(2014/10) Oct 2014 Mummies

Is taking care by your MIL the only choice out? think if things is to turn out sour, do you have another alternative? Ultimately you are the mom and have the say...fight for your kid.
Your nephew 4yo and not in childcare?

he in school but come back in the afternoon, so from afternoon till evening is the danger time. i think i will let my MIL know when the time is right regarding about my worries.
this nephew keep asking where is my baby and when can he see "it" thanks to his mummy who announce it even though he is just a 4 yr old i don understand why must tell the kids that time when i was still 5 months preggy. i tried to protect my pregnancy don let unnecessary pple know.. why she go and tell a small kid who dont understand anything and now ask me why i so fat and stuff. sorry but i really no patient on kids. in fact, whenever he see me once he asked, it makes me scared actually. i wonder is that an innocent qn from a kid or is there an agenda to start to discover a baby and try weird things on him.

Yes, I'm having the same problems too starting from 34 weeks till now. Tummy tightening (not that bad), pelvis area pain (but now slightly better, on & off) & every time I turn when I sleep, I do feel pain. I have to move very slow to turn another side which this cause me more awake. So, whole night can't sleep well at all.

If your pelvis pain getting worst, I would advise to get enough rest on bed. Stand up slowly when sitting on sofa/ chair. Every movement have to be very slow & this may helps to reduce the pelvis pain. I find this works on me. According to my gynae, pelvis pain is very common esp at our last trimester now.

mommies, you all not alone, same symptoms exactly.. get up from the bed or from sofa stand a while before start walking. at night also extremely difficult to turn. got heart burn and tummy so heavy cannot toss and turn as i like. it is like i go toilet lie back to bed, have to aim for the right spot then "piak" on the mattress correctly with neck fitting on the pillow. i cannot lie down then adjust accordingly it takes quite some effort. if take effort, i find it harder to fall back to sleep so must aim for right spot so that i piak at the "perfect position" to fit my pillow and side sleep pillow and not move anymore to get back to bed.

LOLX.

If baby moving a lot or not so much contraction then should not be so fast la I think. Haha.

Sian woke up to both my legs cramping!!! Hahaa. :(

Anyone experience any nerve pain ard your ribs (like under the boobs)? I have been getting them. :( baby is in a position that's hitting my nerve that's why I get it. Can be quite painful. :'(

I'm like wishing for October to come soon so my last month won't be so 辛苦 for me!!
Im experiencing pain under my ribs.. esp after lying on my left too long. N yesterday my LO kick me till my left breast shakes....

Mommies, i have a friend's baby shower to attend this end Sept but i am thinking is there any 'pan tang' to attend other people's baby showers.
i not sure want to go or not. Heard before cannot carry the baby but can attend, is that true?

what will you mommies do if you all also receive invitation?
I attended baby showers but i didnt carry the baby.

he in school but come back in the afternoon, so from afternoon till evening is the danger time. i think i will let my MIL know when the time is right regarding about my worries.
this nephew keep asking where is my baby and when can he see "it" thanks to his mummy who announce it even though he is just a 4 yr old i don understand why must tell the kids that time when i was still 5 months preggy. i tried to protect my pregnancy don let unnecessary pple know.. why she go and tell a small kid who dont understand anything and now ask me why i so fat and stuff. sorry but i really no patient on kids. in fact, whenever he see me once he asked, it makes me scared actually. i wonder is that an innocent qn from a kid or is there an agenda to start to discover a baby and try weird things on him.

Actually if you see the other side of it good that kid knows your are preggers then can tell him to be careful when around you. But then have to depend on how the parents teach the kid also.

Anyway every family have different set of dynamics. Just do what you can as a mother to protect your own kid. Other people's kid we can't complain too much also. Cos we are not the parents. But if endanger your own kid must raise up the issues. Don't just keep quiet. Better for hubby to talk to his mum and sister also. For now you just relax and don't worry unnecessarily. You still have 4mths maternity to look after your bb and test water.

Congrats mama Joanne! Hope mummy and baby are both healthy. I just got back from my week long "holiday" back at my own home so missed out quite a lot. I'm at 36 weeks now. Next check up is on coming Tuesday. I'm at 90kg now. So scary. I put on 25kg already >.<" gonna have a hard time slimming down after delivery. @verine22 how's your baby doing? Hope everything is in order. I haven't pack my bag yet but think I'm gonna start doing so these few days. And still need to make space in the room for the baby bed and start washing baby clothes. So many things to do but feel like time is limited.

I have been having trouble turning in bed, getting up from lying down or sitting position since 1-2 mths ago and now it's worse. Think I put on too much weight le :( hope baby is not too big. Think dr Adrian also won't care la if baby is too big. Haha. He'd be happy to perform c sect.

don't eat bread. cfm readings will be high. U can eat instant oats for breakfast. That's what I do and reading less than 5.
@hanachiaki,
Do u mean u totally stop bread? Not even wholemeal bread or multi grain bread?
Now i eating 1 slice wholemeal bread+half slice reduced fat cheese/ham+lettuce for breakfast....

I also very puzzled cos the dietician say can put green veg and cucumber to the bread will be good... but i also heard people say preggy lady not suppose to eat raw veg. somemore cucumber.i tot its cooling somemore...

Bunnyhorse

How high is your bp? Mine was high at 140/90 last reading and I went for a blood test for preemclampsia

Me im used to be 55 now im 76kilo!!!!! Huhuhuhuhu,my blood is low also... I will have my weekly check up on wed! By wed i will be 38 weeks/3 days

Wow.. I'm 34weeks today and I can't wait to see my baby! I'm so excited but so afraid at the same time! I get this hard tummy feeling whenever I'm in certain position or when I hold my pee for a while.. Is that Braxton hicks? I'm already feeling like a walking planet, not sure how to shop at the Baby Fair in Oct!

Oh, and any mummies living at the North area.. Was thinking of creating a group.. So our babies can make friends in future when they're popped and older!

@hanachiaki,
Do u mean u totally stop bread? Not even wholemeal bread or multi grain bread?
Now i eating 1 slice wholemeal bread+half slice reduced fat cheese/ham+lettuce for breakfast....

I also very puzzled cos the dietician say can put green veg and cucumber to the bread will be good... but i also heard people say preggy lady not suppose to eat raw veg. somemore cucumber.i tot its cooling somemore...

Kitty. Think u should look at ur glucose level after that 1 slice of bread. The key idea is not to let ur glucose level spike. You still need carbs for energy. My dietician then (when I had gestational diabetes) didn't ask me to cut carbo totally. But did suggest to reduce potion for each intake but eat more regularly; instead of 3 meals a day, take smaller portion each time but eat 5-6 times a day. Hope this helps.

For me I tried to eat cereal instead of bread for breakfast. But not those flavored cereal. Try weet-bix with nuts. V filling. But low in sugar. Takes awhile to get used to the taste. Cos v plain. So must out nuts.

ImageUploadedByForum1410731506.933582.jpg

I know it can be quite stressful to think about what to eat. Been through it before. Persevere ya? All for baby!

@silentlove, wow u really gain alot.. but yea dr adrain doesnt bother much as long as bb is healthy.. totally agree he is more than happy to just perforn c sect.. haha!
Im good.. thanks.. tml will be week36 le.. feel bb getting really heavy, get tired super easily, and tummy hardening more often, and hard to turn around in bed.. all the symptom we should be feeling by now.. haha..
You gonna be careful when getting out off bed, have to find the right way, if not u will hurt ur back more..

Congrats mama Joanne! Hope mummy and baby are both healthy. I just got back from my week long "holiday" back at my own home so missed out quite a lot. I'm at 36 weeks now. Next check up is on coming Tuesday. I'm at 90kg now. So scary. I put on 25kg already >.<" gonna have a hard time slimming down after delivery. @verine22 how's your baby doing? Hope everything is in order. I haven't pack my bag yet but think I'm gonna start doing so these few days. And still need to make space in the room for the baby bed and start washing baby clothes. So many things to do but feel like time is limited.

I have been having trouble turning in bed, getting up from lying down or sitting position since 1-2 mths ago and now it's worse. Think I put on too much weight le :( hope baby is not too big. Think dr Adrian also won't care la if baby is too big. Haha. He'd be happy to perform c sect.
Hihi..thx! I was busy with my kids and baby. Still trying to adapt. Baby was admitted 2 more days due to jaundice level high. Thus he was home jus 2 days ago. Today going to baby clinic mt alvenia for review. Its not easy to handle my girl who is 2yr plus. She now want our attention and must really watch her. Lucky my mum help me cook and bath baby. If not I sure very lost. ;))

Anyone here using post natal massage or going to wear any binder/girdle after birth?

Haha. I also gaining weight. Before preg was 55-56kg. :( now I gg to hit 70kg! Hahahha. Zzzzzz.

Hving more braxton hick these days!! 34 weeks now. Next check up is next week!

A lot of mummy seeing Dr Adrian ah? He's from TMC is it? Good gynae? I'm see Dr Kang Wee from Mt Alv.

Morning Mommies.

@beac, i'm going for post natal massage. i suppose that will be provided by the masseue.
*high 5* my next checkup is next week too. guess we are of the same weeks. Can't wait to see how much my bb has grown. The last i went is only 1.9kg.

Beside hospi bag, i need to go buy the ingredients for the red date drink. i like that drink. .. the rest of the herbs for the confinement cooking, i suppose will leave it to the CL to tell us what to buy.

@beac, if i not wrong, only me, silentlove and purple (if i didnt rem wrongly) are seeing him.. yea he from TMC.. he is quite good actually just that he is a dr with no much words.. frankly he feels only cares about baby development.. so he dont check on ur weight etc.. he is quite famous for his csect.. but what i like is consultation very fast.. no need to wait too long..

Hihi..thx! I was busy with my kids and baby. Still trying to adapt. Baby was admitted 2 more days due to jaundice level high. Thus he was home jus 2 days ago. Today going to baby clinic mt alvenia for review. Its not easy to handle my girl who is 2yr plus. She now want our attention and must really watch her. Lucky my mum help me cook and bath baby. If not I sure very lost. ;))

mama joanne, dont worry. Jaundice very common among kids now. U bf-ing? they say shd stay out of ginger if you are.
you yourself must have plenty of rest. No choice, tell your mom to be "xin-ku" for these 1 month till you are out of confinement then treat her to a nice meal.

@leoclub my massage is 10days. After that I plan to wear my own binder. Hopefully I can fit. Idk if I bought a size too small. Hahahahahha.

@verniee oh I see i see. :)

Anyone still working? Everyday I feel so tired and heavy. Walk downstairs to eat already like so slow and heavy. Then SG's weather so unforgiving! So hot, makes me feel weaker and dizzy.
Can't wait for baby to pop next month!!

Anyone gg for baby market fair in Oct? :)

i am still working lor.. dragging myself to work everyday. Cannot do without aircon. Hardly eat in non aircon places now. The smell & heat is making me feel worse.

oo.. i intend to hit the gym after confinement. so not intending to buy binder.

BTW, any mommies know around how much weight will we shed straight after birth? how heavy is the placenta / waterbag ?

Im still working too... weekend slp from 10pm to 11am.. shiok... drag to work too.. still have at 3-4 weeks to go.. yawn!

I haven book the malay massage lady.. any intro and when can i start then massage?? I heard is 6 weeks after birth right?

@leoclub my massage is 10days. After that I plan to wear my own binder. Hopefully I can fit. Idk if I bought a size too small. Hahahahahha.

Anyone still working? Everyday I feel so tired and heavy. Walk downstairs to eat already like so slow and heavy. Then SG's weather so unforgiving! So hot, makes me feel weaker and dizzy.

@beac

i'm still working, current 34weeks. struggling to wake up every morning & also hard to walk. baby sitting on my nerves, my left butt & leg aching.

hope bb can come out faster

hi hi, i hv been having serious heartburn, breathless oso coz had been coughing for 1 mth...:(
anyone can help to advise how to reduce the heartburn? i cant sleep at nite, keep on waking up coughing and throw lots of phlegm n heartburn until my chest very2 painful...:(
when i at air-cond place, my cough will come non-stop...

hi hi, i hv been having serious heartburn, breathless oso coz had been coughing for 1 mth...:(
anyone can help to advise how to reduce the heartburn? i cant sleep at nite, keep on waking up coughing and throw lots of phlegm n heartburn until my chest very2 painful...:(

You can actually take off the counter gaviscon! But I try my best to avoid it, im taking earthmama heart burn organic tea, it does helps abit but if your heartburn is very bad it may not go away too easily.

@beac

i'm still working, current 34weeks. struggling to wake up every morning & also hard to walk. baby sitting on my nerves, my left butt & leg aching.

hope bb can come out faster

I'm same as you 34 weeks. Baby pressing on my nerves, affecting my upper ribs area. zzzzzzz I hope by 37-38 weeks baby pop out lol!!

Im still working too... weekend slp from 10pm to 11am.. shiok... drag to work too.. still have at 3-4 weeks to go.. yawn!

I haven book the malay massage lady.. any intro and when can i start then massage?? I heard is 6 weeks after birth right?

I think c-sec is 3 weeks. Natural is 3-4 days then can massage already. :)

i am still working lor.. dragging myself to work everyday. Cannot do without aircon. Hardly eat in non aircon places now. The smell & heat is making me feel worse.

oo.. i intend to hit the gym after confinement. so not intending to buy binder.

BTW, any mommies know around how much weight will we shed straight after birth? how heavy is the placenta / waterbag ?

I saw this online:

By the time you reach your due date, just over a third of your extra weight will come from your baby, the placenta and amniotic fluid. Here are some averages:
  • At birth, a baby weighs about 3.3kg (7.3lb).
  • The placenta, which keeps your baby nourished, weighs 0.7kg (1.5lb).
  • The amniotic fluid, which supports and cushions your baby, weighs 0.8kg (1.8lb).

The other two thirds of extra weight is due to the changes that happen to your body while you're pregnant. On average:
  • The muscle layer of your uterus (womb) grows dramatically, and weighs an extra 0.9kg (2lb).
  • Your blood volume increases, and weighs an extra 1.2kg (2.6lb).
  • You have extra fluid in your body, weighing about 1.2kg (2.6lb).
  • Your breasts weigh an extra 0.4kg (0.9lb).
  • You store fat, about 4kg (8.8lb), to give you energy for breastfeeding.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/a554810/weight-gain-in-pregnancy#ixzz3DMY8mohO

I saw this online:

By the time you reach your due date, just over a third of your extra weight will come from your baby, the placenta and amniotic fluid. Here are some averages:
  • The amniotic fluid, which supports and cushions your baby, weighs 0.8kg (1.8lb).

The other two thirds of extra weight is due to the changes that happen to your body while you're pregnant. On average:
  • The muscle layer of your uterus (womb) grows dramatically, and weighs an extra 0.9kg (2lb).

Wah.. but i only gain abt 6 - 8kg wor...

M going to bb market fair in october.hopefully by ds week or next week i pop out already.then can go to the market fair hehehehehe! Just let my son stay wd my mom n d house coz still very small hahahahahah!!!

@hanachiaki

I took multi grain bread which recommended by the diabetic specialist...oat cannot b instant must be raw oat...
yesterday when gynae check up for wk36, bb oledi 3.3 kg...gynae said probably he need to induce me on next 2 wks...
so kan chiong n stress coz many things not prepare yet....bb clothes not wash yet, my hospital bag not pack yet, etc...:(
besides that next Mon need c d diabetic specialist, if reading not go down, need on daily inject insulin...

Hope that ur check up went well today. Washing clothes and packing hospital bag can be done within a day time ba. Baby clothes just wash those more impt ones first. :)

i am facing similar issue as you about 2 months ago. GP didnt dare to prescribe stronger medicine for me. Gynae in the end gave me anti-biotics and i recovered after finishing the antibiotics.

I saw this online:

Thanks @beac for the info. Seems like several area attributes to the weight gain. i definitely wont mind keeping the 0.4kg gained for the boobs. The rest can all go.. :)

@beac , the info pretty accurate on weight! Cos I had a hard time shed my last few kg last round! After calculation, i shld b having difficulties with this extra 4kg to shed.

I'd gained nearly 16kg and will be c-sec this Sunday.

Compare to @lervia that's a lot more weight gained but compare to @silentlove , @Vivian88 , @Rhonna ..etc.. it's still much lesser..

On essential oil. Not too sure for labour but read grapefruit oil great for cellulite. Any advice? Or you ladies find that post-natal massage is good enough??

My cellulite very disgusting.. so many lumpy lumpy fats around my thighs, arms and neck... help pls!!

@agaga, so exciting. this sun can see your bb liao..
i don't think post natal massage can get rid of cellulite lor unless you constantly go back for wraps and massage.
i believe mine will be like no. 1, fats and lumpy orange skin around the tummy!

@beac, if i not wrong, only me, silentlove and purple (if i didnt rem wrongly) are seeing him.. yea he from TMC.. he is quite good actually just that he is a dr with no much words.. frankly he feels only cares about baby development.. so he dont check on ur weight etc.. he is quite famous for his csect.. but what i like is consultation very fast.. no need to wait too long..
Yup currently the 3 of us seeing adrian. Tml is my appt with him.
Any idea TMC will provide what item in the hospital room so that i wont have to bring it.
@verine22 have the nurse give u form to fill for the hospital stay? Just wonder if adrian will free upgrade from 4 to 2 bedded.

Yup currently the 3 of us seeing adrian. Tml is my appt with him.
Any idea TMC will provide what item in the hospital room so that i wont have to bring it.
@verine22 have the nurse give u form to fill for the hospital stay? Just wonder if adrian will free upgrade from 4 to 2 bedded.
I'm seeing dr. adrian too. 2molo is my appointment with him as well. i chose ma. not sure what is his respond.

@agaga I put on 8-9 kg so far. I dont know much on how grape seed oil leh so i cant help you there.
I only know I'm gg to try to use essential oils during my labour to help me cope and hopefully reduce pain and all.

@purple_luv My sis gave birth at TMC, I think the room will have basic toiletries and maternity pad - the usuals? go for their maternity tour ah! sure have freebies. hehehe.

@leocub haha, yeah i think we all wont mind the extra boobs ;)

@Rhonna I also plan to go for the Oct baby market fair! Have to collect my pre-orders as well and stock up for the baby. hehe