There is a huge difference in terms of ingredients. Those johnson and kodomo products contain chemicals such as Sodium Laureth Sulphate(SLS), formadelyde, fragrance and all sorts of chemicals which are said to be carcinogenic. It may cause adverse reactions such as dermatitis, cancer or even developmental issues to some people. But the debate remains controversial. There is currently insufficient scientific evidence to support this fact. So to play safe many parents switch to all natural products free from these chemicals. But johnson did make a pledge to remove all these chemicals in their products in the near future.

My girl had unknown rashes ever since she was a baby. I was using kodomo for her at that time. The rash eventually led to eczema when she had a seafood allergy at two years old. So i made the switch to California Baby and her rash was gone from then on! My boy used sebamed from birth but he also developed eczema at three months old. I made the switch to Gaia baby products and his skin was normal ever since. So we still stick to Gaia even though they are quite big already.

It's a personal choice i guess! If baby seems fine with johnson and mummy doesn't feel affected by all the news then no harm to continue using. If they are really proven to be harmful then i am sure our government wouldn't allow those products to be on sale anymore.

Nods.... Thanks for sharing. :) Because these SLS-free products are very expensive, and it's a daily usage product, so buying these vs buying the generic brands will add up to quite a bit... I will do some more research!

I noticed one of the Pigeon range is actually Sulphates free...

Yes! But many maternity pants come with elastic for wearing over the tummy. They are so uncomfy! Wish there were more designs for wearing under the tummy.

Old Navy and Asos have those leggings and pants for wearing under the tummy...

I am not big enough to decide which option I prefer, but then wear under the tummy the elastic may bite into the skin too right :p

Yes! But many maternity pants come with elastic for wearing over the tummy. They are so uncomfy! Wish there were more designs for wearing under the tummy.

yalor.. duno why those are cover tummy..

but i saw at JEM that day (cant remember the name) i saw the the elastic band isnt that high, looks like low waist to me.

Anyway for mummies who are nt plus sized can get plus sized clothing for maternity, then donate to plus sized friend after that lol even cheaper than buying maternity wear....

Can I ask something? I notice nowadays there is a tendency to use these brands like Mustela, Gaia, California Baby etc. What's the appeal or these brands vs the good ol' Johnson, Kodomo etc???
i started with johnson for my boy ..but eczema kept coming back so i upgrade to california so called natural / organic ..good for sensitive skin ..better but not prefect and so last resort go see PD Dermologist ... and he recommend change to cetaphil ( not the normal one which is sold in watson) which is only available at PD clinic or specialised pharmacy ..and wah lah... prefect for my boy skin ...
for princess i am thinking to start with pigeon ...cos boy boy's foam cannot be used on infant and need to ship from usa ..abit shiong also :p

Nods.... Thanks for sharing. :) Because these SLS-free products are very expensive, and it's a daily usage product, so buying these vs buying the generic brands will add up to quite a bit... I will do some more research!

I noticed one of the Pigeon range is actually Sulphates free...

You're welcome! It really boils down to personal preference at the end of the day. I know of many hubbies who like to say "last time all of us use johnson and johnson, we also never die from it, why spend so much on buying organic/natural/SLS free products!". Haha.. Mine is one of them!!

Recently many more brands are actually changing their formulation to become SLS/parabens free. So it's becoming more affordable. In the past mustela was not, today it is! Another alternative is to buy from www.iherb.com, especially mummies who wish to purchase Earth Mama Angel Baby products. Way cheaper than buying in sg.

Old Navy and Asos have those leggings and pants for wearing under the tummy...

I am not big enough to decide which option I prefer, but then wear under the tummy the elastic may bite into the skin too right :p

So far it has been comfy for me even at full term. I try to get better leggings which are more soft and stretchy. Haha

i started with johnson for my boy ..but eczema kept coming back so i upgrade to california so called natural / organic ..good for sensitive skin ..better but not prefect and so last resort go see PD Dermologist ... and he recommend change to cetaphil ( not the normal one which is sold in watson) which is only available at PD clinic or specialised pharmacy ..and wah lah... prefect for my boy skin ...
for princess i am thinking to start with pigeon ...cos boy boy's foam cannot be used on infant and need to ship from usa ..abit shiong also :p

Sounds very very expensive!! :p

The new pigeon sakura range is not bad. Foams well and smells good.

Actually the amount i spend on california baby or gaia is quite insignificant. My 500ml bottle that costs S$38.90 can last about six months! That's like $6+ per month? Recently i switched my girl's shower gel to Human Nature shampoo and bodywash 500ml bottle which costs S$16.90 only. Can check out that brand too. Not bad!

Can I ask something? I notice nowadays there is a tendency to use these brands like Mustela, Gaia, California Baby etc. What's the appeal or these brands vs the good ol' Johnson, Kodomo etc???

Well these brands are supposed to use less harsh ingredients in their products... hence the premium... I let my ger use good ol Johnson, Kodomo. pigeon and Pureen... but unless your kiddo has eczema, its quite ok to use these baby brands... but i stop short at using house brand baby pdts

Sounds very very expensive!! :p

The new pigeon sakura range is not bad. Foams well and smells good.
what sound expensive ? the foam ? if buy in singapore lagi expensive ...one bottle cost S$35 but if ship from usa ..one bottle before shipping cost only US$13 ...cos this foam usually go with it own moisturizer so i will buy half dozen each ... overall cost still cheap lah
izzt i din test on the new range :D but guess cant be wrong bah :D

Actually the amount i spend on california baby or gaia is quite insignificant. My 500ml bottle that costs S$38.90 can last about six months! That's like $6+ per month? Recently i switched my girl's shower gel to Human Nature shampoo and bodywash 500ml bottle which costs S$16.90 only. Can check out that brand too. Not bad!
where u buy so cheap ? http://www.agapebabies.com/agapebabies/bath-and-baby-care/bath-skin-care/hair-body-wash.html i used to buy from them ... ready stock here

what sound expensive ? the foam ? if buy in singapore lagi expensive ...one bottle cost S$35 but if ship from usa ..one bottle before shipping cost only US$13 ...cos this foam usually go with it own moisturizer so i will buy half dozen each ... overall cost still cheap lah
izzt i din test on the new range :D but guess cant be wrong bah :D

The foam that you have to ship from USA. Ok! Now that sounds cheaper. But why so expensive in sg!! Everything here is expensive! :D

Hey by the way did any of u sign up for the Thomson FBI/sbi card? Did the insurance agent called to meet up with you because there was this free 6mths coverage and the agent called to said to meet up

I was wondering why is there a need since it's free and I won't be continuing after that.. And that person just said some parents don't want it.. So not sure if any of u actually met up with any agent from them

The foam that you have to ship from USA. Ok! Now that sounds cheaper. But why so expensive in sg!! Everything is expensive! :D
no idea leh ... maybe because only specialised pharmacy in hospital and PD clinic sell so must be atas abit and more exp lor :D

You're welcome! It really boils down to personal preference at the end of the day. I know of many hubbies who like to say "last time all of us use johnson and johnson, we also never die from it, why spend so much on buying organic/natural/SLS free products!". Haha.. Mine is one of them!!

Recently many more brands are actually changing their formulation to become SLS/parabens free. So it's becoming more affordable. In the past mustela was not, today it is! Another alternative is to buy from www.iherb.com, especially mummies who wish to purchase Earth Mama Angel Baby products. Way cheaper than buying in sg.

I bot Earth Mama Angel Baby bottom balm ... very good... smell much nicer than the desitin

I bought that too. And the bottom spray and nipple butter. Smells good and moisturises well. Desitin creamy is still bearable. Desitin original stinks!! The cod liver oil smell will stay on my fingers for the entire day. :p

Hey by the way did any of u sign up for the Thomson FBI/sbi card? Did the insurance agent called to meet up with you because there was this free 6mths coverage and the agent called to said to meet up

I was wondering why is there a need since it's free and I won't be continuing after that.. And that person just said some parents don't want it.. So not sure if any of u actually met up with any agent from them

yes, I got a call within the wk I sign. and it happen to be the same agent when I gave birth to my elder son 2yrs back when I apply the FBI.

I signed up for FBI card, but when they ask me to fill in the form, all the forms, I never tick for consent for them to contact me for any marketing etc etc stuff. Some I left out phone number, so that they cannot call me. :p

I just collected the goodies bag yest and the recep asked me to fill up few forms. Agent haven't call me but I don't think I would want to meet up. I'm so scared of those sales talk.

*whistle whistle* that is cool... its pole dancing right? I am sure you can still do the tamer version... the strapping yoga, no?

Yeah, it's pole. I put the picture horizontal, so that it doesn't look too obvious. :)

I know one of the pole teachers teach until 4 months preggie. I poled through my first month cuz I didn't know I was pregnant then, but after that my teacher told me I cannot continue classes anymore.

Can do the tricks I know and am competent in, but cannot learn new stuff, so stop classes liao.

Strapping yoga?? You mean aerial yoga?? Technically is cannot also... because of the inversions. Not good to be inverted because of the baby, our sense of balance can be affected.

Yeah, it's pole. I put the picture horizontal, so that it doesn't look too obvious. :)

I know one of the pole teachers teach until 4 months preggie. I poled through my first month cuz I didn't know I was pregnant then, but after that my teacher told me I cannot continue classes anymore.

Can do the tricks I know and am competent in, but cannot learn new stuff, so stop classes liao.

Strapping yoga?? You mean aerial yoga?? Technically is cannot also... because of the inversions. Not good to be inverted because of the baby, our sense of balance can be affected.

oh you have pole at home??... then you just do those stunts that you learned, use less abs muscle... at lower height and no inverted positions la... then you can maintain your upper body... *salute* I always wanted to try pole dancing... but a lot of excuses...

how long you do the pole already?

anyone got part time cleaner to recommend ? my part timer suddenly said dun wan to work liao going back china

*whistles* Got bigger photo or not? Cannot see clearly. Initially thought its yoga not pole dance

Re soaps for kids. My kids have eczema the older 2 are better now, younger one gets itchy alot. We currently use california baby for the older ones and floxia body foam ( only available at dr) for the youngest one. Sometimes we use cetaphil. I stick to mild washes and moisturise with physiogel ai or cream .

Anyone using ceradan? The dermatogist prescribed for my #2 but damn ex.. Thinking of comparing prices if anyone using here. 2 big tubes for like $100 and can use 1 month plus only

physiogel AI is good but need to get from Doc. you can try atopiclair ... no steroid cream but good for Eczema but again not cheap

Anyone using ceradan? The dermatogist prescribed for my #2 but damn ex.. Thinking of comparing prices if anyone using here. 2 big tubes for like $100 and can use 1 month plus only
PD did give me sample cream ... but ended up with atopiclair ...

according to my Dermologist PD ... should use mild foam shower liao..then apply moisturizer liao ..then on top of it apply atopliclair or Ceradan ...once clear of Eczema ...then must repeat mild foam and moisturizer regularly

physiogel AI is good but need to get from Doc. you can try atopiclair ... no steroid cream but good for Eczema but again not cheap

You can buy Physiogel AI at the NUH pharmacy without a prescription. The one at Kent Ridge Wing ground floor (which is 3rd floor if u r taking the lift from carpark). Last month I bought the cream there at promo price of $30 a tube.

I have pm-ed you. Feeling so super lazy lazing in bed and just dumped my kids w the helper. Better get out and do something w them and prepare dinner soon. Tty laters

You can buy Physiogel AI at the NUH pharmacy without a prescription. The one at Kent Ridge Wing ground floor (which is 3rd floor if u r taking the lift from carpark). Last month I bought the cream there at promo price of $30 a tube.
izzt ? i normally get from doctors ... i only use when eczema surface but so far touch wood hhmm... prevention is better than cure lolz

I last week kena eczema jia lat jia lat on my hands, scratch until bleeding... my Gynae had to prescribe me steroid cream, Elomet. Supposed to be quite mild. Applied 2 days my skin was much better.