(2014/05) May 2014

I think i going to stop wearing pants. It gets v uncomfy in the evening. V tight jus at the pelvic area... *sigh*

Updated here. Ruimum, can you give me ur gynae name?

When did Cherrieyuppie give birth? Also hor, poco if you wanna be added in, please give me the missing details. :)

Nick | Birth Order | EDD | Gynae | Gender | Hospital | Baby Name | DOB
\ little lamb | 2 | 3-May-14 | Dr Lee I Wuen | Boy | Raffles Hospital | | 5-Apr-14
\ lilacz | 1 | 5-May-14 | Dr Christopher Chong | Boy | Mt A | | 17-Apr-14
\ Disneybabe | 2 | 21-May-14 | Dr WH Kee | Boy | Mt A | | 9-May-14
\ cherieyippie | 1 | 5-May-14 | Dr Su Lin Lin | Boy | NUH | |
\ poco | | | | Boy | | | 23-Apr-14
\ stormie | 2 | 4-May-14 | Dr Mary Rauff | Girl | NUH | Nicole Tay |
\ rainbowzstarz | 2 | 7-May-14 | Dr Henry Cheng | Boy | Mount E Nouvena | Kayden |
\ snowymum | 3 | 9-May-14 | Dr Paul Tseng | Boy | TMC | |
\ lilysnow | 2 | 14-May-14 | Dr Thewin | Boy | BKK | |
\ ruimom | 2 | 15-May-14 | Dr Lawrence Ang | Boy | TMC | |
\ autumnleaf | 3 | 15-May-14 | Dr Lawrence Ang | Boy | TMC | |
\ cookiefleur | 2 | 18-May-14 | Dr Caroline Khi | Girl | TMC | |
\ daesungfishh | 2 | 20-May-14 | Dr M Tan | Girl | TMC | Meagan |
\ magdal | 1 | 22-May-14 | Dr Heng Tung Lan | Girl (TBC) | | |
\ FFT | 1 | 22-May-14 | Dr Kenneth Edward Lee | Boy | Mt A | |
\ applerui | 2 | 22-May-14 | | Girl | KKH | |
\ Nin | 3 | 22-May-14 | Dr Chua HL | Girl | SGH | |
\ potato chips | 1 | 23-May-14 | Dr Adrain Woodworth | Boy | Mt A | |
\ tlaiyin | 2 | 25-May-14 | Dr Henry Cheng | Girl | Mt A | Olivia Tan |
\ beautyababy | 2 | 25-May-14 | Dr Tony Tan Yew Teck | Boy | Raffles Hospital | |
\ serenetjl | 2 | 26-May-14 | Dr Heng Tung Lan | Boy | Parkway East | |
\ clumsybabe | 2 | 27-May-14 | Dr Kenneth Edward Lee | Girl | Mt A | |
\ mummy_baby2008 | 4 | 29-May-14 | Dr Paul Tseng | Boy | TMC | |
\ virgo | 1 | 31-May-14 | Dr Biswash | Boy | NUH | |
\ Babe Me | 1 | 21-Jun-14 | Dr Phua Soo Mear | Unknown | unknown | |

Hi snowymum, these are my details:

\ penguinly | 2 | 15-May-14 | Dr Sim Lee Ngor | Boy | TMC | |

Mine is rainbowzstarz

A baby store or the one without?
ImageUploadedByForum1398335272.322004.jpg

Just curious what do you do with your #1 when they come back from Sch? As much as I don't wan to neglect my #1, I dunno wat I can do with him to make him feel important in my heart still n to keep him away from iPad... I dun wish to b playing monopoly everyday though.... Hmmm...

I compromise.. Do something that she likes, even if it means iPad / YouTube on laptop, but limit her time. After that we do something else, ranging from story books to watching her play scooter or just simply roll on bed play tickle and chit chat..

Just curious what do you do with your #1 when they come back from Sch? As much as I don't wan to neglect my #1, I dunno wat I can do with him to make him feel important in my heart still n to keep him away from iPad... I dun wish to b playing monopoly everyday though.... Hmmm...
I only let my gal touch ipad on fri nite,ph n wkends. Im anti on kids alwys on gadgets.
My gal go full day childcare.i settle her dinner ,brg her hm bath etc settle dwn alrdy lik 8pm.
Wen her dad back at 8+ wil play toys,activity books etc with her then go bath.then i will cont with reading with her in her rm.
If bth is busy will ask her go play herslf..drawing etc.she likes draw n write on whiteboard.
smtimes tired jus brg her to my bed zo bo talk abt sch thgs..then alrdy 10.30pm she drink milk n slp.she doesn sleep early cos nt able to as by time settle her gt chance do thgs w her is alrdy late.so she used to slp at such hrs

I only let my gal touch ipad on fri nite,ph n wkends. Im anti on kids alwys on gadgets.
My gal go full day childcare.i settle her dinner ,brg her hm bath etc settle dwn alrdy lik 8pm.
Wen her dad back at 8+ wil play toys,activity books etc with her then go bath.then i will cont with reading with her in her rm.
If bth is busy will ask her go play herslf..drawing etc.she likes draw n write on whiteboard.
smtimes tired jus brg her to my bed zo bo talk abt sch thgs..then alrdy 10.30pm she drink milk n slp.she doesn sleep early cos nt able to as by time settle her gt chance do thgs w her is alrdy late.so she used to slp at such hrs
Mine also goes to full day child care and the schedule is similar to yours. Also not keen on gadgets... if we do let her on ipad, it is always accompanied and we do it together... I never let her use ipad on her own.

regarding bfing, I used to hav really bad engorgement till I cry everyday. this time I massage ard the breast when I pump n when latching. so far so gd. make sure the breast is empty at each session. I find there are still clogs if I latch cuz more difficult to massage... will hand express to clear the lumps.. hope this is useful :)

oh i have lump in the middle of my armpits... not sure wat is it.. tried to massage the lump there while pumping but still cannot clear...anyone experienced this?

regarding bfing, I used to hav really bad engorgement till I cry everyday. this time I massage ard the breast when I pump n when latching. so far so gd. make sure the breast is empty at each session. I find there are still clogs if I latch cuz more difficult to massage... will hand express to clear the lumps.. hope this is useful :)

oh i have lump in the middle of my armpits... not sure wat is it.. tried to massage the lump there while pumping but still cannot clear...anyone experienced this?

The lumps are milk/ fat deposits... The milk ducts actually are connected all the way to your armpits... So if u get lumps can jus use warm towels and massage them. ;)

I don't know method to hand express although I have colleague who is very good at it, just 10mins and her yield is so much! She say it is better than the pump.

I did csec with epi. You will still feel some sensation cos the anaesthetist will help to push baby out. But only the upper half of the body. Lower half no sensation one.

Pain sure have. That's why I made a comment for those doing csec to remember to bring an abdominal binder with you. The nurses can help you bind and it aids in moving around after childbirth.

Nauseous depends on individual. I will vomit after waking up from GA hence I am adamant to take epi only.

Recovery from wounds was no major issues for me. Not sure if it has anything to do with threshold for pain.

Hi disneybabe, thanks for your sharing.
is it scary to be awake during the csect?
so you will know when gynae cut open the tummy and bring bb out? the sewing and everything....
im afraid that my imagination will run wild and start panicking...:(
the good thing is mommy get to see bb once bb is out.

i heard that backaches are quite common for those who has had epi before?

I had GA few times and do not have bad experience with it, so im ok with GA.
But seems that most gynea and nurses are pro-epi, not really pro-GA coz epi does not affect bb but GA makes bb more drowsy after birth.

Both leg and hand swelling getting serious.
Make walking diffcult for me today...
Shoe getting smaller and smaller too

I'm a FTWM.. so while I was at work I pump according to baby's feeding schedule at 3-hourly interval. During my ML, I already started pumping in the beginning to build up supply (that was why I could bring ebm to the hospital during her stay there for jaundice treatment cos I already had some supply kept at home.. didn't know it would come in so handy haha).

If SAHM I guess you could get a manual pump or a single electric pump to standby for those times when the milk comes in and at times when you had to be away from bb, you could pump after each feed to increase supply or just to keep as standby.

hi clumsybabe, thanks.
Ok, i go look for single pump. otherwise i will be chained to bb for at least 1yr.....
my #1 was a milk monster, don't if #2 will b the same :)

Both leg and hand swelling getting serious.
Make walking diffcult for me today...
Shoe getting smaller and smaller too

Hi ruimom, me too!!!
i read somewhere that actually... should try to drink more water and go pee often so that the body will not try to retain too much water and coz swelling.
I hv been drinking a lot of water too....so far swelling only in the evening.
support legs higher with pillows when sleeping;)

Hi ruimom, me too!!!
i read somewhere that actually... should try to drink more water and go pee often so that the body will not try to retain too much water and coz swelling.
I hv been drinking a lot of water too....so far swelling only in the evening.
support legs higher with pillows when sleeping;)

I been drinking lot of water too... ice water especially... cannot tahan the weather.
I dont dare to drink more before bed...
Even now I got to pee 2 to 3 time every night.
If drink more before bed think I have to camp in the toilet...
Heehee
Ya everynight I put pillow below my leg too.
Guess my water retention is really bad

Cookiefleur: we should start a support group for Breastfeeding also hehehe.

This is also a topic I am very passionate about, Breastfeeding isn't easy and take a lot of perseverance to keep going despite what all the negativity ppl around you say. There is not right or wrong in deciding whether should you breastfeed or not as this is a very personal decision, and certainly this decision should only be exclusively made by yourself & not any other ppl. The initial weeks & months would be challenging as our body goes through tremendous changes from pregnancy to lactation and also required to cope with caring for the newborn 24/7.

Boob size does not determine how much milk a mother could produce, as evidently I am an A cup boob previously and managed to breastfeed my daughter exclusively for the entire 3.5 years of her life. This also despite her being warded back at NICU at 1-week old due to high jaundice and she did not take in a single drop of fm at all. Again there's no right or wrong if your bb takes fm at any point of their lives, it's just my personal opinion and I stick to it that I do not want to let her have fm because I want to provide bm to her.

I post this lengthy post not to boast or show off, but rather to share that if you believe you could do it, then you would be able to do it. I don't have supportive MIL and I had to face her every day, but she doesn't dictate what I want to do with my kid. My stand had always been "you go meddle with your kid & let me meddle with mine".

TBH, I've never been a huge advocate of BF-ing. In the sense that I never quite enjoyed my BF-ing journey with my #1. The so-called bonding sessions didn't quite work for me. It was more of a chore than anything. Although yes, there were benefits of BF-ing that I did enjoy which was the immunity for the baby and also the convenience of latching when baby is hungry. By the 3rd month, my ss really dropped and I already started to supplement a bottle of FM at the end of first month.

My whole BF-ing journey only lasted 9 or 10 months? And weaning was really easy coz' #1 just wasn't into breasts anymore and preferred FM and solids. That being said, with #2, I will still try BF-ing. I've already supplemented with FM when there were situations where he had to be hospitalized for jaundice and my EBM wasn't enough or there were times when after latching and expressing, my BM still didn't fill him and I didn't wanna latch again because I felt I needed more rest. But I've been consistently latching and expressing after each feed and bottle feeding him with the EBM to help him gain weight. I'm glad I see some results.

I think BF-ing more often than not is about perseverance. I strongly believe that every mom has milk for the baby, just a matter of whether they picked up the right signs of the baby to feed, whether they can bear the pain of engorgement initially and hand expressing and gradually keeping up with building SS. It's a very difficult journey on top of having to cope with the pressures of being a first time mom or having to care for another kid in the household so no one will judge you should you opt out and go for FM instead. I mean, my #1 had a hybrid of BM and FM and grew up fine. She's been on 50th percentile all the way and I've been very happy with that. In fact, I'll try to let her go on FM for as old as she can because I do see the benefits of it.

That being said, I support the idea of a BF-ing support group here. It definitely helps to share our fears, our queries and support and advice for each other to push each other to move on.

*sigh* I am having issues with that now too coz' #1 goes afternoon session and morning i cannot let her be overtired. So cannot go skate scootering or cycling otherwise her energy level will be low for class. So end up? Watch tv. But I try to limit her time on TV also and once in while, she'll come in to wanna play with her didi. Or she'll do colouring or she'll play with her toys. Hopefully I can establish a routine for #2 soon then I can spend more time with #1.

Oh gosh.u better monitor.
Wrkg? Mayb stay hm?
Bt ur edd end may ritr?
Ya working.. maybe should be this few days I have being overtime at work? Yalo my edd End may too early le ba.. plus my doc not in town somemore... I will keep monitor.. suddenly alot things running in my mind I yet wash my pump yet check weather those spare part still working ma.. lol

Hi disneybabe, thanks for your sharing.
is it scary to be awake during the csect?
so you will know when gynae cut open the tummy and bring bb out? the sewing and everything....
im afraid that my imagination will run wild and start panicking...:(
the good thing is mommy get to see bb once bb is out.

i heard that backaches are quite common for those who has had epi before?

I had GA few times and do not have bad experience with it, so im ok with GA.
But seems that most gynea and nurses are pro-epi, not really pro-GA coz epi does not affect bb but GA makes bb more drowsy after birth.

No it wasn't scary. The OT staff were entertaining me. I kept asking questions - What is this equipment for? Why do you need to maintain such a cold temperature in the OT?... blah blah blah... After all, it's not often you get to stay awake in an OT.

No I didn't know I was already cut up until the anaesthetist said he was gonna help to push. It was over in like 30min or less? I was more fascinated with the speed than anything else. I even commented to my gynae, Wah you very good leh... so fast everything done and over with. :p

I'm not sure about GA. Just my own preference not to go for GA cos of the side effects I tend to experience when I wake up.

Ya working.. maybe should be this few days I have being overtime at work? Yalo my edd End may too early le ba.. plus my doc not in town somemore... I will keep monitor.. suddenly alot things running in my mind I yet wash my pump yet check weather those spare part still working ma.. lol

My gynae also on leave leh. I feel a bit lugi in my package cos I think I'm supposed to have weekly checks liao. :p

Hp u b alrite. At least wen gynae bck then baby out nt too early

My tis wk activity will b busy with my gal.didi mus cooperate.
My gal sudly last nite hav phelgm tis mrn vomit milk n phelgm liao. Hai 3 wks cough nvr ok nw plus phelgm. Headache

Go TCM? My girl use to have often cough and only TCM able to clear it.. but u got to keep visit for massage for about everyweek n take the medi about 3weeks will be better...
Think i wil hav to go eu ran seng..bt is find tt senior physician who specialise kids.tonight she on duty. Tmr go gp.tink bobian mus concurrent liao.sian dunno y tis cough tak so long.weird

My girl also having persistent cough. She's on western meds now. Once the quick fix is done then we'll start to adjust with TCM. Maybe you wanna check her nose as well? Cos for my girl I'm beginning to suspect the persistent cough stems from thick, stubborn mucus in the nose.

Tonight wil tell tcm abt her nose. Gp check ntgh.but since few wks ago she kp dig her nose say itchy.kp kena me scolding

I think eu Yan sang has this powder medicine that is very good for kids to clear phlegm one. But quite expensive. .. heard abt $50 for just one dose. Dunno true a not, but those who use it say very effective.