(2014/10) Oct 2014 Mummies

@Tiffanytei

Yes, I'm taking the same package as yours. But not sure if got epi or not yet.. Depends on the situation on that day. If epi, then is $2100 plus right?

Ya, go & apply for Mt. Alvernia ladies card. Then u will be entitled to offset $80 from the total bill when u discharged. But the application for the ladies card is $60.. I think still worth it lah.. Can save $20.. Lol! U can apply online.. Not sure if this time round got any freebies. With the ladies card u can entitled few promo if buy things at pharmacy, check up.. & more.. U may try to check online for more info. This card only valid for 2 years. So for me, I need to apply again. Mine already expired on last year liao..

@angel_loi
yes, u r right with epi, u need to top $$...but i would advise if u can tahan d labor pain, then dun take epi...probably got side effect...:)
for myself, i din take d epi for my last 2 deliveries....my elder boy came out after 8 hours of induced and vacuum, my 2nd boy came out after 2 hours of induced and vacuum..:)
so i hope this 3rd bb, i can tahan d labor pain le...:p
ok ok, i will go check out d Mt A Ladies card....still save $20 kekekekeke...
btw, which pd u will send ur bb to for follow up check up?

@Tiffanytei

I tried to tahan for my #1 too but still end up for epi after 12 hours labour pain. Hopefully this time round can come out earlier then I may not need epi.

Last time I'm staying at CCK so arrange nearby PD under kidslink. After I move to Sembawang area, I still go there but after sometimes find it quite troublesome so I bring my baby to my nearby clinic for the last few jabs. I find it's fine too..

My friend suggested me to bring my #2 to polyclinics for check up & jabs. What do u think? Or stick to PD better?

@angel_loi
yeah hope this time u can tahan without epi.....for my 2 elder kids, my gynae assigned a PD for us, this PD clinic is at Mt A itself....this PD very gd but his staffs so so nia....so for this 3rd bb v probably will still go back to the same PD.....since my bb is pr status, going to polyclinic n PD pay d same price jabs...so v will choose PD le...

@Tiffanytei

I just called & checked with Mt. A Cust service. Ladies card is at $60 & we will receive a free baby blanket for this year. On 2011, free gift is a medium size diaper bag. We can apply online & collect the ladies card and baby blanket at Mt. A. Or other alternative is apply during admission. But I don't think that time me & my hubby will think of this application since whole family feel excited for the newborn baby.. Hehe! Or we even might forgotten about it..furthermore, the baby blanket is while stock last oh..

I saw u all talk about the hospital charge which can deduct from medisave... u pay when u book the hospital or after delivery? And medisave is deduct directly and u pay cash for the difference or claim medisave later ah???

I color my hair around Week20. Told them not to touch my root. Cos dye very bright color for Cny then grow out very ugly with 2 tones.

I still go for mani & pedi. Normal mani but gelish for pedi.

Regards to backache, my both c-sec were GA no epidural used. I also suffer from backache for many years since 1st birth.

ladies, when do you all start to go on maternity leave? care to share? i am thinking 2 days before bb gets due.

I took 2 weeks earlier to rest and pack baby's room, wash baby's clothes etc.

But second one came earlier. So basically I gave birth on the day that I was supposed to start my leave. Haha

@verine22

During admission to hospital, they will ask to pay by credit card first. Then during discharged, they will provide u a estimate bill which will indicate all the charges including doc charges. Final bill will mail u ard 2-3 weeks time. Then u will know yr total bill & how much to pay after deduction frm medisave. Bal they will charged to credit card.. I think shd be in this way.. Exact procedure is my hubby the one who do it. Hehe!

I dye my hair ones in june during my birthday.cant tahan my hair.heheheheh.then my doctor notice it during my prenatal and said u look different hehehehe,i told her i dye my hair doc then she just laugh.

@Tiffanytei

What's yr PD name? Maybe I can consider too since I like Mt. A so much.. :) how's the charges? Same as those private clinic PD? Just my concern is the distance.
@angel_loi
Dr. Simon Ng, clinic name baby n children specialist...he is a kind n patient PD, but his staffs so so nia....every time long q...price not cheap but his service is gd...I remembered there's 1 time, my son was terribly sick, it was Sun (his clinic closed), v called his emergency number, he purposely came down to open his clinic n chk my kid, n charged less than $50...:)
V stay at bkt panjang, but will travel to Mt A PD clinic for bb jabs....only stop seeing him after my kids passed 3 yrs old....;)
3 yrs old can c normal GP le...they finished all compulsory jabs le...

@angel_loi
Dr. Simon Ng, clinic name baby n children specialist...he is a kind n patient PD, but his staffs so so nia....every time long q...price not cheap but his service is gd...I remembered there's 1 time, my son was terribly sick, it was Sun (his clinic closed), v called his emergency number, he purposely came down to open his clinic n chk my kid, n charged less than $50...:)
V stay at bkt panjang, but will travel to Mt A PD clinic for bb jabs....only stop seeing him after my kids passed 3 yrs old....;)
3 yrs old can c normal GP le...they finished all compulsory jabs le...

Nice doc.. Thumbs up! My girl finished all her jabs around 2 years old. After that just go for normal GP. Maybe u can check if there's any discount if u have the ladies card.. Hehe!

Dr Simon Ng very nice. My son see him when he was admitted to hosp. His charges relatively reasonable compared to other PD.

We paid $1200 cash deposit and $600 cash upon discharge. Mt.A during year2012. After that no other bills.

I remember his intial con is $60-80 then sub is $40. Sat open until 5pm. Not sure if there any changes in timing or pricing.
@agnestmh , @angel_loi
the consultation charges is about what agnes mentioned, but with jabs, the charges can up to ard $150++-$200
yes, open on Sat but close on Sun....u can still call his emergency number if needed....he will very patiently advise u on the phone or if he needs to chk the child, he will ask u go his clinic...
normal waiting time quite long, ard 1 hr oso...u must make appointment else even longer...

Tiffany, cannot pay by medisave? I'm not too sure abt PD but I rmb I didn't get to pay so much at Polyclinic for vaccine. The last 2 jabs at 18mo, I did not need to pay any cent nor deduct thru medisave.

@agaga
my bb dun hv bb bonus scheme, that is y v need to pay for everything....only bb delivery and hospital stay can deduct my medisave max $2k, other than that all need to pay from own pocket, no bb bonus, no subsidise....the charges is triple more ex than normal...

I think vaccines at polyclinic is FOC. But it is done by nurses. And the health checks to fill out the health booklet all done by nurses. If you have concerns I don't feel it is advisable to go polyclinic. Better to see an experienced PD. that's my personal take.

For me my kids see GP if I know it is the usual cough cold fever. But anything more I will bring to PD specialists. Cos anyway under 1 y.o they don't really prescribe alot of drugs. Only take paracetamol.

Personally I feel breast milk is the best protection. :)

@angel_loi, thanks for sharing the Mt A rate. What is classified under assisted delivery?
Also seems like most of u opted for 2 bedder. Can share what is the experience like? The other party v noisy? I m a super light sleeper. Can the hubby stay over in a two bedder?

Talking abt pd.. Anyone gg to ask the current pd u r using to go check the newborn in hospital? I m thinking of it and she quote me $150 first visit and $100 subsequent. Is it ex?

@agaga
my bb dun hv bb bonus scheme, that is y v need to pay for everything....only bb delivery and hospital stay can deduct my medisave max $2k, other than that all need to pay from own pocket, no bb bonus, no subsidise....the charges is triple more ex than normal...
Till date I had not apply the cash bonus for my 2012 baby.. lol.. too lazy to go and do. Will do together with this 2014 baby. Thought so long your baby or parents is s'gporean can deduct from medisave for vaccine. Or pd must pay from own pocket? Sorry me sua ku only got info from Polyclinic.

Talking abt pd.. Anyone gg to ask the current pd u r using to go check the newborn in hospital? I m thinking of it and she quote me $150 first visit and $100 subsequent. Is it ex?
After discharge from Mt.A in year 2012. I only go Polyclinic for vaccines cos I find PD consultation fee very expensive. But if baby got diarrhoea or stomachache I go to PD cos their medicine is better than Gp and I'd bought insurance can claim. If normal cough, flu or fever I go normal GP.

oops, realised that my quote is off topic. Now i re-read then understand.

I rmb the hospital auto assigned a pd to us and charge about the same as you mentioned... and she visited the baby everyday before discharge.

@angel_loi, thanks for sharing the Mt A rate. What is classified under assisted delivery?
Also seems like most of u opted for 2 bedder. Can share what is the experience like? The other party v noisy? I m a super light sleeper. Can the hubby stay over in a two bedder?

I stayed in TMC during year 2003 2bedder and I find it too quiet as the other bed is always vacant. So I chose 4bedder at Mt.A during year 2012 and took the corner bed so I most away from the door and not facing the toilet. This time I'll choose 4bedder at TMC, can save $ and also I'm scared of 'too quiet'.

Fyi, companion can only stay over if you r taking 1 bedder.

Have you all named your LO? It's really a tough decision. Any website to intro? Had been wrecking my brain and name some but just can't compromise with hubby.

@agaga, you got a dragon born in TMC? Now they have a 龙马精神 package at TMC. Some disc off room rate.
I just called TMC. My SBI expiring in early oct but I m only due end oct and they say cannot give exception. So now I m free to roam for other hospital.

Name wise, maybe u can try http://www.babynamewizard.com/baby-ame/boy/m
I too haven't decide on name yet..

Actually I'm not v sure of assisted delivery.. If I'm not wrong is using vacuum to suck baby head & assist mum to push.

I opted for 2 bedder on 2011 year as that time me & my best friend delivered on the same day. So, directly I told the nurse to reserve a 2 bedder room for me once I admitted..I'm under natural & she's under C-sect. We have no problems on sharing since we know each other family & friends. This time round I'm still opted for 2 bedder just to save $$.. I think there's at least $1k different. I would rather to use the $$ on my baby. :) FYI, 2 bedder is not allowed husband to stay overnight. Only single room or deluxe single room allowed with additional charges. I heard frm my friends that Mt. A single room always fully booked so have to book in advance. If that day when u admitted all the single room is occupied, then they will make use of the 2 bedder room as single room.

What's cash bonus? The $6k which govt will match dollar to dollar?

Here's the package for TMC. Seems a bit higher than Mt A. Hmm... Pondering

Have you all named your LO? It's really a tough decision. Any website to intro? Had been wrecking my brain and name some but just can't compromise with hubby.

Found my baby name. :) Well, we only can choose Catholics name. Chinese name got to wait when she's born with her "ba zi" Really v headache to choose a right baby name.

@agaga, you got a dragon born in TMC? Now they have a 龙马精神 package at TMC. Some disc off room rate.
I just called TMC. My SBI expiring in early oct but I m only due end oct and they say cannot give exception. So now I m free to roam for other hospital.

Name wise, maybe u can try http://www.babynamewizard.com/baby-ame/boy/m
I too haven't decide on name yet..

Tks will chk it out.

My 2012 dragon was born at Mt.A
TMC is 2003 Sheep

Dislike the carpark at TMC but no choice but to opt for this September.

Seems like the price difference between TMC 1 bedder and 2 bedder is really very different. Heart pain... But I will still want 1 bedder as Hubby can be with me. I opted for 1 bedder also for my firstborn in 2011. Love TMC...

Do u all wash yr hair during confinement? I heard that there's a spray or powder to apply on hair?? What's that? How to use it? Which brand & where can I get it? Any mummy use before?

I wash my hair with usual shampoo on alternate days. Then leave it to dry. Tried hair dryer blow dry once but perspire like hell. Usually took 2-3hours to dry by itself. So far okay no headache. Before delivery I'll thin my hair but keep the length.

Heard that those dry shampoo will clog the scalp.

@agaga

But my MIL advised me not to wash my hair.. During #1 I really didn't wash my hair for 30days.. OMG~ it's really v oily & smelly.. Since my #1 I followed the rules & I think this time round just follow lo.. But hope there's something can reduce the oily stuff on my hair. Clogged hair? Wah.. Now I already have dandruff & I can't imagine plus with clogged hair. Later sure drop more hair, scary leh..

I used herbal bath to bathe and wash hair. I bathe everyday. And wash hair alternate days sometimes everyday depending on weather. Make sure I closed all the windows when I bathe. I will blow dry my hair immediately after bath. I flip my hair inside out to blow dry so that the heat doesn't touch my scalp. Not so hot. Helps to cut hair short so it dries faster after bath.

I feel very unhygienic if I don't keep clean cos I bf and do direct latch all through confinement. Same for both kids. If your house very breezy can wear long/3 quarter pants after bath. I personally find it less "cold" to wear cotton pj rather than the market pajamas type. Just bought some 3-quarter pajamas pants from uniqlo. I wear that with t-shirts quite adequate already. If you feel a little chilly after bath can put on a light cardigan until you don't feel chilly.y constitution quite weak so catch cold easily. Some people won't. Depends in individual.

Some people say can turn on the aircon but not the fan. But personally I feel I catch chill quite easily even in aircon room especially when I sweat.

I color my hair around Week20. Told them not to touch my root. Cos dye very bright color for Cny then grow out very ugly with 2 tones.

I still go for mani & pedi. Normal mani but gelish for pedi.

My mani/pedi package is from ladyfinger and they carry this organic product called "Sparitual". It's really quite good. My nails won't turn yellow and they say it is proven to be pregnancy safe. Maybe can try instead of putting those very strong products. Been doing mani/pedi throughout my pregnancies, though I cut down frequency. Cos very tired to sit so long. But when leg swollen feels very shiok to get massage done. Haha.

After i gve birth my 1st child 2 days after i shower already.so hot,cant tahan.my husband and mother in law drs nothing they can do

I will definitely wash my hair during confinement .. Hygiene is very important . In fact when I gave birth to no1, I did not fOllow confinement rules.. Being stuck at home is already v depressing.. Can't imagine though a sticky body and hair.