Urinary tract infection + MCU

Ya I did mention to her and her reply is yes it difficult to ask bb to fast ... Fullstop! I wonder did she get the facts right!

this is what I read fr the article, so fasting is needed if only Nitrous oxide given but my gal is less than 18mths so it doesn't apply on her. Maybe they gonna sedate her therefore need to fast.

If children are expected to become very distressed, some units administer nitrous oxide during the test. This can be given to children older than 18 months, but needs to be organised on booking, and requires a four-hour fast.

does anyone hv the contacts for the thomson chinese physician who has seen a lot of baby w reflux condition?

pls PM me. thanks a lot.

Hi mummies,my 1mth old bb was down with slight fever 37.6 and was admitted to NUH(no fever after the 1st antibiotic was inserted),he was diagnosed with UTI (e-coli was found in urine),after 4days in hospital,he was discharge(2nd urine culture is clear) and was on oral antibiotic for 7days.Now doc schedule my bb for MCU and DMSA on tis coming monday.Is it a must to do both test together or juz wait for the MCU result 1st before doing DMSA?Or should I seek for 2nd opinion in pte hospital?Cos its heart breaking to see him suffering and do 2 tests in 1 day.

hi shuyan, i don't think it is a 'must' to do both MCU & DMSA on same day. For my case, the PD only advised to do DMSA after the MCU showed that my son had urine reflux.

But not to worry, the tests actually do not hurt so your bb is not suffering. MCU may be uncomfy cos it is invasive. DMSA may require putting a plug in bb's hand or foot, but the actual x-ray is just the bb lying under a machine.

At his young age, if he can take the sedation med, he'll prob just sleep thru it.

I can't remember the cost of MCU at glen E - think it was at least $300+

My 12 mth old boy was dianosed w reflux grade 1 early his yr n was adviced to take cephalexin for the nxt 2 yrs. We stopped giving him the antibiotics abt 1 mth ago n turned to tcm.

I noticed tt some of u here whose child's reflux downgraded to grade 1 mentioned tt ur pd had told u to take ur child off the antibiotics. I'm thinking if my boy's condition is only grade 1, why is he put on antibiotics too.

My boy is hving a fever now. So afraid tt it's uti. Did a urine test yesterday n luckily it's not. He has a flu n sore throat. Phew!!

Told doc tt i hv stopped giving him antibiotics. He said ok. Just b more observant n bring his urine for test if we find tt he is lethargic, feeding poorly or dun look or behave "normally". Even if there's no fever.

Mission,
i think u mentioned tt we can buy the urine test strips fr guardian to test for uti? Issit accurate? Do u mean tt we can use these strips to do a preliminary test on our own b4 gg to PD for further tests?

We currently send the urine sample to radlink at paragon for the test n they'll send to my PD for our consultation. If i'm not wrong, there r 2 parts to the urine test. 1 tt can b out in hours n another tt will take 2-3 days. Anyone knows wat these 2 parts r abt?

PD said tt no further MCU or scans will b done for my boy's reflux as by right he shld take antibiotics till 2 yrs old. N it is assumed it'll b healed by then. Any comments?

I'm just worried tt the tcm is not effective n my boy will hv uti without a fever, n unknowingly harm his kidneys. Will it help if i periodically use the above mentioned urine strips to test for uti?

Hope anyone can help. Thanks.

Btw, just to add,

i dun understand why some of u were advised to give antibiotics for 3 mths b4 doing the scan n mcu. My PD sent us for the scan n MCU at the soonest possible time, in case it wasnt reflux.

Fyi only, u can call kk to request for the urine test results after a couple of days, instead of waiting for 1-2 weeks.

first born,my bb was on oral antibiotic for 7 days,last dose was on last sunday.Then he ll be doing his MCU coming monday.Doc ask me to feed him the antibiotic 1 day before the MCU in case of infection

During the 4days stay in hospital doc did the ultrasound of kidneys for him,and the result is normal.So is it safe for me jus to do the MCU 1st before we decide to do the DMSA?By the way,my bb penis is so small how to do the MCU?

My son had UTI before he turned one month old.. after 7 days of antibiotics he was ok. every few months his urine is tested and its ok but the PD suggest for him to go MCU and DMSA. but he only got UTI once . I am so worried as it is invasive and can make it cry .. haiz..now he is 7 mth old and jus last month his urine test was ok.

Jo,I had the same problem too.After 7 days of antibiotics he is ok.But doc ask him to go for MCU and DMSA this coming monday.Dunno to go or not to go.

To first_born : I heard about those urine test strips but have not tried before on my own. When my boy was younger, if he has fever, I will bring him to clinic anyway, so will do the test there. Hmm, I'm not sure about the 2 parts of the urine test...

I don't think a child can have UTI for prolonged period with no symptoms - so not to worry lah. If your child is well and running around, then he's ok. If he has uti, then he'll be tired, have problem passing urine and the urine is smelly / looks cloudy...

Jo, I'm not sure - you'll have to check with the nurses. For MCU, my boy was 5 months old & was sedated. For DMSA, he was around 8 months old & the nurse said better not to sedate him.

Anyway, not to worry, the bb may cry but it does not harm him. babies will forget easily when it's all over.

Jo,my bb is 6weeks old.Doc told me he ll be sedated when he go for the DMSA,but not the MCU.

Mission,after the 1st epidose of UTI,my bb is well,drinking well,slping well,urine oso ok.Even when he is hospitalize he oso drinks well n urine oso ok.So do u think I should go for both the test?Tmr I'll bring my bb to gleneagle to seek 2nd opinion from Dr William Yip.But if need to do the test I'll still go back to NUH,cos I'm a staff there so can claim.

Shuyan,

my pd nvr menioned abt dmsa to me b4. But if i were u, i'll do the mcu first. If there's reflux, then do the dmsa. If there's no reflux, then the kidney won't b scarred right, so no need dmsa liao. Correct me if i'm wrong. But then, even after the mcu showed tt my boy has reflux, my doc also didnt mention dmsa. Maybe bcos he's grade 1 n 1st time uti. The xray film fr mcu showed the degree which the urine flowed up. It's looks like not a lot, so maybe my pd felt there's no need for further tests.

Mission,
now tt u mention. I just remember tt ya lah, since child has fever sure go c doc mah, then can do urine test there mah. Question is... If i go to normal GP to do urine test, will know whether hv uti straight away?

Jo, if i remember correctly, my boy was abt 8mths old when he underwent mcu. No sedation. Radlink only allowed 1 parent to accompany the baby n i volunteered
my husband. I'm so glad i wasnt in there. By the way my hubby described the process to me, my tears nearly flowed. He had to pin my boy down while he scream n they insert whatver it is.

But i dun think my boy remembers anything lah.

firstborn, if my boy has fever with no other symptoms, then i will do urine dip test at GP. if it shows that there is infection, then will do urine culture test lor. But if the child has fever with other symptoms like cough, running nose, then likelihood, it's common virus so should not be due to UTI.

Jo, I went to GP today,then after he see all the reports tat my bb had during the stay in hospital,then he ask us to bring bb for MCU 1st,then see report liao then decide whether need to do DMSA or not.Cos he suggest do 1 step at 1 time instead of do 2 tests in 1 day.

Good luck shuyan.

Fyi, urine culture test came out the other day. Showed tt there's actually e coli in my boy's urine. However the initial urine test was normal.

My son did the MCU tis morning,he did not have any reflux,so I opt out for the DMSA.But PD says its better to do DMSA to check if there is any scarring damage by the previous UTI,so but we decided not to do it.Is it right abt my decision?

hi shuyan, great that your son does not have any reflux!
i also think there's no need to do DMSA. maybe you can ask your PD why he thinks there's need to check for scarring. if no reflux, means the urine did not backflow to kidney so no risk of scarring??

For your son, you may considering pulling back foreskin to clean daily with water. this may prevent future UTI episodes.

Mission,PD say previous UTI might cause the kidney to have scarring,but its might only,so end up we decided not to do the DMSA today.Now whenever we change his diaper,we ll use the wet cloth to wipe n pull the foreskin to clean it.

hi shuyan

I also think that your son need not do DMSA when there is no reflux. Even if there is scarring caused by the previous UTI, there is nothing the PD can do about it. Scarring to kidney is irreversible. Besides, doing DMSA subjects your son to radiation.

However, having said that, I also agree with Mission that you should ask your PD why he wants to check for scarring.

mico,PD 1 UTI might cause the kidneys to have scarring,so PD suggest my bb to do DMSA to check on it.But we decided not to do it,cos if the previous UTI had cause scarring on it,the PD oso can't do anything.So no point to let my bb pain again.Just pray tat he wun get UTI again.

My 2nd boy who is 4 months old now has been diagnosed with reflux grade 2 as told by the radiologist.

DOes any mums out here knows whether our other childs (with no UTI history) need to be tested for reflux too as their siblings has got it?

Thanks for any one who can answer my question here

My poor bb admitted for UTI for the 2nd time again although he doesn't have any reflux.Now PD say must go for the DMSA to check if it's upper tract problem n repeat the MCU to check for reflux again.

hi there... my 4yo son has had uti in May 10 and the recent Aug 10. 1st time was high fever wo any reason. recent was high fever too wif flu and slight cough but no sorethroat.

family doc suggested to go for ultrascan since the recurrence is quite close (3mths).

my hubi brought my son to nuh yest. and did the ultrascan. tho' ultrascan result is gd but doc recommended MCU to check for reflux. we are stil considering.

so far i noticed most kids here who kana are v.young bb. my son is already coming 5 in Oct 10 so am wondering does that make the possibility lower.

Can any1 tell me does MCU subject the kid to radiation too?

i brought my daughter to MCU last sat adn she was diagnosed with grade 3 reflux for 1 side of kidney seeing kidney specialist tmr... does any of u have such experiences? thanks will she need to be on long term medication or corective surgery?

Hi roxy,

My now 7 mths old boy was diagnosed with grade 2 reflux on one side abt 3 mths ago. We went to see the specialist and was told that he doesn't need long term low dose anti-biotics unless he got UTI again.

I am living in aust so am not sure whether the practice are the same or not. And I guess also depends on the grade too.

Hi roxy, my boy did mcu but there was no reflux, since He had 2 episode of UTI one when he was 1 mth n 2nd time he was 4 mth old,so pd suggest to put him in oral antibiotic for 6 mth.

Any mummis here that ur bb did mcu at Kk? Will ur bb scream n cry terribly during the insertion of the plastic tube? Thx....

My Boy had urinal reflux and the PD suggest circumsize him so as to reduce bacteria infection. Any way how do you clean the BB penis? the nurse told me pull down the forskin, I try but the foreskin is intact with the penis. I dont dare to pull further, scare will hurt the Baby. Anyway can recommend your PD to me so that I can get a 2nd opinion

hi all, my boy has grade 2 - 3 reflux on both kidneys. My PD recommended circumcision to prevent future UTIs.. we're not sure if it is really necessary and are afraid of putting through my boy (now 17 months) through the procedure..

Anyone has thoughts or experiences to share?
Thanks much!

Has anyone gone through surgery to correct the reflux? We are going for specialist consultation this week and there is a high possibility of surgery.
My boy is now 3 yrs old and just went through MCU (which is a nightmare) which we were told of the reflux.

If there is no reflux, it shouldn't have any negative impact on the kidneys rite?
What did your pd suggest?

Hi bakaholic, the PD suggest doing DMSA. Jus to see whether got any scarring on the kidney. But the funny tin is even got scarring also cannot do anytin. Then I m tinkling what for to check.

Hi Sunbelle,
Why would your PD think there will be scarring since there is no reflux? I am quite puzzled.

bakaholic, coz my gal got 3 times of UTI. So She worried that got scars. Still tinking cos dun wan to put gal in the trauma.

My son went thr MCU to confirm the reflux then he had the dmsa. I am not sure how does scarring occur if there is no reflux.
Anyway, the dmsa is done under sedation and my son slept through without much issue.
In fact, the MCU was the most traumatising episode ever. He couldn't really be heavily sedated as he needs to pee out the dye at the end so he was screaming and crying when they insert the catheter and inject the dye. We had to pin him down.

BB experienced UTI in Nov 2014. Did Kidney ultrasound @ KKH scan today and everything is normal.

Specialists advised go for DMSA scan and explained it is KKH protocol for patients to go for DMSA over MCU, reason being MCU is invasive. If DMSA test is clean, there is no need to undergo MCU.

Goal of DMSA is to check if the UTI has scarred on BB's liver.