forum or can try this popular seller - Autumnz, will have a booth at the bigger baby fairs. The soft cotton maternity bras (collapsible cups) are abt $20 I think. The bras with shape, abt $30ish.

I got it at a steal @$255+ from Hockhua when they r having the 50% year end sales.
The sales keep persuade me to get 2 boxes now abit regret that I never.
Now they resume the price of $550++ per box.
Mine could only last me 2 more rounds, got to buy another box again. I hope there will be mid year sales again.

I went to the mothercare sales but lazy to try their bra. Maybe I check on the deals online.
Used to get the nursing bra at mark &Spencer @ard 60++ each and used it for only a few months after the boobs shrink and sagged so much after losing the pregnancy weight :confused:

If the elders (like my mum) at home is pantang, is better to listen.
Coz *touchwood*, if anything happen will kanna blame :confused:, 2nd is to stop them from nagging.

I have the same bottle of cordyceps as you, but I haven't touched it since I found out I was pregnant too. Don't think I will be taking it. Quite tired of swallowing the vitamin pills given by doc already. Thinking of asking my mum to cook the cordycep pau sheng soup for me. Im drooling after reading it.:p Can advise when can I start taking it? I'm going into my 13th week, is it too early?

Wow.. thanks for sharing the information. I'll keep this in mind when I need to buy cordyceps :) I think after the mother has drank the 1st round of soup, can add water and continue to boil again until the herbs release it's 2nd round of smell. Then the hubby can drink. Don't waste hehehe.. :D

If u have kids at home, can give the capsule as supplement to them. I used to give my gal daily before she goes to school.

I took the brewed cordyceps since 12 weeks onwards. U can check with the seller :)

The sales lady @hock hua that I brought my herbs from is very helpful and experienced, she is a mum of 2 kids so she will advise me what to eat and what not to. I told her my budget and she won't hard sell. Sometimes when I am a bit confused on the cooking instructions, I will pop in the shop to ask her again without buying anything.

I ate the cordyceps as well and finished everything so nothing left to brew 2nd round :D

Oh yes, I've heard some brewing the second time too. Gotta extract all the essence out :) It's all previous $$$...ka-ching

For cordyceps and birdnests, usually will start about week 17-18 onwards. Some prefers to start later, personal preference.

Oh yes, I've heard some brewing the second time too. Gotta extract all the essence out :) It's all previous $$$...ka-ching

For cordyceps and birdnests, usually will start about week 17-18 onwards. Some prefers to start later, personal preference.

Start early is the mum absorb, start later will be baby absorb.
I am such a greedy mummy, used pregnancy as chance to indulge :D:D

I got it at a steal @$255+ from Hockhua when they r having the 50% year end sales.
The sales keep persuade me to get 2 boxes now abit regret that I never.
Now they resume the price of $550++ per box.
Mine could only last me 2 more rounds, got to buy another box again. I hope there will be mid year sales again.

I went to the mothercare sales but lazy to try their bra. Maybe I check on the deals online.
Used to get the nursing bra at mark &Spencer @ard 60++ each and used it for only a few months after the boobs shrink and sagged so much after losing the pregnancy weight :confused:

If the elders (like my mum) at home is pantang, is better to listen.
Coz *touchwood*, if anything happen will kanna blame :confused:, 2nd is to stop them from nagging.

If u have kids at home, can give the capsule as supplement to them. I used to give my gal daily before she goes to school.

I took the brewed cordyceps since 12 weeks onwards. U can check with the seller :)

The sales lady @hock hua that I brought my herbs from is very helpful and experienced, she is a mum of 2 kids so she will advise me what to eat and what not to. I told her my budget and she won't hard sell. Sometimes when I am a bit confused on the cooking instructions, I will pop in the shop to ask her again without buying anything.

I ate the cordyceps as well and finished everything so nothing left to brew 2nd round :D

wow that's a real bargain fr the yr end sale!! And your chong look plump :)

Better don't get first cordyceps now, as it's approaching cny, usually the price will soar.

Indeed, after stop breastfeeding, the breasts will sag quite a fair bit, like deflated balloon lol... but there are lotsa loose flesh all over, like near the armpits and around the breasts. So it's good to get a good wired support bra, those that has thick fabric strap at the armpit area. This will help to raise the sagging breasts and gather all the 'loose flesh' together, and over time, the breasts area will look firmer and much less saggy. I was in doubt back then but it has proven to be correct :)

wow that's a real bargain fr the yr end sale!! And your chong look plump :)

Better don't get first cordyceps now, as it's approaching cny, usually the price will soar.

Indeed, after stop breastfeeding, the breasts will sag quite a fair bit, like deflated balloon lol... but there are lotsa loose flesh all over, like near the armpits and around the breasts. So it's good to get a good wired support bra, those that has thick fabric strap at the armpit area. This will help to raise the sagging breasts and gather all the 'loose flesh' together, and over time, the breasts area will look firmer and much less saggy. I was in doubt back then but it has proven to be correct :)

I think hard to get the same offer again but that will be in almost 2 months time. The next round will be 20 weeks and 24 weeks so I won't fall sick.
Mine was loose skin :confused: did cardiovascular exercise and yoga/pilates to firm but it look even worse:(.
Now started to fill up again .... happy happy but i know it won't last long :rolleyes::oops:

I fell down at around 5 weeks too, hard on the knees. due to dizziness. Was a little worried after that but went online to read and was assured that very seldom would falls harm the baby. it is well protected. After that things were still fine, been 2 gynae appointments since. After that also became more daring.. haha