(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

lamb>exactly. was so shocked when i saw the news esp since Ayden is supposed to go for his last jab of prevenar today. He's overdue for it already.

Xin, how to detect sleep apnea? Oliver had been snoring since birth leh, he will always snore when he in deep sleep..

Do take care. Let us know the results. Matthias will be fine.. Be strong!

xin, pray for God's direction and healing! Like you say He is our creator, He knows best and He is all able!Will lift up Mattias in my prayers! You must take care of yourself too!!!

FYI, I'm a thalessemia minor too...still living a healthy life...my blood count was low during my pregnancy but no prob...just remind him that when he choose a wife must remember go for a test 1st.

Elin>signs of sleep apnea

"One of the most common signs of obstructive sleep apnea is loud and chronic (ongoing) snoring. Pauses may occur in the snoring. Choking or gasping may follow the pauses.

The snoring usually is loudest when you sleep on your back; it may be less noisy when you turn on your side. Snoring may not happen every night. Over time, the snoring may happen more often and get louder.

You're asleep when the snoring or gasping happens. You likely won't know that you're having problems breathing or be able to judge how severe the problem is. Your family members or bed partner often will notice these problems before you do.

Not everyone who snores has sleep apnea.

Another common sign of sleep apnea is fighting sleepiness during the day, at work, or while driving. You may find yourself rapidly falling asleep during the quiet moments of the day when you're not active. Even if you don't have daytime sleepiness, talk with your doctor if you have problems breathing during sleep.

Others signs and symptoms of sleep apnea may include:

Morning headaches

Memory or learning problems and not being able to concentrate

Feeling irritable, depressed, or having mood swings or personality changes

Urination at night

A dry throat when you wake up. In children, sleep apnea can cause hyperactivity, poor school performance, and angry or hostile behavior. Children who have sleep apnea also may have unusual sleeping positions, bedwetting, and may breathe through their mouths instead of their noses during the day."

more info at

http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/dci/Diseases/SleepApnea/SleepApnea_Signs.html

tyl> thks tyl. the news quite scary. was thinking of mmr+v. think i'll give it a pass now.

ET> we went to see a doc cause of his persistent blocked nose. did some checks and told her his sleep patterns then she suggested going for sleep study. that's how we confirmed.

here are some sites you can look at. http://pediatrics.about.com/cs/sleep/a/sleep_apnea.htm

http://kidshealth.org/parent/medical/ears/adenoids.html?tracking=P_RelatedArticle

after reading through, mose articles say that should get operated. but only 75% gets better (not completely well) after op. still thinking if really worth it.

tyl> u faster than me. hee hee. thks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

megan> thanks alot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya, the doc told me about low blood count if preg.

next time choose wife must have special criteria. my friend's hb only told her he was a carrier after she was preg. good thg she not carrier. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya Xin, when i found out that I'm a carrier, i got my husband (tat time still not married) to check 1st...cos we need to decide to continue on or not to hv any kids if he is also a carrier

hello everyone

so long nv post =p

xin- take care alright... Im Sure is not that serious for Mattias.. jus go ahead n seek more doc views =)

reg the vaccine..

any mummies gave ur LO flu vaccine?

Ashton is rather sensitive to cold n flu the doc in KKH suggested to consider flu vaccine..

I will check out more in april when is due for the jab MMR...

xin, my hb got sleep apnea, he doesnt want to go for the surgery cos he is the kind who hates to visit ppl in hospital...I m kinda worried A wld have inherited that too cos he sometimes snore. Take care k!

agree wt yl, if not necessary try not to gv too many vaccine cos we really dunno how our kids react to all this vaccine...my godma who is a Phytobiophysics practitioner always tells me try not to gv vaccines to our kids if it's not compulsory...when my nephew was 3-4 yrs old he took one vaccine (i can't remember wat liao), after tat he had high fever and fits which makes him lost his balancing and control...after the fits he was not able to walk and talk like normal kids even though he was born normal...after tat he has to learn all over again on how to walk, crawl and talk. He is now 19yrs old, still not fully recovered as a normal person even though there's a lot of improvement in him already.

Oh dear sound scary !!!!

Ya I was quite puzzled abt the doc asking to consider flu vaccine ..

Then after knowing such things will happen ! I rather give him his daily dose of Vit C safer !

Let's pray for all our babies to b healthy !!!

Really hate to the core when they r sick! So poor thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Afternoon mummies.

Xin> Actually, I was also a suspected case of sleep apnea and was due to do a sleep study, just before I was preg with Lucas. Then, realised that I was preggy and after speaking with doctors, I was advised against doing the sleep tests coz of the electric frequency.... I am still not really sleeping well and how I was suspected was that my nose bled quite often earlier and was introduced to an ENT specialist and from the scope and tests, he suspected that I probably have sleep apnea.

Yeah, agree with the rest of the mummies that you must calm your mind, read up and make informed decisions. My prayers are with Mattias and you too! Take care!

Re: Vaccinations.

Yeah, very scary these days! I am not giving Lucas any optional vaccines, only the government mandated ones. Intend to give prevenar only when he turns 2 only too!

Hello mommies

Haven't been around for awhile. Hope everyone is well.

Quite a lot has happened during the time that I was away and Yongxian had some sleeping woes which I think is related to SA and teething. There seems to be some improvement this week (crossing my fingers). He also just recovered from roseolla and a very phelgmy cough.

xin> so sorry to hear about Mattias' diagnosis. it's really tough to decide which is the least evil between the possible side effects of surgery and sleep apnea. i hope everything will work out for Mattias.

lsntyl> what is varicella? and good luck for your interview.

afann> Yongxian took the flu vaccine as we were travelling quite a bit then. I think the flu vaccine is rather low-risk as the virus in the vaccine are dead. DH and I take the flu vaccine every year and I find that it does help to keep the bugs at bay.

lamb> what have you been cooking for Nat lately? have you introduced salad to her? i wonder when and how to include salad into Yongxian's diet. Up till now, he has always taken cooked (i.e. soft) veg and not the crunchy salads.

Just happen to login.

xin,

take care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope Mattias is fine. get more views, maybe op is not required.

re: vaccinations

Any one give the mmr+chickenpox? Now i thinking whether to give my gal. So scary.

CocoMama:

Havent heard from you for the longest time & was wondering where u were. I have given Aly salad after she turned 1yo. She's ok with it.

Xin:

Take care! u r one brave mummy! If Mattias' severe OSA has been confirmed by sleep study, prob no point doing another one & he will most prob need surgery. But as the rest of the mummies have suggested, maybe consider getting a 3rd opinion? As for adenotonsillectomy, it's actually a very common procedure done in young children. It's actually a very fast surgery. But having said that, after becoming a mum, no matter how minor the surgery, the heartache is not any less. Will keep Mattias & yr family in my prayers.

luvbabe> Yongxian has completed the course of his prevenar jabs.

lsntyl> i c.. what about Hep A? do you have any intention to give or not to give? i am still undecided and when i asked DH for his opinion, he said it's up to me.

sp_callalily> i've been around on and off. just that i was too tired dealing with Yongxian's sleeping woes that i was mostly surfing from the phone on and off. Has Aly's SA improved?

do you give her any dressing for her salad? usually what do you serve?

cocomama>ayden just finished his prevenar jabs today. He was a brave boy and didn't cry according to my mom.

Hep A is not mandatory, ya? In that case, I won't give it to him. Only intend to give him MMR next month

xin> take care..is LO still sleeping in his room?

jessie> my boy oso confirmed asthma case n i was too busie doing nebralising for whole week..nurse weep when saw LO struggled n cried till no sound..i was so distraught..can't explain the feeling..tearing in my heart n helpless...jus went down for review to return the nebraliser..no need to continue but observe..pray tat the asthma attack dun return..

My grandma passed away peacefully at the age of 94 last sunday..i was the last one to b at her death bed..heard tat she was asking where am i tat day..i arrived n called ah ma ah ma..then 5 mins later i saw her breathing stopped.. she was gone..there was no struggle, i suppose it is peaceful rite?

cocomama,

I was just asking about you a few weeks back, wondering how you've been. Seems like you're going through a lot on your end, eh? Glad that SA is over for u. Me ah? I have been cooking same old same old stuff for Nat. I discovered a month back that she develops allergy to honey.

So I am quite careful when introducing new foods to her too. I still haven't dared given her raw food coz' salmonella is very REAL in china. Some of my friends kids came down with that and also rotavirus. I still offer her cooked stuff. Frankly, I am not too keen now in offering her variety because I feel that I have done quite a fair bit of it when she was younger. And she does have a whole lifetime ahead to explore different kinds of food.

So I'm taking it slow for now. Also coz' I'm lazy now and dun really wanna venture with food. Nat's starting to show fussy-ness towards the foods she's eating also.

CocoMama:

Aly's SA has definitely improved tremendously...tapering off now. But i am getting a fair bit of grief from her teething...currently sprouting her upper canines & lower molars so i am hoping that with all her 4 molars out (her 2 upper ones are out already), my teething grief will be over till she's at least 20mths old. But meal times are very challenging these days!!! As for salad, i dun purposely prepare it for her. Rather, i give her salad when we r out dining in Western restaurants & we will let her snack on bread & salad to keep her occupied at her high chair. So she has tasted rocket, lettuce, tomatoes etc. As for dressing, she has only tasted vinagrette dressing. I am not so uncomfortable with dressings like thousand island etc cuz of the high sodium content.

As for Hep A vaccine, i have no intention to give Aly cuz she's prob not going to eat shellfish family till much older. Hope this will help in yr decision making of whether to give Yongxian Hep A vaccine or not.

thanks mummies for your encouraging words. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

firipy> surgery dont really work well for adults as there are alot of other contributing factors. my friend's father had his tonsils removed but still snoring.

sleep apnea is actually very complex. many many contributing factors. that's why I abit hesitant about the surgery.

luvbabe> will you be going for your sleep study?

went to see the ent surgeon who put a scope in the nose. a funny thing is the nurse did not hold mattias properly and he actually bit the doc. :p. he immediately pull the scope out. (mattias' bite is really very painful, both hb and i exp before) he was at the 2nd nostril. he claims that he finish looking liao. so the scope just ended there. hee.

but what we saw from the scope was not funny at all. his airways are about 80% blocked. the tissues in the nose, adenoids and tonsils are very enlarged. the throat also reddish. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] doc say might be irritation due to acid reflux as he also latch to sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] was advised to let him lie down only 2 hr after any food/milk.

the tonsils and adenoids will go away only after 8yo and til then, it'll only grow bigger.

doc say too little oxygen will affect growth, brain development and learning. and he say that by the time the tissues shrink, he'll have been pigeon-holed by his teachers. then I think, is it just about the academic results??? what if I home school him and teach him patiently and in his own timing, will he lose out alot?

but at the end of the session, we still decided to get a date for the surgery first. then come back and consider and pray very hard.

the bill is enormous too. my agent say insurance will cover, if not i bankrupt liaoz. :p

sp> all the reading says that it's a common procedure. but i'm just thinking, is it common means it's ok to do? is it common then it's necessary to put my child through it?

when i went for my 2 ops, i was very cool about them. but now come to my baby, i really dont want to make a bad decision. maybe cause he's just a baby and also, the responsibility of making a decision for someone else.

and some say that the tonsils are actually important for protecting the heart from infection. so really abit dilemma.

AFann> think flu vaccine not really necessary as there are new strains all the time, hard to get accinated for all.

As for varicella, my church just had outbreak of chicken pox. and 2 persons who were vaccinated got it too. though it's much milder. but now there's also this anti-viral drug that you can take so alleviate the effects. so might as well just take the drug when you get it?

raw vegetable>

i've given mattias raw carrots and wild rocket. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xin,

*big hugs to you* Reading your posts brought me close to tears. I recalled how previously, you were often plagued with Matt's allergies and had to be really careful about his food and also perservering with BF-ing. And then now with sleep apnea. Sorry if I have seemed to trivialized his situation in my last post. You must be feeling the ache and sourness in your heart now having to face such a situation. Pray to the Lord for guidance for i am sure He will give you the answers you seek and He will watch over Matt.

Matt is very bright from the things you post about him being able to sign etc. And perhaps the doc might be exaggerating things a little or just wanted you to be mentally prepared by giving you the worst case scenario.

littlelamb> no lah, you didn't trivalise the situation. I know his situation is not really so bad.

you know, my mother said that my sis had a snoring problem since young and still has sinus now. well, she's got straight As for her A levels and was the valedictorian for her cohort in uni. my auntie also shared that my cousin had to clean away his nostrils tissues though not the adenoids and tonsils, but now he is earning big bucks.

so I'm really thinking if the situation will be as bad as what the doc said.

actually, i'm more worried about his heart being able to tk the stress more than the learning part. coz he also thal minor, alr low blood, then heart have to work harder. :p

MamaD : HUGS!!! I really know how you feel and I hate it another mum and baby is going through what I had gone through. I remember looking at Arwen with oxygen tube and monitor tubes and her IV drip on the hospital bed and I really thought " I am so sorry for bring you into this world and suffer ". I know it is dramatic but being a sufferer myself, remembering what I had gone through in my childhood, at that point, I felt I should never even have kids or deserve to have kids and pass them this gene.

But as she got better, I know no point wallowing in self pity but arm myself with all kinds of help. I think my house now have enough asthma meds to counter every kind of attack! From syrup to nebuliser machine to inhalers. I told her PD to give me everything her pharmacy have.

I make sure she is not overtly stress, I watch every single cough she makes, the weather, her food. The last time she had another episode was in Singapore when she had her first swim and caught a cold. But I was armed with all the meds and was able to control the attack in time. I guess.. in the end, I am her mother, her only true protector in this world . I know of cos DH and her nanny and our family would go out for her but I know her the best, her every move and every sneeze and cough. This is what I guess empower me. I hate being helpless like what happened in the hospital and vow never ever to feel this way again when it comes to Arwen. If I feel helpless.. than Arwen how?

I thought being a nurse would make me more calm, rational about all these but as I read about Matthias possible pending surgery even though it is not a big major one, my heart ache. Put myself in your shoes, Xin, I will be so lost for awhile also.

Another thing... did you see a Medical Paed ENT or a Surgical Paed ENT , is the paed a very surgical pro person? I ask cos some doc esp those who specialist in surgery, they always suggest surgery one. But looking at what you said, Matthias nose does seems very badly block, maybe it really might be good to do the surgery if it helps him to sleep better. I think the doc is abit OTT when he say Matthias will be pigeonholed by his teachers. Abit ridiculous eh. Maybe really seek second opinion or third.

As for vaccine, I am glad I decide not to give varicella even tho her PD really want to. I don't even bother to give flu vaccine, I mean er.. what is the point? Better she have it and build her immunity.

Xin, stay strong.. Like what other mummies have suggested, seek more opinions from other doctors about Mattias' sleep apnea. Understand how you feel when you mentioned about the responsibility of making a decision for someone else, esp for a baby. Follow your heart, for He will guide you. I do not know enough about sleep apnea to help you in any way but will keep you n Mattias in my thought. Mattias' a strong, bright and cheerful boy. He's very blessed to have you as his mum. Do take care.. *hugs for you and Mattias*

to all the mummies, i strongly suggest all of you give chickenpox vaccine to your little one. I've not much knowledge abt it coz i totally cannot recall i got it b4.

My elder gal got it from Childcare centre last Nov. It's very serious case for her. The Dr cannot confirm is chicken pox becoz the red tiny dots doesn't appear to be the normal waterly spot & thus we drag few days (we have consulted the Dr at least 3 times) then only confirm is CP. We feeded her medicine but it didn't work for her. She has high fever (daily 39 or 40) & more red spot coming out. You will shock when u see her photo, so scary!!! She recover after we decided to consult KKH Dr & was given antibiotic. & until now, the acne is still obvious, one on FACE. :<

2 weeks later, my younger one (10 mth) also get it. But this times we are prepared & started her CP medicine from day 1. Her condition is mild & recover in 1 week. No fever.

Don't drag until u regret like me.

update on the vaccine case in Japan

Japan Panel Says Deaths Aren't Linked to Vaccines

By Shawn Schroter

9 March 2011

The Wall Street Journal Online

TOKYO—A panel of Japanese medical experts expressed the opinion Tuesday that the deaths of five children over the past two months weren't connected to pediatric vaccines administered just before they died.

The panel's opinion means the use of the vaccines, Prevnar, made by Pfizer Inc., and ActHIB, made by Sanofi-Aventis S.A., could resume shortly.

Last week, the health ministry suspended the use of the two vaccines following the deaths of two children in February and three in March. The ministry initially reported four recent deaths after vaccinations but later said there was one more.

The children, who were between six months and two years old, had received vaccinations of one or both of the drugs. Both shots have been given widely to children around the world for years to prevent bacterial infections causing pneumonia and meningitis.

chickenpox vaccine>think I will give it to Ayden. Although both hubby and I never got it so we might have natural immunity, I'll rather play safe just in case he's unlucky and gets a strong strain.

Xin, glad u made a decision, 80% blockage sounds bad, i would have opted for surgery too, which dr did u see in the end?

Yl, I let Raelynn have MMRV after checking with pd. She didn't have side effects luckily. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5195043.jpg]

Good morning all. BB with her outing bag this morning

furby>hee, xyii looks so cute. why is she frowning?

Pauline>wah, Raelyn had her MMRV already? so fast. You didn't do it at the poly? heard its free there

Good morning...

Been really busy at work.

Nice to see lil Xyii... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Xin, Big Huggies to you. Dun worry.

I'm sure Mattias will be ok. He's a strong boy. Smart too. ya 80% blockage sounds bad.

If a surgery is needed, go for it. He might feel better and can sleep well too since can breathe better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

YL, all the best for your interview.

I have actually given MMR to my boy already.

Did not read that we shouldnt give them so many vaccine. I thot since his PD ask for it, it's sure compulsory and needed.

I intend to give him Chicken pox vaccine ard his 18 mths... like what 2005 said, will minimize the out break...

lamb> oh.. I must have missed your posting earlier. i think Yongxian's SA is not entirely over. he still wakes up once but that is already very good compared to the 2-3 times earlier.

talking about allergy, i developed some rashes on the arms and legs last night. i used to have them whenever i had shellfish when i was young, but haven't had it for a long time already. i thought it was weird as i didn't have any shellfish yesterday. saw the doc and he told me that the no.1 cause is actually stress. weird... i was more stressed up few weeks back.

i have also been recycling recipes and one of my favorite is the fish pie recipe from sp_callalily. it taste great and is so easy to make. in fact, nowadays i tend to look for shortcuts when cooking and DH has been complaining about my cooking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sp_callalily> thanks for the info. as i was walking my dog yesterday, i thought about it and decided not to give him the Hep A jab. I thought about the probability of exposure and it seemed very low for now so I think I will skip. My MIL is very keen to give Yongxian oyster (some Hakka hype over oyster), but I intend to hold off shellfish as long as possible simply because I was allergic to shellfish as a child.

furby> xyii has a lot of hair now.

re vaccines>

i always thought that the purpose of giving vaccination is to introduce the viral strain to the body so that the body will learn to build immunity towards the virus. it is the the exact same 'process' if we were to catch the virus naturally, but vaccination will introduce it in a 'safe and controlled' manner without the need to load ourselves with medication to help fight off the infection. so even with vaccination, it is the body that is learning to recognise the viral strain and produce the anti-body to fight against infection. please correct me if i'm wrong. science has always been my weakest subject.

having said that, there are so many vaccinations available and it is impossible to go for all. i think my main considerations when deciding would be the risks of exposure, the risks of being infected and the possible side effects of vaccination.

sp_callalily> i gave a piece of raw veg from my salad for Yongxian to try last evening. When he saw me eating the same veg, he was game to try, but i guess it was just too difficult to 'dissect' the veg with only his front teeth and there isn't enough mass for him to crush it with his gums. he tried to chew for a while, but in the end still spit it out in whole. Aly is teething quite quickly yeah.. Yongxian;s tooth no. 8 just erupted last week. I dread to think of the number of teeth he still has to go as everytime a tooth is about to erupt, it means disrupted sleep.

xin> did Mattias like the wild rocket? I find that they can sometimes be so utterly bitter.

YL, chickenpox vaccine is optional, don't think it's free. MMR is free but I don't like the long waiting time at polyclinics leh n they only open during office hours (my hubby can't take leave) so not convenient for us to bring the gals there for jabs. :p I think for you, your mum n dad brings Ayden to the poly so it's good, easier to coordinate. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For us, even when I was FTWM, we got to bring RaeAnne for all the vaccinations ourselves. My ILS refuse to bring her for jabs cos they dun like to see her cry. So, we always have to wait till weekends when both hubby and I are free. :p Luckily my PD charges quite cheap for vaccinations, so comparable to poly for the optional jabs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pauline>yes, I know chickenpox need to pay for the vaccine.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cannot bring on Sat for MMR at poly? Was planning to do that. How much does your PD charge? Its the one at Tampines Round Market, ya? if comparable, maybe go to her... :p

YL, when we had to go to Tampines polyclinic for hubby to change dressing for his hand, they stated that Sats is for appts only, no walk ins. Not sure if can make appt for child vaccinations cos I never tried. :p

Yup, mine is at Paediatric & Family Clinic at round market. MMRV vaccination ($110) is $5 cheaper than taking 2 separate jabs ($35 for MMR and $80 for chixpox). That includes review (depends on health booklet), and free consult for minor problems (eg. if the kids have eczema/rash, I can 'shun bian' ask her during vaccination, then I only need to pay for the cream, no need to pay consultation fees) Mainly, I like it that they open on Sat, am, pm and night sessions. Weekdays also open till night time so very convenient. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] They used to open on Sundays too, but they stopped doing that just 2 months ago. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

CocoMama:

You are definitely right abt vaccinations. Cant see how science is yr weakest subject[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Yeah, fish pie is also one of my all time favourite. So easy to make, tastes yummy & it's nutritious! More importantly, it's still Aly's all time favourite! Yup, she's fast in the teeth dept...everytime she teethes, it's 3 teeth each time. So i can imagine why she doesnt sleep well at night, doesnt eat well & she's irritable. Salad was rather acquired for Aly too...she din like it the first time we gave her but has since gotten used to it.

Cocomama> mattias' tastebuds like non-functional one. Can tk rocket, Ginger, chili without blinkng his eyes. Hee hee.

so tired from reading up on adenotonsillectomy and alternative med. seems like got no alternative to surgery though 1 website say can try antibiotics. :p

my mum say that the tonsils are quite important for immunity and should stay. web readings are quite mixed. think i'll check with the doc again.

pauline> i went to the surgeon that my sleep doc reccommended. it's at mt E.

jessie> it's a surgical ENT and not a pead surgeon. he does adults and also children. he told me that he removed his children's tonsils too. :p

thanks for all your encouragement and being 'looking eye' (think listening ear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. it really helps alot in my thought processing.

jessie and mamad and all mummies dealing with chronic disease like eczema or allergies>

jia you too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's really not easy. i think for mattias, we dont even see him as unwell so most of the time we dont feel the pain of him being 'sick'? think when symptoms are more visible it's much more emotional draining?

but guess we should still count our blessings. just watched another signing time dvd and realised that the presenter/co-creator rachel coleman's 2nd girl has cerebal palsy and spina bifida.

she wrote 'The Good' as a dedication to her husband, the message: maybe we wont find it easy, but baby, we have found the good.

http://signingtime.net/pdf/song_lyrics/ST1_Lyrics_1-3.pdf

the lyrics are on the last page.

when i look at how she turn her adversity into somethings that touches so many other lives, i'm truly encouraged. and my problem just seem so small.

cant find 'The Good' on youtube or anywhere else.

but found another song (lyrics on pg9). also very touching

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yHqaRbeK06E

enjoy the song. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning all...

Xin, just keep looking for alternative.

I just recently see another skin doc for Shayne's eczema. This was the 2nd doc.

I find him better than the first although i do agree a lil from the first doc.

What I cant stand is doc who only talk but dun even take a look at the patient.

Was told to stay away from antibiotic for Shayne. I also did the skin prick test for him too. Just to ensure that I avoid all the allergy.

Just read up and see which is a more comfortable option for you, Mattias and your hubby.

Take care... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sp_callalily> the fish pie in also very easy to vary. Sometimes I vary the topping and sometimes I vary the ingredients. Yongxian's first four teeth came out 2-by-2. After that it's went to 1-by-1 at pretty close intervals.

xin> that means he's easygoing. good traits !!

Been some time since I logged in n my heart sank when reading xin's post. Xin, take care and I m sure Mattias will be fine. He is a strong and bright boy, knows papa and mama love him v much.

My cousin is preggy and any recommendation for female gynae at Mt A?

re: fish pie> aiya i nv copy the fish pie recipe from cocomama. i used the fish pie recipe from sp callalily today but hmm not that simple leh.

re: vaccination> i still haven bring my girl for prevenar or mmr! i can't seem to find the health booklet. haha. and i was never a fan of vaccinations so not so on about jabs but those compulsory ones, will still give.

xin> i am very encouraged by the way you respond to the situation and how you continue to rely and trust Him. i think it's a difficult situation if removing the tonsils will affect the heart? Is there a way to remove the blockage but yet not have to remove the tonsils so that it also will be able to protect the heart?

personally, if it's just in terms of academic, then i don't think it's that necessary for an op, but seems to me that it may be more than academic. like even affect the brain and breathing etc? if it's for health reasons then i guess need to consider op. or else pray for miracle! =) really v encouraged by your faith.