Support Group - Endometriosis and Fibroids.

Yes mine also swollen. I dun like that guy atheastist. He keep asking nurse to let me sign consent form. Is your him too ?

Ya discharged le. Is it same anesthetist? Wear specs one? He kept asking e nurse to ask me to sign consent form too. And he couldn't find my vein on my left hand so he switched to right hand. And when I was inside e OT when he injected e GA it was so painful and I heard him saying something is wrong or what and everyone came over and rub that area which is painful now. Then asked me how I feel and I said aching and then I passed out. Felt very scary now that I think back. Cannot be clogged vein still right?

Yes wear specs one. Think of it he is quite terrible. He keep asking me to breathe faster n faster on the gas mask cos they running short of time. Terrible right?

My hand also poked by him n I think he is jus treating us like products or animals ...in the past when do d n c , they will explain the terms n conditions in the form before you sign. Looks like he scared of the liability

Oh my goodness, the anaesthetist sounds horrible!!!!! So insensitive and bad attitude. Think both of you should feedback to TMC.

Glad your laps went smoothly.

At least dr loh is assuring. Think before discharge got a service nurse asking for feedback but at that time still groggy so never think about it hahaa

Just came back fm review. Dr Loh said my vein could be infected. That's why it's pain and swollen. I didn't ask if it could be due to the anesthetist though. Haiz just wanna get it healed lor.

Hi jinnous, mine also the same but it does not occur to me is infected. Now the swell is gone liao.

yeah have to take good care of your self. When are u going back to work huh? :)

New
Hi ladies, jus wondering how long do u all wait before you start exercising huh? after a lap to remove the cyst huh? Use to jog every alternative day. Now felt so drained without exercising ...can share when u all start exercising ?

Hi Porky ,

I m also thinking of slowly recovering to exercise. yeah cos no energy when I dun exercise. Hahaha

Hi everyone. I am currently 38weeks pregnant with a 10cm fibroid. My gynae has recommended a laparoscopy after I give brith.
Can anyone advise how long after birth should I go for the surgery as I will be having a c section for childbirth. Thanks

Xyachen, did you asked your gynae whether it is possible to take the fibroid at the same time during your labour since you will be having a c-sect for delivery? Where is your fibroid located?

Mine is a intramural fibroid. Removing during csec is impossible due to possible hemorrhage and doesn't help that I have O- as a blood group:(

I am new to this thread and am 35, with severe endometrisis. I had a lap done in 2011, and started IVF treatment since 2012. Have done 3 fresh cycles and 1 FET with no success. My AMH and FSH results led the doctors to diagnose me with diminished ovarian reserve, and all the embryos, though of good grades, never implanted. I did not realise that the lap can do so much damage to my ovaries.... now my endo has come back and in my recent Aug 2014 IVF cycle, i experienced pain and tenderness during the ultrasound scan. The doctors also found 2cm cyst on both sides of my ovaries. Having just failed my 3rd fresh IVF, I googled and noted that lap may help improve fertility, but given my already diminished ovarian reserve, i am afraid that future IVF cycles will not be generate sufficient good quality eggs. And hence I have decided to approach endo holistically and seek TCM help. I have seen numerous chinese doctors since 2011, TSB included. She told me that she's treating my fertility issues, and not endometrisis issues!

Can someone let me know whether there is any good TCM around that treats Endo and fertility well?

Hi In Faith,

I can understand the dilemma you r going through. But pls be patient and treat one thing at a time ...don't get stressed out ..

I guess I can't advice much due to the lack of my knowledge in the medical field- both western and tcm.

However, I also did laps to remove endo cyst at the ovaries and seek Tcm to treat fertility issue.

If I do recall correctly, tcm cannot treat both endo and boost fertility concurrently because the former needs to moderate or curb hormonal activity and the latter need to stimulate ...

What my tcm did was to try to balance - meaning she will not prescribe treatments which over stimulates such that it aggravates the endo condition while at the same time coupled w accupuncture tries to stimulate the reproductive system functionality. The endo cyst size remained the same, no shrinkage upon 3 months tcm treatment while I had also managed to conceive then.

In my case, tcm seemed to have worked. My tcm is dr Zou at amk if u need to know:) hope this helps.

Hey porky, thanks for the vote of faith, I too believe in balancing the odds, overdoing the fertility at the expense of endo is not ideal, so I learnt to select tcm with care. I think I may also give dr Zou a try since it is close to where I live.

It didn't work for me with Dr Zou. I gave up after my hb asked me dun make myself suffer after I broke out in cold sweat and almost puked ten mins into e session. I had been going for a few months and I was really scared of needles but I forced myself to stay still. But that was e last time. I got a fright actually. Haha...

Guess everyone of us works differently with each TCM. Hi jinnous u went back to work huh?

I haven't exercise yet. Wish I can exercise full fledge as I miss the good feeling after a jog :)

Year end coming ...anyone book trips huh? We booked hotel stay in orchard...:)

Hi in faith, i have similar experience as you. I have never been pregnant with ivf or TCM treatment. My embryos are always good grades and even blastocysts. At one stage i felt so tired, gave up on tcm for almost a yr. Still i had failed 2nd fresh ivf then went for 2nd ops to remove polyps. Suddenly 2mths later i got pregnant naturally when i least expected. Unfortunately i miscarry at 9wks. So...i have to restart everything all over again. Going for my 2 fet soon in nov. My advice to u is...you may want to have a period to relax and do nothing on fertility. Just ttc on your own. My doc says i am almost in the category of unknown infertility. If our infertility is due to endo then..after lap or using ivf we should be able to conceive. However the fact is we did not conceive with all these treatments. There could be other factors which cannot be detected. I also did acupuncture before...change of diets, exercise...so many. But nothing help. I got pregnant when the time i most bo chap. Dont think so much about treating endo. But may need to find out abt how the cysts will affect your fertility or future pregnancy.

I spoke to a fren about my condition and she told me her tcm told her women with thalassemia are more prone to women illness. She said she is minor and I realized I have it too. Do u think its linked?

I had my d&c surgery last month. My gyne term it as "missed abortion". Not sure if it's about the same as miscarriage.

The gyne discovered there is 4cm fibroids only after d&c surgery. He said surgery is not needed to remove fibroid, and need to monitor the growth. Worst, he advised me not to try pregnant accidentally again, otherwise my pregnancy will be more complicated. :(

I find it strange :- how come my gyne cannot detect fibroid in my 6 weeks pregnant? Why notice only after d&c surgery?

I am not sure whether to listen to my gyne, as I am broke down upon hearing that I should not try to get pregnant again. :(

Is it safe to get pregnant while having 4cm fibroid?

I am seeking 2nd opinion next Monday.

Hi All!

I'm hoping I can receive some advice and maybe share anything I find out as well. So much to learn about my body and not all of the Drs seem to give good advice.

I have endometriosis and I've just had a second lap op to remove my appendix and untangle my tubes a few months ago, I had a cyst removed a few years ago. I've only just started to try and conceive in the last couple of months but am in my late thirties and obviously have endo. My gynae (who I am not 100% sure about) and my GP (who is fantastic) have said that there is no reason why I shouldn't conceive. I work f/t and am doing my best with exercise, trying to work on diet but feel ill for about 2 weeks out of every month and this seems to affect what I want to eat quite dramatically. Since I have come off birth control I am experiencing a lot of pain when I ovulate as I seem to ovulate on the side I had the appendix taken from, I think I have endo on my bowel as I have a lot of digestive issues as well.

Do any of you know of any good acupuncture practitioners that have experience in promoting fertility and reducing pain? Good but not Gleneagles expensive please if possible.

Millbear I'm not sure about why your Dr has suggested you don't try, fibroids are sometimes supposed to grow during pregnancy. One of my friends was able to conceive with fibroids so don't despair. I hope your second opinion helps you.

My Gynae has said that she doesn't think diet, supplements etc make much difference, her approach seems to be to fill me with painkillers. After seeing her several times (she is expensive) I have come to the conclusion that her approach is not quite what I need, so any good recommendations would be helpful, I don't mind if they are male or female. I need a specialist really, maybe someone who is able to perform IUI. I'm not sure about IVF.

I have never been pregnant and don't really know anything about my egg quality or anything like that but I have regular cycles and ovulate. Currently about 6 days away from my period and already starting to feel pain.

Any advice please?

Hi All!

I'm hoping I can receive some advice and maybe share anything I find out as well. So much to learn about my body and not all of the Drs seem to give good advice.

I have endometriosis and I've just had a second lap op to remove my appendix and untangle my tubes a few months ago, I had a cyst removed a few years ago. I've only just started to try and conceive in the last couple of months but am in my late thirties and obviously have endo. My gynae (who I am not 100% sure about) and my GP (who is fantastic) have said that there is no reason why I shouldn't conceive. I work f/t and am doing my best with exercise, trying to work on diet but feel ill for about 2 weeks out of every month and this seems to affect what I want to eat quite dramatically. Since I have come off birth control I am experiencing a lot of pain when I ovulate as I seem to ovulate on the side I had the appendix taken from, I think I have endo on my bowel as I have a lot of digestive issues as well.

Do any of you know of any good acupuncture practitioners that have experience in promoting fertility and reducing pain? Good but not Gleneagles expensive please if possible.

Millbear I'm not sure about why your Dr has suggested you don't try, fibroids are sometimes supposed to grow during pregnancy. One of my friends was able to conceive with fibroids so don't despair. I hope your second opinion helps you.

My Gynae has said that she doesn't think diet, supplements etc make much difference, her approach seems to be to fill me with painkillers. After seeing her several times (she is expensive) I have come to the conclusion that her approach is not quite what I need, so any good recommendations would be helpful, I don't mind if they are male or female. I need a specialist really, maybe someone who is able to perform IUI. I'm not sure about IVF.

I have never been pregnant and don't really know anything about my egg quality or anything like that but I have regular cycles and ovulate. Currently about 6 days away from my period and already starting to feel pain.

Any advice please?

Have you seek a second opinion? U wanna see my gynae Dr SF Loh at O&G TMC? He used to head the ivf in kk. Of course not saying to go straight to ivf. Just let him have a look and see what he says? I almost did ivf but after e lap I managed to conceive naturally right before my ivf appt.

Thanks for the recommendation, holistic approach is what I think I need. I will give them a ring and see what they suggest. Thank you!

Hi sisters, wanna ask. Is it safe to take bee propolis or royal jelly? There r mixed reviews on the internet. Can anyne here kindly help me ask this question to dr Loh?? I forgot to ask him this question during my last review with him!! I won't be seeing dr Loh oredi as i switched to KKH. I had a lap in apr this year to remove endo. I have severe endo too. :( Planing to start my 3rd fresh and now trying to tiao my body.

Sunbelle, how r u???
How abt Bee propolis? I read it reduces inflammation and MAY improve endo... Dunno how true. Then CoQ10 can take?

Hi ladies, I took royal jelly for around 1 year plus, and still taking. I read it helped endometrisis, and will start taking propolis soon, which are not yet delivered to me from iherb.

Having taken royal jelly, I didn't quite think it affected my endometrisis, but my sister whom has the same condition also advised against taking it.

What did you read about royal jelly pls?

Hello ladies!

I'm 23 weeks pregnant now and during 21st week appointment which was the detail scan, a cyst has been diagnosed in my left ovary during ultrasound. Initially the cyst was spotted during one of my appointment in 1st trimester but my Gyne said not to worry as it may vanish after some time and shall monitor it if it grows.
Since then the cyst has grown and Gyne said the worry is that the cyst might twist and rupture.

She gave us few options....
1) To undergo surgery and get it removed ASAP, but slim chances of uterus contraction leading to miscarriage.
2) Opt C-sec for my baby delivery and have the cyst removed one shot during the surgery procedure.
3) Just leave it and keep monitoring. Deliver the baby (as I opted for 100% natural delivery) safely VBC. After that schedule for a surgery to get the cyst removed.

Okay. Am very much worried about my baby. I want to deliver my baby at a gestation of 40weeks safely and naturally as much as possible.

I'm pretty skeptical to remove it, because i do not like unnecessary operation, and I'm afraid if i cut the area again, will it weaken my muscles and cause risk to my future babies?

Also, is it really necessary to remove it since it is not causing me any problems for now?

Anyone encountered such case before?

Anyone knows more or in depth of this issue?

Please share some advise and your experience.

Luv & blessings to everyone

Hi Arashzee,

How big is your cyst? Usually cysts are removed when they are bigger than 5cm.

My gynae did mention to me that if I were to get pregnant, it's possible to remove the cyst same time as a C-sect. But if you are uncomfortable with that option, then just leave the cyst alone (if it isn't giving you problems) and get it removed after your baby is born. However, if you decide to do that, make sure you have someone to care for your baby while you recover from the op.

Let us know how you are doing!

Hi sisters, I wan to ask if there is anyone here who has taken norethisterone to induce AF.

I had a D&C and waiting for my AF to report. I saw dr tan on fri and on sat morning I started with 2 pills of the med. then on sat late morning I start to spot. Been spotting till now. No full flow yet. Should I continue the med????

Appreciate replies.

Hi jieqi66,

Sorry to hear about the false preg and cyst relapse :(

I've an endo cyst too (abt 2cm) and am on birth control. So far the pills seem to be controlling the growth of my cyst.

I love chicken wings too. It's one of my favourite foods. I stopped eating chicken wings but not chicken. I still eat chicken but less often.

What are your plans for now? Will you be going for another lap?

I have never been pregnant before.
But these past few months, my periods have been getting more painful. The cramp was often accompanied with nauseous feelings. In fact, these last three months, I had been vomiting during the first day of my period. I researched online and most suggested that this period cramp could be caused by hormonal changes or most serious problems like endometriosis.

I went to GP and he said this menstrual period was common and could be lessened once I gave birth.
However, the intensity of the pain was getting stronger and I dreaded every time I had my period.

Am I being paranoid? or should I go and check with a gynae to see if it is caused by endometriosis or just the usual period pain?

Hi ms_silviana,

You are definitely not paranoid. You should see a gynae especially since the bad cramps started just a few months back. You may or may not be having endometriosis. However, only endometrial cysts show up on ultrasound. And even then, it's not 100%. If there is endo in other parts (e.g. intestines, bladder etc), a laparoscopy is the only way to confirm there's endometriosis.

Hi kittyminky,

I going to see pte and decide whether need lap again. Now is 3cm at right ovary. Hope dun need op lo. I almost every yr go for op liao from 2010. So now i focus on lose weight (90kg). Previously in 2006 i on birth control pill for 1 and a half yr then i lose 5kg then naturally convieve. So will try to lose weight again

Jiayou ok!!! Keep us updated.

Hi Arashzee,

How big is your cyst? Usually cysts are removed when they are bigger than 5cm.

My gynae did mention to me that if I were to get pregnant, it's possible to remove the cyst same time as a C-sect. But if you are uncomfortable with that option, then just leave the cyst alone (if it isn't giving you problems) and get it removed after your baby is born. However, if you decide to do that, make sure you have someone to care for your baby while you recover from the op.

Let us know how you are doing!

Hi KittyMinky,

Thank you for replying and am glad much that someone has responded to my post. I'm in week 25 now and doing good with god's grace. Thank you:)

Was diagnosed when I was in week 7, the cyst was 1cm and now the cyst has grown to 4.8cm. So far there's no pain or discomfort. I've planned to leave the cyst alone for now and will get it removed after I delivered my baby.

Hoping for the best and keep praying for now:)

My menses came like four days ago and I'm really glad I dun hv those symptoms like bloatedness, diarrhea or cramps caused by endometriosis. Other than a couple of zits I wasn't plagued by those symptoms. So endometriosis is really a bummer. I wish it is forever gone. Ladies, do get yourselves check if u are unsure. Beta to err on the safe side.

Hi jinnous,

I wish endo would be gone forever too!!! Unfortunately, it will be with us till we menopause :(

Hi ladies! I am 35yo and recently diagnosed with Deep Infiltrative Endometriosis and with very low ovarian reserve. Do anyone of you have very low ovarian reserve and did your the reserve increase after Laparoscopy? Thanks!

Jinnous : my menses pain come back after the 2nd month. Hmmhmm

Jieqi66 : lose weight is good for getting preggie. Mi oso trying to lose some too