Year 2015 IVF mummies- to-be

hi ecym, noted thanks. will check with doc.

hi archie7, is it the compulsory policy that govt applies to ivf done in govt/pte hospitals? I done my ivf overseas..

Yes, it is the compulsory policy. Basically, on the day of your ET, the hospital will require that you write a cheque to pay for the Great Eastern insurance. The premium will vary depending on the no. of embryos transferred. It is a sunk cost because the premium won't be refunded to you even if you BFN. Since you did IVF overseas, I'd advise you to call Great Eastern to check if you still have time to buy the insurance. Also, Prudential told me that they are launching a neonatal insurance policy specifically for IVF babies sometime around now, they are supposed to contact me when it is launched but no word from them so far, so it may be good to check with them too.

Hi ecym and archie7, thanks for the great information. I also agree that ivf is not 100% success rate. I am fortunate to succeed at first try, but I have friend who tried 3x unsuccessfully.

may I know which country you went for your IVF? How was the cost like?
Hi ecym and archie7, thanks for the great information. I also agree that ivf is not 100% success rate. I am fortunate to succeed at first try, but I have friend who tried 3x unsuccessfully.

Yes, it is the compulsory policy. Basically, on the day of your ET, the hospital will require that you write a cheque to pay for the Great Eastern insurance. The premium will vary depending on the no. of embryos transferred. It is a sunk cost because the premium won't be refunded to you even if you BFN. Since you did IVF overseas, I'd advise you to call Great Eastern to check if you still have time to buy the insurance. Also, Prudential told me that they are launching a neonatal insurance policy specifically for IVF babies sometime around now, they are supposed to contact me when it is launched but no word from them so far, so it may be good to check with them too.

Hi Archie7, Prudential reply: I wish to inform you that we are unable to offer PruFirst Gift if the expecting mother is conceived through IVF.

i think you can check out this http://www.insuranceemart.com/2013/05/buying-insurance-for-in-vitro.html but this is a rider to a new investment linked policy...not sure if you are keen.

The GE policy that we bought covers only neonatal care benefits not on pregnant mummies
I wonder if the neonatal care benefits would be sufficient for baby if baby really needs neonatal care. I know AIA maternity insurance covers IVF babies but the agent I asked dunno abt the GE compulsory insurance. He couldn't tell me if in the case of baby needing neonatal care, which policy would be the better one to claim from? Coz claim from both policies seems to be out of the question to help defray costs.

definitely not enough de... if you look at the policy details, each day only covers $300...even KKH NICU are in thousands daily... maybe if you are C Class ward ba

Yes a lot of ppl does not understand that IVF is not a sure thing that you will get a bb.... i was fortunate enough to conceive successfully at first try but the joy was shortlived when I learnt that my then baby boy will not be a normal child. it was an agonizing two weeks as its not easy to have him in the first place and with such a poor diagnosis, hubby and I know the decision really falls upon us and we have to face it TOGETHER.

Hugs, ecym. It's already hard enough and what more with IVF in which each of us went thru so much with no guarantee of seeing thru to a live birth. I hope I'm not being nosy... If it's not too much to share, did you come to a decision regarding your baby boy?

actually AIA one-claim $5k or $100/day up to max 30days hospital care is not alot too..

i wonder if happen (touch wood), can downgrade from pte hosp to govt C class (subsidized rate)?

Oh darn, sorry ladies, now that AIA is mentioned, I actually don't remember if the compulsory insurance policy was provided by Great Eastern or AIA - could have been AIA instead of GE. Must go home to check. Sorry for the possible misinformation. I blame it on pregnancy memory loss. :oops:

Hi Archie7, Prudential reply: I wish to inform you that we are unable to offer PruFirst Gift if the expecting mother is conceived through IVF.

Bah... standard reply from an ignorant staff. The new policy they're rolling out is obviously not PruFirst Gift which is only for babies conceived naturally or thru IUI. Let me see if I can find the namecard of the agent who told me about the IVF policy and I'll let you know.

actually AIA one-claim $5k or $100/day up to max 30days hospital care is not alot too..

i wonder if happen (touch wood), can downgrade from pte hosp to govt C class (subsidized rate)?

I heard that if they detect a high risk pregnancy before delivery, the pte hosp may send you to KKH anyway as only KKH has the specialists and equipment for such things. So maybe from there, can choose C class in KKH for lower cost? And check if Medisave covers the condition which will help defray your out of pocket costs.

@bb_love The worst comment I heard from a friend (good friend's hubby) was "Why the need to do IVF? Just go on a holiday, relax and you'll conceive a baby. It's so easy!" He said that coz that was exactly what happened to him and wife. It took all the willpower I had not to throw hot tea in his face, lol!

The most frequent comment I have heard is that a couple can definitely have a baby with IVF as the success rate is 100%, so why should anyone worry about infertility?! Maybe coz the media tends to glorify the wonderful technology behind IVF but it's not interested in talking about the BFNs which are in fact much more than the BFPs. Then when I gently tell them the truth, I can see the look of enlightenment dawn on their faces.

The wife & MIL of this same man told my hubby & mum I should go to her hometown of Beijing to do IVF coz there's a doctor there that has 100% success with his/her IVF patients. Sounds very sketchy, right?

For Christians who struggle with infertility like I did, many don't realise the worst thing to say is "Have faith in God and He will gift you a baby. If you still don't have one, it's because you don't have enough faith or you're not praying hard enough". The bible never promised that God will bless us with children if we have strong faith or pray 24/7, and only one childless Christian couple confirmed this fact with me. Saying such half-true things brings false hope and lots of unnecessary guilt and despair when the hope is not fulfilled. Yet I have had so many well-meaning Christians say that to my face that I need to have more faith and to pray more! It only led me to depression.

Sorry for the mini rant there, haha! Good thing is that we're definitely not alone in our struggles and we can all support each other!
Yes, it's good that we can support one another here. :)

I have heard those comments u have experienced before too! U are lucky to have enlightened friends who realise that IVF is not 100% guaranteed success. Why I felt sad about my friends was becoz they could say things like "You can try again if you fail. It's like getting the driving licence. One day you will succeed." I certainly dun agree the IVF procedure can be compared to the driving test. It's a medical procedure!

I've a cousin and she also told me abt a certain hospital in Guangzhou which specializes in fertility treatments, and boasts of a high success rate. She knows my husband and I have been trying for a baby for years. I think many mainland Chinese are sometimes affected by the way these specialized hospitals or clinics advertised. It's not just these fertility-focused hospitals, also cancer-focused hospitals and all sorts of specialized treatments. I've stayed in China for a short period of time, and saw tons of such ads or sharings in person. Very effective to attract ppl who are old, sick for prolonged periods, and perhaps infertile couples who have tried for so many years.

I'm not a Christian but I have my MIL who always goes "omitoufo" whenever things didn't go so well. She is aware of our fertility attempts, and always tried to ask me to go this temple or that temple, if not, do all sorts of weird stuff to see if the gods and ancestors could bless us with a child or a smooth pregnancy. She definitely means well but like you, I also feel that using religion to explain away failed fertility attempts and offer comfort just makes things worse. At the end of the day, it is easy to fall into those thoughts of "Why am I the one not favoured by the higher being and have to go thru all these?"

Archie7, go ahead and rant if u need to. I realise it's not good to bottle things up too much. Hugs.

Oh darn, sorry ladies, now that AIA is mentioned, I actually don't remember if the compulsory insurance policy was provided by Great Eastern or AIA - could have been AIA instead of GE. Must go home to check. Sorry for the possible misinformation. I blame it on pregnancy memory loss. :oops:
The compulsory neonatal insurance we bought in hospitals is by GE. AIA is for maternity insurance. AIA is the only company with maternity insurance plan that covers IVF babies. All other companies' maternity insurance plans do not cover IVF babies.

The compulsory neonatal insurance we bought in hospitals is by GE. AIA is for maternity insurance. AIA is the only company with maternity insurance plan that covers IVF babies.
err..do you have the GE content to share with me please? I like to know what does GE offer.

talking about Chinese, I saw many go Thailand do..I kpo asked a few. they said they are sceptical to do in their own country because of many scams, illegal, unlicensed, high agent fees and costs could be even higher than done in overseas. if one wants to do in overseas, it is advisable to find a reputable good one because health matters and IVF is not an easy task.

Just back from USA.. Bought maternity clothing a there.. So much cheaper with lots of variety.. Plus just some baby girl clothing .. Don't dare to buy a lot cos don't know it will really be a girl or not..

My ankle is now swollen like a pig!! Think it is the impact of being pregnant while flying.. Blood flow restricted..

@Hope42014. Just did my detailed scan. Bb is sleeping in the beginning of the scan. I'm having a gal too.

I just read icsi tends to hv baby gals? Anyone r having a boy or gal w icsi?

The compulsory neonatal insurance we bought in hospitals is by GE. AIA is for maternity insurance. AIA is the only company with maternity insurance plan that covers IVF babies. All other companies' maternity insurance plans do not cover IVF babies.

Thanks for the clarification! Strange, I was bugged by an AIA agent at the baby expo but she never mentioned anything to me about their maternity insurance plan for IVF babies even though I asked about it. Grrrrrr!

err..do you have the GE content to share with me please? I like to know what does GE offer.

talking about Chinese, I saw many go Thailand do..I kpo asked a few. they said they are sceptical to do in their own country because of many scams, illegal, unlicensed, high agent fees and costs could be even higher than done in overseas. if one wants to do in overseas, it is advisable to find a reputable good one because health matters and IVF is not an easy task.
I dun have the info at hand. Let me go home and find it for u.

Yes, it's good that we can support one another here. :)

I have heard those comments u have experienced before too! U are lucky to have enlightened friends who realise that IVF is not 100% guaranteed success. Why I felt sad about my friends was becoz they could say things like "You can try again if you fail. It's like getting the driving licence. One day you will succeed." I certainly dun agree the IVF procedure can be compared to the driving test. It's a medical procedure!

I've a cousin and she also told me abt a certain hospital in Guangzhou which specializes in fertility treatments, and boasts of a high success rate. She knows my husband and I have been trying for a baby for years. I think many mainland Chinese are sometimes affected by the way these specialized hospitals or clinics advertised. It's not just these fertility-focused hospitals, also cancer-focused hospitals and all sorts of specialized treatments. I've stayed in China for a short period of time, and saw tons of such ads or sharings in person. Very effective to attract ppl who are old, sick for prolonged periods, and perhaps infertile couples who have tried for so many years.

I'm not a Christian but I have a MIL who always goes "omitoufo" whenever things didn't go so well. She is aware of our fertility attempts, and always tried to ask me to go this temple or that temple, if not, do all sorts of weird stuff to see if the gods and ancestors could bless us with a child or a smooth pregnancy. She definitely means well but like you, I also feel that using religion to explain away failed fertility attempts and offer comfort just makes things worse. At the end of the day, it is easy to fall into those thoughts of "Why am I the one not favoured by the higher being and have to go thru all these?"

Archie7, go ahead and rant if u need to. I realise it's not good to bottle things up too much. Hugs.

My friends are enlightened precisely becoz I took the effort and patience to enlighten them, otherwise I believe they'd have continued down the path of ignorance. I don't blame them but the wider media that only talks about the successes of IVF without mentioning anything about the failures. In fact, our Straits Times is very good already as they once interviewed a couple who tried IVF 8 times before they succeeded; other news outlets are pathetically one-sided. :mad:

Sorry I can't help but laugh about your friends saying IVF is like driving licence. Have they never heard that there can never be 100% to any medical procedure? IVF is no different from cancer treatment in that sense. No doctor will ever guarantee 100% on any medical procedure, no matter how safe or reliable it is. That's what I usually tell my friends to get them to realise they're spouting nonsense. They usually keep quiet after that.

Yucks, I know my friends mean well, but I'm very suspicious of hospitals in China boasting high success rates. Even the best fertility clinics in the most developed Western countries don't do that, so I know instantly something is not right. Very effective indeed but highly misleading for desperate couples. :confused:

Offering comfort in the aftermath of failure from a faith-based point-of-view is fine for me in the sense that you know having children is not the final and most important goal in life, and that childless couples can lead meaningful lives too. But it is the offering of false hope and promises that I have trouble with, regardless of which religion. Just like your MIL will never know whether she has really done enough for the gods/ancestors to assure her of a healthy grandchild. And you're right that the "Why is this happening to me?" question is the most devastating of all. Hugs to you too.

Thanks for the clarification! Strange, I was bugged by an AIA agent at the baby expo but she never mentioned anything to me about their maternity insurance plan for IVF babies even though I asked about it. Grrrrrr!
No prob. Some agents just dunno lor. Like my AIA agent who helps me to service all my insurance plans dunno abt claims relating to neonatal care. He's taking forever to find out for me. I found out there's an independent financial services company serving KKH and their agents seem to know better. I'm gg to find out more.

@Hope42014. Just did my detailed scan. Bb is sleeping in the beginning of the scan. I'm having a gal too.

I just read icsi tends to hv baby gals? Anyone r having a boy or gal w icsi?

no la - my previous cycle also via icsi, is a boy leh....this round is a girl tho

If it's not too much to share, did you come to a decision regarding your baby boy?

we have no regrets in our decision cuz as I said each family situation is very different from another. The pregnancy wasnt smooth to begin with, I had spotting twice in my first trimester. i passed my oscar tests. Come detailed scan, baby growth was 2 weeks behind in terms of head, abdominal and limbs were at (<5% percentile). We were told to do amniocentesis on the same day. Results came out 10 days later showing bb has a microdeletion of chromosome 18. Gynae set up genetic counselling with KKH, while we were there, we saw many children of various ages with their caregiver waiting for their consultation. To us, it was a unforgettable sight and after meeting the genetic counselors whom offer not much optimism in their professional views. They can only confirm the chr 18 affects the brain and they are not able to predict the severity of the damage but were convinced my baby boy growth was already impacted.

I have a elder 4 year old girl who was so looking forward to have a brother as a sibling but we do not bear to let her share the burden should us the parents have passed on and left her with a needy brother. It will be unfair to her. So that evening, we broke the news to her about her not well brother. To many parents, this is a debatable issue whether to keep baby boy or not. To us, its not an option as we have to think about the future quality of life of my elder one, we are not earning stable incomes and lastly my hubby is a post kidney transplant patient.

something new but dun offer ivf babies (DOH!)~~ !http://www.btinvest.com.sg/insuranc...-offers-first-pure-maternity-protection-plan/

we have no regrets in our decision cuz as I said each family situation is very different from another. The pregnancy wasnt smooth to begin with, I had spotting twice in my first trimester. i passed my oscar tests. Come detailed scan, baby growth was 2 weeks behind in terms of head, abdominal and limbs were at (<5% percentile). We were told to do amniocentesis on the same day. Results came out 10 days later showing bb has a microdeletion of chromosome 18. Gynae set up genetic counselling with KKH, while we were there, we saw many children of various ages with their caregiver waiting for their consultation. To us, it was a unforgettable sight and after meeting the genetic counselors whom offer not much optimism in their professional views. They can only confirm the chr 18 affects the brain and they are not able to predict the severity of the damage but were convinced my baby boy growth was already impacted.

I have a elder 4 year old girl who was so looking forward to have a brother as a sibling but we do not bear to let her share the burden should us the parents have passed on and left her with a needy brother. It will be unfair to her. So that evening, we broke the news to her about her not well brother. To many parents, this is a debatable issue whether to keep baby boy or not. To us, its not an option as we have to think about the future quality of life of my elder one, we are not earning stable incomes and lastly my hubby is a post kidney transplant patient.

Your situation is quite similar to one of my bosses' family a year ago. At the 20th week, they found out that their fourth child, a girl, had severe bone deformities. They gave her up as they felt it was unfair to the three older siblings to have to care for her long after they're gone. I could not bring myself to judge the decision they made. It was incredibly sad. When he shared that with me, I was only 7 weeks along and very traumatised by it.

Hugs to you for having weathered so much and emerged stronger.

my clinic asks if i am making any insurance claim w antenatal package. how much claim can be made for AIA package?

my sis in law didn't conceive after multiple tries which are done more than 8 years ago. We r considered fortunate that our iui/ivf/icsi chances are higher in these few years w improvement of medical science and dr expertise.. :)
My limited understanding is that maternity insurance is for pregnancy complications and the related hospitalisation due to these complications. You can't claim antenatal package from a maternity insurance policy. The AIA maternity insurance covers the mother on the following (copied from website pdf):
- Pregnancy Complications Benefit– S$5,000
- Hospital Care Benefit for hospitalisation due to Pregnancy Complication - S$100 per day (max 30 days) up to a limit of S$3,000
- Death Benefit – S$5,000

Website: https://www.aia.com.sg/en/resources/79899b804f793366aba4bb4d852ca926/AIA_family_first_baby_sg.pdf

I have no idea that antenatal package can be claimed from insurance. Can it be from our existing insurance policies? Did ur clinic elaborate more?

@bb_love The worst comment I heard from a friend (good friend's hubby) was "Why the need to do IVF? Just go on a holiday, relax and you'll conceive a baby. It's so easy!" He said that coz that was exactly what happened to him and wife. It took all the willpower I had not to throw hot tea in his face, lol!

The most frequent comment I have heard is that a couple can definitely have a baby with IVF as the success rate is 100%, so why should anyone worry about infertility?! Maybe coz the media tends to glorify the wonderful technology behind IVF but it's not interested in talking about the BFNs which are in fact much more than the BFPs. Then when I gently tell them the truth, I can see the look of enlightenment dawn on their faces.

The wife & MIL of this same man told my hubby & mum I should go to her hometown of Beijing to do IVF coz there's a doctor there that has 100% success with his/her IVF patients. Sounds very sketchy, right?

For Christians who struggle with infertility like I did, many don't realise the worst thing to say is "Have faith in God and He will gift you a baby. If you still don't have one, it's because you don't have enough faith or you're not praying hard enough". The bible never promised that God will bless us with children if we have strong faith or pray 24/7, and only one childless Christian couple confirmed this fact with me. Saying such half-true things brings false hope and lots of unnecessary guilt and despair when the hope is not fulfilled. Yet I have had so many well-meaning Christians say that to my face that I need to have more faith and to pray more! It only led me to depression.

Sorry for the mini rant there, haha! Good thing is that we're definitely not alone in our struggles and we can all support each other!
Hi Archie, u reminded me that I almost laugh out when someone told me that by gng short trip sure get pregnant. (Of cos zip my mouth) So easy? like lay eggs? Neh... I've been trying for many years n thousands of ways but all failed before me n my DH come to a conclusion that we try iui n ivf. The whole process isn't that easy for me even though I'm "lucky" to fail 1 iui n manage to get bfp on 1st IVF try. I'm only 6weeks plus n I've bleeding every now n then. Only realise that it could be from polyps. This really scare me when Dr told me to be more careful as now it's v difficult to determine where is the bleeding from. I only feel slightly comfort when i see bb hb on Tuesday. It's like OMG... finally can see my bb hb. I also understand it's still long days ahead, i can only hope n pray that I can successfully give birth to healthy bb. (Sorry... can't help but to release my anger here. Seriously no one understand could understand me, except ladies in the chat group. ♥♥)
I wish n pray (to all gods) that all ladies able to give birth smoothly n stay happy always. (I'm free thinker. (*¯︶¯*))

Yes a lot of ppl does not understand that IVF is not a sure thing that you will get a bb.... i was fortunate enough to conceive successfully at first try but the joy was shortlived when I learnt that my then baby boy will not be a normal child. it was an agonizing two weeks as its not easy to have him in the first place and with such a poor diagnosis, hubby and I know the decision really falls upon us and we have to face it TOGETHER.
Many many hugs to u. This is definitely not easy for u n ur hubby. Hope all gods able to help u thru.♡

Hi Archie, u reminded me that I almost laugh out when someone told me that by gng short trip sure get pregnant. (Of cos zip my mouth) So easy? like lay eggs? Neh... I've been trying for many years n thousands of ways but all failed before me n my DH come to a conclusion that we try iui n ivf. The whole process isn't that easy for me even though I'm "lucky" to fail 1 iui n manage to get bfp on 1st IVF try. I'm only 6weeks plus n I've bleeding every now n then. Only realise that it could be from polyps. This really scare me when Dr told me to be more careful as now it's v difficult to determine where is the bleeding from. I only feel slightly comfort when i see bb hb on Tuesday. It's like OMG... finally can see my bb hb. I also understand it's still long days ahead, i can only hope n pray that I can successfully give birth to healthy bb. (Sorry... can't help but to release my anger here. Seriously no one understand could understand me, except ladies in the chat group. ♥♥)
I wish n pray (to all gods) that all ladies able to give birth smoothly n stay happy always. (I'm free thinker. (*¯︶¯*))

@bb_love, you're considered very "lucky" indeed. Belated Congratulations to you! In my first trimester, I was terrified of any potential risk/complication. But what helped me a lot is to concentrate on celebrating the small goals (like you celebrating when you saw the heartbeat for the 1st time), and to take it easy as long as I feel well enough to go to work, instead of thinking too far ahead. Have you chosen your gynae? As you have bleeding, you must immediately see a gynae (not a GP) if you start vomiting. Usually it's not a problem but better to play safe. Although it's hard with nausea and morning sickness leading to appetite loss, make sure you eat well by taking small but nutritious meals as well as antenatal multivits. Other than that, I'm sure you know how to take care of yourself and just take it easy until you "see" your baby at each scan. A positive mindset is very important. :)

No worries about releasing your anger. We're all here to lend a listening ear and to offer support and comfort to one another. After all is said and done, I can now sit back and laugh at the people who think getting pregnant is like laying eggs. :D

My limited understanding is that maternity insurance is for pregnancy complications and the related hospitalisation due to these complications. You can't claim antenatal package from a maternity insurance policy. The AIA maternity insurance covers the mother on the following (copied from website pdf):
- Pregnancy Complications Benefit– S$5,000
- Hospital Care Benefit for hospitalisation due to Pregnancy Complication - S$100 per day (max 30 days) up to a limit of S$3,000
- Death Benefit – S$5,000

Website: https://www.aia.com.sg/en/resources/79899b804f793366aba4bb4d852ca926/AIA_family_first_baby_sg.pdf

I have no idea that antenatal package can be claimed from insurance. Can it be from our existing insurance policies? Did ur clinic elaborate more?

@mosburger, nope. coz i only have GE neonatal insurance and normal life insurance for myself.. Haven't even checked what I can claim from my pte shield plan for bb delivery.

hi ecym, noted thanks. will check with doc.

hi archie7, is it the compulsory policy that govt applies to ivf done in govt/pte hospitals? I done my ivf overseas..
The GE policy has to be purchase within 7 days after you done the ET, they want you to indicate the transfer date when u apply. Not sure can still purchase after u have done ur IVF and oversea.

no la - my previous cycle also via icsi, is a boy leh....this round is a girl tho

something new but dun offer ivf babies (DOH!)~~ !http://www.btinvest.com.sg/insuranc...-offers-first-pure-maternity-protection-plan/
Hug hug ecym, I think that is really a tough decision to make at that time. I never thought that pregnancy have so many complications and thought that it will be an easy task when I was young. Until I embark into IVF journey and learnt so many from the sisters here, i finally know that it is not a 'given' thing to me. Now my only wish is to able to give birth to a healthy baby, just simple as that.praying hard for that..

@bb_love, you're considered very "lucky" indeed. Belated Congratulations to you! In my first trimester, I was terrified of any potential risk/complication. But what helped me a lot is to concentrate on celebrating the small goals (like you celebrating when you saw the heartbeat for the 1st time), and to take it easy as long as I feel well enough to go to work, instead of thinking too far ahead. Have you chosen your gynae? As you have bleeding, you must immediately see a gynae (not a GP) if you start vomiting. Usually it's not a problem but better to play safe. Although it's hard with nausea and morning sickness leading to appetite loss, make sure you eat well by taking small but nutritious meals as well as antenatal multivits. Other than that, I'm sure you know how to take care of yourself and just take it easy until you "see" your baby at each scan. A positive mindset is very important. :)

No worries about releasing your anger. We're all here to lend a listening ear and to offer support and comfort to one another. After all is said and done, I can now sit back and laugh at the people who think getting pregnant is like laying eggs. :D
Thanks Archie n ladies for lending ears to me. ♡
I've yet to decide which gynae to go. I started w kk but i work near sgh. I still can't decide. Plan to go Polyclinic to check out, hopefully able to find my answers there. My ms really start anywhere n any time. Sometime feel v nauseous for 1-2 days b4 "fountain" started. :p
Trying to keep my meal small n frequent but sometimes simply feel so hungry that i could accidentally over-ate n "fountain" starts again... haiz... ~T_T~
I'm so looking forward my next scan to see bb. Simply amazing to see the heart beat. No words to describe.

HAHA 100%!! Magic.

One of my friends thought that I was undergoing menopause because I wasn't ovulating! Champion. She is also in her thirties, she wait until she wants to try for babies and if cannot then she will know.

i've many friends that i know in military workforce and the mummies conceive boys naturally.. one possibility that i think is that the "health of little soldiers" is better w the parent's health fitness

I thought icsi will have high potential of having baby boy because embryologist will use the fast swimmer and fast swimmer usually is boy :)

@Tinga I read several literature on this as I was curious. For natural IVF (petri dish), chance of baby boy is higher coz the boy sperm swim faster and reach the egg faster. But for ICSI, for the same reason working in the opposite direction, the girl sperm are easier to catch by the embryologist as they're slower swimmers. But for both cases, statistically the differences in percentage between boy and girl are not that high. Like 50-something percent versus 40-something percent.

Thanks Archie n ladies for lending ears to me. ♡
I've yet to decide which gynae to go. I started w kk but i work near sgh. I still can't decide. Plan to go Polyclinic to check out, hopefully able to find my answers there. My ms really start anywhere n any time. Sometime feel v nauseous for 1-2 days b4 "fountain" started. :p
Trying to keep my meal small n frequent but sometimes simply feel so hungry that i could accidentally over-ate n "fountain" starts again... haiz... ~T_T~
I'm so looking forward my next scan to see bb. Simply amazing to see the heart beat. No words to describe.

@bb_love you're so cute. Wait patiently till your late 2nd tri, that's when you can see your bb's face up-close on the scan and I bet you'll love it! DH and I have a ball of a time staring at the scan (which the gynae so kindly printed for us) and figuring out which of his features looks like daddy's or mummy's.

Hi, I just got my positive result from fet this Wednesday. May I know any mommies here with doubling hcg but dropping progesterone level and still manage to have healthy pregnancy? Im currently on max progesterone support. 2x insert,4x progynova, 3x ultrogestan and alt day progesterone jab. Currently hcg is at 1222 but progesterone level only 80. I was asked to redo blood test this coming monday.

@Tinga I read several literature on this as I was curious. For natural IVF (petri dish), chance of baby boy is higher coz the boy sperm swim faster and reach the egg faster. But for ICSI, for the same reason working in the opposite direction, the girl sperm are easier to catch by the embryologist as they're slower swimmers. But for both cases, statistically the differences in percentage between boy and girl are not that high. Like 50-something percent versus 40-something percent.
Oh really? I never know that.. My is icsi and I wonder whether is bb girl or boy :) , but most importantly, is a healthy bb

Yup, interesting right? I remember too well the anticipation waiting to find out the baby gender. For me and DH at that time of uncertainty, it was a roller coaster ride. DH has all but one nephews on his maternal side (i.e. his mum's sisters' sons' sons) who are all autistic, so we're afraid there's a genetic link there. Our fears were realized when it was confirmed that I'm having a boy, so now praying hard everyday that he is healthy and won't be autistic.

Hi, I just got my positive result from fet this Wednesday. May I know any mommies here with doubling hcg but dropping progesterone level and still manage to have healthy pregnancy? Im currently on max progesterone support. 2x insert,4x progynova, 3x ultrogestan and alt day progesterone jab. Currently hcg is at 1222 but progesterone level only 80. I was asked to redo blood test this coming monday.
Welcome ellesie :) for me, I only tested the progestone level one week before the BT, and the level is around 70, my doc start to have me on the progestone injection 2x per week. Once after BFP, I continue the progestone 2x per wk, progynova 3 tablet per day, duphaston 1 tablet 3x a day, crinone insert 2x per day, utrogestan 2 tablet 3x per day, aspirin 1x per day. I have not tested my progestone level since then. Think different doctor have different practice. . Try to relax and don't think too much. Jia you!

Strange, I was with KK and never once got tested for progesterone level during the 2ww, only blood test once for HCG at end of 2ww to determine if BFP or not, and then after BFP, just given dydrogesterone to take daily. If they tested me for progesterone, they sure didn't tell me!